Rate based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Amherst, NY
Aug 18, 2009

"The Nugent's go to Washington, DC"

Our taxi arrived late afternoon at State Plaza Hotel and doorman greeted us and put all the luggage on a cart. Checking in went fast&easy and we went up to our room. First impressions were good and our suite was very accomodating and attractive. Excellent room service for emergencies and friendly staff. Just wish the desk could speak better English for directions and understand better. Never ate in restaurant but it seemed nice. Breakfast menu was alittle pricey and surprised hotel didn't offer a continental breakfast for their guest. This became an inconvenience for us and we bought breakfast food next door at CVS Pharmacy which we enjoyed in our kitchenette back in our room. A first class hotel should always offer some kind of continental breakfast for the quests. State Plaza Hotel is located in the Foggy Bottom area across the street from the State Department so access to buses and transportation is satisfactory. Requires taxi fares going to restaurants not easily walked. Tonic is one of the best restaurants that is walkable from hotel. Just glad we chose the convenience of a suite which is State Plaza's specialty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tonic Restaurant is a short walk from the hotel and the food is superb. Just order two dinner entre's and you receive a free bottle of wine that's on Monday evenings. Also they have a patio if you prefer to dine out. Great place with atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Family of Five!
Family
Indiana
Aug 10, 2009

Great hotel = Great family vacation!

The staff was super friendly and always offered good ideas for dining and activities! Made it a very memorable family vacation! Walking distance to the National Mall. Very quiet location. We knew the valet parking would be expensive anywhere downtown, but the valet even advised us that after 6 on Friday the parking on the street was free for the weekend! Very nice, and if we travel to DC again we will stay there for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are small kitchens in each room and we bought groceries, which made breakfast and lunch very affordable!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy's Daddy
Family
Los Angeles,CA
Aug 7, 2009

Washington DC trip

Overall, our stay was AWESOME..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Traveller
Single
TX
Aug 7, 2009

State Plaza Hotel

The staff was outside to open the door. Called a taxi when I needed it. Great check-in experience. I wasn't charged anything (yet :) ) over the initial booking price. Clean room, quiet, right near the main attractions. I had a great time in DC. Note: the hotel is just like it is advertised: no frills, great value. The view wasn't the greatest but hey, one is going there to go out not to stay in :) Some shade curtains would be very useful, especially on the long hot summer days. None of the little details would lower the value the hotel is providing giving the location and the cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

what about the white house and the obelisc :)

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J&D
Family
Detroit, MI
Aug 6, 2009

Great place to stay

enjoyed our stay, the room was comfortable and perfect for what we needed. Will return on my next trip and would recommend to others. Loved the kitchette -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Superstar4you
Family
El Paso, TX
Aug 4, 2009

Great Location!

The location was perfect for all sightseeing activities. Hotel staff were very accomodating and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally just a few blocks in all directions!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Arizona
Jul 31, 2009

Great Place to Stay

Great Location and price. 8-10 minute walk to Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Lincoln Memorial. 10 minute walk to White House. 10 minute walk to subway. 15 minute walk to grocery store at Watergate Hotel. 2 minute walk to CVS pharmacy. $20 cab fare from Reagan Airport for van that fits 5-6. Kitchenette with stove top, refrigerator, coffee maker, pots, dishes was great for family. Location was quiet. Place was clean. Area was safe. Right next to George Washington University. University has food court for subs, burgers, pitas, salads, donuts, ice cream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to Vietnam Veterans and Lincoln Memorial. 10 minute walk to White House. 10 minute walk to subway that will take you to Capitol, Smithsonians, Washington Monument, Arlington Cemetery, Pentagon, National Zoo. Subway cost $3.30/person round trip so cheaper than $27/person one day pass on tourmobile.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GS Leader
Friends
Houston, Texas
Jul 23, 2009

rooms large and clean

clean hotel with helpful staff rooms are quaint and towels are fluffy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crazy P
Family
Glastonbury, CT
Jul 21, 2009

Great Hotel, but not without fault

Great little hotel, great rooms, great price ($120 a night), and first class service! But I was rather disappointed with the internet access because I could only get intermittent connection and could hardly look up details on DC when I was visiting with my family. But I talked to the manager and they are in the process of installing a hotel wide WiFi network... other than that, it was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend it, especially if it can be had for a low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single Jen
Single
Aurora, CO
Jul 16, 2009

Comfortable hotel, good location

Construction in the front was difficult. I did sight-seeing while staying there, lots of walking. It was pleasant compared to other trips, but was frustrated when I couldn't find a working pop machine or ice machine. The note from the maid was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top