Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
929 out of 929
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pbpvol
Business
Alabama
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect Hotel!

Had a one-week stay in December 2012 with my adult son and I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We arrived quite early so the front desk staff held our bags and provided a map with directions to some sights to visit in the area while our room was being prepared. We received a third-floor corner room that is larger than my son's college apartment! Nicely-appointed with comfortable beds and furniture as well as a full kitchen and two flatscreened TVs. Housekeeping staff kept our room immaculate and honored any extra request (i.e. extra coffee). The morning newspaper is a nice touch at your doorstep each day. The staff are helpful and willing to go the "extra mile." They even assisted me in printing our boarding pass when there were issues with a website. The hotel's location is perfect and we decided to walked to every event on our travel itinerary except a few times when the front desk quickly ordered a taxi for us. We never used the city bus, but there appears to be a bus stop across the street should you need it. Also a 24-hr CVS pharmacy is right next door. One evening, we ate in the hotel bistro and had a wide variety of choices. Our food was tasty and as good or better than other DC-area restaurants. To sum it up, if I had the option for 6 stars, I would use it! We WILL be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edward 007
Business
NYC
Jul 9, 2013

great hotel

very good location, customer-friendly service with a pretty pleasant atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jahd
Business
Nashville TN
Jul 5, 2013

Great place, great location

GREAT location, big comfortable room, helpful staff. The amenities are a bit dated, but that is probably what keeps this hotel affordable. I would certainly stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moligushi
Business
Mexico
Jul 3, 2013

GREAT STAFF, GREAT PLACE :)

You can walk to any of the famous places in Washington, D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Visit Pop
Business
CA
Jul 2, 2013

Great GW Location

The North entrance was just a couple of blocks from my nephew's dorm at GW and a very short distance off the National Mall. 41/2 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a breakfast sandwich at nearby Leo's Deli (22nd & G).

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michaelyszjuer15
Business
Palo Alto, California
Jun 26, 2013

Affordable hotel near most attractives

Pretty nice hotel with very large suit room, and the most important thing is that it is around most attractive areas, e.g. white house, memorial, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuluna
Business
Norway
Jun 26, 2013

Good,- but a litle more expensive during the stay

The price was okey, but be aware that the brekfast is not inkluded and you'll have to pay for parking for car. A nice and big room for our family with two queen beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Phil
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Jun 17, 2013

Business meeting/vacation

Very nice hotel; great location; staff was very pleasant; room was good sized and very clean; parking was an issue - we had two cars; we paid for 2 nights for the one car and had to pay for 2 nights for the other even though it was only in the garage for 2 hours of the second day; I thought that was excessive since the spot was immediately taken by another car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynn the skeptical trvlr
Business
Fargo, ND
Jun 17, 2013

family vacation

We spent 3 days driving/traveling & was greeted by such friendly staff. The room had a separate kitchen area as well as a separate dressing room before entering the bathroom - overall spacious. It was nice having a kitchen -which we were able to prepare a few simple meals. Negative....the fridge didn't keep things as cold as should. Location was great- within walking distance to the mall, white house, and metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Celaya
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jun 12, 2013

Location and price make up for short falls

Great foggy bottom location. Less than 5 blocks from the White House and there's a Wholefoods 3 blocks away so that you're not committed to downtown food prices if you don't want to spend that kind of money. I was not happy with the fitness room - equipment was out of date, not working and weights were missing. No laundry facilities which is a must for hotels offering suites with kitchens. Staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wholefoods 3 blocks away. Helps mediate downtown food prices.

Back to menu Return to top