Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuluna
Business
Norway
Jun 26, 2013

Good,- but a litle more expensive during the stay

The price was okey, but be aware that the brekfast is not inkluded and you'll have to pay for parking for car. A nice and big room for our family with two queen beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Phil
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Jun 17, 2013

Business meeting/vacation

Very nice hotel; great location; staff was very pleasant; room was good sized and very clean; parking was an issue - we had two cars; we paid for 2 nights for the one car and had to pay for 2 nights for the other even though it was only in the garage for 2 hours of the second day; I thought that was excessive since the spot was immediately taken by another car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynn the skeptical trvlr
Business
Fargo, ND
Jun 17, 2013

family vacation

We spent 3 days driving/traveling & was greeted by such friendly staff. The room had a separate kitchen area as well as a separate dressing room before entering the bathroom - overall spacious. It was nice having a kitchen -which we were able to prepare a few simple meals. Negative....the fridge didn't keep things as cold as should. Location was great- within walking distance to the mall, white house, and metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Celaya
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jun 12, 2013

Location and price make up for short falls

Great foggy bottom location. Less than 5 blocks from the White House and there's a Wholefoods 3 blocks away so that you're not committed to downtown food prices if you don't want to spend that kind of money. I was not happy with the fitness room - equipment was out of date, not working and weights were missing. No laundry facilities which is a must for hotels offering suites with kitchens. Staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wholefoods 3 blocks away. Helps mediate downtown food prices.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan at peace
Business
Thorofare,NJ
Jun 9, 2013

A wonderful romantic getaway

The hotel gave a warm comfortable feeling. I loved the location because it was in the center of everything. We enjoyed the on-site restaurant and the 24-hour pharmacy next door. The beautiful park was directly across the street and most of the tourist attractions were within walking distance. We look forward to visiting the hotel again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try different types of food, there's so many to choose from.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieMarie
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
May 30, 2013

Felt like home

This is a small, friendly hotel. Our room was spacious, with a kitchenette, bathroom, AND dressing room. This staff were terrific and made us feel right at home. It's located a nice walk from the Mall. We will stay here again when we return to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wwww1
Business
Upstate NY
May 29, 2013

Solid DC Hotel with great location

Close to Foggy Bottom DC metro station this hotel was very convenient, was able to visit DC without renting a car. At the southern end of the George Washington University campus, the neighborhood was quite nice so we felt safe on our walk to the metro. Walking distance from the Lincoln memorial and Vietnam memorial and very close to the rest of the National Mall, including all the Smithsonian museums. Staff was friendly, room was clean and quite large. Price was reasonable considering the location. The hotel room came with a full kitchen, fridge, and freezer and was stocked with plates, glasses, pots + pans, silverware etc. and the hotel is quite close to a Whole Foods grocery so it would be possible to actually cook there. Staff had taxis on-call with reasonable rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Foggy Bottom metro for easy access to all of DC. Get one of the plastic metro cards if you plan to take more than 5 trips, as the paper cards add 1$ per trip and the card is only 5$.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim RS
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 27, 2013

Great Getaway

The hotel staff was very professional and provided excellent service. The rooms were older but very roomy and very clean. The hotel was in walking distance of the White House and other DC sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveledone
Business
Pennsylvania
May 20, 2013

Room to stretch out

This suite may not have been new, but it was much larger than rooms costing much more at other hotels: a full eat-in kitchen and a dressing area, in addition to a very large bedroom and comfortable bathroom. The staff was helpful and friendly. The only downside was that it is not close to a Metro stop. The closest is Foggy Bottom and it is about six blocks away. If you want to save your feet and legs for sightseeing, you will probably need a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner12
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 20, 2013

Stayed many times

Not fancy but the best value for staying near GW, Foggy Bottom or Lincoln memorial. Really nice friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top