Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
929 out of 929
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time DC visitor
Business
Rochester NY
Aug 13, 2009

Fabulous DC experience!

The State Plaza Hotel was a wonderful retreat after taking in the sights of Washington DC. The room was exceptionally clean, much larger than anticipated and set up very well. Off the bathroom there was a dressing area with a door that made it easy for 3 of us to get ready for our days. The kitchenette consisted of a full size refrigerator, 4 burners, microwave, coffee maker and table for 2. In addition, the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is located about 5 blocks from the Metro and is right on the campus of George Washington University. As we traveled in August, it was fairly quiet without a lot of student activity. This may look different during the school year. I felt safe walking to and from the Metro at all times. There is no pool or fitness center in the hotel, but that did not effect our enjoyment of our stay at the State Plaza

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
State traveller
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 11, 2009

Tired but convenient

There was lots of room for a family and a full kitchen in the junior suite but there were buildings on all sides creating a closed-in atmosphere. The furniture was dated and stressed, old carpet etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Full service shopping food market and CVS drugs, barber, stylist, phone store etc available in one stop undergound level of Watergate Plaza.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.L.M.
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 11, 2009

Great Location-nice accomodations

Trip was for pleasure, sight-seeing. Great location -we walked to everything. We were able to park free, on the street,over the weekend and just around the corner. Nice to be able to have small meals in your room to save on always eating out.Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colonel6303
Business
Wethersfield, CT
Aug 11, 2009

State Plaza Hotel

Hotel had outside construction on one said so we had to use another entrance a block away on the opposite side. They were a bit unorganized with baggage storage but overall it was a good service. They sold my room but upgraded us to a suite which was very nice. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Family of Five!
Business
Indiana
Aug 10, 2009

Great hotel = Great family vacation!

The staff was super friendly and always offered good ideas for dining and activities! Made it a very memorable family vacation! Walking distance to the National Mall. Very quiet location. We knew the valet parking would be expensive anywhere downtown, but the valet even advised us that after 6 on Friday the parking on the street was free for the weekend! Very nice, and if we travel to DC again we will stay there for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are small kitchens in each room and we bought groceries, which made breakfast and lunch very affordable!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Wales, FL
Aug 10, 2009

Great Location

We were in Washington DC to look at George Washington University and do site seeing and chose this hotel due to the feedback on the travel site. The rooms all have kitchenettes and that helps with the expenses on food, etc. CVS is right next door for food items. The location was great for us because it was basically on the campas of GW and within a couple of blocks from the many of the monuments and memorials. The metro was not too far and we puchased a metro card for easy travel. Note: don't buy a DC map, they have them in the office center on the first floor for free. Since it is a college area, there were many restuants and shops within walking distance. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to ice cream and resturants.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Need an update

Not a great location. Hotel needs an update. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Family of Five!
Business
Indiana
Aug 10, 2009

Great hotel = Great family vacation!

The staff was super friendly and always offered good ideas for dining and activities! Made it a very memorable family vacation! Walking distance to the National Mall. Very quiet location. We knew the valet parking would be expensive anywhere downtown, but the valet even advised us that after 6 on Friday the parking on the street was free for the weekend! Very nice, and if we travel to DC again we will stay there for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are small kitchens in each room and we bought groceries, which made breakfast and lunch very affordable!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il.
Aug 9, 2009

Great foggy bottom location

I picked the location because I had business in DC and a child at George Washington University that I wanted to check in with. The location was great for both. Also all the rooms come with kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant is not great but OK. Restaurant/bar Close early

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turner Family from California
Business
Vista, California
Aug 8, 2009

A Great Place !!

Cleaning Staff was excellent - each and every time we left the room we came back to a clean room! Staff - each and every time we were in the Lobby the staff was very helpful and polite! Location - the location is so close to the National Mall it made visiting the sites very easy to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel should be on your list when visiting the Naitonal Mall Museums/Capitol Hill and all points inbetween.

Back to menu Return to top