Rate based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andylyn
Family
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 17, 2012

Great Anniversary getaway

Upon arrival check-in was quick and effortless. Staff and Guest Services were extremely helpful in recommending nearby places to dine. Room was large an very clean with kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very tasty and reasonable priced food around the corner in the GW dorm/facility area.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carolej
Couples
Seal Beach, California
Aug 9, 2012

Great Location and overall atmosphere

My husband and I stayed here for our first visit to DC. The location was amazing as we could walk to Georgetown, the White House, Union Station, etc. It was also a short walk to Constitution Ave. where there are many sites to see. For dinner, we were able to walk to Pennsylvania Ave. where there are a lot of restaurants. The hotel, itself has a very nice restaurant, if you just want to stay close by. I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the staff was and the overall experience. The only negative experience we had, was when I called the desk to get a taxi for the next morning, I was told that there would be many taxis available and just to come to the lobby. We needed the taxi for a Sunday morning, though, and we had to wait a good 30 minutes for one, almost missing a tour we had made arrangements for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to get a taxi or other means of transportation, as we found it was quicker to walk to monuments, restaurants, etc.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Petetedjohn
Couples
Waterford, CT
Aug 6, 2012

DC Getaway

I was quite pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The only item that was missing was a microwave oven. Still I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chickie
Family
Ukiah, CA
Jul 18, 2012

Home Away From Home

My room was very comfortable and I rested well every night I was there. This was important as I walked every day to visit the many interesting sites that were located close to the hotel. I was tired at the end of the day and the soft, fluffy pillows and soft mattress on the bed was restful. The room came with a kitchenette and this proved to be most convenient. I found the staff to be professional, courteous and helpful. I would consider staying at this hotel the next time I am in Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz annoyed
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Average stay.

Overall my experience @ the State Plaza Hotel was average. The staff was polite, but they could have been more informative on public transportation. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom lights were too hot and no ventilation in the bathroom, not sure if they are all the same. I guess if it was winter it would not have been a problem but we were in 100 degree weather and as soon as I came out of the shower I felt that heat from the lights. One of my major complaints is the internet service! It was sooooo slow. I think my dial up connection from the 90's was faster than this hotel's. It was useful for basic email, but that was it. :( wifi connection is slow so be prepared!!! It would have been nice if they served continental breakfast at least like most hotels but it was not a deal breaker. The proximity to attractions was not too bad on foot it was about 6-7 blocks. On average we walked 6-7 miles a day going from one place to another. The metro station is in close proximity as well to get to farther destinations. It is a little tricky @ first to figure out the right pricing and location but everyone is helpful in D.C so don't be afraid to ask for directions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

chinatown/gallery place area has a lot of different eateries. pizza, peruvian, brazilian, mexican,italian and of course chinese. wok n roll was pretty good(chinese/japanese). The basic eateries everywhere you go are pizza and sub places.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redsox Rita
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Perfect Place to Stay for DC College Visits at a Great Price!

My daughter and I stayed here when we came to attend GW open house. Clean, comfortable and so convenient. We walked to campus and took the Metro to visit Georgetown. Friendly and welcoming staff. Great place at a great price! Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour CVS right next store so you can get whatever you need whenever. We got ice-cream!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PNW Traveler
Family
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Wonderful Experience

We stayed 4 days at the State Plaza Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every day at the hotel. Their location was a big draw for us since we decided not to rent a car and deal with traffic/ parking issues. It has a great location of being close to the War and Lincoln Memorials (about a 5 – 10 minute walk), the White House (about a 15 minute walk) and next to George Washington University. Public transportation is easily accessed, with bus stops within a block of the hotel and the Foggy Bottom Metro station about 4 blocks away. The Metro was convenient, economical and made the city very accessible, even for a trip to Mt. Vernon. Across from the Metro station is a well-known, up-scale grocery store, (sorry, not supposed to include commercial names in the review), that offers a large and varied assortment of take-out foods along with a normal grocery selection. (It has a very good selection of organic products - hint, hint.) About mid-way between the station and the hotel is very well-known coffee shop for those of us who need our caffeine kick on route to our destinations. The hotel itself is an older building but well maintained, comfortable and clean. Our room included a full kitchen which had a gas stove, full sized refrigerator, sink and was stocked with the basic cooking/serving items. It’s a comfortable size, very clean and functional with a small table and chairs. We had intended to fix our dinners in the room but after finding the grocery store’s take out menu so amazing and healthy, we opted to just bring back our dinners to the room. We did make our breakfasts and some lunches in the kitchen. The main room had two very comfortable queen sized beds and with all the normal amenities, including a flat-screen TV (exactly as shown on their website). After a long flight and full days of site seeing, our room was always a welcomed respite offering a relaxing, comfy environment. The only negative about our room was hearing hallway noise if other guests were talking loudly/shouting or slamming hallway doors. Lastly and most importantly is their staff, which we found always helpful, courtesy and professional. The front desk personnel were very accommodating when we arrived early before normal check-in time (even before the check-out time). They stored our luggage in a secure area while we visited some sites and could latter check into our room. Housekeeping was wonderful in maintaining our room – beyond expectation. Linens were changed, everything cleaned and organized – seamlessly. When we experienced a problem with the tub draining slowly, it was immediately fixed. Our son left some electronics in the room after check-out, which the front staff found and secured for us and shipped back to our home. When we travel to D.C. again, we will definitely stay at the State Plaza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the D.C. public transportation - the Metro is convenient, economical and makes the city very accessible. Just don't place your metro ticket next to an item with a magnet (ie. cell phone, purse clasp, other electronics) they erase the payment data on the card. It's a bit of a hassle to deal with.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC walker
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Amazing place Amazing location

Great staff very clean amazing location Close to GWU and many museums

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many attraction

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IsaVo
Friends
Queens Village, Queens, NY, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great..for the right price

The double bed suite was very spacious & clean. The location is walking distance from the Metro and several memorials & historic sites. The only two complaints that I have are 1) the kitchen has a stove top but no pots or pans and 2) the noise level was a little high. Our window faced the alley between the hotel & the next building & at times we heard the noise loud enough so it sounded like we had the window open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Open City on Calvert Street NW & Connecticut Avenue NW - great breakfast; Ben's Chili Bowl @ 1213 U Street NW - a DC icon.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singing Sally
Business
Miami Beach
Dec 8, 2011

Great Location! Great Price

Enjoyed the cleanliness and proximity of the hotel. And of course, the reasonable price! Thank you for a sensible alternative to DC hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top