Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy from Va
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Jul 5, 2014

One block from GWU dorms

This classic hotel is only one block from Potomac House, the GWU dorm that my son is staying in this summer while working as a college intern in DC. The suite we were in had a full kitchen, two beds, a dressing room and a beautiful ceramic bath. It was very comfortable, and very convenient. Its about a 15 minute walk to the Vietnam Memorial and Lincoln Memorial- great place to walk. Room was comfortable- nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park for free on the street after 6:30 on Sat night to avoid the valet parking fee.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick from Folly
Business
Folly Beach
Jul 1, 2014

Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhtalves
Business
Brazil
Jun 24, 2014

Executive and business

It was my second time in the hotel. Good location. Rates were better than any other site, including the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Dupont Circle at night is very amazing

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GAO dong
Business
Tx
Jun 16, 2014

great location

The location is great. Very close to the national mall in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BVBV
Business
Los Angeles
May 13, 2014

Good for family

I loved our large room. It had a separate dressing area and a kitchen. It is an older hotel w a retro 40s feel in my room. The bathroom had a cool 40s tile and the tub showers were clean and nicely caulked. The semi attached cafe that doubles as room service was staffed w friendly and helpful waitstaff/management. The front desk was helpful. They let me check in early and check out a little past the noon checkout. I would certainly stay again and recommend it to those who don't need "new" and like retro features. Close to the war monuments and White House. A 1/2 mile or so from dining. You should like to walk. Very close to GW university.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

War monuments and White House.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Business
Business
Jackson, MS
May 13, 2014

State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and a Great Value considering DC prices. I did stay on a Sunday, which reduced my rate, since my business was on Monday. I'm uncertain of weekly rates, but will stay there again, if the price is "right". Highly Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For meetings at Dept. of State -- this hotel is excellent!!!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A senior walker
Business
Central PA
May 12, 2014

A Walker's Hotel

If you are willing and able to walk at least 3/4 of a mile (one way) you can get to the Kennedy Center, George Washington University, the Washington Monument, WWII Memorial, the White House and are on the National Mall. Walking farther we went to Ford's Theater, the National Archives and several other Smithsonian buildings without using any wheeled transportation. We found delightful and reasonable restaurants within our walking area. The hotel suite was comfortable with a kitchen area that contained a stove, refrigerator, sink but no microwave. Every staff member we had contact with was polite and helpful. We used a public parking garage rather than the hotel valet parking and saved at least 2/3 of the $37 hotel fee. The closest garage we found was about .5 mile from the hotel. We did not use any amenities outside the room. Overall, the State Plaza was a good place for us to stay while we enjoyed a weekend in Washington, DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Future
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 30, 2014

Great hotel

Perfect location a bit dated but not bad at all great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E travel
Business
Newyork
Apr 30, 2014

convenient Location

The hotel was located near public transportation and the staff was very friendly. Everything was conveniently located next to a 24 hr CVS and within walking distance to all of the attractions in D.C. The hotel needs updating and the air quality wasn't great. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentive to our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJK2013
Business
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Apr 29, 2014

OK for one night

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. But the air conditioner was not working properly and it was quite uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right beside a 7/24 grocery store, which are sparse in that area.

Back to menu Return to top