Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hyatt Regency Washington

4 stars
400 New Jersey Ave Northwest, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
291 reviews
nice hotel

nice hotel, nice room, great breakfast. had an overall pleasant stay. would recommend. See full review

  • lucassays
  • Aug 27, 2014
Perfect Location!

The Hyatt Regency Washington was perfect! Great location within walking distance of Union Station... See full review

  • Crochet Barb
  • Aug 25, 2014
A spectacular newly remodeled five-story atrium lobby welcomes guests with a handsome contemporary atmosphere. Our 834 deluxe guest rooms, include 32 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. Our three-meal restaurant Article One-American Grill, is located on the lobby level. The restaurant offers a casual location for breakfast and lunch each day, while featuring upscale dining for dinner each evening. At the end of the day, relax over a few cocktails in a lively atmosphere at Article One Lounge. Our 8,000 square-foot Fitness Center offers an indoor heated lap pool, state-of-the-art Life Fitness equipment, free weights, aerobic mats and sun deck. Our 38,000 square feet of versatile meeting space consists of 32 meeting rooms which can accommodate from 10 to 1,200 people for your conference and/or banquet, including our 11,000 square-foot column-free ballroom and the Thornton Room with views of Washington, DC. Hyatt Regency Washington is located on Capitol Hill within walking distance to the US Capitol, National Mall, Congressional office buildings, US Supreme Court, Library of Congress, Amtrak's Union Station and Washington's Metro subway. Only 8 blocks from the Verizon Center and ten blocks to the Washington Convention Center. Convenient to the Smithsonian Museums, Washington Monument, Botanical Gardens, Air & Space Museum, National Gallery of Art, National Museum of the American Indian, shopping, night spots and theaters. The hotel is ideally located just 10 minutes from Reagan National Airport; 45 minutes from Washington- Dulles Airport; and 60 minutes from Baltimore-Washington Airport. Make your next trip to Washington, DC memorable when you stay at Hyatt Regency Washington for the luxury and convenience of this preferred Capitol Hill location. You'll enjoy both the ambiance and authentic hospitality that is unique to Hyatt Regency Washington.

Hyatt Regency Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Business Plan rooms include daily breakfast for one adult, daily internet for one computer (24hrs), one bottle of water daily, newspaper daily, once pressed shirt or blouse daily and local, 1-800 and long distance calls to the US and Canada. Choice of ki
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
Deluxe room accommodations with the choice of king or two double beds. Each room has cable tv, working desk, data-ports, bathroom amenities and feather pillows.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8954 -77.0118
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 28.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.6 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1 mi

Dining

Article One
Article One is located on the lobby level. Serving a casual breakfast, and lunch with a more upscale grill menu for dinner. Reservations are requested for six or more.
Article One Lounge
Article One Lounge is located in the bustling atrium lobby, the lounge provides a relaxing atmosphere serving beer, wine, cocktails and lite fare daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 291
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IRONSTERLING
Wilmington NC
Aug 11, 2014

Great stay , great location

Was thrilled with the proximity to the Capitol Building ,2 blocks away. The hotel has a Starbucks and their is one a block away , this hotel is close to Union Station and the area has a lot of beautiful buildings with cafes and restaurants . The staff was very kind and helpful. Their is a ~ 40 dollar a day to Valet park your car in the basement of hotel , but they are very helpful and its worth it, can park 2 blocks away at Union Station for about half price. Breakfast is not included in all bookings, but their are a lot of places close by , if you are not looking to spend 22 dollars a person , plus tax , makes it 24 dollars , its is a fairly good breakfast , but over all basic, expanded breakfast bars. Rooms are very clean and ours was very quiet . Its a high end look hotel and unpretentious at the same time. I felt like tipping a lot of helpful staff members and , if you do so , its good to have your ones and fives , their is also a few taxis ready to take you any where right away , as the Washington Mall area seems to be about a 5 mile loop and to walk the whole thing for some , seems a bit much, in August.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street to the entrance is a restaurant with great dinner food and outdoor tables , its a little pricey , but the food is excellent.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian Omer Scott
Rehoboth Ma
Jun 24, 2014

Need to improve Customer service

When I booked the room it said breakfast was included, but for some reason the hotel gave me the run around, I gave a copy of the itinerary and I was told they would honor it but never did. I spoke with three different front desk clerks and was told by each person that they would take care of the issue and get back to me but it was all lip service and I never got a response. The parking was outrageous at $48.00 a day and the very fist day our room was not cleaned and I had to call the front desk to get it cleaned. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cdeb
Toronto
Jun 10, 2014

4 days with grandson

The room was clean and comfortable. My grandson loved the gym and the breakfast buffet. I feel there should not be charges for computer use and wifi in a hotel such as this. Bell service and Concierge were excellent and helpful. The location was close to the subway..3 blocks walk, but the distances in the city are great, and one really often needs to taxi it to get places. We walked a great deal, but nothing is close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steel City Dave
Pittsburgh
Jun 2, 2014

Great Value

Great location, we visited a lot of sites, Washington Monument, Lincoln , etc and we did it on bike and by foot. The staff was friendly and the room was what you expect from Hyatt Regency. Overall a great value and a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bike Share system is great but you do have to keep an eye on the clock. Smart phone app is a must.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quannie
St. Paul, MN
May 5, 2014

Comfortable, good value

Clean, nice staff, great location. Better than more expensive Westin downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hvega
Chile
Apr 29, 2014

Ver y godo óptimo

Very good location: 200 meters from Capitolio and Unión station (where all city tours start). Nice room. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't include breakfast, but there is a very good cafe within 50 meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good cafe for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momrenz
Iowa
Apr 22, 2014

Great place to stay!

Central location, all amenities needed and friendly staff make this a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew's Mom
Newburgh, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Washington DC Weekend

My son and I visited DC for a long holiday weekend and stayed at the Hyatt. A great location close to Union Station and historic sites. The hotel was very busy but the staff was quite friendly and attentive. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Only negative was the size of the shower was quite small with no place for toiletries. Breakfast buffet was excellent but expensive. A great place to stay would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Lynn
New York
Apr 17, 2014

Great getaway!

Staff was extremely helpful. The location was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eisa
NJ
Mar 24, 2014

Good hotel, questionable reservation process

I made a reservation of 2 rooms for 4 people, 1 for 2 double beds, and another room for a King bed. I got in the King bed room, it was just a big room w/ just a full-size bed in there. I called the front desk, and she said "yes, the request was for a king bed room, but this is the only room available tonite" Well, shouldn't they have told me when I checked in?! She offered 2 upgrade options, and I took the corner room for additional $50, which is fine, just didn't like the process. The reservation included breakfast for 2, which is a great value b/c it's only $30 more than the same room w/o breakfast but it'd be $25 each person if you pay for the breakfast. The breakfast was very good including an omelette bar. Valet Parking is $48, $2 cheaper than the parking garage across the street besides you can go in and out multiple times during the day. However it does take 15 min to get the car, which I think is average, so you just need to plan ahead. Over all, it's a very nice hotel, well worth the $ in the area, less than 10 min to the National Mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top