Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
277 reviews
GREAT!

We went there for a weekend with my parents and they also loved their king bed room! GREAT PRICE... See full review

  • zokica
  • Sep 28, 2014
Excellent

Great location, close to the national mall, and all museums. Very clean and nice. Bathroom was... See full review

  • Vladtrujillo
  • Sep 1, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI; BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and NY Style Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
Vie de France
French, Bakery
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wingie
Business
Washington D.C.
Jul 2, 2014

good 1 night stay

certainly for a Holiday Inn it was much better than I am used to. Location to museums and such was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunny Sue
Business
Cicero, NY
May 27, 2014

Great location, great hotel

I was in DC for a conference , booked this hotel at the last minute, and found the accommodations far nicer than those at the conference hotel. A couple blocks south of The Mall, it was blessedly quiet yet close to the museums and the Capitol. The restaurants in the hotel were reasonably priced and open late, and the staff were efficient and helpful. The hotel was a block or two from the Metro and a quick four miles from the airport. I lucked into a great bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks north of the Capitol, the West Wing Cafe on the corner of New Jersey Ave and D Street had great sandwiches, salads, and smoothies for an extremely reasonable price.J

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NurseConsultant
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 4, 2013

Easy access to Capitol

Although I was only in for one night to attend a board meeting, this hotel was perfect for access to businesses, Metro, and attractions on the mall. Front desk staff were very welcoming. King room was very spacious. Even though I was on the side of the hotel near the train tracks, sound was negligible. Overnight parking was less than most other hotels in the area. Some in-room decor a bit dated but overall the room was comfortable, functional. Called for maintenance to fix TV channels. They came in less than 5 minutes (at 9:00pm) and were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.W.H.P.
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 3, 2013

Business trip, week long stay

I have no complaints with my stay. I was in town for an entire week. I had to shuttle each day from one of the Smithsonian locations on the Mall to an outlying Smithsonian building so the location was perfect. Just two block behind the mall, it is easy and convenient. The hotel was satisfactory, nothing was wrong. Its not over the top classy, but I did not need that. There are two restaurants and a Starbucks on site which made food easy and accessible too. My only complaint about the area is that there was no easy way for me to get the groceries I would have liked to have on hand. The CVS next door allowed me a few standbys which I was greatful for, but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and veggies. But, its a small payoff for the convenience. And I'm sure I could have taken a cab to a local grocer if needed. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting the museums and attractions on the National Mall this hotel is extrememly convenient. A very short two block walk to it all, making pit stops at your hotel a possibility.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p.dizzle
Business
harrisburg, pa
Jan 8, 2013

Good value

I didn't pay a lot for this hotel room, so I didn't expect a lot. But it was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The only complaint I had was that the toilet ran off and on throughout my stay which disrupted my sleep - not a huge deal, but it was slightly annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eagerjean
Business
CA
Nov 29, 2012

Very good location in Washington DC

This hotel is very near the Metro and the mall. You do not need to rent a car and spend the parking fee. It is very easy from RCD airport to this hotel around 20 mins by Meto. The air conditioner is old one and lounder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since many goverment offices is nearby, around 11:00, so many dining trucks are aournd the road, it is cheaper.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizSue
Business
Greenville SC
Jul 2, 2012

Great location, fine hotel

This hotel is in a great location near the National Mall and the metro. Conveniently, has a few restaurant options and Starbucks. Room is average but clean. I have stayed in this hotel a number of times because of the great location. The fitness room needs work and usually only one treadmill is working - however, this visit none of the treadmills were working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at Matchbox near Chinatown. It is right off the Gallery Place/chinatown metro stop.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobox
Business
Alamo, California
Jun 6, 2012

National Green Ribbon School event

Really fine. Check-in perfect. Lunch at event first class. Location so close to Metro at Woodley/Zoo really convenient. Only a 15 minute walk to the Pandas at the zoo. Had breakfast there Sunday a.m. All good for a huge hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants on Connecticut Ave.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Less Traveled
Business
Muncie, Indiana
Apr 30, 2012

Quick Business Trip

It was the perfect location to the areas I needed to be at during my trip.The hotel is a very short walk to the L'Enfant Plaza metro station. A Starbucks is located next to the hotel and accessible without going outside. Also a very quick walk to a McDonalds and CVS store. Room was clean and comfortable. No complaints. I would definitely stay here again, even for a family trip with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is great for walking to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, NASA Headquarters, etc. Quick walk to L'Enfant Metro station also makes for easy access to many other DC attractions.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imin
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 10, 2012

Great Location

This hotel is just a couple of blocks from the mall - near the Air and Space Museum and the Native American museum. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS is just a few doors down. Buy drinks to carry with you at normal prices before you head for the museums.

Back to menu Return to top