Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
111 reviews
Comfortable Stay

This was an average/decent hotel in a great location. Pricey once you include parking, but you... See full review

  • ShellyBelly84
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jan 15, 2010

Not bad

The staff was friendly and helpful. When the front desk clerk found out I had reserved a room with a single queen bed she suggested I change to a room with two full beds telling me the room was bigger. Nice of her to do that. The hotel is in a great location close to the Metro. No car needed. Beds were comfortable. The room safe is big enough to fit a laptop but didn't work (the front desk apologized and said lots of safes were broken). It was a bit noisy at night...someone kept letting their door slam instead of closing it like a normal human would. As for amenities, you get what you pay so don't expect much. An overpriced shop in the lobby, a decent restaurant (they're are plenty of places to eat/drink in walking distance), and a closed in small pool on the roof with no jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro. Clean, fast, and close by.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martha's Vineyard, MA
Jan 15, 2010

great for the price

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pawcio
Business
chicago il
Jan 6, 2010

nice trip

ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2009

Nice clean hotel

Very nice and clean room. Very friendly stuff. Few minutes walk to National Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In Washington most places are closed on weekends, especially at night. Restaurant in the hotel has limited selection.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
*xoxo*
Business
Virginia
Oct 26, 2009

Wonderful Hotel,[...]

The hotel was a perfect location for going out in DC the staff was very understanding and accomadating [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisonburg, VA
Oct 11, 2009

Disappointed

very noisy heating/cooling system (headache noisy, and couldn't turn off). Uncomfortable bed. Very strong odor of cleaning chemicals in a lot of the hotel. It was not restful despite the excellent location. The designated emergency exit stairway at our end of the building is being used for storage, and is not physically passable in case of an emergency. We pointed this out to several staff people, who didn't seem very interested. Apparently it's been that way a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof T
Business
PA
Sep 28, 2009

Very nice service

The Sheraton Four Points was very clean and hospitable. The lobby is full of helpful, friendly staff who really made our stay enjoyable. The only downside that I can think of was that our bathroom was very small. That, and the ice machine on my floor wasn't working. The hotel itself was very clean, and the lobby is very inviting. It's about 3 blocks from the Convention Center, where I was attending a conference while my significant other was visiting with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationer in DC
Business
Northeastern USA
Sep 8, 2009

Moderate Hotel; Lots of Walking!

Overall, this hotel is OK if you like to do A LOT of walking, especially going to the Smithsonian museums or to the White House. It is not worth taking the Metro to these places, since it is only 1 stop away. Just walk it, that is, if you are in good shape. There is a slight incline coming back to the hotel on 12th Street. The ice machine did not work on my floor. The recliner in the room was a bit worn down. Internet access worked fine. Our mundane view from our window showed the rooftop of another building. Not much to see. We experienced TWO power outages on the SAME day (1-hour long at 2:30AM and 5-hours long at 6:15PM, respectively). The hotel did not compensate us for the inconvenience. If you like an average hotel with average service, then this hotel is for you. However, I would choose another hotel in the future that cares more about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning to stay at this hotel and taking the Metro, get off at the Meto-Metro Station, then walk up 12th Street to K Street. You will see the hotel at the corner.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Sep 8, 2009

Great place to stay

Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Aug 13, 2009

Visit to DC

I left a sapphire/diamond ring on nightstand - while out for a day at museums I realized my loss. When I returned to hotel - room was clean and ring was exactly where I left it! A rare, honest woman that cleaned 6th floor!!! Front desk - very helpful, polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 5 blcoks is Chinatown - interesting area - 3 more blocks start Smithsonian museums

Back to menu Return to top