Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

12NK Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street N W, District of Columbia, WA 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
183 reviews
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
convenient and comfortable

I arrived just before midnight after travel complicated by snow. The woman at the registration desk... See full review

  • Miss Mommers
  • Feb 9, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

12NK Hotel Washington DC Rooms

AMB Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Queen
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Disappointing service

Add was decieving. Waited in line for 20 mnutes for a valet to park car (which you HAD to use)Finally went into the hotel to tell them there was a line and no one was out there. Girl at the desk acted like I was annoying her, called someone on her walkie-talkie and commented "Apparently there is a line of people" she then told me that someone was out there. I went out, someone had come up, told my husband to back out, at which point someone else got in front of us (which happened 2 time) Waited another 15 minutes. Went into hotel and asked if I could check in while we waited for valet. (Was never told the 1st time I went in that you HAVE TO check in before parking (sign was inside the garage on the wall..only the 1st person in line could see it) Found out when checking in that they had in fact resereved a room with 2 queen beds even though we had requested 1 king. That did get corrected. I totally understand it being busy. But explain that, we were just left to try and figure out what the heck was going on. We ended up leaving our car in the garage the whole time we were there just so we didn't have to go through the parking issue again. I will say the valet was very nice and in my opinion needed help which no one gave him (both arriving and leaving) We were not informed until getting into the hotel room that we were in fact being charged $35. a day for parking. The ad stated that there was parking and valet parking...all parking was valet. the add also stated bathrobes were in the rooms...also not true. Front desk staff never looked at you when speaking to you and acted like you were bothering them just trying to check in or check out. The bed however, was very comfortable, and the room was nice, but I would not go back because I feel the add was decieving and the desk staff was rude. I do feel bad for the 1 valet they had at a time. The area is too congested and there is too much for 1 person to handle, esp around check in and check out times. Also, it was the 1st time I had stayed at a hotel and there was no list in the room of area restruants. They did give a list of attractions, but we checked in at around 3:30 and then went looking for a restraunt. Everything closed at 4:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty much all restraunts close at 4:30. On next trip I feel it would be worth staying in Georgetown and taking the shuttle into DC attractions. I would also suggest travel in spring or fall as it was extremely hot and uncomfortable. Museums and monuments were amazing however and very impressive!

Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Apr 27, 2010

Wonderful experience

Our family trip to Washington was a wonderful experience for myself (Grandmother)and my daughter family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The tours and all of the museums and memorials were very pleasant and user friendly. We especially enjoyed the Duck Tour as the guide was very knowledageable and friendly. Started our sightseeing with such a wonderful experience.

Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 26, 2010

Great Price for the Location

The hotel was nice. The rooms were small, but clean. The only downside of the hotel was that the beds were not very comfortable. And we were on the street side so occasionally you could hear people laughing/talking as they walked by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 26, 2010

Great Price for the Location

The hotel was nice. The rooms were small, but clean. The only downside of the hotel was that the beds were not very comfortable. And we were on the street side so occasionally you could hear people laughing/talking as they walked by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hugh62
scituate, Ma
Apr 17, 2010

Very nice hotel

We went for the TEA PARTY. We go to DC a lot and this trip was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Almost Every deli etc closed at 5PM

Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hugh62
scituate, Ma
Apr 17, 2010

Very nice hotel

We went for the TEA PARTY. We go to DC a lot and this trip was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Almost Every deli etc closed at 5PM

Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fotogyrrl
New England
Apr 13, 2010

Not too shabby.....

Upon arriving at the hotel the staff was friendly and warm. We had a very clean and comfortable room with a nice little view. There is a rooftop pool and a 24 hour fitness room. I did not check them out so I don't know what they are like. The placement of the hotel to the Museums and Monuments was actually not bad. Walking down was only about 20 minutes to just about everything. The White House is even closer at about a 15 minute walk. Another nice thing is that the hotel is near a 24 hour CVS, so if you forgot something you could walk over 2 blocks on 14th St to pick something up. It was not near a Metro stop, but there was always a cab available nearby if needed. I would recommend leaving the hotel for meals. The District Grill was not exactly yummy. There are some fine restaurants in the area, but you do need to search for them. All in all, I would certainly stay there again. It was a lovely trip, I would recommend to stay during the Cherry Blossom Festival for a fun weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fotogyrrl
New England
Apr 13, 2010

Not too shabby.....

Upon arriving at the hotel the staff was friendly and warm. We had a very clean and comfortable room with a nice little view. There is a rooftop pool and a 24 hour fitness room. I did not check them out so I don't know what they are like. The placement of the hotel to the Museums and Monuments was actually not bad. Walking down was only about 20 minutes to just about everything. The White House is even closer at about a 15 minute walk. Another nice thing is that the hotel is near a 24 hour CVS, so if you forgot something you could walk over 2 blocks on 14th St to pick something up. It was not near a Metro stop, but there was always a cab available nearby if needed. I would recommend leaving the hotel for meals. The District Grill was not exactly yummy. There are some fine restaurants in the area, but you do need to search for them. All in all, I would certainly stay there again. It was a lovely trip, I would recommend to stay during the Cherry Blossom Festival for a fun weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 12, 2010

Good location

Other comparable hotels were too pricey during my trip. The location was good and price was reasonable. The heating system in my room was having some issues, so it was a little cold during my stay, but otherwise a fine choice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of 12NK Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 12, 2010

Good location

Other comparable hotels were too pricey during my trip. The location was good and price was reasonable. The heating system in my room was having some issues, so it was a little cold during my stay, but otherwise a fine choice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map