Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
View map of 2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Selami
Business
Istanbul, Turkiye
Dec 17, 2012

Good, qualified. I enjoyed the Travelodge.

Everything was satisfying. Room, bathroom, bed, breakfast were good. If I go to Monterey again, I will prefer this hotel again. Thanks to the friendly staff. As a conclusion, I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babydill1975
Business
sacramento
Oct 1, 2012

expensive for average hotel

The hotel was ok, clean room. Nothing spectacular and felt like it needed an update. Good location, but expensive for the quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Canadian Biker
Business
Regina, SK, Canada
Aug 22, 2012

only if you have to

We stayed at a lot of hotels on our trip across the western states. costs were a factor. next time, I'll spend a little more money to find a better place. staff was nice, room was ok but a little sketchy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravellingConsultant
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 9, 2012

Good value for the money but breakfast needs to improve

I stayed at the Travelodge for business for two nights. In Monterey, where I've stayed over a dozen times, there are a lot of motels priced similarly to the Travelodge. It gets high points for bed comfort, room size, and general cleanliness. It loses points for poor wireless service. Many of these motels offer breakfast. Travelodge was average in that group with no hot items except toast. No eggs, no waffle, no oatmeal. However the cereal, juice and other items were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey's Fish House at 2114 Del Monte Blvd. was excellent - really large portions of perfectly cooked fish and shellfish. I had the Holiday Cioppino - delicious!

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany at the aquarium
Business
Davis, CA, USA
Jul 16, 2012

Clean room, some airplane noise

The hotel staff were very nice, the room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The only complaint is that the hotel must be right under an air traffic pattern, because we definately heard a few planes fly overhead. I was so tired I didn't notice once I went to sleep, but my husband got woken up at 5 AM from one. The breakfast was big and the staff at breakfast were very nice and quick to refill and clean up. The room was a bit expensive for what it was, but that was likely because I booked it 2 days before our arrival. Overall, I would stay there again, though my husband was a bit annoyed at being woken up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Whaling Station on Wave St. has great desserts! Bistro Moulin has an amazing spinach gnocchi!

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
egressman
Business
mesquite nv
Jul 8, 2012

NOT SO GOOD

we checked in and were treated well by the staff. It was down hill from there. We paid $100 for a room that had the most uncomfortable beds, a bathroom that was small and the faucet was a spay type and had no pressure. the breakfast was not a breakfast it was so limited we were only able to get toast and a hard boiled egg that was hard to peel. all in all we had a very poor night . we would never stay there or at any travelodge again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jemmley
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 6, 2012

Get What You Pay For

We stayed overnight at this hotel while visiting the Aquarium. It's right off the freeway, really easy to access, room was clean, staff was polite, and it was overall, a comfortable experience. Would book here again. It's definitely not a luxurious place, but if you're just looking for a comfortable place to spend a night in, this place does it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tickets to the Aquarium are a couple bucks less if you purchase them from the front desk

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Insurance PI Guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 5, 2012

Nice Hotel

Perfect site for a family trip to Monterey. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice, and quick to meet our needs. Continental breakfast was outstanding. Beautiful clean pool, exercise room. Close enough to the attractions, but far away enough to avoid tourist congestion. Highly recommend, it is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cut your liquor cost. Buy at close grocery and drink at your room. You'll save a fortune.

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattli
Business
Torrance,California
Jun 3, 2012

Wi-Fi wasn't very good

The Wi-Fi was so slow when we stayed there. We even cant connect that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mattli
Business
Torrance,California
May 30, 2012

Pretty nice

I'm had really good time stay at Monterey Bay Travelodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top