Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

2 stars
944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
171 reviews
A great place go stay.

Check-in was easy. Staff very nice. Room was good. To me the best part is how close it is to... See full review

  • Tahoe retiree wannabe
  • Mar 23, 2014
Excellent Location at an Affordable Price

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a Wednesday and Thurday night. The room was a little dark... See full review

  • CaliGrown
  • Mar 15, 2014
Walk to Lake Tahoe and Heavenly Mountain Resort gondola

Location is one big draw for this affordable inn that guests routinely describe as both clean and convenient. Whether guests have come to Lake Tahoe for the skiing and snowboarding, golf, boating or gambling, it's all within walking distance of the Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casinos
  • Complimentary access to private beach
  • Outdoor spa tub open year round
  • Continental breakfast included
Rooms

The guest rooms at the Blue Lake Inn are simple and spacious, and all feature microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, coffee-makers, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and cable television with premium channels. Many rooms include whirlpool tubs or fireplaces.

Features

Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at the Blue Lake Inn before heading out to Heavenly Mountain Resort or to the beach at Lake Tahoe. A stay at the inn also includes complimentary parking, a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and complimentary Wi-Fi. The inn is a non-smoking property.

Transportation

Reno-Tahoe International Airport (56 mi/96 km)

Attractions
  • Skiing/snowboarding (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Golf (0.2 mi/0.3)
  • Boating (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Fishing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village Rooms

King Room
Room with one king includes microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, premium cable TV that includes HBO, individually controlled heating and air conditioning, am/fm alarm clock radio and complimentary local phone calls. Non-smoking only. A complimentary continental breakfast with hot and cold cereals, assorted breakfast breads, Star bucks coffee, hot chocolate and juice is also included.
2 Queen Beds
Room with two queen beds includes microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, premium cable TV that includes HBO, individually controlled heating and air conditioning, am/fm alarm clock radio and complimentary local phone calls. Non-smoking only. A complimentary continental breakfast with hot and cold cereals, assorted breakfast breads, Starbucks coffee, hot chocolate and juice is also included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9571 -119.9459
Area served
South Lake Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno / Tahoe International Airport - RNO - 45 miles. The South Lake Tahoe Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located 45 miles from reno airport, a short walk to Heavenly Ski Resort, the South Lake Tahoe Casinos, Lake Tahoe, and minutes away from several other world class ski resorts and activities. Steps from the Heavenly Gondola and Village, cinema, food, shopping. nigh-life, restaurants and beautiful Lake Tahoe. Casinos area 3 blocks away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Overall score

3.2 / 5
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Oct 14, 2009

Disappointment

The experience would have been romantic until Blue Lake Inn charge an extra $56.00 on the credit card without letting you know and they knew that the room was already paid for the night. SO MAKE SURE when you stay at Blue Lake Inn that they don't double charge you!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Mandizzy
Pismo Beach, CA
Nov 17, 2010

SO Deceiving!!! You Get What You Pay For

We booked two nights at this hotel after finding a great rate and looking at VERY deceiving pictures on their website. We ended up staying about 20 minutes before checking out and finding a better hotel down the road. First of all the entire parking lot was deserted...should have been a clue! When we lugged all of our stuff up the stairs and opened the door to our room we nearly froze to death. The room was freezing and turning on the creepy wall heater was not an option with our busy one year old running around. The room was very outdated and did not seem clean at all. The worst part? By the time we went to turn in our keys and check out the desk clerk had decided to take a 'break', hung a sign on the front door saying that he would be back in 5 minutes, and sat down on the internet to do some personal browsing. He could see us waiting in the cold for him to unlock the front door and we could see him and everything he was doing on the internet. He finally got off his butt to unlock the door for us and remove the sign and the rude guy didn't even open the door! He just flipped the lock, turned around, and walked away. We were obviously waiting for him because we wanted to come inside and he works in the hospitality industry...how about opening the door?? Even though we didn't stay one night we didn't get any money back. Their website is very unclear about refund/cancellation policy and it wouldn't surprise me if that guy took our refund because when he was asked about the policy he just stuttered and acted as if he didn't know whether or not we could get our money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
SACRAMENTO
Oct 1, 2009

LUV LOCATION AND PRICE

WEDDING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
bobbuzzkill
Los Gatos, CA
Jan 1, 2010

Don't waste your time

The check-in clerk was uninviting to say the least. I checked-in around 7pm and one of my questions was how was the weather earlier in the day and his response was: "I have been so busy since I came to work, at 3 pm, I don't know". As I walked to my room I noted how trashy the property grounds were, and once I got to my room I was shocked at how dirty the carpets appeared. I realize that the majority of hotels/motels in this area cater to the skiing/snowboarding crowd who might track in dirt from associated sporting gear, so the carpets should be cleaned on a more regular basis during the winter months. I wore my shoes any time I walked around the room. The major problem with this property was the lack of attention/supervision to drunken guests. There were approximately 10-12 younger adults who were vocal up to 9pm and then again around 11pm throughout the whole night and in to the early morning hours without any contact by hotel personnel. Message to property owner/manager: Disorderly conduct should be dealt with quickly and if necessary guests removed from the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Soneshing
Santa Rosa, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Not a clean motel

Motel was run-down and dirty. Beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Lodi, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Worst Check-in EVER!

The check-in process took 45 minutes. The man behind the counter was more interested in having a conversation in Spanish about where to buy weed, then to get through the line quickly. I was late to a meeting because it took so long for check-in. The rooms are clean, however they are old, and have not been updated since the mid-70s I'm guessing. Light shining through the window curtains reflected off the mirrored wall, making sleep a little difficult once the sun came up. It was quiet, however, and the location is ideal. Just try to avoid checking in at 3:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
new mexico
Jun 24, 2009

poor

first they offered us a room rate at half the price we got from you. $44.00 and because we stayed one more day and did not use you they tripled their rate. other than the room and it's rates we had a great time in tahoe. it is a one star motel at best. we will not stay there again or use your services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Danville, CA
Jun 13, 2011

Not Good

First of all, this is a "sleep cheap" hotel and that is exactly what you get. We had a 1st floor room. The room above us partied all night. We thought the ceiling may fall through. There is no manager on premises in the evening. The next morning we went in and told of our situation. The poor little girl who was at the desk just didn't know what to do. I asked her to have the owner call me. The owner was out of town so I asked to have the mgr call me. About an hour later this young lady called and said they would move us to a 2nd floor suite. They said they would give us a gift certificate for a future stay. I asked for a refund for the one night...I wasted my breath. The rooms are very old, in need of repair. The stairs to the "suite' had absolutely no lighting and we couldn't see the stairway. Just be warned, this is a party hotel and the mgmt (if there really is any)will not do anything to curtail any improper conduct. If you are young and a party animal, this is your hotel! Otherwise, stay away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
Mr.Tellingthetruth
Bay Area, CA
Aug 19, 2012

The worst hotel stay I have ever had in my life!!!

When we got there we smelled a strong aroma of human urine. To my disbelief I felt my shoes squeaking against the carpet not because it was clean but because it was wet. Wet from what? I don't know. The first thing thing is turn the AC on. One hour later I noticed the AC wasn't cooling. When I told staff they complained about how they have been putting freon into this unit all week and brought me a square shaped fan. When I went to open my window to get some air I found that there was no screen on the window. At that point I asked for another room and I was told there was no vacancy. I would have rather been turned down then to have been rented this awful room...If there was a zero rating the Blu Lake Inn would get it. PS There is no private beach entrance. They just tell you that to get your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Blue Lake Inn at The Heavenly Village

Reviewer score

1
shernesto
Granada Hills, California
Jan 10, 2010

We stayed in back, car was damaged., l

We liked the room, very clean & plenty of room. The room was in the back. Our car was parked, while we skied during the daytime. Someone stripped the lock trying to get in!!!?????[*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to get a package deal from the ski lifts. I paid $209.00 per day for 2 adults & 1 child.

Back to menu Return to top