Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

2 stars
3489 lake Tahoe Blvd, On Hwy 50, S. Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
50 reviews
Good hotel

If you are looking for value, space, and comfort, this is a good choice for you. I stayed here with... See full review

  • Jay W
  • Mar 7, 2014
Good Inn

Great location, worth its price. We have a wonderful time there. See full review

  • GDkid
  • Oct 4, 2013
AAA-approved inn with free continental breakfast, shuttle to skiing and casinos

The centrally located Howard Johnson Express Inn is within walking distance of casinos, nightlife and restaurants. Complimentary continental breakfast is included. A heated outdoor pool is open during the summer months, and a hot tub is open year-round. Guests also have access to laundry facilities on the property (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Seasonal pool and year-round hot tub
  • Just blocks from beach, Heavenly gondola
Rooms

The 59 rooms at the two-level Howard Johnson Express Inn have been recently renovated with a southwestern flavor. Rooms include one king-size bed or two or three queens, which is ideal for families. Rooms are outfitted with an AM/FM alarm-clock radio, hair-dryer, coffee-maker, refrigerator and a TV with more than 60 cable channels, including HBO. In addition, rooms include free Wi-Fi and local calls.

Features

The Howard Johnson Express Inn delivers easy access to various water and snow sports, casinos, restaurants, and golf. Its rooms have been recently renovated, and the outdoor pool (seasonal), hot tub and standard room amenities make a for a real value. Guests routinely compliment the hotel staff for their warm hospitality and service that exceeds expectations. The inn offers free parking (including for trucks and RVs, and fax and copy services are available (fees apply). This is a no-smoking property.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (58 mi/93 km)
Attractions
  • Action Water Sports of Tahoe (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Bijou Municipal Golf Course (0.5 mi/ 0.8)
  • Caesars Tahoe Casino (1.8 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Camp Richardson Resort (6.0 mi/ 9.7 km)
  • Northstar at Tahoe (39 mi/ 62.7 km)
  • Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course (5.3 mi/ 8.5 km)
  • Emerald Bay (13 mi/ 21 km)
  • Glenbrook Golf Course (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
  • Hansens Toboggan and Saucer (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Harveys Casino (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Heavenly Gondola and Mountain Resort (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Hope Valley Outdoor Center (20 mi/ 32 km)
Policies and fees
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9469 -119.9638
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
22 out of 50
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

4
Karen SycoGrandma
Fremont CA
May 11, 2013

Attended a Wedding.

We very much liked our accommodations. The location was perfect and we had a restaurant right next door. The room was clean and liked that it was quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is good at Heidi's but only opened from 7 am to 2 pm.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

4
Winter Traveler Duo
California
Jan 1, 2013

Great Choice For Our Trip

Having gone during the winter, comfort was a priority! The heater in our room worked great and plenty of water for hot showers! The bed was more comfortable then other hotels I have stayed! Yes the continental breakfast is a total drag, store bought donuts, toasts, cereal, coffee and juice, but it was great to grab on the way to hitting the slopes. They also have a great breakfast restaurant next door we enjoyed one day! All we had to do was walk to the front of the hotel to catch the shuttle to the slopes and casino. It was nice staying about 2 miles from all the hustle and bustle because we were able to just relax! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly! Yes the cost was a little steap but so is everything else in South Lake! The last night we were there it snowed and we could here the slow plow drive back and forth all night and there was a concert so people were coming in and out all night but we need our roads cleared and other people are on vacation as well! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heidi's breakfast was amazing! Get there early to avoid the crowd!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

2
Aloha state traveler
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 17, 2012

A bit better than a 2 star

This is an older motel which is being repainted and slightly upgraded; but it is an older motel, so major renovations are needed before it can be a 3 star place. But it's clean and it's owners are very friendly. No complaints for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive along the southeast shore. Spectacular scenery!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

3
bevar
Rancho Cucamonga
Sep 22, 2012

ok, for the price

This hotel took care of our needs. Bed was good, and they had a nice continental breakfast. The a/c didn't work too good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

1
No sleep at HowardJohnson
sacramento, ca
May 21, 2012

Needs a touch of class

Rooms were very small, beds are ridiculously hard. The staff was unpleasant, only two towels per room. Smallest shower ever. The free breakfast was minimal..pretty much toast and juice. Pool and jacuzzi were broken and disgustingly full of mud and garbage. Worst hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Horsetail falls..gorgeous!!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

2
travelbk
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

fantastic getaway

Average experience at this hotel but good location. Was outdoors most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Pleasanton, CA
Jun 30, 2011

Not bad for the price

The bed was very comfortable with soft fluffy pillows. The bathroom was small though, and the shower water was unsteady hot/cold and difficult to adjust. Overall, the unit was adequate and the staff was super. It was in a good location within 10min drive to all the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

4
Tahoe-tripper
Bay Area
Aug 23, 2010

Our stay at HoJo's, South Lake Tahoe

We enjoyed our stay and especially liked the very comfortable bed! The staff and managers were very nice and helpful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

3
Captain T
Colorado
Aug 9, 2010

nicer than what we thought

Hotel was nicer than what we thought it would be for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn S Lake Tahoe CA

Reviewer score

3
jbreito300
Raleigh, NC
Jul 21, 2010

Not bad but nothing fancy. Adequate,

We checked in a couple hours early with no hassle at all. Checkout also a breeze. No continental breakfast as was advertised on website was only real disappointment. staff was very nice. Room was fine for the wife and I just for 2 nights, pretty basic. No full size tub though, only shower, but I didn't particularly mind that. Bed was comfortable, so we did sleep well. We just wanted a place to shower and sleep since we planned to spend most of our short time outside in Lake Tahoe. It was worth the money. I'd have stayed at a nicer and pricier place had we had more days to spend there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top