Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

3 stars
1001 Heavenly Village Way, 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
70 reviews
Family getaway

I was looking for a rooms for a family of 5 on a quick weekend getaway. This couldn't have been... See full review

  • Tahoe weekender
  • Jul 16, 2014
A wonderful place to gather for a wedding.

Beautiful location, great staff, a swimming pool and a jacuzzi - couldn't have wanted more. See full review

  • Michael Sargent
  • Oct 30, 2013
Luxury studios, one- and two-bedroom villas in South Lake Tahoe
One of South Lake Tahoe's most luxurious resorts, the Grand Residences by Marriott offers pampering, shopping and world-class entertainment, plus every outdoor activity anyone could desire. From a championship golf course that is less than a mile away to world-class skiing that is right outside the property's door, there is something for everyone right within a mile of this property. A concierge, fitness center, pool and other amenities make staying on-property a pleasure, too.
Highlights
  • Shopping, restaurants on property; casinos within walking distance
  • Lockers for skiing and snowboarding equipment
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
Rooms

The 112 rooms and 199 suites of this five-floor property are fitted with lodge-inspired furnishings. Beds are covered with cozy featherbeds and down comforters. All rooms include Wi-Fi and cable as well as a 42-inch flat screen televisions and premium movie channels are also available (fees may apply). Guests can also rent DVDs to watch in the comfort of their rooms. Enjoy Bath & Body Works bath amenities. Some rooms feature fully furnished kitchens, fireplaces and a balcony.

Features

A concierge can make arrangements for any desired outdoor activity available in the area, including snowmobiling, biking, hiking, boating, fishing, sailing and much more. A fitness center equipped with cardiovascular machines, free weights, treadmills, and stationary bikes, swimming pool and hot tubs is complimentary. At the Body Essentials Spa, enjoy facial treatments, massage and manicure/pedicure services (fees apply).

 

Valet parking is available (fees apply). The Grand Residences by Marriott has a smoke-free policy.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (56 mi/96 km)
  • South Tahoe Express provides shuttle service between hotel and airport (reservations required)
Attractions
  • Heavenly Mountain Resort (on property)
  • Golf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Biking trail (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Jogging/fitness trail (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bowling (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Tennis (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Mountain biking trail (5 mi/8 km)
  • Water-skiing (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Horseback riding (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Jet-skiing (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Kayaking (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sailing (6 mi/9.6)
  • Fly-fishing (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Snow skiing: Sierra at Tahoe (25 mi/40 mi)
  • River rafting (30 mi/48 km)
  • Snow skiing: Kirkwood (30 mi/48 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with 345 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees
NOTICE: The hotel will undergo renovation that will be in two phases: 6 September 2014 to 8 December 2014 and 6 April 2015 to 7 July 2015. Construction noise will be prevalent during these dates.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Water skiing
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9553 -119.9433
Area served
Reno
Nearby airports
Reno-Tahoe International Airport, (RNO), 54.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Jun 30, 2011

OK, if your a ski bum.

Over priced, but clean. suitable for a week stay with the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, Nevada
May 29, 2011

Snowy Memorial Day Weekend

Front desk staff was attentive and informative. Very helpful! Our stay here was a spur of the moment thing -- couldn't have been more impressed!!! We had both stayed at other places in south lake Tahoe, but we were never very impressed. This place was definitely the top of the class in slt!!! We are planning a trip with the kiddos to stay here later this summer! Coffee, dinner, parking, etc was all very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chart House was amazing.

Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MANTECA
May 16, 2011

GREAT PLACE

GREAT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Apr 4, 2011

Great Location & Hottub. So-So Value.

Enjoyed the courteous and attentive staff, as well as all the facilities including the steam room, sauna, pool and hot tubs. The rooms were well maintained and had a kitchen well-stocked with pots, plates, cutlery and serving equipment. Location was superb, although it was disappointing the gondola was closed one day (no fault of the hotel). The only reason this is a 4-star review instead of a 5-star is the price. I've stayed in more luxurious hotels for less. The price of the valet parking made me wince, and the rooms hardly had any of the usual perks of rooms priced at this level. Examples would be- afternoon turn-downs, complimentary bottle of water/chocolates, view, robe/slippers to wear to the pool, room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riva Grill was recommended by the staff, and we also found it to be overpriced. I enjoyed the Wolfgang Puck Express for a casual dinner the next evening, and plan to try the Fire+Ice grill next time.

Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico City
Dec 30, 2010

First time in the snow

This was a short visit but we had what we were looking for: snow, snow and snow. We were walking outdoors in the snow and were lifted on the gondola to Heavenly. This time we donĀ“t ski but it was wonderful anyway. The hotel was very nice place with all the ammenities we needed. The rooms were very comfortable and with all the facilities that we took advantage to make an unforgettable family dinner. The supermarket is in walking distance. What else can we ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Considering the well equipped kitchen inside the room, you can go to the supermarket buy everything you need and moneysave in breakfast or even in the dinner.

Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Discover Taho
Nipomo, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Clean, Comfortable, Great Location

Great location, clean, comfortable, great service staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxation Seeker
Tracy, CA
Oct 27, 2010

A "heavenly" wonderful place to stay!

The staff was friendly, accommodating and very helpful. It was our 24th anniversary. It was very windy and rainy when we arrived. They did not hesitate to jump right in and try to make us comfortable from the get-go. We did not get to see/do some of the things we had planned because of the weather, but we loved the hotel and the friendly/helpful staff. We felt right at home. The room was lovely and very comfortable. We would love to return to this hotel ANY time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

This one bedroom studio has a fully equipped kitchen. All you need to add is food! You can really relax and not be bothered. Get some groceries, go to the room, cook and eat when you feel like it in total comfort. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. We were on 4th floor and it was quiet and lovely, even though there was a terrible storm brewing outside.

Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Oct 24, 2010

A Nice Place to Stay

The location was excellent. As part of a resort village, everything was nearby or within walking distance. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly and professional. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and the kitchen fully equipped. The only real issue was the parking which was a bit steep at $24 a day with valet parking the only hotel option. But otherwise, a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Cruz, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Great weekend getaway!

The best place I have stayed at in SOuth Lake Tahoe after many years of going up. Got a great rate (during the off-season of course). It was walking distance to everything. Everyone was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left out of the hotel and there is a cheap bike rental place across the street from the Railey's shopping center

Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Lake Tahoe - studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erndog
Mission Viejo, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Excellent hotel and location

The hotel is in an excellent location in South Tahoe. We stayed here during the summer months and had an wonderful time. The location would be perfect during ski season, the Heavenly gondola is minutes away. It is right next to Harrah's, Harvey's, excellent restaurants, shops and is half a mile from the beach. When you stay here you get free access to the private beach which is nice. The pool is only about 4 feet deep so it was mostly used for kids. Their were two spas which is perfect after a long day. The rooms were clean and looked recently renovated. My wife loved the comfortable bed and nice sheets, we probably would have preferred a king though instead of a queen. Our refrigerator was set at too low of a temperature so our food froze and it made a lot of noise during the night. We turned it down the next night though and all was good. The shower head wasn't the greatest. One of the downsides was the parking. $24 a night to park is pretty ridiculous. The public parking was $25 as well. When we pulled up, the valet told us people park at Harrah's for free so that's what we did. Other then that, it was a great hotel and we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an excellent restaurant right on the beach that served the best oso bucco we had ever had. It melted in our mouth.

Back to menu Return to top