Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

3 stars
View map of 1900 Jameson Beach Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
intuitionist
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 28, 2011

Unique amidst tacky casino/ski resorts!

This hotel is great for the star level and price. It has a great atmosphere... down-to-earth, clean, warm, and you get to meet people who actually lead active lives and appreciate nature, not spoiled city folks who come to Tahoe just to snowboard and gamble. Has a general store, restaurant, gear rental shop, an outdoor hot tub, a large fireplace, just an awesome place. Nothing fancy, and the staff is not available off-hours, but so much better than all the tacky resorts you see around Tahoe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 28, 2011

Quaint feel, good price

Staff was very helpful from the moment we got in after hours during a bad storm to restaurant recommendations to checkout. Resort was away from the glitz of South Lake Tahoe - some may like it, some may prefer to be closer to the nightlife. Nice fireplace in the common area to warm up at. Our 2-doubles room had very limited space for 4 adults and baggage, but was clean. Towels could have been plusher, but it's not like I'm paying for 5-star accommodations here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ski fred
Business
santa clara
Jan 7, 2011

cant beat the location

Perfect Spot - a stone's throw from Lake Tahoe, you can literally hear waves at night. Great x country skiing nearby - friendy restaurant staff. Good for a quick trip or longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 6, 2011

Family getaway

We stayed at Richardson's for two nights for the ski trip. We arrived the hotel pretty late around 11pm. To get in we need to use the phone to get the locker code to retrieve the key inside the locker. The room is clean, small (cozy) and with wood ascent. There is no TV phone inside the room, which is perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great Tahoe Accommodation

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. Easy drive to local ski resorts. This is our second stay here and we will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, CA
Dec 26, 2010

Nice anc cozy hotel

Camp Richardson Resort & Marina is a very nice and cozy hotel. The interior has an historical and natural fashion, all tidy and clean. Yes, there is no TV in its rooms, but wifi is free. Unlike many motels where the air conditioners are noisy, this hotel has central heating which quiet and sufficiently powerful. The community room is spacious with lots of tables, chairs and sofas. Also TV and VCR available. During our stay, there was a Christmas party being held beside the furnace. And don't forget the Jacuzzi outside, :-) Front desk staff are easygoing and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to lake Tahoe and a nice restaurant.

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Dec 12, 2010

A little disappointed!

The room is very small and cramped. There is no TV in the room. No phone in the room. The internet signal in the room was weak and hence will not work. It is located in a beautiful part of the lake, but once it is dark you cannot do anything in the room except sleep! You have to walk down to the front desk for any thing you need as there is no phone in the room. Too expensive considering these amnenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Cozy Accomodations

My friends and I were attending a wedding at a private home on the beach and we all needed a place too stay - Camp Richardson was within walking distance so it seemed like the logical choice. I travel on business so I've become accomstomed to a certain level of accomodations and was a little leary of how "comfortable" I would be at Camp Richardson...I have too say I was very pleasantly surprised. Although the accomodations were "Rustic" I found the room to be cute, comfortable and most imporatantly VERY CLEAN. I would definitly recommend this hotel if your looking for something inexpensive and close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMEBREZ
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 31, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The motel was older but the very clean and the room size was good. The staff was very nice. The location is what was wonderful. You step out the door and there is Lake Tahoe in all it's beauty. A camera buffs dream. There is also a very nice restuarant at the lake, Beacon Grill with good food and large portion's. The motel has 7 rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many hiking trails and beautiful bike paths. Bring your own towels, the ones provided are thin. The walls of the motel are thin and may be a little noisy if full. But the location is worth it.

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Earplugs
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Mar 29, 2010

A pleasant stay

Not a great time to go if you like to x-country ski. Snow was melting rapidly in Tahoe and especially Camp Richardson area. It's a perfect time to go if you're looking for a quiet get away for you and your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for pleasant dining experience and not your average pizza or burger place, then try Tahoe Grill Restaurant across the street from Swiss Chalet. Delicious food! Menu is a bit pricey, but you can order to share.

Back to menu Return to top