Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

3 stars
1900 Jameson Beach Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
51 reviews
Lake, Pier, Beach and rum runners

I have been coming to this area for many years. First time lodging at Camp Richardson. Awesome... See full review

  • Jeff ST
  • Mar 10, 2014
Camp Richardson Hotel

Let me first start by saying that the staff here is super friendly and helpful. The location is in... See full review

  • FrostyWoman
  • Dec 25, 2013
The historic two story Camp Richardson Hotel offers 27 lodge rooms reminiscent of days gone by. Decorated in Old Tahoe charm, each room features log furniture and mountain decor. The Hotel great room is a unique social area with comfortable seating and a large stone fireplace. The hotel services provided are Room service,Continental Breakfast at our General Store, Gift shop & General Store, banquet facilities, Bar, smoke-free hotel, barbecue area, Wi-Fi (only available in the Hotel Lobby and free for guests), Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, individual heat control (no air conditioning), Tour desk, Conference facilities, disabled facilities (a TDY component is available upon request) and Restaurant. The Courtyard spa is available for all hotel guests. Keeping with the old time charm, the hotel has no TV or telephone. It is truly reminiscent of a time when vacation meant leaving your troubles at the door. A year round destination resort of pure relaxation offering lodging, camping, boating, biking, beach going, lakeside dining, cross country skiing, sleigh rides and more. Camp Richardson has a strictly enforced NO PETS POLICY.

Camp Richardson Resort & Marina Rooms

Hotel Queen
Room with one queen bed includes individual heating control, alarm clock, room service, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, bathroom amenities, tea and coffee service in room, ceiling fan, disabled facilities, TDY on request, non-smoking rooms, private bathroom, radio.
Hotel Double/Double
Room with two double beds include individual heating control, alarm clock, room service, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, bathroom amenities, tea and coffee service in room, ceiling fan, disabled facilities, TDY on request, non-smoking rooms, private bathroom, radio.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Camp Richardson Resort & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9341 -120.0402
Area served
South Lake Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno-Tahoe International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just minutes away from the most beautiful alpine lake in the world. We offer the closest full service marina to Emerald Bay and are located just minutes from world-class ski/board resorts and Casinos. mountain sports center provides everything you need for mountain biking in the summer and snowshoeing and cross country skiing in the winter. The Resort is minutes away from the Pacific Rim Trail and the awesome Desolation Wilderness. Camp Richardson has a strictly enforced NO PETS policy

Dining

Restaurant
The Beacon Bar & Grill is located right on the water's edge and offers an incredible menu for lunch and dinner. Sunday brunch is also offered. Live music is presented afternoons during the summer months.
General Store
The Emerald Bay Cafe located in the General Store offers breakfast and deli sandwiches 7 days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 6, 2011

Family getaway

We stayed at Richardson's for two nights for the ski trip. We arrived the hotel pretty late around 11pm. To get in we need to use the phone to get the locker code to retrieve the key inside the locker. The room is clean, small (cozy) and with wood ascent. There is no TV phone inside the room, which is perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Great Tahoe Accommodation

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. Easy drive to local ski resorts. This is our second stay here and we will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, CA
Dec 26, 2010

Nice anc cozy hotel

Camp Richardson Resort & Marina is a very nice and cozy hotel. The interior has an historical and natural fashion, all tidy and clean. Yes, there is no TV in its rooms, but wifi is free. Unlike many motels where the air conditioners are noisy, this hotel has central heating which quiet and sufficiently powerful. The community room is spacious with lots of tables, chairs and sofas. Also TV and VCR available. During our stay, there was a Christmas party being held beside the furnace. And don't forget the Jacuzzi outside, :-) Front desk staff are easygoing and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to lake Tahoe and a nice restaurant.

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Dec 12, 2010

A little disappointed!

The room is very small and cramped. There is no TV in the room. No phone in the room. The internet signal in the room was weak and hence will not work. It is located in a beautiful part of the lake, but once it is dark you cannot do anything in the room except sleep! You have to walk down to the front desk for any thing you need as there is no phone in the room. Too expensive considering these amnenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Cozy Accomodations

My friends and I were attending a wedding at a private home on the beach and we all needed a place too stay - Camp Richardson was within walking distance so it seemed like the logical choice. I travel on business so I've become accomstomed to a certain level of accomodations and was a little leary of how "comfortable" I would be at Camp Richardson...I have too say I was very pleasantly surprised. Although the accomodations were "Rustic" I found the room to be cute, comfortable and most imporatantly VERY CLEAN. I would definitly recommend this hotel if your looking for something inexpensive and close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMEBREZ
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 31, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The motel was older but the very clean and the room size was good. The staff was very nice. The location is what was wonderful. You step out the door and there is Lake Tahoe in all it's beauty. A camera buffs dream. There is also a very nice restuarant at the lake, Beacon Grill with good food and large portion's. The motel has 7 rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many hiking trails and beautiful bike paths. Bring your own towels, the ones provided are thin. The walls of the motel are thin and may be a little noisy if full. But the location is worth it.

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Earplugs
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Mar 29, 2010

A pleasant stay

Not a great time to go if you like to x-country ski. Snow was melting rapidly in Tahoe and especially Camp Richardson area. It's a perfect time to go if you're looking for a quiet get away for you and your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for pleasant dining experience and not your average pizza or burger place, then try Tahoe Grill Restaurant across the street from Swiss Chalet. Delicious food! Menu is a bit pricey, but you can order to share.

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdsgil
Business
Rancho Cordova
Mar 28, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Had a great time walking down to the lake and around the area. Check in time was 3:00 pm they let us check in at 11:00 am. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snowfreak
Business
San Jose
Mar 23, 2010

Very nice and unique resort

This place is very unique and relaxing, staff are very very friendly and accommodating, we a great breakfast at general store next door, the hotel staff even gave us vouchers for discount breakfast, room was spotless so was the jacuzzi, will definitely go back every chance I get

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Camp Richardson Resort & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bankim
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Decent for winter ski/snowboarding trip

We stayed in a room with Queen size bed for our snowboarding weekend trip. The room was clean and has a historic touch to it but a bit small. The walls are thin, so we could hear ppl in the neighbouring room talking. It's better to stay in one of the hotels/motels near Heavenly on Lake Tahoe Blvd for the similar or lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top