Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

4 stars
101 Wilshire Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
48 reviews
Always an oasis of comfort.

Location is perfect on Ocean Drive, facility is top notch, service is professional, restaurant/bar... See full review

  • Retailman
  • Dec 5, 2013
Luxury can't be beat

Beautiful, excellent service, great yoga class, responsive staff, love it!! See full review

  • MookieHouston
  • Jun 24, 2013
California is the star at luxuriant L.A. hotel overlooking the ocean
Live the California dream, old and new, at the Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica (also known as the Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows). Stroll the grassy palm-shaded park overlooking the peeling waves of the Pacific Ocean and dine at renowned L.A. restaurants within blocks, including on-site FIG. Return to the Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica for discreet service and superior day spa that Hollywood has found solace in for decades. Fabulous sunglasses not included (but private car transport to L.A. boutiques is).
Highlights
  • Coastal bluff and private beach club below 
  • Green Hotel 
  • Poolside massages and yoga studio at day spa 
  • Pets welcome
  • FIG Restaurant uses ingredients mostly from Santa Monica Farmer's Market
Rooms

The oldest rooms at the Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica are 1930s one- and two-story bungalows or rooms with European wood and classic marble bathrooms. Those who desire a scenic balcony from 10 stories up opt for contemporary rooms across the gardens. In all accommodations, guests relax in front of a 42-inch TV in a 100 percent cotton robe on 200 thread-count Italian linens under down pillows and duvets. Enjoy mini-bars, Wolfgang Puck coffee and Miller Harris products. Wi-Fi is available at the Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica (fees apply). All 302 rooms are non-smoking. 

Features
The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica was originally a mansion. Over the hedges, five acres contain koi ponds and a swimming pool heated year-round with bar service.
Dining
Named for the Moreton Bay fig tree at the Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica entrance, FIG offers a refined quality-over-quantity menu of California organic cuisine. Sunday brunch comes with a bottomless pint of beer. An indoor/outdoor lounge at the Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica features beach house style sofas. Room service is available 24/7.
Recreation
The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica beach club on the Baywatch beach offers shaded chairs, lunch service, towels, beach cruisers and boogie boards in summer (rides provided). At Exhale spa, relax with fruit-infused water, dry sauna, steam rooms and a 24/7 fitness room. 
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Complimentary town car to beach and within three mile radius of hotel
Attractions
  • Oceanfront Pacific Park (across the street)
  • Third Street Promenade (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Staples Center (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Disneyland (41.3 mi/66.5 km)
Business
  • 25,000 square feet event space 
  • Catering
  • Event staff
  • Complimentary newspapers 
  • Wi-Fi in lobby (fees apply)
  • Currency exchange
  • Computer rentals
Policies and Fees
Valet parking fee is $39 plus taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica Rooms

Premier Ocean View King
Experience the ultimate seaside luxury in a Premier Ocean View room furnished by Los Angeles based interior designer Lynda Murray. These newly renovated accommodations blend the classic with the contemporary and feature unique design elements reminiscent of early Southern California days. During your stay, enjoy breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean from the spacious balcony.
Fairmont Palisades King
Fairmont Palisades King rooms are designed to harmonize with the surrounding lush landscape of the hotel. The spacious rooms feature traditional dcor and design reflecting the exterior of the historic Palisades building.
Fairmont Room - 1 king bed non-smoking
250-400 sq feet in either Ocean Tower or Palisades building Wireless Internet, A/C, Mini Bar, Newly Renovated
Fairmont Room - 2 double beds
250-400 sq feet in either Ocean Tower or Palisades building Wireless Internet, A/C, Mini Bar, Newly Renovated.
Deluxe Room - 1 king bed
250 sq feet in Ocean Tower with upgraded views of grounds or Palisades Park. Private Balcony. Wireless Internet, A/C, Mini Bar, Newly Renovated
Deluxe Ocean View Room
250 sq feet in Ocean Tower with preferred views of Palisades Park and Pacific Ocean. Private Balcony Wireless Internet, A/C, Mini Bar, Newly Renovated
Signature Bungalow - 1 king bed
305-350 sq feet. Individually located throughout quiet Miramar gardens. Close access to pool terrace. Great for private getaways. Wireless Internet, A/C, Mini Bar, Newly Renovated

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0168 -118.5011
Area served
101 Wilshire Blvd SANTA MONICA, US, CA 90401
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 9.00, N, Mile
Area description
City/Resort

Dining

Fig Restaurant
New and Exciting, Fog has become the choice of hotel guests and locals to spend evenings dining in Santa Monica. With Chef Ray Garcia at the helm, Fig is a Market fresh, French style bistro with a variety of menu items to please any taste.
In Room Dining
If the restaurant is not your mood, the 24 hour in room dining menu is at your finger tips for anything from elegant selections to comfort foods in your PJ's.
Lobby Restaurant
Open for all meals of the day, the Lobby Restaurant which also spills into the Koi Pond area really gives you either indoor or outdoor options in a relaxing atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows hosts Santa Monica's largest meeting space available. Conveniently located off the front drive and offset from the guest room areas, it sets the tone for great business to take place with no disruption to our guests enjoying the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just dropping in
Business
North Carolina
Oct 11, 2010

Fairmont Miramar - a great choice!

Our stay at the Fairmont Miramar was for just one night. Upon pulling into the hotel, it is hard not to notice the beautifully maintained grounds, punctuated by a large, expansive tree in the front. We were greeted by the very friendly staff right away, and shown to the check-in counter. Without asking, we were upgraded to a 1st floor suite at no additional cost. Quite a first impression. Our room was large, clean, and very well appointed - and while our stay was brief due to other travel plans, we found it quite comfortable. After settling in, we dined in the lobby bar/restaurant - a suitable alternative to the well-publicized FIG restaurant. The next morning my wife called to make a spa appointment, and the staff were able to fit her in right away. No complaints there. We later ate breakfast at the FIG restaurant, and enjoyed the great setting, outstanding wait staff, and filling meal. Following that, we enjoyed some light shopping at the Promenade (right around the corner) and a stroll down Ocean Blvd. In summary, while our stay was brief, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Santa Monica area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Booking through Orbitz saved some $100 of the posted hotel price.

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Covina, ca
Oct 11, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

Great hotel a in a great location. Very friendly staff. My room wasn't ready when I arrived but wasn't that big of a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temecula, CA
Jul 24, 2010

Great hotel and thanks for the upgrade!

Everything about this trip was great[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade.

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Airbrush tanner
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jun 21, 2010

Mother& Son Annual Trip

We took a tour of Hollywood our first day that was recomended and booked by the concierge. Our second day we wanted to do several things on our own and the concierge typed up turn by turn directions for us to the Warner Bro. Studios, Farmers Market & lunch at the Grove, Labrea. I can't say enough about who helpful the staff was! We also enjoyed the third street Promenade which was only one street over. As a Mom with a teenager we never felt nervous even at night walking around the area! I loved Santa Monica, if you are visiting LA this is a wonderful area! It was close to everything, but far enough away to feel like a cozy little town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jun 8, 2010

Lovely hotel

View was great; room was good; price, even after third day free, was high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fig is a wonderful restaurant!

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Business Traveler
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
May 5, 2010

Pretty good but a bit noisy

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very nice but a bit on the small side. The restaurant was very good with dishes made from very fresh ingredients. They have a driver that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius for free which came in tremedously handy. The only issue I have is that the walls were so paper thin that you could hear your neighbors and absolutely everyone who was in the hallway. My coworker could even smell the breakfast that was delivered next door. Unfortunately, that is enough of problem that I will likely look into another hotel when traveling to the Santa Monica area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Boa. It is an incredible steakhouse with great wines and a wonderful ambiance.

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
May 3, 2010

Beautiful location, not the rooms

The location of the hotel was fantastic. The rooms looked lovely but the tv, hairdryer failed to work. The bed was quite uncomfortable and the AC was loud and abrupt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

promenade and beach very close

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, Ky
Mar 9, 2010

Fairmont Santa Monica

The Fairmont was a great hotel especially for the price I got it for on [...]. They were very accommodating with all my needs. The hotel also has a courtesy car that they will take you in up to 3 miles of the hotel. The rooms were a bit on the small side, I had a ocean view deluxe with a balcony, but other than that they were great! The room was clean and had everything I needed. The view was amazing. This hotel is close to everything you need in Santa Monica, shopping, dining, beach, the Pier. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKH
Business
Boston, Ma
Mar 4, 2010

Decent place to crash for biz travel

Rooms just okay, amenities and service top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Miramar Hotel Santa Monica

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Tahoe
Mar 3, 2010

The Fairmont

Lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top