Rate based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Quality Inn Santa Cruz

2 stars
1101 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
24 reviews
For one night

This hotel was clean. The people who worked there were nice. They handled this difficult lady well.... See full review

  • Kate the Great
  • May 29, 2012
One and a half miles to Boardwalk

Arriving at the Hotel the desk clerk was very friendly and we were able to check in with no delay.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 21, 2008
Overnight value just one mile to Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Quality Inn Santa Cruz offers an inexpensive value stay in this Northern California surf city. Easy to find on a major thoroughfare just three blocks from the highways 1 and 17 interchange, this small budget hotel has 42 guest rooms and an outdoor swimming pool. Count on free breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet access. Downtown Santa Cruz and beaches are just a two-minute drive and UC Santa Cruz is five minutes.

Highlights

  • Complimentary coffee and breakfast snacks
  • Refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms
  • Outdoor pool and patio (seasonal)
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access 

Rooms

Quality Inn Santa Cruz has 42 air-conditioned guest rooms on its conveniently located property. All units are simply decorated and equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair dryer. Choose from king or queen size beds. Access rooms via exterior corridors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available in all rooms.

Features

Free coffee and breakfast items are provided each morning in the lobby and the Quality Inn Santa Cruz. The property features a mid-size, sunny outdoor swimming pool (open seasonally) and furnished patio tucked away from the street. Additional features include free USA Today newspapers, safe deposit boxes and several covered parking spots. A coffee house is across the street.

Transportation

  • Santa Cruz Metro Center/Greyhound bus station (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (32.7 mi/52.6 km)

Attractions

  • Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Santa Cruz Civic Auditorium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown/Pacific Street (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pier and Beach Boardwalk (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (42.7 mi/68.8 km)

Business

  • Faxing and copying services (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms and public areas
  • Free weekday newspapers delivered to select rooms

Policies and fees

  • Pets are not permitted at this hotel.
  • Must have an adult 21 years or older staying in each room present at check in.
  • Must have valid credit card and ID at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn Santa Cruz also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.9821 -122.0223
Nearby airports
San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 30.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 70.00, MI, N; Oakland Int'l Airport, (OAK), 90.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Boardwalk 1 Mile

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 24
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.3
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cassiO...
oakdale, ca
Oct 22, 2012

good for the money

me and my husand just went for one night.. the room was very clean and had a nice flat screen tv.. the appearence was better from the inside... the outside doesnt look too appealing but the room was nice enough for the price.... the front desk person was really nice... i have nothing to comlain about...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate the Great
marina, ca
May 29, 2012

For one night

This hotel was clean. The people who worked there were nice. They handled this difficult lady well. Its right next to sc diner, super plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald H.
Ventura, Ca
Feb 19, 2012

WORN OUT

The hotel is old. The sleeping area may have had new beds and a new t.v., but the bathroom needed some work. The faucets were old push/pull that were hard to move. There was no water pressure in the shower. When we left in the morning we told them the toilet was plugged, when we returned that night it was still plugged. The staff was friendly,but that was about it. Would I stay there again? NO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auburn Guy
Auburn, CA
Nov 12, 2011

Great place for your money

This is an older motel but located perfectly for us. My wife and I spent two nights here. We had breakfast at a local diner the first morning and ate at the motel the next morning. Better food at motel. They offerd cereals, toast, bagels, sweet rolls, juice, coffee, milk, fresh fruit and best of all, waffles you cook yourself. Great machne, even I could do it. My wife was impressed. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Because I can't climb stairs, I asked for and got a handicapped room. Next time I will go for just a ground floor room. Because of being wheelchair accessible, it had no bathroom counter and my wife was not happy about that. The check in was late at night but the staff was very helpful and when we had a noise problem upstairs, they handled it in minutes. Next time I will get a room in the back. The room we had was close to the office and the dumpster was just outside the bathroom window. The trash truck came at 5:45 each morning. Lots of noise for a few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gilda's on the wharf. Great food and reasonable prices.

Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sonoma County
Apr 25, 2010

The No Quality Inn

Very clever photography. It is located along a busy street with sirens blairing all nite.Tried to cancel our second night but due to some hotel policy [...] I had to spend the next night in this dive. [...] Needless to say the whole experiance was horrible but we didn't let it ruin our weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno,NV
Mar 23, 2010

Quality Inn in Santa Cruz ocean st

The staff was friendly and allowed me to check in early I just did not like the shower my boyfriend is 6ft and had to bend down to rinse is hair in the shower. I did like that it was quite easy to find the room was a good size but I don't think I would be staying and this location next time I'm in Santa Cruz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Their downtown is close to the hotel you could take a short walk or short drive to their downtown which was super cute and eat at one of the many restaurants.

Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carmichael CA
Sep 4, 2009

Good for the price

The room was clean and roomy. The bed was comfortable and the large patio with lots of geraniums was nice. The only odd thing was that there was a trash can in the bathroom only, ie none in the room near the bed. The closet and bathroom were separate from the room which was nice, but they should put a trash can in the area of the bed also. The staff seemed quite friendly and accommodating. We think this was great for the reasonable price of $59.99.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Bailey's
Sacramento, CA
Jul 20, 2009

Would not go there again

First they checked us out a day early and then argued with my husband about it. Later they refused to give us additional towels. When talking to the mamger she blew us off as if it was nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Slightly Traumatized, & Definitely PO'd
San Francisco, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Dangerous, Horrible experience

We walked in the room to be greeted by the smell of chemicals. I assumed this was because the room had just been cleaned, and just opened a window. We left several minutes later to go to dinner, and i noticed that my eyes were burning and my sinuses hurt. I did not attribute this to anything in particular, never assuming that any chemicals used to clean a hotel room moments before a guest arrives would be harmful enough to cause a reaction within minutes. After dinner we returned to the room to find that water was backing up into the tub because the occupants next door were showering. Upon calling the manager, he came up with a caddy of chemicals that he said he poured into the tub, and if we wanted to leave becuase the shower might not work, we could, or he could try to find another room for us to shower in in the morning becuase i had to wake up early. We asked to switch rooms but he said he was expecting a full house. Within a couple of minutes of the manager leaving after "disinfecting" the tub, both of our eyes started burning and my sinuses started burning again, despite the fact that all the windows were open and the bathroom door was closed. We called another hotel in the area (the Ramada, much nicer) and then called to check out of the "Quality" Inn moments later. The managers/proprietors were more than rude when we asked to be checked out and for a refund. They claimed this had never happened before, even though the chemical smell we encountered when we first came in, and the discomfort was the same (albeit far less severe) as right after he poured chemicals in the tub. Little tip - use FDA approved cleaning chemicals, dont mix them, and if you have guests IN the room, and are using anything more noxious than liquid plumber or windex, inform them of what you are doing so they can make an educated decision about whether to leave and NOT be exposed to harmul fumes!!!!!!!!!!! Please don't give these people any business, not only do they not know how to keep their guests happy, it would appear they dont know how to keep them from getting sick either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book the Ramada instead, it will save you having to check out at 11 at night and switch there anyway.

Review of Quality Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DENISE E
BAKERSFIELD, CA
May 11, 2009

Deceiving

Upon arrival all looked great, our room was clean and was located in a section of the hotel that had a nice little court yard. And we thought "great". Well, that was all that was good about our stay at this hotel. First I was disappointed that it was not closer to the beach. Then that evening we settled in to watch tv. OMG the bed pillows were tiny and it was impossible to lean back comfortably to watch TV. Then in the morning about 9am a construction project began on the roof, but at times it sounded like they were going to come right through our bathroom wall. so much for "do not disturb". I am thinking it would have been commen sense to wait until after check out time to start banging on walls. We enjoyed our time in santa cruz regardless. But we did look around for ideas of where to stay that may be better for our next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top