Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Ocean Gate Inn

3 stars
111 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
19 reviews
nice

Very pleasant staff and great experience overall :) See full review

  • beAch g
  • Jan 14, 2014
Great location

Ocean Gate Hotel is walking distance from Santa Cruz Boardwalk;) It is very clean and not old... See full review

  • Lickety Split
  • Aug 9, 2014
Whether you are traveling on business or on vacation, we know that you have a choice where you want to stay when you visit Santa Cruz, CA. When you choose to stay with us at Ocean Gate Inn, you will discover why we have the reputation of Santa Cruzs best value hotel.

Making your stay the best it can be
Our goal is to provide you with comfort, convenience, and affordability. So, when you visit Santa Cruz, make Ocean Gate Inn your first choice.

Enjoy your stay in Santa Cruzs best value hotel.

Ocean Gate Inn Rooms

KING - KING
This spacious room comes with a private balcony that has views of the boardwalk from Second and third floor. Stay with us and you will be just a short walk to the beach or to the downtown shops and restaurants. Hairdryers and free premium movie channels. Top floor with the best available view.
Amenities:
* Balcony
* Free Local Calls
* Hairdryer In Room
* Cable TV
* Upstairs
KING - KING
King Bed smoking room with private balcony, free cable channels, hairdryers in room. This spacious room comes with a private balcony. Stay with us and you will be just a short walk to the beach or to the downtown shops and restaurants. Hairdryers and free premium movie channels
Amenities:
* Balcony
* Free Local Calls
* Hairdryer In Room
* King Bed
* Cable TV
QUEEN - QUEEN
2 Queen Beds, room with private balcony, free cable channels, hairdryers in room. This spacious room comes 2 Queen beds, with a private balcony. Stay with us and you will be just a short walk to the beach or to the downtown shops and restaurants. Hairdryers and free premium movie channels
Amenities:
* Balcony
* Free Local Calls
* Hairdryer In Room
* Queen Bed
* Cable TV

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Elevators
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Gate Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.969 -122.0168
Area served
Santa Cruz,CA Area.
Nearby airports
Main Airport
San Jose International Apt CA - SJC
Alt. Airports
Oakland International Apt CA - OAK
Livermore CA- LVK
San Jose International Apt CA - SJC
San Francisco International Apt CA - SFO
Monterey Penin
Area description
The Ocean Gate Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Cruz. Our hotel is just a short walk from the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, Downtown shops and restaurants. Our affordable hotel has large spacious rooms where you can enjoy views of the Boardwalk or the Mountains. Each room is equipped with Cable and premium channels, free local calls,free wireless Internet, private bathrooms with a hairdryer, microwave, refrigerator, and its own private balcony. Next time you visit Santa Cruz make Ocean Gate Inn your first choice. Our goal is to provide you with comfort, convenience and an affordable stay

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Gate Inn

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 19
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.4

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StacyCakes
Santa Cruz, CA
Jan 26, 2014

Nothing fancy but very pleasant and worth every penny!

Although this isn't a fancy hotel nor is it in the most ideal place in town for a tourist, per se...it is a lovely and large room with lots of space and I especially like the old-style brick and stone outdoor feel. The Manager was on duty when we checked in late last night and he was very pleasant and helpful. A lot of times the motels and hotels in Santa Cruz don't actually like us locals...so it was refreshing to be treated with polite courteousness throughout our stay. Will stay here again should I need to rent a room again in my little hometown! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would almost always say to book with an outside party to get the best rates possible! And if you can wait until the last minute sometimes there are even better deals with the many new apps available.

Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nika247
San Jose, Ca
Jan 6, 2014

Enjoyable stay

The front desk clerk was super nice. Our room had an awesome view of the boardwalk. Room was clean and came with everything we needed. Walking distance from stores and the beach. Very noisy at all hours of the day or night with cars and transients but not a problem for this city girl. Id stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jun 12, 2011

You get what you pay for, nothin more

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding. The location was convenient, but the room was nothing to write home about. We stayed in a smoking room and it was obvious with burn holes in the carpet and the aroma of stale cigarettes. It was challenging to get an iron from the front desk. On day 2 we got locked out, our room key stopped working and we had to have the front desk reset it. probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the boardwalk

Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Gatos, CA
Jan 15, 2011

Hotel for Junkies

This place is disgusting. The rating said it was 3 stars, more like negative 3 stars. I thought I would catch hepatitis or be attacked by one of the resident crack heads. If you value your life don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newman, ca
Jul 26, 2010

night is santa cruz

the heater in the room did not shut off at sixty degrees when set on it. We woke up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat at must of been at least 100 degrees. things smeared to the bath room walls, looks like a child must of wiped their hands on it after using the bath room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, Ca
Jun 28, 2010

decent place

this was my 3rd stay here. Kinda old and funky, but reasonably clean. Rooms have balcony with a nice view, but noisy street below. The towels were questionable but the bed was clean and comfortable. decent for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sonora, CA
Jun 8, 2010

Not Great Rooms, but Good Location

We walked in to a smelly room with an iron burn on the dirty carpet, a hair on one of the towels, and a used packet of shampoo in the shower that a maid did not see. Kind of gross, but we were just there to get ready, and sleep. It was in a Great location so that me and my boyfriend could just walk to downtown(10 min?) and get some yummy dinner and drinks. There was a cool balcony where we hung out and could see the boardwalk. Kind of noisy with the cars down below, but we didn't mind cause we were not in the room long. Definitely expensive for the cleanliness of the room though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Gate Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 28, 2008

great location

The Ocean Gate Inn was in a good location it wasn't far from Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. It had a nice view. But it had a sour smell in there and the room had a ant problem they were all around the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top