Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

3 stars
301 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
83 reviews
coupleS getaway

My wife and I were on a week long vacation that started with us going to the mountains where it was... See full review

  • ClaymoreBirdseed
  • Jul 16, 2014
The best location possible

This hotel is just across the strew from the SC city beach and the Boardwalk. The location could... See full review

  • redhad2
  • Jun 20, 2014
Simple beachfront hotel with pool in Santa Cruz, California

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz boasts an unbeatable and rare beachfront location just across from Santa Cruz's main beach. A large seasonal courtyard and heated pool offers guests to choice to relax onsite. Cross the street for immediate beach access or walk three blocks further to ride the Giant Dipper roller coaster at the famous Boardwalk. The combination of simple accommodations and a beachfront location make Coastview Inn Santa Cruz a good value for budget-minded families and first-time visitors to Santa Cruz.

Highlights

  • A unique and coveted location just across the street from beach
  • Free parking
  • 100 percent non-smoking property
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free in-room wireless Internet access

Rooms

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz has standard king and queen rooms on two levels, each equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, individual temperature control, satellite TV and HBO. Well-appointed granite bathrooms provide bath products, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards. Free wireless Internet access is available in all rooms. ADA rooms with one queen bed are available. Some upgraded rooms have an ocean view and flatscreen TVs. All rooms feature a simple, clean and comfortable decor.

Features

Coastview Inn is across the street from the main Santa Cruz beachfront and famous Beach Boardwalk. Enjoy the convenience of free parking, complimentary breakfast and a heated swimming pool all within steps of the sand. The large sunny swimming pool and courtyard area (seasonal) is tucked away from the street for guest privacy. 

Transportation

  • Santa Cruz Metro Center/Greyhound bus station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (34.5 mi/55.6 km)

Attractions

  • Pier and Beach Boardwalk (Across the street)
  • Downtown/Pacific Street (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • De Laveaga Golf Course one mile (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (44.6 mi/71.8 km)

Business

  • In-room desks
  • Faxing services (fees apply)
  • Free wireless Internet access is available in all guest rooms

Coastview Inn Santa Cruz Rooms

Ocean View King
Free High Speed Internet/Free Breakfast/ Free Parking/Guests per room 2
Standard King
Free High Speed Internet/Free Breakfast/ Free Parking/Guests per room 2
ADA Queen
Roll-in shower/free parking/free high speed internet/free breakfast
Standard 2 Queen
Free High Speed Internet/Free Breakfast/ Free Parking/Guests per room 4
Ocean View 2 Queen
Free High Speed Internet/Free Breakfast/ Free Parking/Guests per room 4

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Shower

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coastview Inn Santa Cruz also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.9643 -122.0211
Nearby airports
(SJC), 34.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Z
northern CA
Nov 1, 2011

Great location!

Hotel was clean & inviting..., had everthing you need for weekend visit to Santa Cruz, the staff was friendly & accommodating...and the price was right! I will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vrose
Palo Alto, CA
Jul 22, 2014

Comfortable, clean

There was plenty of parking (additional lot on the building's roof), and the front desk was friendly. The location is great (1 min walk to the beach!). Our room was very clean and I was pleased with the fridge and other amenities. We bought the cheapest room and were pleased with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClaymoreBirdseed
Yosemite
Jul 16, 2014

coupleS getaway

My wife and I were on a week long vacation that started with us going to the mountains where it was in the 100's...!! After a week in that heat it was nice be right down on the beach... we only stayed one night, but your location was ideal for us. The room was good, my only issue is the tiny parking lot... My full size pickup truck was hard to park in there... I made it work however...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SoCal Beach Lover
Moreno Valley, CA
Jul 12, 2014

Okay Room, Great Location

First off, The location of this motel was great. It couldn't be any better. The room on the other hand was not that great. It was very small for me, my wife, and two children. The bathroom door was difficult to open and my 11 year-old daughter even got stuck inside it. I told the management about it, but they didn't seem to care. The bathroom also smelled like mildew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Fire on the wharf was awesome for dinner.

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redhad2
Redwood City, CA, USA
Jun 20, 2014

The best location possible

This hotel is just across the strew from the SC city beach and the Boardwalk. The location could not have been better. The amenities are basic, including an outdated decor, a small pool, no jacuzzi and a joke of he breakfast (2 choices of cereal, industrial breakfast pastries and white bread for toasts). It all worth it though just because of the location. And we found a good deal making it the best value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Boardwalk and Santa Cruz City Beach are just across the street. There are also a few dining options just outside of the hotel.

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoCal Phil
Seal Beach, CA
May 28, 2014

Beach view

Super location, friendly staff, nice room, great rate....what more can you ask?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelingJeane
Florida
May 19, 2014

Out dated but ok

The room here was cramped and outdated but the location was great, walking distance to all the amenities in the area. Parking was horrendous when dealing with luggage. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chrissymg
modesto ca
May 15, 2014

clean great location needs better service

Room was clean and well organized. But customer service needs some work. Ordered room online in special request asked for room with view didn't have any open. As well as they gave me one room walk up to it and someone was already in it, that was an awkward first. But great location close to boardwalk and beach and very clean. Not sure if I'd stay again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tomxx
Now Santa Cruz
Feb 26, 2014

Santa Cruz

tidy and clean, friendly Staff, garage parking for free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal Bar & Grill 106 Beach Street at the Beach / Boardwalk

Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edgar587
Gilroy ca
Feb 6, 2014

it was ok

Room was clean. Staff only available til 10. Not sure how I feel about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Coastview Inn Santa Cruz

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
blueeyedshell
Santa cruz
Jan 4, 2014

Just awaiting the next flaw in this place

Thermostat didn't work, maid service just came right into our room at 9 am with no knock or announcement, constant sound of people walking past the room. The front desk guy was rude and wouldn't allow bathroom use for paying customers, Continental breakfast was a joke! The room was stocked with one towel only. No washcloth or hand towel. We had to make 2 requests for towels and it still took an hour to get them. Great Price and great location but I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top