Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Montecito Inn

3 stars
1295 Coast Village Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
74 reviews
Last night of long vacation

Could not get much better than this. A historical gem. Free cruiser bike usage, beach within... See full review

  • Struk
  • Aug 12, 2014
Anniversary getaway

very nice hotel, all hotel staff were very polite and helpful, the pool was relaxing. Our overall... See full review

  • Scott the Great 00911
  • Jun 26, 2014
Santa Barbara hotel by Butterfly Beach with Hollywood history and charm
The Montecito Inn is a mere two-block stroll from beloved Butterfly Beach and within walking distance of boutiques, attractions and several dining choices. Built in 1928 by Hollywood heavyweight Charlie Chaplin, the hotel was originally meant as a private oasis for his close friends. Guests walk the same halls Hollywood royalty has and enjoy the many amenities. The Montecito Inn features an on-site business center, restaurant, heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, room service, concierge, Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TVs and free continental breakfast.
Highlights
  • Two blocks from the beach
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Free loaner bikes
  • Heated outdoor pool

 

Rooms
Rooms at the Montecito Inn are furnished in earth tones and bathrooms don hand-painted ceramic tiles. Guests choose from queen or king beds. Amenities in every room include Egyptian bath towels, custom toiletries, Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with HBO, DVD player with free Charlie Chaplin DVD rentals (see front desk) CD player, voice mail, data ports, radio, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, mini-bar, hotel stationary and postcards and a refrigerator.

 

 

Features
Montecito Inn guests work off breakfast at the on-site fitness center or take a dip in the outdoor heated pool or Jacuzzi. A short walk along Coast Village Road leads guests to an array of boutiques and restaurants of varied cuisines. Butterfly Beach is only two blocks away. Additionally, guests borrow bikes from the Montecito Inn free of charge and explore the area.
 
Dining

A free continental breakfast awaits Montecito Inn guests in the Montecito Café daily. Sleepy travelers also have the option of having breakfast delivered to their room. The Montecito Cafe specializes in California Nouveau favorites for lunch and dinner. The adjoining Montecito Cafe Bar offers a bar menu, cocktails and wine. Many local restaurants also are within walking distance.
 
Transportation
  • Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
  • Los Angeles Intl Airport (92.1 mi/148.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Stearns Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Santa Barbara Zoo (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Ty Warner Sea Center (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Mission Santa Barbara (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Santa Barbara Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • State Street (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • University of California, Santa Barbara (14.9 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access
  • On-site business center



Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years of age with a valid form of ID and credit card to reserve a room. Three guests are allowed in rooms, only with roll-away bed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Montecito Inn Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room includes one queen bed. Bedroom decorated with classic patters and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile. Amenities include: Wireless internet, flat-screen television, HBO, DVD & CD player, voice mail, data ports, radio, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and a refrigerator. Each room holds a maximum of 2 adults plus children under 2 years of age. Cribs are a bookable option for $10 per night.
King Room
This guest room includes a king bed. Bedroom decorated with classic patters and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile. Amenities include: Wireless internet, flat-screen television, HBO, DVD & CD player, voice mail, data ports, radio, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and a refrigerator. Each room holds a maximum of 2 adults plus children under 2 years of age. Cribs are a bookable option for $10 per night.
Luxury King Studio
This is an ideal room for two or three guests. Located on the ground floor of our Luxury Wing, with a partial mountain view. Features include flatscreen TV, DVD player, CD player, fireplace, wet bar, sitting area (no sofa bed), and marble bathroom with walk-in shower. There is room for two rollaways. Approximately 623 sq. ft.
Luxury King Suite
This is an ideal room for two to five guests. Located on the ground floor of our Luxury Wing, with a partial mountain view. Features include flatscreen TV, DVD player, CD player, separate living room separated by french doors, queen sofa bed, and marble bathroom with walk-in shower and jacuzzi tub. There is room for one rollaway. Approximately 524 sq. ft.
Luxury King Suite Deluxe
This is an ideal room for two to four guests. Located on the ground floor of our Luxury Wing, with a partial mountain view. Features include flatscreen TV, DVD player, CD player, sofa, fireplace, separate living room separated by french doors, and marble bathroom with walk-in shower and jacuzzi tub. There is room for two rollaways. Approximately 540 sq. ft.
Luxury King Studio Suite
This is an ideal room for two to five guests. Located on the ground floor of our Luxury Wing, with a partial mountain view. Features include flatscreen TV, DVD player, CD player, separate living room separated by an archway, queen sofa bed, two-way fireplace, and marble bathroom with walk-in shower and jacuzzi tub. There is room for one rollaway. Approximately 518 sq. ft.
Tower Suite
This is an ideal room for one to two guests. Located on the third floor, representing the highest part of our building, with full mountain and partial ocean views. Features include downstairs sitting area with flat panel TV and automatic curtains, bathroom with soaking tub and steam shower, upstairs master bedroom with queen size bed, flat panel TV, two half balconies, and automatic curtains. Approximately 520 sq. ft. Stairs are used to access this unit
The Apartment
This is an ideal room for one to six guests. Located on the second floor with full mountain views. Features include master bedroom with king bed, fireplace, flat panel TV, and automatic curtains, master bathroom with soaking tub, steam shower, and mirror TV, guest bedroom with queen bed, flat panel TV, and automatic curtains, guest bathroom with steam shower, and mirror TV, fully equipped kitchen, living room with 60 in flat panel TV, CD player, Blue Ray player, surround sound, automatic curtains, custom elongated fireplace, and sofa with queen size bed, dining area, and private balcony with full mountain views. Rollaway beds are not permitted. 1,400 sq.ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montecito Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.4212 -119.6405
Area served
Santa Barbara, California
Nearby airports
Santa Barbara Airport
Area description
The Montecito Inn is located just two blocks from secluded beaches, and is alongside a boulevard of quaint shops and sidewalk bistros in one of America's most beautiful seaside communities. Also located near beaches, Sterns Warf/Pier, Santa Barbara Mission, Santa Barbara Zoo, Santa Ynez Wineries, Santa Barbara Art Museum, Santa Barbara Museum of History, and Lotus land.

Nearby points of interest

  • Casa del Herrero: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.7 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 2.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 2.9 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 2.9 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 3.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 3.4 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 3.5 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.9 mi
  • Alameda Park: 4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 4.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 10.3 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 12 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 12 mi
  • Casa del Herrero: 1.3 mi
  • Antioch University: 1.7 mi
  • Rafael Gonzalez House: 2.8 mi
  • El Paseo Shopping Mall: 2.9 mi
  • Sterns Wharf: 2.9 mi
  • Nojoqui Falls Country Park: 3.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara County Courthouse: 3.4 mi
  • Santa Barbara City College: 3.5 mi
  • Skofield Park: 3.9 mi
  • Alameda Park: 4 mi
  • Mission Santa Barbara: 4.2 mi
  • Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Virginia Hotel: 10.3 mi
  • University of California, Santa Barbara: 12 mi
  • UCSB Events Center: 12 mi
  • Cold Spring Tavern: 13.3 mi
  • Santa Barbara Zoo: 193 mi

Dining

Montecito Cafe
California cuisine. Hours: Lunch 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM, Dinner 5:30 PM -10:00 PM
Room Service
Hours: Lunch 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM, Dinner 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Montecito Cafe Bar
Hours: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Montecito Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kitty6
Carbondale, Co
May 11, 2014

Average hotel experience if you are expecting a quiet getaway.

The historic qualities of the hotel are great. Location is at the intersection of 2 busy streets plus the 101 on the back side, so traffic is a bit congested and there is constant street noise. The continental breakfast is in a small section of the dining room which is bathed in the hot sun, so it is less than ideal for a nice experience. The room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

State Street is the center of the action for dining, shopping and theaters.

Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Makewisechoices
Central Oregon
May 6, 2014

Couldn't have loved it anymore

My daughter and I were in and out the whole time we were there, and we were always greeted respectively and with friendliness. The room, although not large, was very nice, comfortable, clean and well stocked. I was pleasantly pleased with the price, The breakfast that was served was average, but since I was not expecting it, it was a nice bonus. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice, and we did enjoy the workout room. We did not eat dinner there this trip, but have eaten there on past trips to the area, and it was top notch. I would give this stay an A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jeannine's is one of our families favorite breakfast restaurants in all of Santa Barbara.

Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisCali925
Walnut Creek, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Solid Hotel in Montecito

Nice, clean, and friendly staff. The room was great for a few nights. The walls are somewhat thin, but overall had a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebagirl
Woodside, CA
Apr 15, 2014

Charming and gracious

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at this lovely little hotel, which was built in the '20s and hosted many famous movie stars of the era. The Queen room was small but elegant, and just fine for two. However, the bathroom, though adorable, was just a bit too small for us. No hooks for towels or robes (the robes, BTW, were fabulously comfortable, and the towels were really nice). Great pool and hot tub, which we visited nightly. Breakfast was included but wasn't all that great: pastries, cold cereals, juice, fruit and hard boiled eggs. Would've been nice to have something a little more substantial. The bed was comfortable but the pillows could have been much better. Overall, we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head down to State Street for fun shopping, restaurants, bars and access to the beach

Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janis yvonne
Business
Laguna, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Great Business location

Great business location, staff are excellent and bar and restaurant are excellent! I would recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoJo42
Fort Collins , colorado
Mar 22, 2014

Perfect getaway

We had SUCH a fabulous trip to Santa Barbara! Staying at this iconic hotel was the cherry on top! The staff was excellent, friendly, and helpful. We especially enjoyed the use of the bikes and rode to the beach for a sunset dinner and then a beachside breakfast! So fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phrench Toast
San Francisco, California
Mar 10, 2014

A Charming Retreat Away from it All

An overall lovely experience from beginning to end. Filled with a friendly staff and a nice variety of amenities, this historic gem is located a short drive from downtown Santa Barbara. The building was a nice refresh of a Hollywood-style boutique hotel which was fitting as it was built by Charlie Chaplin & friends in the roaring twenties. Great value for what you receive. My girlfriend and I were able to use the Inn's courtesy bikes to take a trip on the bike path to downtown SB which can cost $20-30/ bike for a half day if you rent from one of the local shops. The standard King bedroom was clean & cozy and the bathroom was a bit tight. My main complaint is that the shower could not keep a consistent water temperature (either scolding hot or freezing cold). The continental breakfast is a nice perk as well although on a Saturday morning there were only 8 tables allotted for an Inn of 60 rooms. We had to wait a while before finding a place to sit and the attendant would repeatedly grab away food or coffee that guests were attempting to reach for--it was quite a disaster. With those two minor hiccups in mind, I would highly recommend as an alternative option to staying on/near the beach or in the downtown area. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking for the beach is $2/hour. However there are many spots to park along E Cabrillo Blvd which is free.

Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carl the Cas
Sacramento, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Great Escape

The Montecito Inn has charm, ambiance, a great pool and Jacuzzi, great location, and does everything in its power to accommodate its guests. Our daughter lives in Santa Barbara and our stay at the Inn was like a different world from even Santa Barbara. Close to the beach, Montecito's shopping district, and convenient access to and from Santa Barbara, could not have chosen a better place to stay. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jeanine's for weekend brunch or weekday breakfast is a great eating venue. Ate there twice in three days and loved sitting outside watching the world go by.

Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East meets midwest
Chicago IL
Jan 6, 2014

A sweet getaway

My husband and I stayed here for a night during our trip down the PCH. We loved the decor and charm of this inn, although it would've been nice to be closer to the water and downtown. Still, we enjoyed our mountain view room and particularly the free bikes we were able to take out for the day. Staff is wonderful. Only major complaint would be that our room's heater (in January) seemed insufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Montecito Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CatmannDo
San Diego, Ca
Dec 8, 2013

Great Montecito Hotel with Character

Fantastic location right off the 101. Lots of character and history throughout. Breakfast is included, which is nice, although it would be great if it included a bit more protein. Overall nice rooms and very comfortable beds! Nice, friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top