Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

San Jose Marriott

4 stars
301 South Market Street, 301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
34 reviews
Customer Service

Having been a road warrior over the years, I am always unimpressed with hotel until they impress... See full review

  • visiting base
  • Jul 8, 2014
great couple of days

love the spa the pool, maid service excellent, great location... overall i love the stay. See full review

  • lamonae
  • Feb 23, 2014
Modern establishment in downtown San Jose

The San Jose Marriott Downtown hotel is right next door to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and has more than 500 guest rooms and suites available.  This hotel provides technology to help guests have a stress-free stay that allows them to keep in touch with the modern world.  The hotel can host meetings and conferences and is just a few miles from the nearest airport.  Guests can bring pets by prior arrangement.  There are three concierge levels in the hotel, including a virtual concierge service and standard room service.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The San Jose Marriott Downtown hotel is perfectly placed for business travelers and has all the business amenities needed
  • The area around the hotel has a variety of attractions that are ideal for leisure travelers
  • The hotel boasts 26 floors, and around 500 rooms and suites of all shapes and sizes
San Jose Marriott Downtown Rooms

Guests at the San Jose Marriott Downtown hotel can opt to have wired or wireless Internet in their rooms for a small fee, which will also give them unlimited local telephone calls and unlimited long distance calls within the US.  All rooms at the San Jose Marriott Downtown hotel feature high quality soft furnishings, flat screen TVs and laptop safes.  All rooms have direct dial telephones and work spaces.  Many of the rooms have more than one double bed, ideal for families, and the bathrooms have top quality fittings and toiletries.  The San Jose Marriott Downtown hotel has a no smoking policy in public areas and some rooms.  Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and there is an evening turn down service each day.  Housekeeping is daily and there is an on-site laundry for those that need it. 

Things To Do:
  • San Jose McEnery Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Art (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts and Textiles (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • St Joseph Cathedral Basilica (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Jose State University (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • HP Pavilion (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Kelley Park (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Municipal Rose Garden (2.2 mi/3.5 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Jose Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.3306 -121.8882
Area served
San Jose
Nearby airports
Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 3.00, MI, S; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 36.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 36.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.6 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.8 mi
  • History Park: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 2.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 3.6 mi
  • Raging Waters: 4.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.3 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.3 mi

Dining

Arcadia Restaurant
Arcadia is a premier downtown restaurant offer excellent dining in San Jose. This Michael Mina modern American steakhouse serves classic American dishes with an innovative twist. Guests' favorites include the lobster corn dogs and truffle mac-n-cheese.
Arcadia Lounge
Unwind from the day at our casual lounge in the Arcadia Restaurant with cocktails, beer, wine and light dining options in San Jose.
Tanq Bar
Enjoy fresh cocktails, beer and wine in a casual setting in our downtown San Jose, California, hotel's lobby bar and restaurant. Come to dine in San Jose or join us for happy hour from 4 to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Corner Market Kitchen
Proudly brewing Starbucks coffee and serving simple fare, the Corner Market restaurant near San Jose State University offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for on-the-go guests looking for fast San Jose dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for San Jose Marriott

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 34
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Kathryn
San Jose
Mar 2, 2014

surprisingly nice

I was called out on a last minute business trip and decided to bring my lovely wife with me so we can both escape the Chicago winter we have been dealing with. We very much enjoyed the hotel, staff and the location worked well for our daily excursions. Very pleased with the outcome of our selection. We had never been to northern California so after enjoying the breakfast on the 26th floor daily of great quality. We would then head out to see the sites and make it back each evening. Jesse the manager was extremely great to us and made our stay that much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lamonae
san jose
Feb 23, 2014

great couple of days

love the spa the pool, maid service excellent, great location... overall i love the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mazatlan
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

great place to stay if your attending the convention centee

Everything was good, I just didnt like the fact that you had to pay an extra $26 for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Godmom
Roseville, CA
Jun 15, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Our 2-night stay was in conjunction with nearby Santa Clara University graduation. Family and friends stayed in this Marriott. The location was perfect to get back and forth to the campus. Saw beautiful views/sunrises from high floors. Breakfast on 26th floor was fabulous. Hotel staff were professional, helpful and available when needed. Valet parking was pricey, $25/day but well managed. I was able to get a luxury stay for reasonable prices and be in the center of the downtown action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Godmom
Roseville, CA
Jun 15, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Our 2-night stay was in conjunction with nearby Santa Clara University graduation. Family and friends stayed in this Marriott. The location was perfect to get back and forth to the campus. Saw beautiful views/sunrises from high floors. Breakfast on 26th floor was fabulous. Hotel staff were professional, helpful and available when needed. Valet parking was pricey, $25/day but well managed. I was able to get a luxury stay for reasonable prices and be in the center of the downtown action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SaltLakeCity UT
Apr 13, 2010

Hotel OK but comes with surprises

Hotel is okay but once you pull into the property first surprise is you pay $25 per night for parking there is absolutely no parking available for guests. Next day when you wake up you have to wait for half hour as all other guests are waiting too to get the car from valet parking. Better alternative is to park your car in parking lot right in front of the property [ which is what we did for second night ] it is cheaper and you get your car in less than 5 minutes instead of waiting for half an hour. Not for family with kids traveling to San Jose stay elsewhere and save hassle or deal with your kids while you wait for your car. Their pillows were bad quality quality next day you will be getting neck and back pains. Chair in the room had one arm support broken ! For prepaid stays they are supposed to have your bill for incidentals ready buy we had to go get in line [ wait 10 minutes ] to check out too, since we had some incidentals and wanted the final bill so we would know what we will be charged. Hotel is definitely for Convention goers and for people charging their stay on Companies Expense account. If you pay yourself stay elsewhere or add $25 per night to hotel rates. Very bad value for money if at all. Definitely not for couples and families, also for couples there is very little night life around this hotel. Not many fast food choices unless you drive around somewhat. Airport is definitely close but there is no shuttle service from hotel to airport there is light rail station in front of the property but when traveling who have time to dig train schedules etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SaltLakeCity UT
Apr 13, 2010

Hotel OK but comes with surprises

Hotel is okay but once you pull into the property first surprise is you pay $25 per night for parking there is absolutely no parking available for guests. Next day when you wake up you have to wait for half hour as all other guests are waiting too to get the car from valet parking. Better alternative is to park your car in parking lot right in front of the property [ which is what we did for second night ] it is cheaper and you get your car in less than 5 minutes instead of waiting for half an hour. Not for family with kids traveling to San Jose stay elsewhere and save hassle or deal with your kids while you wait for your car. Their pillows were bad quality quality next day you will be getting neck and back pains. Chair in the room had one arm support broken ! For prepaid stays they are supposed to have your bill for incidentals ready buy we had to go get in line [ wait 10 minutes ] to check out too, since we had some incidentals and wanted the final bill so we would know what we will be charged. Hotel is definitely for Convention goers and for people charging their stay on Companies Expense account. If you pay yourself stay elsewhere or add $25 per night to hotel rates. Very bad value for money if at all. Definitely not for couples and families, also for couples there is very little night life around this hotel. Not many fast food choices unless you drive around somewhat. Airport is definitely close but there is no shuttle service from hotel to airport there is light rail station in front of the property but when traveling who have time to dig train schedules etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AOK Corrall
Novato, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Perfect Location, The best Linens ever!

Perfect location overall. We were attending an event at the convention center and the car/parking bellhops made it a breeze. Great walks around downtown, lots to see, great local people and other restaurants and cafes. The bed and linens were first class all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AOK Corrall
Novato, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Perfect Location, The best Linens ever!

Perfect location overall. We were attending an event at the convention center and the car/parking bellhops made it a breeze. Great walks around downtown, lots to see, great local people and other restaurants and cafes. The bed and linens were first class all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of San Jose Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nampa
Oct 25, 2008

My review of San Jose Marriott

The Marriott was a beautiful hotel, really comfortable bed and great view of the city and mountains. Close to the event that we were attending so made it easy to find and get back after the event with ease. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to San Jose State University

Back to menu Return to top