Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

4 stars
211 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
73 reviews
Volleyball Tournament

Our room was ready when we got there, and we where early. The roll-a-way I had requested was in our... See full review

  • Chantal H.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great Location, Nice Hotel

I stayed here for business in San Jose. The hotel was great. located close to all sorts of great... See full review

  • Jennifer M.
  • Dec 29, 2014
San Jose's iconic landmark hotel

The Four Points by Sheraton San Jose, built in 1911, is one of the most iconic buildings in the area and is on the California Register of Historic Places. Renovated in 2014, this modern hotel maintains its iconic style but now has a casual and contemporary feel. The hotel is located within easy travelling distance of all local attractions. Valet laundry and 24-hour fitness centre are available on site. Self-parking is on offer for a fee.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Historic hotel within easy reach of all amenities and attractions in the city of San Jose
  • Luxury accommodation and facilities are ideal for those who are looking to get away from it all
  • Business guests will be within easy reach of the local convention center and can make use of the facilities at the hotel
Four Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown Rooms

There are 86 luxurious guest rooms at the Four Points by Sheraton San Jose.  The rooms are spacious and are a combination of rooms and suites.  Guests have access to cable television in the comfort of their room and some rooms are equipped with a sofa bed.  The bathrooms include luxury toiletries and a hair dryer.  Rooms at the Four Points by Sheraton San Jose also have work spaces with ergonomic chairs for maximum comfort, as well as telephones with two lines and voicemail.  Rooms have a mini bar, refrigerator and coffee maker as well as access to the room service menu.  For the security of valuable items, there is an in-room safe and guests can also make use of the free high-speed Internet service available in all rooms.

Things To Do:
  • San Jose Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • San Jose Tech Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • HP Pavilion (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • St Joseph Cathedral (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Paramount's Great America Amusement Park (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (30 mi/48.3 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Self-parking fee is $23 USD to $33 USD per day, with in- and out- privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Guest laundromat
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.3321 -121.888
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 6.44, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.4 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.4 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.3 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.6 mi
  • History Park: 1.8 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 2.1 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 3.6 mi
  • Raging Waters: 4.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.2 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.4 mi

Dining

Mosaic Restaurant & Lounge
The Mosaic Restaurant & Lounge features handcrafted, house infused specialty cocktails as well as nearly 100 vodkas from around the world. The menu is hearty, flavorful and robust. The servings are generous and prices are reasonable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leinad
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Worth Hotel I have been in a long while....

The room wasn't much bigger than the bed. There was one window with view on bricks. Honestly I regret staying there, just a bad hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amzo
Business
san jose
Jan 9, 2015

bad

they charged me for car parking , $25 per day. I found out that I had to pay for parking extra, when I got there. man in parking lot very shady . supposed to be 4 star hotel and they got no refrigerator working and no ventilation in bathroom . looks they closed down existing windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel Guest 10
Business
Monterey, CA
Mar 25, 2012

Good staff, but hotel needs help

Staff was very friendly, however the hotel itself was in pretty bad shape. Ended up having to move to 3 rooms due to cleanliness levels we were hoping for. Pulled back the sheets in the first room and had multiple stains (brown and black) on the sheets. Moved to another room that had an awful smell. Finally the 3rd room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour was great!!

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfresh
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

staff blew it

The trip started great by being given an early check in to help us out since we wouldn't be back until later that night. The guy at the front desk was new and was supposed to have someone shadowing him during his shifts. I found that out after the fact. I've worked at many hotels and they always put a hold on your credit card so I asked him if that was the case here as well. He told me there was NO HOLD on my card and they just needed one on file. I found our when my card was declined later at a restaurant that the Sheraton does indeed put a hold which takes 5 days to be removed after check out. Very embarrassing for me. When I called to speak to a manager, no one was available. Managers don't work on sundays. Odd since Sunday is the busiest day of the week usually. They told me I should have read the sign on the front desk and saw the hold statement. It says nothing about credit cards. The room was very comfortable and the location was great. Too bad the staff blew it for me. The restaurant had pretty good food as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley system was cheap and goes everywhere including the airport.

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobo Steve
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 13, 2012

nice place

This hotel is conveniently located just around the corner from the convention center. It is on the light rail from the airport. It is a short trip via bus 23 or taxi to Santana Row and other destinations. The hotel has a great map of the many nearby restaurants. The hotel bar and restaurant are mediocre or worse. The rooms are small but well appointed. The sheets and towels are thin. The room cleaning is inconsistent. The staff is friendly and outgoing. Overall, I was happy with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrossFit guest
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 4, 2012

Loud!

They charge $20 per night to park your car. Which they don't tell you anywhere on their site. There are in & out privileges but 9 times out of 10 they have over booked their lot so you end up having to leave your car god knows where till they can find you a spot. We were there for 3 nights. Every night there was either a wedding or a party. The music was sooooo loud coming from the Mosaic restaurant that it could be heard all the way to the 3rd floor. We couldn't open our windows because there was so much cigarette smoke and people gathering outside. Told staff as we checked out that we weren't satisfied and all they said is that they would let upper management know. Only good thing about the hotel was they gave guests free water. Will choose a different place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bijan Bakery was fantastic

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ColieB
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 16, 2012

A 4 star?

The hotel lobby and rooms were clean and had a stylish feel to them but I don't expect plastic cups wrapped in plastic at a 4 star hotel. The bed skirt had stains all over it which frankly is gross. It felt like a high end Motel 6. Good location though and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CASEYFISHERMANTOO
Business
SANTA CCRUZ
May 28, 2013

DOWNTOWN SPOT!!

I've stayed here at least 15 times in last 4 yr's. I've only been let down once, n it was handled right away. This place is a great place if you are staying in SJ. Only a few miles from airport,50 restaurants with in walking distance from room. original joes the best!!!!!! just saying!! we live 35 miles from here and always stay when we need a couple day trip watching the sharks!!!! Mahalo 4 points!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Soooooooo many to choose from!! Original Joes is great italian/american cuisine!! 175 steps from lobby! (that is a guess)..

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SGYRG
Business
San Jose
Aug 19, 2013

Business Trip, second day

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The night was rough because the neighbor was so loud, sleep was impossible. Complained the next morning, the manager was very apologetic and comped the parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful pathways to shopping, restaurants, clubs, theaters; every entertainment a city provides.

Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MANNIE_FRESH
Business
FRESNO, CA
Feb 28, 2011

Earplugs Supplied

We attended a friends wedding & stayed 1 nite in the heart of downtown San Jose. When we arrived to the room, we found a nice, spacious, clean room to our satisfaction. On the nite stand, we also found a note that supplied a soothing Jazz CD, earplugs, a nite mask & some tea. I thought it was unique, but found out why later that nite. The hotel offered a club on the weekends & the patrons could be heard thru out the early morning. If I were partaking in the partying, I probably would not mind. Next time I will use the earplugs if we stay again & ask for a room in the back. I would also suggest finding free parking in walking distance, $23/nite for self-parking. The location is great & in walking distance of many shops, cafes, restaurants, & attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find a nearby parking structure to save some money. A map is supplied by the concierge of parking available in the area. $23/nite for self-parking @ the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top