Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grampawongstein
Lake Forest, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

If you need the location you can not do better

This is an older nice hotel in a marginal transition area of town. If you need a place near the HP Center or near downtown you can not beat the price for the buck. The rooms are very large, with a coffee maker, fridge and Microwave. Rooms are older but well maintained and very clean but on the dark side. Excellent off street parking and quite rooms for sleeping with excellent air conditioning. Area is safe but empty at night except for a few homeless and bums. Excellent restaurants are within walking distance downtown (1/2 mile) and a CVS pharmacy within a few feet of the hotel. It is well lit for walking on the main streets but I would not stray to far from the main streets. Easy 5 minute walk to the train station. Breakfast was excellent but the same each day with eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes and french toast and the best biscuits and gravy I have had in years. Some fruit and yogurt, with hot drinks and juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The main downtown dining areas are withing walking distance, but it looks like the downtown is not doing well with a lot of closed restaurants.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
copy
Business
Syracuse,NY
Sep 30, 2011

NIce

The hotel was nice. Baskin and Robbins Ice Cream was down a few blocks. Making this a plus. CVS Pharmacy right next door to the hotel. Easy access to many places. The only problem we had was the maid service obviously does not know how to count. Two people get 2 of towels and wash cloths. We had to call down and/ or go down to get a second wash cloth every night. We had a jacuzzi in our room. Sorry to say we were too tired to get to enjoy it. We spent our time visiting our Grand Daughters at their home. The location was only 5 minutes from them. Free parking in parking lot. No pool nor exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
copy
Business
Syracuse,NY
Sep 30, 2011

NIce

The hotel was nice. Baskin and Robbins Ice Cream was down a few blocks. Making this a plus. CVS Pharmacy right next door to the hotel. Easy access to many places. The only problem we had was the maid service obviously does not know how to count. Two people get 2 of towels and wash cloths. We had to call down and/ or go down to get a second wash cloth every night. We had a jacuzzi in our room. Sorry to say we were too tired to get to enjoy it. We spent our time visiting our Grand Daughters at their home. The location was only 5 minutes from them. Free parking in parking lot. No pool nor exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 29, 2011

good for family

Clean room, quite. Breakfast is so so. WIFI is good. A CVS store is nearby for shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judgemental
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Like the complimentary breakfast

I enjoyed the full breakfast every morning was FAR better than allot of places that offer you some toast and cereal. I got my eggs and pancakes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacqueline
Business
Fresno CA
Sep 19, 2011

square dance festival near by

The breakfast was outstanding. The room nice and neat. The handicaped bath room well kept and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacqueline
Business
Fresno CA
Sep 19, 2011

square dance festival near by

The breakfast was outstanding. The room nice and neat. The handicaped bath room well kept and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hihue
Business
Oceanside
Sep 16, 2011

area hotel

I like everything in this hotel except the mattress is too soft for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hihue
Business
Oceanside
Sep 16, 2011

area hotel

I like everything in this hotel except the mattress is too soft for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruthie
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great value, great hotel

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, convenient location and excellent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Loved the value price for the hotel + rental car pkg through Orbitz.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaneW
Business
Monterey, CA, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Pleasantly Surprised

The decor inside the room was a little dated (the 90s or late 80s) and the lobby was extremely ornate. There was a lot of marble, etc. I found it to be kinda charming. Every night at 6:30pm there are free snacks, Jello, Chips and salsa, Cheese and crackers. This was included in addition to a nice continental breakfast. The bed was comfortable, and the room its own environmental controls. The hotel seemed to be in a nice safe area, and parking was included. Overall, I liked the place and will gladly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top