Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Warwick San Francisco Hotel

3 stars
490 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Warwick for the Win

Got a great last minute deal on this hotel. It's a cute, boutique place with a nice bar and... See full review

  • Nessa Bruin
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great location and price

Hotel room (corner room) was large and very comfortable. I would stay here again. Easy access to... See full review

  • SF Travellers in May 2012
  • May 19, 2012
Where History Meets the Moment The Warwick San Francisco is a captivating reflection of the city in which it resides, striking a perfect balance between authentic history and modern hospitality. Ideally located just steps from bustling Union Square and its world-class shopping, theaters and landmark attractions, the Warwick is a residential-style hideaway at the intersection of action and allure. Guests need to venture no further than the lobby for an authentic taste of San Francisco. Aveline, is the Warwicks innovative dining concept by Chef Casey Thompson featuring her soulful new Californian cooking. Just across the elegant lobby, The European, is a stylish and intimate bar serving European influenced cocktails with a local twist. Notably, the Warwick shares the same architect as San Franciscos Coit Tower and City Hall, Arthur Brown Jr. A historic hotel for the modern traveler, the Beaux-Arts style hotel was established in 1913 as The Maryland Hotel and was affectionately called, The House of Sunshine and Hospitality. Throughout the hotels design and service, stories of past and present are told. In its simplicity and grace, The Warwick San Francisco does not dictate the experience of its guests; rather it serves as an elegant backdrop for their own distinct story to unfold.

Warwick San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
History meets the moment in our re-imagined Deluxe rooms that feature a Queen sized bed with repurposed antique headboard, energy efficient LED lighting , wall mounted flat screen Samsung television, antique armoire, photographs from the turn of the century San Francisco archives, bathrobe and slippers, guest-use mini refrigerator, back-lit vanity mirrors and air conditioning. Some of the rooms feature a window bench perfect for enjoying a book while watching the hustle and bustle of San Francisco Street scene below.
Suite
French doors separate the parlor from the ample sized bedroom in this spacious suite. A built-in custom closet allowing for plenty of extra room in the bedroom, while a comfortable couch and coffee table complete the residential feel of the sitting area. Two full sized bathrooms - one with a stand-up marble shower - and back-lit vanity mirrors, two wall hung swivel flat screen Samsung televisions, Queen sized bed with repurposed antique headboard, energy efficient LED lights , bathrobe and slippers, writing desk, guest-use mini refrigerator and air conditioning make this a comfortable living space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Warwick San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4113
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport - 13 miles (OAK)Oakland Airport - 20 miles
Area description
The Warwick San Francisco Hotel is located on the corner of Geary and Taylor streets in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable theater district, two blocks west of Union Square and the world famous cable cars. Within walking distance of Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco Museum of Modern Arts, the Warwick San Francisco Hotel is the perfect location in San Francisco.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms, each totaling 520 square feet, provide a comfortable seating capacity for 48 people theater-style. Both rooms may be combined to create one large space that seats 120 people theater-style or up to 50 people using U-shaped or conference-style configurations. An exclusive boardroom features an antique English directors table with a hand-tooled leather top. It seats 14 people.

Dining

Aveline
The Warwick San Francisco boasts one of the citys most exciting and innovative restaurant concepts, Aveline by Chef Casey Thompson. The restaurant showcases her soulful, signature bent on new Californian cooking paired with the perfect wine, beer, or cocktail. The intimate setting displays a light, feminine, and approachable design aesthetic that provides a perfect backdrop of cool tones to showcase Caseys vivid dishes and thoughtful composition. The restaurant also features a special chefs table with a birds eye view of the restaurants open kitchen. Signature cocktails created by master bartender, Adam Wilson, are available at Aveline. Open seven days a week for dinner service from 5:30pm-11:00pm and for weekend brunch from 11:00am-2:00pm.
The European
Throughout history, and especially during Prohibition, traditional American cocktail recipes have been taken overseas and imported back with a decidedly European influence. The name reflects this sensibility and style, expertly mixing old with new, as well as a drink menu featuring mostly European spirits including aperitif, champagne, and lower-proof cocktails with a regional twist. The European also features a Now & Then pairing of a contemporary cocktail served alongside a taste of the drink in its vintage form. The dark and rich interior with cozy seating areas entices patrons to connect and mingle over master barmans Adam Wilsons creative cocktails and a fun bar-exclusive menu from Chef Casey Thompson. Open seven days a week from M-Th 5:00pm-12:00am and F-S from 5:00pm-1:00am and for weekend brunch from 11:00am-2:00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nessa Bruin
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 7, 2014

Warwick for the Win

Got a great last minute deal on this hotel. It's a cute, boutique place with a nice bar and restaurant downstairs. It's not in the Tenderloin area, but is nearby and parking was very difficult, but this is SF, so it's expected. I liked the hotel very much and the only problem was we called house-keeping twice for an extra towel and no one answered. We left a message both times, but our towel was never delivered. Everything else was great though and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
localvisitor
san francisco, CA
Nov 13, 2012

Good for value

The place is nice, close to Union Square. Clean, and for one night stay it was good. The only bad thing was that the faucets made noise, so if the neighbors turned the sink faucet on it made this horrible noise. but again this are old buildings, and you can't ask for much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for another place
Pennsylvania
Jul 7, 2012

Passable, but some notable problems

We had three problems, two minor and one major. The first was the armoire door would not stay shut and we had to jimmy some paper in it. The second was some incorrect travel advice from the front desk regarding the distance to Yosemite Nat'l Park (s/he said 2 1/2 hours, when it is more like 4). We figured this out before we left luckily and changed our plans. The third was the room was very hot. When we mentioned this, the front desk clerk said this was San Francisco and there is no AC, and that we should open the windows. We did and it helped a little, but we were still on a noisy city street, so it really wasn't a solution. On the positive, the day we left was a holiday and another front desk clerk was very helpful with our getting a package mailed the next day. The staff was very friendly overall. It was very clean as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are into brand name designers and upper end stores, you are very close to Union Square. We walked into an antique store with a chandelier which sells for more than our house.

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SF Travellers in May 2012
Vancouver Canada
May 19, 2012

Great location and price

Hotel room (corner room) was large and very comfortable. I would stay here again. Easy access to shopping (high end and local), buses, BART. Try the Olympic Restaurant across the street and a half-block down (3-egg omelettes, toast, potatoes/tomatoes for $8.95--the best deal in SF !) I walked everywhere including to the pier, Chinatown and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rslama
Cupertino, Ca
Mar 5, 2012

Great Staff

The Staff was very helpful and the hotel was clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dou dou
Oregon, USA
Feb 16, 2012

not very good

Room and bathroom are very small and not very clean. Pillow smell disgusting. I dare not sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny75
Fresno, California
Jan 31, 2012

Great experience

This was a great experience, staff was friendly and very helpful. Parking was reasonable and close. I will be telling everyone i know how good this Hotel is

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful Deli very close to Hotel

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamjo
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Jan 3, 2012

over all good

We loved the location, the staff were so good and very helpful. The room was quite comfortable. I would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to union square, and lots of shopping

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky3167
Boston, MA
Oct 24, 2011

GREAT LOCATION, SO SO SERVICE

I really like the interior design, very retro yet comfortable. The problem is that the sink is not in the bathroom with the shower and the toilet, so it's hard to find a spot to put all our stuff. The tap made a weird noise. The shower could not be screwed tight so there was the sound of dripping all night. The hotel staff was not very helpful. we checked out at noon and put our stuff at the hotel. When we came back for it, it took fifteen minutes to get our stuff. I left a shirt in the room, but they never contacted us for it. A nice hotel, but not on the top list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 15, 2011

Convenient, comfortable, and welcoming s

Very welcoming staff late on Friday night helping us with our luggage and very friendly. Very convenient location. Comfortable room reasonably priced. VERY expensive to use hotel's overnight parking and saved $15/night by parking one block awwy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top