Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Warwick San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
View map of 490 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
7 reviews
3 night say

Me and my husband were in town for a conference/vacation. The location of Warwick is awesome...its... See full review

  • km03
  • May 12, 2015
over all good

We loved the location, the staff were so good and very helpful. The room was quite comfortable. I... See full review

  • Pamjo
  • Jan 3, 2012
Where History Meets the Moment The Warwick San Francisco is a captivating reflection of the city in which it resides, striking a perfect balance between authentic history and modern hospitality. Ideally located just steps from bustling Union Square and its world-class shopping, theaters and landmark attractions, the Warwick is a residential style hideaway at the intersection of action and allure. Guests need to venture no further than the lobby for an authentic taste of San Francisco. Aveline, is the Warwick's innovative dining concept featuring soulful new Californian cooking. Just across the elegant lobby, The European, is a stylish and intimate bar serving European influenced cocktails with a local twist. Notably, the Warwick shares the same architect as San Francisco's Coit Tower and City Hall, Arthur Brown Jr. A historic hotel for the modern traveler, the Beaux-Arts style hotel was established in 1913 as The Maryland Hotel and was affectionately called, The House of Sunshine and Hospitality. Throughout the hotels design and service, stories of past and present are told. In its simplicity and grace, The Warwick San Francisco does not dictate the experience of its guests; rather it serves as an elegant backdrop for their own distinct story to unfold. Early Departure Policy: Rates quoted are based on check in date and length of stay shown. Guests checking out prior to their departure date confirmed will incur an early departure fee equal to the rate confirmed for one night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Warwick San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4113
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport - 13 miles (OAK)Oakland Airport - 20 miles
Area description
The Warwick San Francisco Hotel is located on the corner of Geary and Taylor streets in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable theater district, two blocks west of Union Square and the world famous cable cars. Within walking distance of Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco Museum of Modern Arts, the Warwick San Francisco Hotel is the perfect location in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 7
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danielle C.
Couples
N/A
Dec 2, 2015

Disappointing ending

My husband and I went away for a truly lovely trip to San Francisco. Hotel was clean, everyone was accomodating and sweet- we thought. The first morning I went to breakfast in the hotel, the waiter was helpful and sweet with directions around city and my meal. I got the bill which normally you sign the room number if you want to charge the amount. I instead, left the full amount plus tip $25(With tip) as I've done many times around the world on trips. However, when we were checking out, I was told we were charged for the breakfast, and I replied, I didn't leave a $25 tip for a $19.58 breakfast. Sadly, it seems the waiter took advantage of me. Too bad- left with a bad memory. This is why overall rating is a 3 when everything else was great. I'd tell future guests to beware of restaurant but stay at hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
No rating
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
km03
Couples
N/A
May 12, 2015

3 night say

Me and my husband were in town for a conference/vacation. The location of Warwick is awesome...its right in the middle of Union Square and easily accessible to all other major attractions in the city. The rooms were very clean to the point of spotless. I would like to especially mention about the staff. They were super nice and extremely polite and helped us out in every way they could. I would definitely stay there for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for another place
Couples
Pennsylvania
Jul 7, 2012

Passable, but some notable problems

We had three problems, two minor and one major. The first was the armoire door would not stay shut and we had to jimmy some paper in it. The second was some incorrect travel advice from the front desk regarding the distance to Yosemite Nat'l Park (s/he said 2 1/2 hours, when it is more like 4). We figured this out before we left luckily and changed our plans. The third was the room was very hot. When we mentioned this, the front desk clerk said this was San Francisco and there is no AC, and that we should open the windows. We did and it helped a little, but we were still on a noisy city street, so it really wasn't a solution. On the positive, the day we left was a holiday and another front desk clerk was very helpful with our getting a package mailed the next day. The staff was very friendly overall. It was very clean as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are into brand name designers and upper end stores, you are very close to Union Square. We walked into an antique store with a chandelier which sells for more than our house.

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamjo
Couples
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Jan 3, 2012

over all good

We loved the location, the staff were so good and very helpful. The room was quite comfortable. I would stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to union square, and lots of shopping

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky3167
Couples
Boston, MA
Oct 24, 2011

GREAT LOCATION, SO SO SERVICE

I really like the interior design, very retro yet comfortable. The problem is that the sink is not in the bathroom with the shower and the toilet, so it's hard to find a spot to put all our stuff. The tap made a weird noise. The shower could not be screwed tight so there was the sound of dripping all night. The hotel staff was not very helpful. we checked out at noon and put our stuff at the hotel. When we came back for it, it took fifteen minutes to get our stuff. I left a shirt in the room, but they never contacted us for it. A nice hotel, but not on the top list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
From San Antonio
May 26, 2011

Convenient location and helpful staff

Hotel was convenient to many locations though be prepared for hills. Room was small but that is typical for SF I understand. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way to give directions and recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at Dotty's a couple of blocks away. Worth the wait.

Back to menu Return to top