Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

W San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AshtonSchmidt
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 16, 2010

Won't be back...

This wasn't a great experience for the three of us. We booked through [...] which apparently the W Hotel does not work with, or so said the young man at the front desk. First he informed me that we had been booked into a room with a wonderful king-sized bed. That is great but not so much when you're traveling with your ten year old. He kept saying they were booked and had no available rooms. Really? Because my [...] paperwork says there are two adults and 1 child booked into a room with 2 beds. Bottom line, they would find us a room and call us when it was ready. I gave them both our cell numbers and we took off for the Exploratorium. Arriving back at the hotel after 5:00, we had not heard from them and had no idea if we had a room or not. Luckily we did but I did not pay to be lied to by W Hotel staff when they messed up our reservation. I will not be back to this location again. Yes, I will visit San Francisco, but my lodging will be somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Jul 29, 2010

W stands for wonderful!

Service was perfect! The concierge was helpful, recommending and/or making dinner reservations; the free Acura "taxi" service to anywhere we wanted to go; and the front desk staff that checked us in, even sent a bottle of bubbly when we told them it was our 25th anniversary - how thoughtful and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Art & Craft Fair at the Embarcadero is great, but coupled along with the farmer's market on the weekend made it perfect for great food and shopping.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renoir M.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Late night roomservice

I was on the 20th floor and had a spectacular view of the parks, city and mountains. I loved that roomservice ran very late. The hotel offers driver service which was a treat. Friday and Sat. night the bar off the lobby gets packed with trendy, chic, 20/35 somethings. Most of the surrounding businesses close early. Has a ghost town feel after dark. Most businesses and restaurants are closed on weekends. I liked the bowl of apples in the fitness center. A perfect light snack after a workout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I took a guided tour which included a ferryboat and mini van. The Ferry Building is about a 7 blk walk from the hotel. Went to the darling town of Sausalito. Also, don't miss Little Italy or Chinatown.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly F
Business
Moorpark, CA
Jun 27, 2010

SAN FRANCISCO BIRTHDAY GET AWAY

Great Bar, Drinks, Good DJ. Very trendy. Shuttle service within 3 miles form the hotel. Staff was nice. Good exerience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Duca was amazing!!!! Food was SOOO delicious!! WE LOVED IT

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimi K. Chardonnay
Business
Nipomo, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Great location and friendly staff

The W allowed for a great location..close to the muni. We attended our daughter's college graduation, celebrating with tons of friends and family. The food was fantastic in the city, and the W's appetizers and refreshments were superb! It was one of our best trips to S.F.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deleon Family
Business
Camarillo Ca
May 4, 2010

Great place!!

Wow this hotel is high class and even with kids it was a grear expierence!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2010

Great service, OK rooms & location.

[...] is the best concierge ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 7, 2010

Interesting and hip

It was an amazing stay here at the W Hotel. The staff was really nice and certainly helped out when I needed assistance. At night, the lobby becomes a nice hangout to meet people. The rooms were unlike any hotel I've ever stayed at before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lobby becomes a great place to hang out at night. With their own DJ, W Hotel becomes quite the club.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Apr 5, 2010

W San Francisco

Very nice location and very chic atmosphere. Very high-end hotel but needs better work-out facilities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
infamous.one
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 28, 2010

W Hotel Experience - San Francisco

The parking situation was not very convenient at all and the hotel charges a $48.00 valet parking fee plus tax if you keep your vehicle in their lot. They do suggest a public parking garage, which can add up to $30.00 a day, but the garage is about 3 to 4 blocks away. I also had a bathtub that did not have a working drain and I was unable to keep bathwater in the tub. For the price, I believe the "W Experience" was not worth it in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is situated in a great area; only a short walk to great downtown shops and restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top