Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

W San Francisco

4 stars
181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
64 reviews
great experience!

The room I was in was very clean and the staff was courteous. See full review

  • Kslim95501
  • Jul 31, 2014
Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating... See full review

  • Snowbound NYC
  • Jan 5, 2014
Chic, hip accommodations and on-site spa near Moscone Convention Center

Located in the heart of the SoMa District, San Francisco's W Hotel is modern, sleek and sophisticated. The hotel is neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and sits a block away from the city's famous Yerba Buena gardens. It's also across the street from the Moscone Convention Center, making the on-site XYZ restaurant and bar a great spot for convention-goers and leisure travelers alike. The W Hotel has received LEED Silver certification from the U.S. Green Building Council and features an outpost of the renowned Bliss Spa chain.

Highlights
  • Next-door to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Trendy XYZ restaurant and bar
  • 5,000-square-foot Bliss Spa
  • Complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to anywhere in the city
Rooms

Views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay come standard in all of the W's 404 rooms, most of which were renovated in 2010 with a sleek Asian theme. Other amenities: Pillow-top beds, 350-thread-count linens, 32-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking station, Bliss body treats and extensive mini bar. All accommodations also offer W's signature pillow menu, from which guests can choose a pillow of their liking. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

 

Features

The W Hotel is a stone's throw from two of San Francisco's most iconic cultural institutions: the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts.

 

Bliss Spa, a 5,000-square-foot facility, features three movie-while-you-manicure nail stations and eight treatment rooms. The space also showcases Bliss trademark touches, including a brownie buffet. SWEAT, the hotel's fitness center, is open 24 hours (fees apply). The hotel also offers complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to select destinations around town (when available).

Dining

XYZ, the on-site restaurant, serves an upscale spin on traditional California cuisine, while the XYZ Bar heralds an extensive wine list of mostly local wine. For lighter and more portable snacks, the W Cafe, is open until 1:30 a.m. every night.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Theater District
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Great Room" banquet hall has floor-to-ceiling windows
Policies and Fees

Valet parking is available (fees apply). An early departure fee of one night's room and tax applies to guests checking out prior to the departure date confirmed at check-in. Hybrid vehicles are charged a flat parking rate.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W San Francisco Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7854 -122.4009
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 62.76, KM; Metropolitan Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.31, KM; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.70, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.5 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.2 mi

Dining

Living Room Bar
Sip. Sample. Socialize. Mix and mingle in an intoxicating space filled with vibrant lights, tunes, and hues. Indulge in a signature cocktail or try a premier local or international beer, pairing it with locally-sourced cuisine from Trace Restaurant.
TRACE
Traceable ingredients. Bold dishes. Conscious cuisine. TRACE captures the vibrant local personality of the Bay Area with its visionary take on socially responsible eating.
Upstairs Bar
Stop in for a sip at the Upstairs Bar. Situated on the mezzanine, overlooking the lively restaurant below, this dynamic space fuses signature cocktails with top-shelf liquors and intoxicating energy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun young couple
Lake Tahoe
Feb 28, 2012

Now this is a different hotel

Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gemars
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 3, 2012

I would stay here again and again.

Great room, good view, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, nice furniture. Desk is comfy, lots of power outlets. Free coffee each morning downstairs. Food at the Trace restaurant is good, but not great. Service, however, was exceptional. Location was convenient to Chinatown, shopping, Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, Market Street, Cal Trains, Bart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk west on 3rd, turn south on Market and 50 premium stores are within 2 blocks. West on Grant, and Chinatown is only an additional 4 blocks....

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shop girl
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

w

great atmosphere!! awesome beds!!! walking distance to downtown....Loved it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a walk to Jeremy"s on 2nd .....best high end discount store ever....Purchased name brand flats for 80.00 ! same pair at Bloomingdales for 298.00 Then walk across the street and get the best grilled cheese at American Grilled Cheese Kitchen!! MMMM! 2nd and southpark!!

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R Parrish
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever!

I spent 2 nights with my wife at this place. I am 35 and she is 34. The 1st issue we had was that the hotel lobby was a nightclub full of an odd-looking group of party-goers. I could barely hear the front desk clerk as we spoke face-to-face about my reservation. The bass from the techno music rocked the lobby. The hotel room I paid for wasn't what I was given. I paid for an upgraded room on a high floor with a view of the bay. It was dark outside when we arrived and we didnt notice that our view was the opposite direction of the bay. The next day we had to pack and move to the room we originally paid for. The 2nd night was awful. Somebody was throwing a birthday party in the room next to us and we heard over 20 drunk party-goers shouting, fighting, and screaming. Somebody from the front desk called our room at 3am saying there was a female in the lobby who wanted access to my room. This was NOT COOL. My wife was laying right next to me. I called the front desk to complain but the noise continued until 4am. My wife and I never slept. Upon check-out, they added a $30 mud mask charge to our bill. We never used any of the obnoxiously-priced bathroom toiletries. I complained to the manager, Jose, but all he offered me was a refund for my valet parking. I will never stay at the "W Hotel" ever again and I will go out of my way to steer any customers from that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun young couple
Business
Lake Tahoe
Feb 28, 2012

Now this is a different hotel

Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJ, stock analyst
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2011

Simply the best

The W, though pricey, was absolutely fantastic. Our service was top-notch, our linens clean, and our view spectacular. Had the XYZ bar not been under construction, this hotel would be complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's warf is a waste of time!

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Summer
Business
Redwood city, CA.
Apr 30, 2011

Enjoyed the W experience at my own will.

I was impressed by the tranquil ambiance from the time we entered the front lobby and met sum pleasant curteous staff. I don't recall seeing any other staff during our 3day stsy (not even any housekeeping staff in the hallways any of the times we did walk to and from our suite. The elevators and hallways were dimly lit; each elevator was lit different colors. We entered our suite and we were both happy with the furniture, decor, and how comfotable we were from the start. We had a view of part of this interesting building which called us outdoors to see more of the magnificence from different levels alllowing us to also view some of the city that we would later see on street level. Before returning to our suite we passed through an outdoor area decorated with linen(?) tent-like shelter if U choose. This led us to another of my favorite things about The W; The pool area was empty (I don't know why). I ended up spending much of my time here. I enjoyed the comfortable yet sturdy furniture, I swam in the warm, clean pool, and relaxed in the hot tub as well. The cozy atmosphere was also due to the plants and foliage making the atmosphere feel like a tropical paradise. There was also a stereo system that completed it for me. I enjoyed the choice of music, volume, and as much time as I did spend out there, I still wondered why wasn't any hotel staff seen anywhere? I ended spending a good amount of time in this pool area by myself which was exactly what I needed. One of the evenings during our stay we went downstairs for a couple drinks and maybe some apetizers. I think the watering hole was called the Y or XYZ(?) It may not even be part of the W. It felt so different as we entered into an overly crowded and pretentious bar (I guess) that we chose not to stay after waiting too long for our drinks that were served by one employee who seemed to lack tact and charm. It may have been the wrong day, time, or something else. Whatever the case was the few other employees seemed to not want to be there either or maybe they just wanted not to have sob many people to serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy a place with ambiance, attention to detail and clss you might enjoy The W as much as I did.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TBSChicago
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 7, 2011

missing the basics

I stayed at the hotel during a meeting at the Mascone Center in San Francisco. It is located right across the street from the convention center and convient to most destinations in the fincial district. My problem with the hotel is that once you get past the "Vibe" you have an expensive hotel that nickels and dimes you for everything. WiFi and coffee cost extra, ShoTime was a movieless version? I have stayed at the W in Dallas and Chicago as well. I like the edgy atmosphere and I have no problem paying for that but WiFi in 2011? C'mon...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Museum of Modern Art and a cable car ride to the Castro District.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Nov 21, 2010

Great Fun and Nice Staff

Went to see a show at at local theater. The first room was not nice so they upgraded us to an upper floor with not the best bed configuration-but it was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Real Estate Rockstar
Business
Chicago
Nov 18, 2010

5 Stars for half the cost! Thank you.

While in San Fran for business, I spent a lot of time at the xyz bar in the lobby of the W. Great hotel, five stars. Thank you for a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar at Macy's

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler to SF
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2010

W San Francisco

Excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top