Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

W San Francisco

4 stars
181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
59 reviews
Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating... See full review

  • Snowbound NYC
  • Jan 5, 2014
Awesome stay

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was super friendly. Even the valet driver gave us great tips... See full review

  • patternofstars7
  • Oct 25, 2012
Chic, hip accommodations and on-site spa near Moscone Convention Center

Located in the heart of the SoMa District, San Francisco's W Hotel is modern, sleek and sophisticated. The hotel is neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and sits a block away from the city's famous Yerba Buena gardens. It's also across the street from the Moscone Convention Center, making the on-site XYZ restaurant and bar a great spot for convention-goers and leisure travelers alike. The W Hotel has received LEED Silver certification from the U.S. Green Building Council and features an outpost of the renowned Bliss Spa chain.

Highlights
  • Next-door to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Trendy XYZ restaurant and bar
  • 5,000-square-foot Bliss Spa
  • Complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to anywhere in the city
Rooms

Views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay come standard in all of the W's 404 rooms, most of which were renovated in 2010 with a sleek Asian theme. Other amenities: Pillow-top beds, 350-thread-count linens, 32-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking station, Bliss body treats and extensive mini bar. All accommodations also offer W's signature pillow menu, from which guests can choose a pillow of their liking. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

 

Features

The W Hotel is a stone's throw from two of San Francisco's most iconic cultural institutions: the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts.

 

Bliss Spa, a 5,000-square-foot facility, features three movie-while-you-manicure nail stations and eight treatment rooms. The space also showcases Bliss trademark touches, including a brownie buffet. SWEAT, the hotel's fitness center, is open 24 hours (fees apply). The hotel also offers complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to select destinations around town (when available).

Dining

XYZ, the on-site restaurant, serves an upscale spin on traditional California cuisine, while the XYZ Bar heralds an extensive wine list of mostly local wine. For lighter and more portable snacks, the W Cafe, is open until 1:30 a.m. every night.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Theater District
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Great Room" banquet hall has floor-to-ceiling windows
Policies and Fees

Valet parking is available (fees apply). An early departure fee of one night's room and tax applies to guests checking out prior to the departure date confirmed at check-in. Hybrid vehicles are charged a flat parking rate.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W San Francisco Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7854 -122.4009
Nearby airports
San Francisco Internation Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.5 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
Fun young couple
Lake Tahoe
Feb 28, 2012

Now this is a different hotel

Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
Ms. Summer
Redwood city, CA.
Apr 30, 2011

Enjoyed the W experience at my own will.

I was impressed by the tranquil ambiance from the time we entered the front lobby and met sum pleasant curteous staff. I don't recall seeing any other staff during our 3day stsy (not even any housekeeping staff in the hallways any of the times we did walk to and from our suite. The elevators and hallways were dimly lit; each elevator was lit different colors. We entered our suite and we were both happy with the furniture, decor, and how comfotable we were from the start. We had a view of part of this interesting building which called us outdoors to see more of the magnificence from different levels alllowing us to also view some of the city that we would later see on street level. Before returning to our suite we passed through an outdoor area decorated with linen(?) tent-like shelter if U choose. This led us to another of my favorite things about The W; The pool area was empty (I don't know why). I ended up spending much of my time here. I enjoyed the comfortable yet sturdy furniture, I swam in the warm, clean pool, and relaxed in the hot tub as well. The cozy atmosphere was also due to the plants and foliage making the atmosphere feel like a tropical paradise. There was also a stereo system that completed it for me. I enjoyed the choice of music, volume, and as much time as I did spend out there, I still wondered why wasn't any hotel staff seen anywhere? I ended spending a good amount of time in this pool area by myself which was exactly what I needed. One of the evenings during our stay we went downstairs for a couple drinks and maybe some apetizers. I think the watering hole was called the Y or XYZ(?) It may not even be part of the W. It felt so different as we entered into an overly crowded and pretentious bar (I guess) that we chose not to stay after waiting too long for our drinks that were served by one employee who seemed to lack tact and charm. It may have been the wrong day, time, or something else. Whatever the case was the few other employees seemed to not want to be there either or maybe they just wanted not to have sob many people to serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy a place with ambiance, attention to detail and clss you might enjoy The W as much as I did.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
TBSChicago
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 7, 2011

missing the basics

I stayed at the hotel during a meeting at the Mascone Center in San Francisco. It is located right across the street from the convention center and convient to most destinations in the fincial district. My problem with the hotel is that once you get past the "Vibe" you have an expensive hotel that nickels and dimes you for everything. WiFi and coffee cost extra, ShoTime was a movieless version? I have stayed at the W in Dallas and Chicago as well. I like the edgy atmosphere and I have no problem paying for that but WiFi in 2011? C'mon...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Museum of Modern Art and a cable car ride to the Castro District.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
Nov 21, 2010

Great Fun and Nice Staff

Went to see a show at at local theater. The first room was not nice so they upgraded us to an upper floor with not the best bed configuration-but it was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
Real Estate Rockstar
Business
Chicago
Nov 18, 2010

5 Stars for half the cost! Thank you.

While in San Fran for business, I spent a lot of time at the xyz bar in the lobby of the W. Great hotel, five stars. Thank you for a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar at Macy's

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
Traveler to SF
CA
Nov 10, 2010

W San Francisco

Excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Princess Laura
Business
Harbor Springs, MI
Nov 2, 2010

Coonference comfort

Staff very responsive, helpful. "Whatever, whenever" is great program. Location was the best for our conference and sight-seeing. Terrific view! Love the modern, playful feel - and the bar makes a mean Lemon Drop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tadich's.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2010

Great location for Moscone Covention

Attend convention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 22, 2010

A+ location at convention center

Great location next to Moscone Convention Center. Room was a good size. Clean. Bathroom above average. Pillows very comfortable. Parking about $54 per day but valets were great. Exercise gym small but good. Great treadmills with TV monitor on machine. Staff friendly and competent. I would recommend this hotel if you are attending a convention at Moscone Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Sep 30, 2010

Good Hotel but Could be Great

Our overall experience was great. There were only a few issues we had with the stay. The A/C was pitiful. We had it set on 60 and it was still warm in the room. We were visiting during a heat wave but we are from Texas and know that you don't need to keep your A/C set at 60 when it's in the 90s outside. Also, we asked the concierge if he could print off an email for us. He sent us to the business center which would have cost us $7 to print the email. I understand they are there to make money ($5 for a soda from the honor bar) but he was right in front of a computer and it would have taken 2 minutes to let me sign in and print it out. Those are really the only complaints I have. The Bliss products were excellent. The room was spotless when we returned. Great location and overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Union Square and get a MUNI pass that lets you ride the MUNI (including Street Cars) for a set price for a set number of days. If you use public transport much during your stay it can keep you from always having to fish around for those dollar bills to pay for your ride.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010

The W Never Fails to Impress

I stayed at the W during my recent visit to San Francisco. I always like the W as they are always located centrally and have a modern look and feel. This one was no exception. The staff was very friendly through out the weekend. The concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and fun nightlife. The hotel was located pretty central where it was walkable to a lot of nightlife, shopping, and tourist areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a younger modern crowd who enjoys going out. The hotel is always pretty high energy with loud music so probably not the best if you want a quiet hotel. The size of the room was good and it felt clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top