Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

W San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun young couple
Lake Tahoe
Feb 28, 2012

Now this is a different hotel

Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Channel the greatest sist
Business
Sacramento, Ca
May 27, 2014

Great birthday!

We came here to celebrate my sister's 30th birthday and enjoyed our stay. It was conviently located and the staff was friendly. They catered to our needs and was on top of things! Highly recommended :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Asiasf-great family sized food and great entertainment (drag queen cat walk performance)

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony long
Business
Costa Mesa, ca.
Apr 28, 2014

Epic SF stay

Quite possibly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at in SF. Right when we arrived everything was ready for us to check in. Staff was amazing. We requested an extra fridge so we had room for our medication that needed to be refridgerated and they brought it right up. Any guests I had they called me and they were promptly let up to the room. Only bummer about the whole trip was when we went to go to the pool to find out it was under construction and they won't be having one anymore. Other than that, great customer service, room was very clean and pretty much met every expectation we had when it came to staying at the W hotel. Thank you and can't wait to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua L
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

a night at the W

Hotel was adequate for my needs, one night stay on business trip. The water pressure in the shower was very poor, and definitely needs to be addressed. My main complaint was the construction, which was directly below my 4th floor window. I woke up to the sound of banging pipes at 8am. I understand that some rooms would be affected by noise during construction, though if there was another room to place me in, they should have. I do not know if they were at capacity that night, though it seemed very quiet. Room was clean, no other complaints. Not sure if I would stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snowbound NYC
Business
New York City
Jan 5, 2014

Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating and allowed me to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viktorino
Business
San Francisco
Apr 1, 2013

Overall good experience

For it have been The W I was really expecting a luxury hotel. The hotel itself is nice but nothing too special. The staff I must say were extremely nice and helpful. Very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Location wise is good if your going to be more in down town. We spent the majority of our trip going to Fishermans Wharf. We had to walk about 10 minutes to get to union square to catch the cable cars which get pretty busy, we waited in line for an hour before we got on. I was there for a weekend with my spouse. They have a nice bar and restaurant to drink at night. The rooms were very clean but a little tight. Our view was amazing, we were facing Oakland bay bridge. Overall I enjoyed the stay there but next time I will definitely stay closer to Fisherman wharf since downtown area is majority for shopping. Chinatown is about a 15 minute walk which wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to ride the cable cars I would highly recommend getting there before 9. The line gets ridiculously long and you'll be standing in line for over an hour.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patternofstars7
Business
NY
Oct 25, 2012

Awesome stay

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was super friendly. Even the valet driver gave us great tips on where to go in city and surrounding areas. Would absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris H.
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2012

Beautiful, modern hotel

Lovely hotel, very accommodating staff. Great location near the museums and Union Square, but kind of sleepy at night. In-lobby DJs were a nice touch. Only thing we didn't like about this hotel are the crazy mini-bar prices - $8 for a tonic water, not to mention $12 for the little bit of gin to go with it. Chilly and windy in this part of town (even in July) so make sure to bring long pants and jackets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangia Tutti Italian restaurant - a 10 minute walk. We were the only ones in there and it was quite romantic.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moniquerenee
Business
Bakersfield. California
Jul 3, 2012

Great for San francisco

Great experience.there is a bar/ social gatterrings on the first floor at night. So if you like that the. This is the hotel for you. I liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gemars
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 3, 2012

I would stay here again and again.

Great room, good view, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, nice furniture. Desk is comfy, lots of power outlets. Free coffee each morning downstairs. Food at the Trace restaurant is good, but not great. Service, however, was exceptional. Location was convenient to Chinatown, shopping, Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, Market Street, Cal Trains, Bart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk west on 3rd, turn south on Market and 50 premium stores are within 2 blocks. West on Grant, and Chinatown is only an additional 4 blocks....

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shop girl
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

w

great atmosphere!! awesome beds!!! walking distance to downtown....Loved it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a walk to Jeremy"s on 2nd .....best high end discount store ever....Purchased name brand flats for 80.00 ! same pair at Bloomingdales for 298.00 Then walk across the street and get the best grilled cheese at American Grilled Cheese Kitchen!! MMMM! 2nd and southpark!!

Back to menu Return to top