Rate based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

The-Opal-San-Francisco-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
70 reviews
the best

Is was wonderful. I'm loving every thing, the best hotels .breakfast is wonderful. See full review

  • brenda g.
  • Apr 13, 2015
Solo trip

It's super convenience! The restaurant, bars, and bus stops are walking distance. It's really cheap... See full review

  • Vu D.
  • Apr 6, 2015

The Opal of San Francisco is located in the Civic Center-Cathedral Hill neighborhood of downtown San Francisco and has been elegantly serving guests since 1908. Its graceful historic charm comes alive with the original woodwork, stained-glass windows, and antique furnishings in the intimate, comfortable rooms. Don't let the historic atmosphere fool you; the entire hotel is updated with plenty of modern amenities. Enjoy a hot meal in the 1950s-inspired dining room, Mel's. Chomp into a thick, juicy burger and chase it down with a sweet milkshake. Your mornings can be started with a delicious and complimentary home-cooked breakfast in the breakfast room.

Highlights

The hotel's downtown location puts you by popular San Francisco hot spots like Japan Town, Union Square, and Nob Hill. Over a dozen restaurants of varying cuisines are located within a few miles of the hotel. Indulge in fine cuisine at the Turtle Tower Restaurant or the ultimate in fresh seafood at Wayo Sushi. If you've had enough time on the town, enjoy everything the hotel has to offer. The modern fitness center has all the state-of-the-art exercise equipment necessary to keep up on your fitness routine. The concierge service will help you book tickets to local attractions or events while helping guide you around town. 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 70
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MP
Friends
N/A
Nov 20, 2015

Our stay

The room had a very musty smell, we didn't complain because we weren't there that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John K.
Friends
N/A
Oct 15, 2015

Three of my family stayed at Opal to attend funeral

The hotel was adequate for our needs, however, the neighborhood was a bit daunting with crack dealers, homeless, and street people sleeping at the entrance to the parking area and around the building. Centrally located to some good eating and drinking establishments. Rooms were a bit small and the A/C was terrible. I had to get up at least three times per night to reset the unit so that we would not suffocate in the very hot and humid room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimberly j.
Friends
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Great value for location

The hotel was located in a great location. It was a great value, clean and quaint, great location, safe, and free continental breakfast and coffee service. The staff was friendly. However, they did not acknowledge my request for an extra bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thanatkit A.
Friends
N/A
Jun 9, 2015

Recommended

It was a good time in SF by myself. People are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brenda g.
Friends
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

the best

Is was wonderful. I'm loving every thing, the best hotels .breakfast is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ
Friends
Vacaville
Feb 18, 2015

V-Day trip

Room and experience was ok, the only really negative part was trying to find parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rangergirl5
Friends
California
Oct 8, 2014

Under amenities parking was listed, however it was an additional $41 (plus $50 deposit for remote)

Sketchy block, annex room outside A/C didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Continental breakfast free offered, is dented fruit, stale bread and boiled eggs. Luckily there is a Mel's diner attached to the hotel, but they charge $12 for an omelet.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maggie3333
Friends
Chicago
Jun 20, 2013

Good time

The hotel has a good location. The staff was very nice and very very helpful. The breakfast was great - everyone could find something for yourself. Our room was clean but very small and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnnieChan
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 4, 2013

Haunted Hotel in the Tenderloin

The hotel itself is decent, historical and in a nice part of the Tenderloin away from the Civic Center sketchy area. However, my friend and I stayed on the 4th floor only to find on our first night there that it was haunted! My friend saw a female ghost the first night who was wearing a white dress eerily similar to a painting of a girl and her family that was in the room. Our next night strange things kept happening...if you don't mind friendly ghosts then this is a good place..if they freak you out like they did my friend and I, then stay away! Other than that the hotel comes with free breakfast, tea and coffee all day, and its secure with only key access to get in the front door. Its close to buses and the rooms are decent for San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fillmore area for good restaurants and bars, take the bus, its faster!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coolweather Seeker
Friends
Oklahoma
Aug 5, 2011

Weekend getaway

We loved The Opal, it was clean,everyone friendly and helpful. Bus service was easy and close-by. The price was right. I would definatly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top