Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
558 reviews
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Gorgeous

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Almost everything was in walking distance or close to a... See full review

  • Kristine W.
  • Apr 10, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (558)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
79 out of 558
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
Kristine W.
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 10, 2014

Gorgeous

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Almost everything was in walking distance or close to a bus stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
EmTay
Portland Oregon
Mar 28, 2014

Spring break in sanfrancisco

The staff is so nice ! Helped us choose bars, figure out the public transportation and booked me a shuttle back to the airport! The room was perfect, we were out all day and most of the night so we didn't spend too much time there. The bed could have a been little more comfortable but overall the room was fabulous! The breakfast had nice variety and great hours of operation. We felt safe and well taken care of. I would go back any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable cars over the trolley!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Benjj
Vancouver, BC
Mar 17, 2014

Nice, clean hotel

Very well maintained, modern and clean. The location is central enough -- though a ways from attractions like Fisherman's wharf. The included breakfast was much better than most, though could have used some hot food. The one guy at the front desk was really grumpy and bordering on rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
Texannyc
New York, ny
Oct 8, 2013

Decent place for a little too much **

I believe that the hotel was overpriced for what it offered but the fact that there were two large medical conferences in town that weekend I'll give it a break. Compared to other places that weekend it probably was a good deal. The continental breakfast was a little light on pastry choices, bread or bagel or muffin but was adequate. Good location and easily accessible to public transit, and not too far (10-15 min walk) to Market Street. Overall I'd say it's a decent place in a good location, and if rates aren't jacked due to an extra busy convention weekend, probably a decent deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
absolutislove
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

Clean rooms for cheap!

Rooms were clean and the size was adequate for the four of us. Breakfast was also good. A direct bus ride to the AT&T Park for all you Baseball fans out there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
cobra9254
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 3, 2013

Great value, great accommodations

My first visit to San Francisco was very pleasant. I was really surprised that the hotel was as nice as it was for the price I paid. Ended up with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. The staff was helpful. The parking garage was close by at $24 a day. Continental breakfast was good. Walking distance to drug store, fast food, public transportation. If I go back to San Francisco I will stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take one or more guided tours. I took the deluxe tour of Muir Woods, Golden Gate, etc. If I had more time I would have done Alcatraz.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
Maggie3333
Chicago
Jun 20, 2013

Good time

The hotel has a good location. The staff was very nice and very very helpful. The breakfast was great - everyone could find something for yourself. Our room was clean but very small and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Marathoner from LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 19, 2013

Short Stay

I took a trip up to San Francisco to do the marathon. I procrastinated booking a hotel and most hotels were filled up for that weekend. Whatever rooms that was left were way over my budget. The Opal was the only moderately priced answer. What I liked: Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was great. Even though the selection of food items were small (bagels, toast, muffins, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea, coffee, yogurts.) To me its just what you needed to get the day started to go get real food out in the city. The room were clean albeit small. I guess the room was comfy. I'm use to camping outdoors so my comfort level of any room with a bed is skewed. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of the sites and sounds that SF has to offer. Parking is located in a gated courtyard within the hotel. It was priced competitively enough with AAA discount that it's worth just leaving the car there for peace of mind. The only thing I really didn't like: The location of the hotel is close to an iffier part of town. There were no homeless pan handling right outside the door but if you walk down the block on O'Farrell you hit some of the sketchier parts of town, especially at night. If you know what you're doing it shouldn't be too bad. Overall the hotel is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
cha chino
fort worth, texas
May 13, 2013

nice price for nuce spot

every thing was nice except the breakfast! if u like fruit yogart and hard boiled eggs its ok but I need some waffels r omilets r some form of meat besides hrad boiled eggs but it did buy me some time while I decided ware to eat a real breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use public trans the hole time! save hundreds on cab fair!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
Sandie B and Jinty
Glasgow, Scotland
Apr 21, 2013

Excellent 3* hotel.

We had a very nice big room with 2 queen sized beds and sofa . Very accessible especially if you check out the local bus services. Nice and clean and lovely continental breakfast, also cheese and wine on the Wednesday night. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Would go back like a shot !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus tour to get your bearings thn can hire bicycles or take locla buses

Back to menu Return to top