Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
Excellent choice

Excellent choice for a single traveler attending programs at the Moscone Convention Center.... See full review

  • Judith B.
  • Jul 2, 2015
first trip to SF

The Mosser is a really cool hotel that looks to be a converted older establishment/boarding house.... See full review

  • Donald R.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Mosser Hotel, built in 1913, has a Victorian Exterior, marble floors and ornate ceiling in the lobby. In the interior you will find custom made platform beds and hot pink walls in the hallway along with the original detailed elevator and crown molding throughouta true mix of old and new. Not just a hotel, there is a recording studio onsite. We would love to host you and tell you about the many facets of The Mosser Hotel like, for example, a portion of all our proceeds goes to the reforestation of rain forests, literacy and educational projects. The Mosser family has already planted over 5 million trees. The 166 room Mosser is a totally non-smoking environment. All rooms feature AM and FM stereos with CD player, alarm clocks, ceiling fans, direct dial phones with data ports,complimentary wireless internet in our guestrooms and lobby and voicemail. Irons with boards, waffle robes and hair dryers are also included. Rooms have custom made platform beds, wooden Venetian blinds and marble bathrooms. Double paned windows ensure a restful night's sleep. The Mosser offers complimentary wireless internet access in the guest rooms and the lobby.

The valet parking rates are as follows with in and out privileges. Regular-sized vehicle are $47.00 per day Over-sized vehicle are $57.00 per day Valet rates are inclusive of tax. Security deposit: The hotel will require a security deposit of $75.0O per stay. The security hold will increase if incidentals incurred. Annabelles Bar & Bistro is closed for the moment, will reopen mid July with a fresh look and concept. Light breakfast in the morning remains unchanged

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mosser Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.4051
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Mosser Hotel is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Centrally located for easy access to the Moscone Convention Center, shopping and Bay Area attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 38
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald R.
Single
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

first trip to SF

The Mosser is a really cool hotel that looks to be a converted older establishment/boarding house. Each room has a sink, but there is a common bath and toilet area (one for men, one for women) that hearkens back to an earlier time. Everything was always immaculate. When there are shared facilities, it is easy to assume things may not be as clean, but that was not the case here. The cleaning staff did a great job. They also did a good job with the room, although one day I tracked back some sand and it wasn't vacuumed up the next time they came in. There is fresh coffee downstairs every morning, along with some muffins. A tray in the room made it easy to carry up coffee, although many people were drinking it in the lobby. Just off of busy Market Street and the downtown Powell Street Station for public transportation, the Mosser has a great location. Very close to Chinatown and Union Square, and not a far walk from the Mission District. Never had a problem with the internet/wi-fi, although the cable for the tv was a bit snowy. Each room has an iron and full sized ironing board. There isn't an onsite place to eat, but there is a restaurant next door, and a short walk to so many different places, that it doesn't matter. The staff is efficient, but they don't get awards for friendliness. They weren't rude at all, just distant. Being from the South, I am used to hotel staff being very cheerful and friendly. The cleaning staff were the only ones who greeted me every time I saw them. Additionally, I don't know if there was a doorman or not. I would see someone close to the door, but it was only opened for me once. Other times, this person was just leaning on the front counter looking bored. Overall, I would return to the Mosser on a return trip to SF. It's really a good place for a solo traveler who doesn't need tons of room (my room for one was not huge, but sufficient for just myself additionally, there wasn't a dresser, but a decent sized closet where I stored my clothes). Most of the travelers I saw were younger couples or singles (I'm 48), and don't know how the rooms are for children, especially with the shared toilets/baths. But it's a pretty cool place for people who are looking for a very nice hotel at a good price in a good part of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maxa
Single
troutdale
Mar 1, 2015

Very Basic

This Hotel had a good location if you want to be close to union square. The room was very small but not a problem if you are traveling solo. Shared bathrooms were relatively clean the but ice machine was very loud and right outside my room. If you can get a good price this is a good hotel to just crash at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chav
Single
San Francisco
Nov 28, 2014

restful

I went right to sleep with no disturbances. the staff was accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping all over the place

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mission
Single
Mission
Aug 21, 2014

A good experience

The only reservation I have about staying at this hotel again is that it is difficult staying in a room without a bathroom (I chose to stay in one of their rooms without). It is always easier to have a bathroom. That said, everything was as could be without a bathroom. I never had any difficulty accessing a toilet or shower when I wanted it, and there is a sink in every room. In other regards: the hotel is centrally located, the staff were helpful, the rooms were clean with up-to-date furnishings, and the bed was comfortable. All for considerably less than I would have paid to stay in a comparable hotel (with a bathroom) nearby. Definitely value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For quick and expensive yet good quality food, try eating at the Emporium (an up-scale food fair) at the Westfield Mall around the corner from the hotel.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby S.F.
Single
Massachusetts
Feb 2, 2014

Thouroughly Modern Mosser

I was traveling solo and booked a deluxe queen room with the shared bathroom, as it decisively was a better option than airBnB. The Mosser is modern in regards to both aesthetics and functionality. Sensible, hassle - free, clean and well designed. Would and already have recommended to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fruitti
Single
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Great location

It was great experience and best value for my money. I would come back next time I'm in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Modesto
May 21, 2011

Location, location, location!!!

This was my third time staying at this hotel and all 3 times I've been very pleased with my room. While the rooms are tiny and the "facilities" are down the hall, the rooms and the hotel in general are clean, well maintained, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. As a single traveler, I generally don't spend my vacation time sitting in my hotel room anyway so the size of the room isn't really an issue for me. I'm out and about and use my room just for sleeping. The Mosser Hotel is just around the corner from the front door of the Westfield Shopping Center and the F train which runs down Market St. all the way to Fisherman's Wharf. Two blocks to Union Square for more shopping and hopping on tour buses. Annabelle's Restaurant right next door is very good but is a bit pricey. But there are plenty of dining options all around Union Square. If sharing "facilities" is not your cup of tea, you can pay more for a room with your own bathroom. As long as you are aware ahead of time that the rooms are TINY !!!! that shouldn't be a problem. It's the only reason I rate my stay 4 stars instead of 5. The next time I'm in S.F.I will stay at the Mosser again.The price is worth it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charelise
Single
SLC, UT
Mar 26, 2011

Mosser Hotel Review

This is the second time I've stayed at the Mosser. I love this hotel. It's right downtown, in a good area, and the staff is very helpful. However, I do not believe that they wash the sheets between guests. My first night there I discovered a blood stain on my sheets. That was the only problem I had with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
charelise
Single
Salt Lake City. UT
Jul 10, 2010

Mosser Hotel Stay

I really loved this hotel. It was cute and charming. It was in a perfect location, right next to Muni and Bart. It was easy to get to and there were places to eat around. The bar next door had a really cool happy hour. The staff was fantastic and extremey nice. I was a single woman traveling to San Francisco and I would recommend this place to anyone who is doing the same. The only strange thing is when I first arrived there was some strange hair (like a dog's) on the bed, but then I had the housekeeping wash the sheets and didn't have any problems after that. The free samples were great as well as the robes they provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a City Pass! It was such a good deal. Free Muni and admission to some of the really cool attractions. I definitely save a lot of money with it.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Modesto, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Great Value!!

This is my second stay at the Mosser. Both times I had very positive experiences. This time I spent 3 nights. The hotel is small and old, yet remodeled and updated, clean, warm and friendly.I arrived at 11am but since my room was ready, they let me check in early. (Nice surprise!)I had ordered the cheapest room with the shared bathroom but was upgraded to a "deluxe" room with my own bathroom!!(No extra charge!) The rooms are SMALL, make no mistake - no table,no dresser,no closet. Know this before you reserve a room. But when I travel I spend very little time in my room. I'm out sight-seeing, walking, shopping, museums, restaurants, etc. And for the price, I can keep my belongings in my suitcase. The hotel is on 4th St.-literally around the corner from the Westfield mall on Market St. and 2 blocks from Union square. Restaurants and shopping galore. The F-line bus(?) goes from Market St. all the way to Fisherman's Wharf for 2 bucks a trip per person. This hotel is all about location! One last detail - The second day there it was raining and they were loaning unbrellas to people. Do other hotels do that? The next visit I will stay at the Mosser again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking the F-line to Fisherman's Wharf is only 2 dollars. The wharf is loathed by most residents as a big ugly tourist trap (which it is) but go once and enjoy the place for a few hours. The views can't be beat!

Back to menu Return to top