Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
222 reviews
Would recommend to a friend!!!

When booking this room, we understood that we would be sharing a bath and shower with other guests.... See full review

  • TLLLS
  • Sep 23, 2013
I'm telling both my Mom and kids about the Mosser!

Next time we come to San Fran - we do the art scene, galleries etc., I want to bring my mother to... See full review

  • Artist JUliO
  • Feb 5, 2013
Modern boutique hotel with recording studio near Union Square

Quirky, modern and ultra-hip, The Mosser Hotel is the only lodging option in San Francisco with a state-of-the-art recording studio on premises. Rooms in this Union Square hotel are clean and efficient. All have platform beds, while some have private bathrooms and others share. Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, the on-site restaurant, utilizes organic ingredients sourced directly from area farms.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art recording studio
  • On-site Annabelle's Bar & Bistro
  • Platform beds
  • Walking distance to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
Rooms

"The Mosser," as it's known locally, has 166 rooms in all -- 112 deluxe rooms with private bathrooms and 54 "economical" rooms with shared hall baths for travelers on smaller budgets. Each room boasts platform beds and vanity sinks. Rooms also come standard with robes, ceiling fans, hair dryers and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms have windows that look out onto busy city streets; some even have reading nooks built into bay windows.

Features

Opened in 1913 as the Keystone Hotel, the historic property was completely redesigned in 2003 and now feels modern and chic.

The centerpiece of that redesign was Studio Paradiso, a state-of-the-art recording studio that is available to hotel guests. Other standard amenities include ironing boards, two-line telephones and custom-designed furniture.

In early 2010, the hotel announced a commitment to embrace eco-friendly products in all the rooms. The Mosser family donates a portion of all hotel proceeds to reforestation, literacy and educational projects.

 

Dining

For a fabulous cocktail or tasty sandwich, pull up a stool at Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, a French-style eatery located on the ground floor. The restaurant features an eclectic wine selection.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Studio Paradiso available for meetings
Policies and fees
Nightly valet parking rate will increase in October as follows:
  • Standard vehicle:  $39 + taxes ($44.46 after tax)
  • Oversized vehicle:  $49 + taxes ($55.86 after tax)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Mosser Hotel Rooms

Shared Bath
Economical room with one queen or one twin sized bed and a shared hall bath. Room includes a vanity sink, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.
Deluxe Room
Room includes one full size bed, private bath, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, on-demand pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mosser Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.4051
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Mosser Hotel is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Centrally located for easy access to the Moscone Convention Center, shopping and Bay Area attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Studio Paradiso
The Mosser's new world-class recording studio, Studio Paradiso, brings a new dimension to the hotel's array of services. The studio, located adjacent to the hotel, possesses the highest standard in acoustic quality. Four years in the making, The Mosser Studio Paradiso has up-to-the-minute technology including both digital and analog capabilities. The Studio is a professional playground for the music and media specialist alike.
Annabelles Bar and Bistro
The hotel's restaurant, Annabelles Bar and Bistro, serves lunch and dinner, with an array of cuisine designed to please even the most discriminating diner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Christopher Ryan
Los Angeles, California
Jan 20, 2013

EXCELLENT for the location and price!!!

The location is perfect for those who plan on using public transportation during their stay in San Francisco. It's literally a block away from ALL public transit that San Francisco has to offer. I booked the Deluxe Room with 1-double bed for me and my girlfriend. Pretty compact, but cozy. The look was very modern(that goes for the hotel as a whole) and I actually found it pretty clever how they went about with furnishing the room to save space. All the room amenities worked perfectly. Most importantly, the room was SPOTLESS, as well as the lobby and the halls. The staff was nothing short of 5 stars from our experience. We were greeted on the way out every morning just as kindly as the first day we arrived. In fact, they even allowed us to check in an hour early, since our flight arrived much earlier than anticipated. In short, I would suggest a stay here for anyone who is looking for an affordable quality stay and plans on taking public transportation throughout their trip in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
JosephReview
Maryland
Jan 10, 2013

The Mosser Hotel

Location: Very good; edge of downtown and very close to the BART/MUNI transit stations Room: Clean but very small. Had a problem with the heat that was never fixed; heat seemed to "leak" from radiator even when turned off. Other: Free coffee and muffins every morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Markymarkmarkmark
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 12, 2012

great!

was a great stay here. so nice and next to all the good stuff in SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Treve
Business
Placerville, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Great location, clean stylish comfortable room

Great alternate to the twice as expensive Marriott Marquis across the street. The Mosser's Annabelle's is an excellent restaurant in the building. Friendly staff accommdating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Annabelle's for dinner

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

2
IFR333
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 28, 2012

Average Hotel

The location was excellent. You had access to the Convention Center, dining, shopping and the trolley line, all in walking distance. The customer service at the desk was less than what is expected. The rooms are small and there is not a dresser or desk in the room. The face bowl is too small and lodged under a shelf and an adult cannot bend over it to brush teeth or cleanse face. The most disappointing part was that the hotel did not match the price quoted by Cheap Ticket. We had to pay more than quoted and we have never done this before. The positive is that you get muffins and coffee in the morning and an apple in the afternoon. Overall, you get what you pay for. Don't expect to find full comfort in the room for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
emily. K
San Diego, CA
May 21, 2012

good loacation

Above all, this hotel is located in downtown, so I could went around somewhere in SF easily. And they offer muffin and coffee for breakfast. I think the price is litttle expensive compared with the room, but it was ok to me. I think this hotel is suitable to travel alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
HighFlyer
Austin
May 21, 2012

Icing on the cake!

The Mosser was the perfect getaway location that offered everything I needed: location, cleanliness, safety, comfort and hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take in all the sights, make sure to enjoy the wonder of nature with the fog rolling in over the Golden Gate Bridge. Don't miss Muir Woods! Unbelievable!

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Diorling
Business
LAS Vegas
May 21, 2012

Two Nights

I got to the hotel aroung 11:45 pm, i requested to somebody to pick me up at the airport....and nobody pickd me up/... i paid twice, when i get at the hotel i told the recepcionist about the pick up and she told me that they dont work with any shuttler company, and she gave me the key 305, when i get to the room it;s was DIRTY.... i had to go down again and requested for a CLEAN room...it wasn't the experience that i was looking for.... i requested for a room with my own bathroom and they want it to charge me almost the same amount that i paid for the hotel and the tickets..... the philipino concierge was the only one helping me with the shuttler...he told then about the pick up and thanks to him the give me my money back and they bring me to the airpot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
EeWhe
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great little hotel, lots of clean quality personality.

I reserved a queen room with shared bathroom. You get a small room with wall mounted TV, coat closet(w/iron and board), queen bed with reading lamps, normal sized corner sink, Window to alley, and mirror hair dryer/toiletries. I paid $90 and felt like it was well worth it for the location and quality of the room. You share a Shower room, and a specific men's or women's room with 2 other queen rooms on your floor. The rest of the hotel is the normal bathroom in room style. The lobby is basic, but has free breakfast muffins and coffee from 6am-10am. It was well visited by lots of visitors that lounged for an hour or so while I worked on my computer, enjoying coffee. Lots of internationals and couples seemed to be the clients. Will definitely use again, I liked my cozy quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get coffee early and grab a couch, you'll get to watch some eclectic visitors stop by for breakfast.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
PeggyS
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 24, 2012

Great location and value

This was our second stay in a "deluxe" (private-bath) room in this hotel. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The lobby is spacious and comfortable, and the location is great: two half-blocks from the Powell Street exit of the BART. We'll look at this hotel first when planning our next trip to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top