Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanNYC123
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2014

Cozy, Affordable Near Union Square

Stayed in a deluxe room for a single night. As many have mentioned, the room itself was quite small, but clean and quite affordable considering its central location in Union Square. Only gripe (minor) was the elevator, of which there was only one, and took forever to reach our floor. Staff was nice enough and the wifi worked OK while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mimi1d
Business
MD
Jul 8, 2014

Not worth your money

This hotel is way over priced. The rooms are extremely small. I do not even want to say anything about the bathroom, because it is the smalles I've ever seen and I've been around Europe where they say that the rooms are the smallest, but this hotel room hit the record. The location is okay, but is full with homeless and junkies, so if you are alone I don't recommend it at all. Can be very scary. Be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HenryIV
Business
El Centro, California
Jul 6, 2014

Nice weekend in the big city

The location of The Mosser made it ideal for us. We walked to Folsom Street in SOMA area and to Union Square's shops. We were steps away from the Powell BART station and used the BART to get to and from the airport. We took a bus to Haight Ashbury. We rode the MUNI train to the Castro. We rode the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TimoSF
Business
San Francisco
Jun 24, 2014

Wow, smallest hotel room ever!

I guess I cant complain for the price, but that was one small hotel room! They made it work though. No desk or night stand really, just a bed, a chair, and a small stool that served as a flat surface for setting things down. Tiny sink in the main room separate from the bath room, which had a stand-up shower. No closet. One improvement would have been at least some hooks and hangers to hang clothes somewhere. But for the price, it was a good value. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louie Zhang
Business
San Fransciso
Jun 24, 2014

Prefect location and average hotel

The location is really great, in downtown, close to the Walgreen, ATM and all kinds of restruants. The hotel is just so-so. Room is clean and comfortable but tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gooooaaaal
Business
san jose, ca
Jun 23, 2014

good price for location/ amenities

positive: location is pretty good, room is clean, bed is fairly comfortable. neg: room is small, no parking around for less than $35 a night. tiny bathroom, thin walls you can do a lot worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casual Futurist
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jun 23, 2014

Cozy budget-friendly accommodations in Downtown SF

I had a pleasant one-night stay in a "Shared Bathroom Queen" which is a clean, fairly modern-looking room with about 80% of the floorspace occupied by a comfortable queen bed. Also in the room: a sink (with the usual hotel toiletries included), a VIZIO flatscreen TV, chair, stool and small bedside stand (with alarm clock). This compact arrangement worked out well for me since I was just at the hotel to relax a little, then sleep after a busy day in San Francisco. The shared mens bathroom was a bit cramped; it had just enough space for a toilet and its usage, but for me, that wasn't a big deal. I didn't use the shared shower and can't comment on that. The hotel staff were very friendly, and the free morning coffee and muffins in the lobby were a nice way to start the day. The location is excellent as well; it's a short walk away from the Yerba Buena Gardens, the Powell BART station, Market Street, the Westfield Shopping Centre and many dining options. If you need more space and/or privacy, consider one of their other rooms which include a bathroom, but if you're looking for a nice, little place to rest after spending time in the city, the "Shared Bathroom Queen" is an affordable option for one (or two) budget-conscious traveler(s).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Justkim17
Business
Virginia
Jun 12, 2014

Great trip

It was a great hotel, next to a lot of shopping! The staff was very helpful. They had a wine down Friday with complimentary wine!! Very cozy rooms with comfy beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Ex-Pat
Business
California
Jun 8, 2014

Great location for tourism

Very nice place, with small clean rooms. Close to Union square and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Justkim17
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Great Stay

This hotel was so unique and fun to stay at. The staff was nice and accommodating. The location was perfect!! They had great coffee and muffins in the morning. On Friday's they have free wine in the evening. Can't get much better!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top