Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
242 reviews
quick stay for a conference

The Mosser was perfect - it was clean and comfortable, and for a great price. I was travelling solo... See full review

  • MadelynM
  • Aug 7, 2014
Great trip

It was a great hotel, next to a lot of shopping! The staff was very helpful. They had a wine down... See full review

  • Justkim17
  • Jun 12, 2014
Modern boutique hotel with recording studio near Union Square

Quirky, modern and ultra-hip, The Mosser Hotel is the only lodging option in San Francisco with a state-of-the-art recording studio on premises. Rooms in this Union Square hotel are clean and efficient. All have platform beds, while some have private bathrooms and others share. Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, the on-site restaurant, utilizes organic ingredients sourced directly from area farms.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art recording studio
  • On-site Annabelle's Bar & Bistro
  • Platform beds
  • Walking distance to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
Rooms

"The Mosser," as it's known locally, has 166 rooms in all -- 112 deluxe rooms with private bathrooms and 54 "economical" rooms with shared hall baths for travelers on smaller budgets. Each room boasts platform beds and vanity sinks. Rooms also come standard with robes, ceiling fans, hair dryers and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms have windows that look out onto busy city streets; some even have reading nooks built into bay windows.

Features

Opened in 1913 as the Keystone Hotel, the historic property was completely redesigned in 2003 and now feels modern and chic.

The centerpiece of that redesign was Studio Paradiso, a state-of-the-art recording studio that is available to hotel guests. Other standard amenities include ironing boards, two-line telephones and custom-designed furniture.

In early 2010, the hotel announced a commitment to embrace eco-friendly products in all the rooms. The Mosser family donates a portion of all hotel proceeds to reforestation, literacy and educational projects.

 

Dining

For a fabulous cocktail or tasty sandwich, pull up a stool at Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, a French-style eatery located on the ground floor. The restaurant features an eclectic wine selection.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Studio Paradiso available for meetings
Policies and fees
Nightly valet parking rate will increase in October as follows:
  • Standard vehicle:  $39 + taxes ($44.46 after tax)
  • Oversized vehicle:  $49 + taxes ($55.86 after tax)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Mosser Hotel Rooms

Shared Bath
Economical room with one queen or one twin sized bed and a shared hall bath. Room includes a vanity sink, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.
Deluxe Room
Room includes one full size bed, private bath, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, on-demand pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mosser Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.4051
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Mosser Hotel is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Centrally located for easy access to the Moscone Convention Center, shopping and Bay Area attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Studio Paradiso
The Mosser's new world-class recording studio, Studio Paradiso, brings a new dimension to the hotel's array of services. The studio, located adjacent to the hotel, possesses the highest standard in acoustic quality. Four years in the making, The Mosser Studio Paradiso has up-to-the-minute technology including both digital and analog capabilities. The Studio is a professional playground for the music and media specialist alike.
Annabelles Bar and Bistro
The hotel's restaurant, Annabelles Bar and Bistro, serves lunch and dinner, with an array of cuisine designed to please even the most discriminating diner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arizona Leon
Tempe, AZ
Dec 30, 2013

Try booking with the hotel instead

So I know the deal with this site is that they will find the best deal for you. But the cheapest room here is literally a closet in a small section of the nice hotel. Not a lot of light and it was way too cramp for the length of my stay. I gave 3 stars because the hotel is actually nice if you get a good room (meaning maybe not book on here). The floor bathrooms and showers are clean, very small though. The staff is very nice, helpful and laidback. The environment is pretty modern and it's got a communal feel to it. It's more like a bed and breakfast than an actual hotel. It's hard to park and incredibily expensive to find parking. Near the BART and cabs and right smack dab in the middle of the city's shopping hub. I stayed with my partner, staff and guests seemed to be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessievon
Palo Alto, CA
Nov 26, 2013

Perfect location when you need a place to crash!

Are the rooms fairly small? Yes. Do you have to share bathrooms that are in the hallway? Yes. Do you only spend $75 when you have an 20% off coupon on an already cheap room in an AMAZING location? Yes! Perfect location for a staycation in the city for a night! Will definitely be returning here the next time I'm in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim C No2
Business
DC
Nov 15, 2013

Gerat location, can't beat the price, if you don't mind hallway bathrooms

I'm sure people will find things to complain about but they can go pay 10 times more across the street. This is my new go-to place when traveling with out the wife and kids and I don't need more than 100 square feet, a sink, a bed and a TV. The hallway bathrooms were very clean and they even provided a bathrobe for trips there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yerba Buena lane around the corner - cool architecture, fun restaurants.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollywood Show Attendee
CA Central Coast
Oct 30, 2013

Have Stayed Here Before, Will Again

Each time I have stayed at the Mosser it was to attend events in SOMA and for that it can't be beat: Perfect location within walking distance of shopping, food, etc. Staff is courteous and well-informed, building well-maintained, rooms clean, etc. Beds are comfortable, linens clean and substantial, toiletries bountiful and high-end. Some other aspects may or may not be a downside depending on your requirements: 1. There is no on-site parking and you must use either the valet or self-park in the public garage about two blocks away. 2. The rooms are TINY however the Mosser prides itself -- and rightfully so -- on custom furnishings which best utilize the minimal space. Also, the walls are paper-thin and you will hear EVERYTHING that goes on next door, in the hall, etc. 3. The surrounding neighborhood can quickly get a bit dodgey. 4. The rooms are a mix of private and shared baths. Though I was well-aware of this, I heard some guests complaining that it was not clear when they made their reservation. Depending on your needs and expectations, the Mosser can be ideal but possibly more so for individuals/couples not looking for a memorable hotel stay in and of itself (that is, view rooms, spa, etc.) and less so for families seeking a grand hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KonaShark
Business
Morgan Hill, Ca
Oct 24, 2013

Good - if you know what you're getting into!

Classic old building, elegant in it's presentation. But... TINY rooms - plan on the bed being your desk and your living space, cause that's about all there's room for. A ceiling dan, but no AC for those rare warm SF days. The double set of windows blocks out almost all city traffic noise below - very nice. No bathrooms in the inexpensive rooms, although in my short stay I never had to wait nor did I even see anyone else use the shared bathroom. Shared bathroom is TINY (smaller than most stalls) but marble and clean. Clean, quirky, elegant in it's own way, great locations, relatively inexpensive by comparison. I'd like to give it 4 stars for comfort and value, except for one thing. While the rooms are well insulated from outside noise, the walls are thin and I could hear the guy next door talking until 1:00 AM. So, recommended, with the preceding warnings, and if your neighbor is not a loudmouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler7a
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 18, 2013

Very good Value

Small room - no closet, very small bathroom, sink in the room - but right in the heart of downtown SF, so well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markiibee
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 16, 2013

Beware of constructions going on

Currently SF is building a subway right below this building. During our last night of stay we were awaken by the loud noise that was taking place right outside our window at 2:30 AM. This noise continued on for an HOUR! However, overall stay was awesome. Great staff, help around the city, and clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just pass market street towards the union square there are alot of hidden dining areas that would definitely hit the spot.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Folsom Traveler
New York , NY
Oct 3, 2013

Great for single traveler

I would have given it 3 stars if the single bed room has a bathroom. The hall way toilet is way too small to squeeze into, you have to position yourself properly when closing the door. For the rate that I paid, I guess it's worth the price. The breakfast could be improve but the coffee taste great. This place reminded me of the hostel I transferred from, at least the hostel provided fruits and bagels. The hall way noise is loud, you can hear the doors shutting and wakes you up. The staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TLLLS
Illinois, USA
Sep 23, 2013

Would recommend to a friend!!!

When booking this room, we understood that we would be sharing a bath and shower with other guests. We assumed it would be a relatively minor inconvenience, especially with a sink in the room. Well, it was no inconvenience at all!!! We stayed for 5 nights and had to wait for either room only once. The property is spotless. Furthermore, they accommodated our every need, including a computer (and printer) that actually worked so we could check-in for our flights before arriving at the airport. Additionally, the location was perfect for us. The only downside was the size of the room, It really is tight when you have a couple of suitcases with you. However, we don't often spend much time in the room (just to sleep), so it was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CandS37
London, England
Sep 16, 2013

Good Stop-over

I had to stop-over in SF for one night at the end of my holiday. Good hotel, well located in the center of the business district. Good bistro next door. Room compact, but clean and had everything that I needed. Only disappointment was breakfast, they only had coffee and muffins in the Lobby with nowhere to sit. Apart from that, very good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro next door is good.

Back to menu Return to top