Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can't think of nickname
Business
East Coast
Sep 18, 2014

Conference Center Meeting

This hotel is what I would describe as "European Boutique". The shared bathroom was not that bad, as I was just a couple doors from the toilet stall and the shower. The toilet and shower are separate rooms and single capacity. I never had to wait and never ran into anyone also using the bathroom. The staff was courteous and helpful. The morning muffins were very yummy! We used valet parking one day and that was very well done and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NicoleFrz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Great, Quaint Stay!

I had some of the best nights' sleep while staying here! Of course we heard the city sounds outside and our room did have a window facing the kitchen exit of the restaurant next store so we heard a lot of dishes being knocked around but I am use to those types of city sounds. We had a Queen bedroom with a private bath and the room was small but perfect for me and my boyfriend. Plus we didn't spend any significant amount of time in the room, only to sleep and take showers. The coffee they had the morning was strong and delicious. Also the hotel is the heart of Union Square so you have plenty of dining out options. The staff was very polite and they were able to check us 2 hours prior to the check in time which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you drive into San Francisco and stay here park your car at Jessie Square Garage. Its about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and will cost $26 a day, cheaper than the hotel valet and many other parking garages in the area.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chereechristine
Business
Pleasanton, ca
Sep 8, 2014

great hotel, great location

The room was very small, but after unpacking for a single night stay, it still seemed cozy. The location was near many restaruants and other attractions. Would definantly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Warrior Princess
Business
Oregon
Sep 2, 2014

Great little room

The staff was courteous, professional, and helpful. My room was clean and the beds were made every day. The only complaint is the level of street noise that filters up into the room. Being smack dab in city though, it seems unavoidable. The location was adjacent to retail stores and easily accessible to public transportation and cab service. There were plenty of restaurants nearby to catch a quick bite, or a nice dinner. Also, the parking was convenient, but a little above average than nearby lots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's central to downtown activities

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mission
Business
Mission
Aug 21, 2014

A good experience

The only reservation I have about staying at this hotel again is that it is difficult staying in a room without a bathroom (I chose to stay in one of their rooms without). It is always easier to have a bathroom. That said, everything was as could be without a bathroom. I never had any difficulty accessing a toilet or shower when I wanted it, and there is a sink in every room. In other regards: the hotel is centrally located, the staff were helpful, the rooms were clean with up-to-date furnishings, and the bed was comfortable. All for considerably less than I would have paid to stay in a comparable hotel (with a bathroom) nearby. Definitely value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For quick and expensive yet good quality food, try eating at the Emporium (an up-scale food fair) at the Westfield Mall around the corner from the hotel.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljam11
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 20, 2014

great location

This is a really nice but no frills boutique hotel in a great location in downtown SF. Close to public transportation and shopping. Free coffee and muffins for breakfast! The rooms are pretty small, but it's a good value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ogregg
Business
Shady Side, MD
Aug 9, 2014

Great Experience -Not for Everyone

Super location off Union Square across the street from the Marriott Marque.Really, no amenities except for the charm and a super staff. The rooms are really small and suited for just two. The rooms were so clean, they looked like they could have been power washed. No need for a car, the Bay, Chinatown and most everything else is within walking distance for the fit. I'm 72 and my is 64 and with walking, cable car and $5 cab rides we could get everywhere. This was a charming budget friendly deal in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use public transportation and walk if able and when possible.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MadelynM
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 7, 2014

quick stay for a conference

The Mosser was perfect - it was clean and comfortable, and for a great price. I was travelling solo so the small room was fine. The ceiling fan was very nice, and the bed was comfortable. And it was close to everything, right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the Press Club bar, right nearby the hotel.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanNYC123
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2014

Cozy, Affordable Near Union Square

Stayed in a deluxe room for a single night. As many have mentioned, the room itself was quite small, but clean and quite affordable considering its central location in Union Square. Only gripe (minor) was the elevator, of which there was only one, and took forever to reach our floor. Staff was nice enough and the wifi worked OK while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CafeLeche
Business
Long Beach, NY
Jul 18, 2014

Mosser Experience

The Mosser is located in between the financial district an Union Square. Perfect location. If you like to walk, the hotel is close enough to the Pier. The Mosser provides valet service at a reasonable cost and just requires a 30min prior notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top