Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Scottsdale, AZ
Jun 8, 2009

Rating

Well I did have better, cheaper accommodations but the staff and the super location more than made up for the fact that the light switches are inconveniently located. You can't turn on a light from the door & there should really be a light near the bed as I like to sleep with the lights off. They serve very good coffee & muffins & the staff are all very polite & accommodating. Near the trolley & the bus stop plus good shops & eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single African American Male............
Single
New York
May 27, 2009

Great Location - Small Rooms - Small Tvs

Hi, I went to San Francisco for the first time on vacation, and I had a nice time there. The Mosser is located in a great location with access to the subway (powell street location), 2 movie theaters, Dennys, Annabelles, Ross stores, Walgreens, the mall, shops etc.... The location is great, and you can't beat it. I would have probably given it a better rating, but I happened to be in a match box, and unfortunately must have had someone from the boondocks in the room beside me, because she kept complaining about the noise. Here's the deal; they give you these little 13 inch tvs which they put in the ceiling and because the rooms are so small you can pretty much hear everything. Evidentally, she was calling them to them I was being too noisy when in all actuality she needed a reality check. What perturbed me the most is the hotel just believed her. They came across as very accusatory, and I didn't like that at all. I was doing them a favor by staying there, and they put me in a cramped room (the rooms are half the size of a college dormitory room-WOW!!!!!!!!). Not to mention, no matter what time you came back to the room during the day, there was always someone from housekeeping cleaning somebody's room, and that's all you heard. They also have a ghetto security guard who looks like he just moved from planet ghetto. I dealt with it, but you cannot beat the location of the hotel, and if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, accept at night, it's a good deal. Most of the staff was pretty friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall there is very nice in my opinion. There are some high end stores in there like Nordstroms and Bloomies. They also have footlocker, a restaurant floor, very cool stores. Everything you need is a few blocks away, and you cannot get lost in San Francisco. Most of the people are friendly.I HAD THE BEST TIME!!!!!!

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go go Grandma
Couples
Boise ID
May 8, 2009

Smallest, cleanest, room we ever had.

Great area for a conferance. Very small rooms. Ours had a shared bath, but was never a line or busy at the bath or toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 24, 2009

filthy common toilets

I hesitated, because of the common toilet facilities, but I had experienced this in Europe and I really needed a cheap, safe location for a single traveller and very close to the BART, so I took the chance. The toilet on my floor was filthy, and not cleaned AT ALL !!!during my one week stay DESPITE daily complaints to the front desk and a written complaint to the manager. What a shame, since every other aspect so perfectly met my needs....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Memphis, TN
Jan 6, 2008

Interesting place

Great location. Good for single traveler. Shared bathroom is only bad point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right off Market Street.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Sep 27, 2007

SMALL, VERY VERY Small

the tiniest hotel rooms in the world....you run into the bed to get to the bathroom. Beware all who need to use the facilities during the night!! clean enough, staff friendly enough...but the rooms----------only for people who are NOT claustrophobic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2007

For what you spend...

The Mosser is a good hotel if you really don't want to spend too much, and need a basic place to sleep for a couple of nights. The location of the hotel is really convenient (in the Union Square Area), so getting to different locations (including the airport) is not difficult at all. The room I stayed in was very small, room enough for the twin bed and a small area for me to set up my laptop and luggage (as well as do my morning push ups). The shared bathrooms (shower and toilet are separate rooms)were a little inconvenient, but not a problem for my stay. The staff are nice there as well. Overall, I would say the hotel's strongest points are its location and price, making it a prime choice if you are going for a practical choice. Otherwise, it may not be the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right in the middle of a pretty busy section of San Francisco. I ate at Cafe Infusion, which I would definitely recommend to others (right around the corner on Mission Street).

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erane
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 23, 2007

For those on a string budget!!!

The Mosser Hotel was very nice in the lobby and it has some beautiful artifacts. I could literally touch the bathroom door as I stood in the shower. The rooms were not particularly clean looking and when you couple that with the size it certainly didn't leave me with a comfortable feeling. The bed was very uncomfortable also. Additionally, the hallways are tiny and their are common bathrooms, if you don't get deluxe room. We had deluxe room but the people travelling to the bathroom at night were very loud. I didn't get quality sleep. However, the staff was great. They really were attentive and professional. The hotel is great for a short stay on a string budget. Location is GREAT!!! It is right across from BART & on the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top