Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
222 reviews
Would recommend to a friend!!!

When booking this room, we understood that we would be sharing a bath and shower with other guests.... See full review

  • TLLLS
  • Sep 23, 2013
I'm telling both my Mom and kids about the Mosser!

Next time we come to San Fran - we do the art scene, galleries etc., I want to bring my mother to... See full review

  • Artist JUliO
  • Feb 5, 2013
Modern boutique hotel with recording studio near Union Square

Quirky, modern and ultra-hip, The Mosser Hotel is the only lodging option in San Francisco with a state-of-the-art recording studio on premises. Rooms in this Union Square hotel are clean and efficient. All have platform beds, while some have private bathrooms and others share. Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, the on-site restaurant, utilizes organic ingredients sourced directly from area farms.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art recording studio
  • On-site Annabelle's Bar & Bistro
  • Platform beds
  • Walking distance to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
Rooms

"The Mosser," as it's known locally, has 166 rooms in all -- 112 deluxe rooms with private bathrooms and 54 "economical" rooms with shared hall baths for travelers on smaller budgets. Each room boasts platform beds and vanity sinks. Rooms also come standard with robes, ceiling fans, hair dryers and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms have windows that look out onto busy city streets; some even have reading nooks built into bay windows.

Features

Opened in 1913 as the Keystone Hotel, the historic property was completely redesigned in 2003 and now feels modern and chic.

The centerpiece of that redesign was Studio Paradiso, a state-of-the-art recording studio that is available to hotel guests. Other standard amenities include ironing boards, two-line telephones and custom-designed furniture.

In early 2010, the hotel announced a commitment to embrace eco-friendly products in all the rooms. The Mosser family donates a portion of all hotel proceeds to reforestation, literacy and educational projects.

 

Dining

For a fabulous cocktail or tasty sandwich, pull up a stool at Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, a French-style eatery located on the ground floor. The restaurant features an eclectic wine selection.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Studio Paradiso available for meetings
Policies and fees
Nightly valet parking rate will increase in October as follows:
  • Standard vehicle:  $39 + taxes ($44.46 after tax)
  • Oversized vehicle:  $49 + taxes ($55.86 after tax)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Mosser Hotel Rooms

Shared Bath
Economical room with one queen or one twin sized bed and a shared hall bath. Room includes a vanity sink, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.
Deluxe Room
Room includes one full size bed, private bath, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, on-demand pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mosser Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.4051
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Mosser Hotel is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Centrally located for easy access to the Moscone Convention Center, shopping and Bay Area attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Studio Paradiso
The Mosser's new world-class recording studio, Studio Paradiso, brings a new dimension to the hotel's array of services. The studio, located adjacent to the hotel, possesses the highest standard in acoustic quality. Four years in the making, The Mosser Studio Paradiso has up-to-the-minute technology including both digital and analog capabilities. The Studio is a professional playground for the music and media specialist alike.
Annabelles Bar and Bistro
The hotel's restaurant, Annabelles Bar and Bistro, serves lunch and dinner, with an array of cuisine designed to please even the most discriminating diner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
AK IT Guy
Business
Alaska
Sep 4, 2013

Excellent location for VMworld

Stayed here for VMworld 2013. The Mosser wasn't on the official list of hotels, but was cheaper and as close as you can get to the Moscone Center. Very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
BizeeBee
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Aug 23, 2013

Small, but clean and comfortable

I had a great 3 night stay at the Mosser. I was there on business, so it was perfect for what I needed. The rooms (at least the single ones) were on the smaller side (so no coffee maker, closet, extra space). However, the room was clean and comfortable. There were also nice little touches like a tray with a flower in a vase, a few mints and a cookie, when I arrived. The hotel appears to be really well maintained. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The location is also great: just half a block from the BART/Muni station, 5 or 6 blocks from Union Square, within 2 blocks of many major bus routes, with lots of great dining found within a 6 block radius. It's a great home base from which to explore San Francisco, and its proximity to the financial/business district can't be beat at the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Kate O
London
Aug 19, 2013

Shoe box rooms in a great location!

The Mosser is really lovely when you enter the lobby, super stylish and with friendly and helpful staff. However, the room itself had a double bed, a built-in cupboard, a sink and pretty much no standing room beyond these. With two large cases, we were forever tripping over ourselves when moving around the room. To add to this, the windows didn't open, so although the room had a fan, it was just moving around a lot of hot air. The hotel offers tea, coffee and absolutely delicious muffins as a breakfast for their guests, which made for a really enjoyable start to the day. However, the one thing you really can't overlook was the communal bathroom/toilet situation. To be fair, I never had to queue for the shower, but my husband did, and one bath/shower per floor (with at least 15 rooms per floor) seemed a bit sparse. In addition, one single ladies toilet per floor (and one for the gents) meant that the loo became stinky very quickly. I dreaded having to go, knowing that it smelled so badly - worse than the men's! Without a sink, guests also had to rely on a hand sanitiser pump to get clean hands, which isn't ideal. Overall, this is a great hotel if you just want a bed that is well located, and have access to the expertise of friendly staff, but this is definitely not a hotel for those who want to spend large amounts of time in their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

'Cask' liquor store has the greatest selection of spirits I've ever come across!

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Lab Mocha
London
Aug 18, 2013

Small room with shared bath

I had a test in downtown SF and checked in this hotel for one night. It was great to find a stay in SF. The shared bath is clean. The room is very small but clean. Good to stay in downtown SF with a limit budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Tipton
Gualala. Ca
Mar 26, 2013

perfect location

location steps rom Bart and favorite restaurant next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

steps from Bart

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Eve W
Business
San Francisco
Mar 25, 2013

Room comes with noise and no coffee maker.

Staff recommended drinking tap water. Room noisy and uses ceiling fan dangling above bed. Linen not clean. No desk in room. Compared to other places, I would not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
CGWJR
Princeton, NJ
Feb 5, 2013

Fantastic convention location, but know what you're in for

I stayed at The Mosser in late January for a convention at Moscone. If you're in town for a convention, the location is perfect: Moscone West is just two short blocks south. The rooms are, as described, really quite small. I stayed in a shared queen, and the arrangement of the bed was quite ridiculous. It's quite easy to see that this room was not intended for a bed of this size. When you walk in, you see the headboard against the wall, a quite conventional thing. But you'll notice that the pillows/etc are placed on the side of the bed, for you're expected - and indeed, it's necessary - to sleep sideways on the bed, with the headboard to your side. Fortunately the beds are quite comfortable. Like some other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms get quite warm. The heaters do not turn off, and the window was stuck, so for the first few days my room became a hot, sweltering mess. Fortunately we eventually got the window opened and it was much more comfortable, at the expense of increased street noise. A word of warning if you're booking through here, however. When I checked in, the front desk did not understand that I had already (pre)paid for my room, through the site. The problem was quickly remedied via a call to support, where the operator contacted the hotel and informed them of the situation (I had to do this the next morning, as presumably the staff did not communicate this to the next shift). Just have the phone number ready so that you can have them clear up any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Artist JUliO
BC Canada
Feb 5, 2013

I'm telling both my Mom and kids about the Mosser!

Next time we come to San Fran - we do the art scene, galleries etc., I want to bring my mother to stay as well at the Mosser for it's authentically renovated, comfortable, gracious and clean. Also. I'm passing on the recommendation to my married children as a perfect respite holiday place in a winderfully interesting city. If I'm full of superlatives, it's because it was a welcomed holiday in a very busy life that didn't have many hitches - and those had nothing to do with the Mosser. Julie Oakes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
PedroP
Business
Mexico City
Jan 28, 2013

Very Good Location

I stayed while I was on business for a trade show. Is it perfectly located and near the Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Owl678
Business
Miami FL
Jan 22, 2013

Very Good

It work for me. Room is small but I was alone so I did not mind, now for two people I don't recommend. Great location, clean place. I would go back. Thanks Mosser hotel Frank

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court at "The Emporium" was good for a guy like me. It is just half a block on market street on the same block as the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top