Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solo travelers
Business
California
Dec 1, 2014

Great place

Clean, convenient, great price and best location in sf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Major retail stores

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chav
Business
San Francisco
Nov 28, 2014

restful

I went right to sleep with no disturbances. the staff was accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping all over the place

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Criminologist
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 23, 2014

Excellent alternative to overpriced four-stars

I booked a room here to stay alone for an academic conference being held in the hotel across the street. I carefully verified that my room would have a private bathroom, and you may rest assured that your booking is correct. I had multiple colleagues who said that they saw The Mosser but were concerned about being stuck with shared bathrooms. Never fear. The room was small, and it'd be uncomfortable to share with anyone but a very loving partner. Even then it might get cramped. There's no closet space, but pegs and hangers in the room provided enough space to hang clothes for a four-day trip. For one, it's clean, well-lit, and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great dinner without the long lines, head northeast toward the financial district rather than south or west into overcrowded Market restaurants. Criminally underattended restaurants include Archive Bar & Kitchen and Trou Normand.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biomech
Business
australia
Nov 16, 2014

Good location

Very good location, right in the mid of downtown. The room is fairly clean but old. It gets noisy due to busy street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Difficoulter
Business
Canada
Nov 12, 2014

Interesting hotel, vibrant location

Super friendly staff and cool little rooms, super cozy, lots going on in the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

California pizza kitchen

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
andi77
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 1, 2014

Great location.

We enjoyed the location and how close it was to the BART stop. No car needed at all. We made the mistake of leaving our window open the first night - it is pretty loud. However, the windows are doubled glazed with an air insulation layer, so if they are closed, it keeps the noise out fairly well. The rooms were small but clean, the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorene Voto
Business
Chisago City MN
Oct 13, 2014

Postage Stamp Size Room

The room was very small but clean and decorated nicely. The bathroom clogged up twice and we were not pleased. The staff was helpful and the location is good. All in all very good value. Reminded me of hotels in London, compact but useable. Two doors from Kimpton Palomar and half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can't think of nickname
Business
East Coast
Sep 18, 2014

Conference Center Meeting

This hotel is what I would describe as "European Boutique". The shared bathroom was not that bad, as I was just a couple doors from the toilet stall and the shower. The toilet and shower are separate rooms and single capacity. I never had to wait and never ran into anyone also using the bathroom. The staff was courteous and helpful. The morning muffins were very yummy! We used valet parking one day and that was very well done and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NicoleFrz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Great, Quaint Stay!

I had some of the best nights' sleep while staying here! Of course we heard the city sounds outside and our room did have a window facing the kitchen exit of the restaurant next store so we heard a lot of dishes being knocked around but I am use to those types of city sounds. We had a Queen bedroom with a private bath and the room was small but perfect for me and my boyfriend. Plus we didn't spend any significant amount of time in the room, only to sleep and take showers. The coffee they had the morning was strong and delicious. Also the hotel is the heart of Union Square so you have plenty of dining out options. The staff was very polite and they were able to check us 2 hours prior to the check in time which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you drive into San Francisco and stay here park your car at Jessie Square Garage. Its about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and will cost $26 a day, cheaper than the hotel valet and many other parking garages in the area.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Warrior Princess
Business
Oregon
Sep 2, 2014

Great little room

The staff was courteous, professional, and helpful. My room was clean and the beds were made every day. The only complaint is the level of street noise that filters up into the room. Being smack dab in city though, it seems unavoidable. The location was adjacent to retail stores and easily accessible to public transportation and cab service. There were plenty of restaurants nearby to catch a quick bite, or a nice dinner. Also, the parking was convenient, but a little above average than nearby lots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's central to downtown activities

Back to menu Return to top