Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
246 reviews
Conference Center Meeting

This hotel is what I would describe as "European Boutique". The shared bathroom was not that bad,... See full review

  • Can't think of nickname
  • Sep 18, 2014
Great, Quaint Stay!

I had some of the best nights' sleep while staying here! Of course we heard the city sounds outside... See full review

  • NicoleFrz
  • Sep 11, 2014
Modern boutique hotel with recording studio near Union Square

Quirky, modern and ultra-hip, The Mosser Hotel is the only lodging option in San Francisco with a state-of-the-art recording studio on premises. Rooms in this Union Square hotel are clean and efficient. All have platform beds, while some have private bathrooms and others share. Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, the on-site restaurant, utilizes organic ingredients sourced directly from area farms.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art recording studio
  • On-site Annabelle's Bar & Bistro
  • Platform beds
  • Walking distance to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
Rooms

"The Mosser," as it's known locally, has 166 rooms in all -- 112 deluxe rooms with private bathrooms and 54 "economical" rooms with shared hall baths for travelers on smaller budgets. Each room boasts platform beds and vanity sinks. Rooms also come standard with robes, ceiling fans, hair dryers and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms have windows that look out onto busy city streets; some even have reading nooks built into bay windows.

Features

Opened in 1913 as the Keystone Hotel, the historic property was completely redesigned in 2003 and now feels modern and chic.

The centerpiece of that redesign was Studio Paradiso, a state-of-the-art recording studio that is available to hotel guests. Other standard amenities include ironing boards, two-line telephones and custom-designed furniture.

In early 2010, the hotel announced a commitment to embrace eco-friendly products in all the rooms. The Mosser family donates a portion of all hotel proceeds to reforestation, literacy and educational projects.

 

Dining

For a fabulous cocktail or tasty sandwich, pull up a stool at Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, a French-style eatery located on the ground floor. The restaurant features an eclectic wine selection.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Studio Paradiso available for meetings
Policies and fees
Nightly valet parking rate will increase in October as follows:
  • Standard vehicle:  $39 + taxes ($44.46 after tax)
  • Oversized vehicle:  $49 + taxes ($55.86 after tax)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Mosser Hotel Rooms

Shared Bath
Economical room with one queen or one twin sized bed and a shared hall bath. Room includes a vanity sink, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.
Deluxe Room
Room includes one full size bed, private bath, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, on-demand pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mosser Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.4051
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Mosser Hotel is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Centrally located for easy access to the Moscone Convention Center, shopping and Bay Area attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

Studio Paradiso
The Mosser's new world-class recording studio, Studio Paradiso, brings a new dimension to the hotel's array of services. The studio, located adjacent to the hotel, possesses the highest standard in acoustic quality. Four years in the making, The Mosser Studio Paradiso has up-to-the-minute technology including both digital and analog capabilities. The Studio is a professional playground for the music and media specialist alike.
Annabelles Bar and Bistro
The hotel's restaurant, Annabelles Bar and Bistro, serves lunch and dinner, with an array of cuisine designed to please even the most discriminating diner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay the BPerson
Business
NYC NY
May 18, 2014

My Downtown San Francisco Adventure

I arrived at about 10:00 p.m on a Saturday night. The city was brightly lit. As we rounded the corner off Market and onto 4th we came upon this cute brightly lit hotel. The lobby was inviting and so was the man who opened the door and the woman behind the desk. They welcomed the new arrivals and quickly checked us in. Apprehensively I took the elevators up the the top floor to see my shared shower. That was all I could think about after booking the hotel. What a pleasant surprise. It was spotless. I went to my room. It was small but very neat. I showered, walked down the aisle in my hotel-provided robe, tucked into bed and decided to love the European adventure I was about to have. I did and it was great. What a steal in the heart of San Francisco. Love it love it love. Would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A speakeasy type joint above Union Square and in a hotel. Great jazz and food. Very friendly bartenders

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sirfur
Business
Santa Cruz
May 13, 2014

Great hotel at a reasonable price!

The Mosser never fails to impress with it's great location, reasonable price and friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping you would want right out your door!

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrewYu
Business
yorba linda, california
May 5, 2014

very good bang for your buck

for under or around $100, this hotel is serious quality. the best thing is the location. right smack in the middle of the city around union square, chinatown, soma, the financial district. though the rooms may be small, theyre renovated with a nice finish. if looking for a value deal, this is a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaraAshley
Business
Seattle
Apr 21, 2014

Mislabeled Hostel

This hotel is in the best location! The trouble was more that it was mislabeled. It should have been listed as a hostel. The room had a twin size bed and a sink and that was all. There was no place to put clothes. No drawers, no closet. But we can sum it up in one sentence. The bathroom is communal; the bathroom is for the entire floor. Decide how comfortable you are without having a bathroom in your room. Is that what you are willing to do?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plaidpony
Business
Sleepy Hollow, IL
Apr 5, 2014

Excellent Minimalist Hotel in Downtown San Francisco

I was attending a conference at the Mascone center and this was the perfect location. Honestly, this was the most practical hotel stay I've ever had. Why pay for having a personal toilet and shower in your room when most of the time you are just using the hotel for a place to sleep. I stayed in the Mosser Single. It is a custom-designed twin size bed room, that includes a vanity sink and mirror. The bathroom is shared amongst three other rooms and highly maintained. The shared bathroom is only a few steps away from the bedroom. I didn't ever see anyone else on the floor and had no problems using the shower as needed. My only complaint with the room was its location in the hotel--it was facing the alley where a garage dumped out onto 4th street and every time a car left the garage it would sound an alarm to alert the people on the sidewalk (and wake me up from sleep:)). I think this is a common complaint with the room because they did provide ear plugs, although I did not use them--I just put another pillow over my head :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mascone Center West is just a few steps away from the hotel. If you are going there for a conference, this is an ideal location.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony likes SF
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 13, 2014

Small room, Good location

The room is pretty small like a cube, but you can't find a hotel at this location with such a low price. It would be a wise choice for travelers with a tight budget. The staff are very helpful and offer good coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10-15 minutes walk to Union Square and Chinatown

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Talalaskar
Business
Kuwait
Mar 4, 2014

great vacation

Location, clean, bed, bathroom, staff. All are perfect Parking very expensive 44$ per day Room is very small. No space for more than 1 bag. Smell is not too good. Price of room is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping. Dining. Entertainment are all in short walk

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Miss Emily
Business
Portland
Mar 4, 2014

Very resonable and good quality hotel

Just a short review to say that my fiance and I were overall quite happy with this hotel. The room was micro-sized but furnished very nicely, and kept very clean. The only problem we had with it was a tendency for it to get overly warm. We ended up just keeping the window open ad the ceiling fan on high, which evened out the temperature. The staff was accommodating. The location was extremely convenient. I appreciate their desire to be ecologically responsible. The morning coffee and muffins were not that great, but we like to go out for breakfast anyway. I would recommend this to anyone who is not picky about having a lot of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steu
Business
NY
Feb 24, 2014

Small rooms, low price, great location

Boutique hotel almost closer to hotel conference center than the rooms in that hotel. Room had a window on an airshaft, with no view. Room had inside bath, clean and functional. Sink in room, outside of bath. Clientelle of hotel are professionals, and public bathroom seemed clean. Overall, for ~40% of the price of the hotel across the street, and free WiFi, it seems like a bargain. But, concessions are made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Granite Green
Business
Hawaii
Feb 11, 2014

Good bang for the buck

stayed a few times. Always clean and well appointed. Shared bathrooms are a bit funky but worth it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amber for Indian Food. Get the butter chicken...

Back to menu Return to top