Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biomech
Business
australia
Nov 16, 2014

Good location

Very good location, right in the mid of downtown. The room is fairly clean but old. It gets noisy due to busy street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Difficoulter
Business
Canada
Nov 12, 2014

Interesting hotel, vibrant location

Super friendly staff and cool little rooms, super cozy, lots going on in the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

California pizza kitchen

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
andi77
Business
Kansas City, MO
Nov 1, 2014

Great location.

We enjoyed the location and how close it was to the BART stop. No car needed at all. We made the mistake of leaving our window open the first night - it is pretty loud. However, the windows are doubled glazed with an air insulation layer, so if they are closed, it keeps the noise out fairly well. The rooms were small but clean, the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorene Voto
Business
Chisago City MN
Oct 13, 2014

Postage Stamp Size Room

The room was very small but clean and decorated nicely. The bathroom clogged up twice and we were not pleased. The staff was helpful and the location is good. All in all very good value. Reminded me of hotels in London, compact but useable. Two doors from Kimpton Palomar and half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Can't think of nickname
Business
East Coast
Sep 18, 2014

Conference Center Meeting

This hotel is what I would describe as "European Boutique". The shared bathroom was not that bad, as I was just a couple doors from the toilet stall and the shower. The toilet and shower are separate rooms and single capacity. I never had to wait and never ran into anyone also using the bathroom. The staff was courteous and helpful. The morning muffins were very yummy! We used valet parking one day and that was very well done and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NicoleFrz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Great, Quaint Stay!

I had some of the best nights' sleep while staying here! Of course we heard the city sounds outside and our room did have a window facing the kitchen exit of the restaurant next store so we heard a lot of dishes being knocked around but I am use to those types of city sounds. We had a Queen bedroom with a private bath and the room was small but perfect for me and my boyfriend. Plus we didn't spend any significant amount of time in the room, only to sleep and take showers. The coffee they had the morning was strong and delicious. Also the hotel is the heart of Union Square so you have plenty of dining out options. The staff was very polite and they were able to check us 2 hours prior to the check in time which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you drive into San Francisco and stay here park your car at Jessie Square Garage. Its about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and will cost $26 a day, cheaper than the hotel valet and many other parking garages in the area.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Warrior Princess
Business
Oregon
Sep 2, 2014

Great little room

The staff was courteous, professional, and helpful. My room was clean and the beds were made every day. The only complaint is the level of street noise that filters up into the room. Being smack dab in city though, it seems unavoidable. The location was adjacent to retail stores and easily accessible to public transportation and cab service. There were plenty of restaurants nearby to catch a quick bite, or a nice dinner. Also, the parking was convenient, but a little above average than nearby lots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's central to downtown activities

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mission
Business
Mission
Aug 21, 2014

A good experience

The only reservation I have about staying at this hotel again is that it is difficult staying in a room without a bathroom (I chose to stay in one of their rooms without). It is always easier to have a bathroom. That said, everything was as could be without a bathroom. I never had any difficulty accessing a toilet or shower when I wanted it, and there is a sink in every room. In other regards: the hotel is centrally located, the staff were helpful, the rooms were clean with up-to-date furnishings, and the bed was comfortable. All for considerably less than I would have paid to stay in a comparable hotel (with a bathroom) nearby. Definitely value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For quick and expensive yet good quality food, try eating at the Emporium (an up-scale food fair) at the Westfield Mall around the corner from the hotel.

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ljam11
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 20, 2014

great location

This is a really nice but no frills boutique hotel in a great location in downtown SF. Close to public transportation and shopping. Free coffee and muffins for breakfast! The rooms are pretty small, but it's a good value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MadelynM
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 7, 2014

quick stay for a conference

The Mosser was perfect - it was clean and comfortable, and for a great price. I was travelling solo so the small room was fine. The ceiling fan was very nice, and the bed was comfortable. And it was close to everything, right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the Press Club bar, right nearby the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top