Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Modesto, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Great Value!!

This is my second stay at the Mosser. Both times I had very positive experiences. This time I spent 3 nights. The hotel is small and old, yet remodeled and updated, clean, warm and friendly.I arrived at 11am but since my room was ready, they let me check in early. (Nice surprise!)I had ordered the cheapest room with the shared bathroom but was upgraded to a "deluxe" room with my own bathroom!!(No extra charge!) The rooms are SMALL, make no mistake - no table,no dresser,no closet. Know this before you reserve a room. But when I travel I spend very little time in my room. I'm out sight-seeing, walking, shopping, museums, restaurants, etc. And for the price, I can keep my belongings in my suitcase. The hotel is on 4th St.-literally around the corner from the Westfield mall on Market St. and 2 blocks from Union square. Restaurants and shopping galore. The F-line bus(?) goes from Market St. all the way to Fisherman's Wharf for 2 bucks a trip per person. This hotel is all about location! One last detail - The second day there it was raining and they were loaning unbrellas to people. Do other hotels do that? The next visit I will stay at the Mosser again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking the F-line to Fisherman's Wharf is only 2 dollars. The wharf is loathed by most residents as a big ugly tourist trap (which it is) but go once and enjoy the place for a few hours. The views can't be beat!

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ESt
Business
New York
Mar 30, 2010

Cozy retreat in Downtown SF on the Cheap

This hotel has a lot of character for little cost. If you go with the mindset that you are looking for a very small room for very cheap then you will be thrilled. If you are expecting anything else you will be dissapointed. Friendly staff, clean small rooms, free muffins and coffee in the AM. Great bang for your buck in ideal location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sophia Zhou
Friends
Santa Cruz, CA
Dec 3, 2009

nice place to live

It is a wonderful location in the very heart of San Francisco, right next to the westfield shopping center and 5-minute blocks away from union square!And all the best museums in the city are right next to your street, what else can you expect in regards to a location? And it's not really noisy at night! I lived in the supereme room which has a private bathroom, it's clean and tidy and smells...i would like to say...quite normal but one disadvantage is that it's so tiny! Everything is intensely packed up in this little space, anyway, it's really worth the price and should be a right choice for those who are on budget! The hotel staff is nice and helpful, but the breakfast sucks...anyway i didn't really expect to have breakfast there. I would recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield shopping center, Union square, Grant Street

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted hotel guest
Business
New York, NY
Nov 21, 2009

On par with a run down homeless shelter

Check-in: upon informing the desk clerk that the hotel's valet parking lane was blocked by two large utility trucks -- making it impossible for guests to stop their cars and have them attended to – he looked out the window and said, "Is that your car there? You can't double park. You need to move it." He offered no alternatives or assistance, completely unconcerned about the disruption of hotel service and the total inconvenience to arriving guests. The room was an ugly little box with a bed in the middle, with a bathroom outside in the hallway. The bed had stained covers. The TV was a pathetic little 13" unit bolted to the foot of the bed. Internet service was broken. No other amenities, unless you consider a ceiling fan a hotel luxury. This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had, with its incompetent staff and shabby accommodations. I've stayed in overnite youth hostels in Europe that had better service and nicer amenities than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spirit101
Single
Seattle-Tacoma, Washington
Nov 2, 2009

Mosser Hotel

The Mosser Hotel is an older building located in the heart of the city. The building and rooms were clean and well maintained. The desk clerk, I dealt with was not helpful or friendly. I will not stay at this Hotel on my future visits to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are visiting San Francisco for the first time, I would suggest taking a tour. I took the San Francisco Comprehensive Shuttle Tour. They charge $65.oo per person for a 5 hour tour. It's a great way to see and learn about the city!

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noir fan
Single
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 9, 2009

Great hotel, retro vibe, classic style

Great old hotel, with a film noir feel to it. Though the rooms are very small (I had a single, and the toilet and shower were down the hall!), it had character to spare. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the location was superior!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rogeru63
Friends
Pomona CA
Oct 5, 2009

GREAT Location! Comfortable Bed!

This hotel is right on market street which is right in the middle of everything! A fifteen minute walk gets you to the civic center and a three minute walk gets you to the BART which can take you pretty much anywhere in the city. Its about 20-25 minutes from the airport on the BART which isn't bad either. The room I had (for two people) was VERY small, but the bed is comfortable and I thought a small room was a small price to pay for such a great location. The staff was also very helpful I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ireland
Sep 19, 2009

Very clean & pretty

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid Sept 09. The room was 70 dollars p/night & looked lovely in the pics on the site. Staff were very friendly & the hotel was lovely looking & spotless. We got to our room & it was tiny. Gutted! It looked great, decor etc exactly like the pics but it was so small & no air con. There was a fan which we had on constantly but we had to keep the window open too which meant inner city noise. Still, it was bang in the middle of san fran, valet parking for 29 dollars p/24 hrs which was very reasonable as parking in city center is a nightmare & expensive. Rooms were cleaned every day, even when we didnt leave the room until lunch time one day (hangover after badbrains gig at slims) it still got cleaned. Elevator was sloooow. Once you were in it it was fine but it took ages to get to you. We opted for shared bathroom as we were on a budget & they were spotless too, never once say a drop of water anywhere or even a hair! Never had to wait too as there was 2 bathrooms on each floor. Overall, this was the cleanest & prettiest hotel we stayed in on or 3 week road trip of CA & the staff were super nice & very helpful (they even printed our boarding passes for our flight home). Only draw back was the room size but you get what you pay for :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilikal
Business
BC
Aug 4, 2009

Great stay!

3 short blocks from my conference, loads of shopping and restaurants, very comfortable, really enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JMTAUR22
Couples
SAN FRANCISCO
Jun 27, 2009

the locations shocked me

the rooms were too small and the locations was not what i expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top