Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 27, 2016

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
20 reviews
relaxation

Everything was awesome except for the small and very crowded elevators. other than that fantastic... See full review

  • jose G.
  • Dec 1, 2015
top notch

the hotel is wonderful...the staff were more than accomodating..we were upgraded to a King Grand on... See full review

  • Billy Dean
  • Sep 11, 2013
Recently renovated Union Square hotel the Sir Francis Drake Hotel is just steps from the Moscone Convention Center the Financial District Nob Hill Chinatown SOMA and the Theatre District. The Beefeater doorman exquisite service and inviting style all create a unique hotel presence on vibrant Union Square San Francisco.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 20
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jose G.
Couples
N/A
Dec 1, 2015

relaxation

Everything was awesome except for the small and very crowded elevators. other than that fantastic experience !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tintinyu
Couples
Nashville TN
May 5, 2014

The bathroom is too tiny

The bathroom is too tiny, other than that. Everything else is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIrst time vistor
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Visited during the Holidays and the decorations definitely made it feel festive. Only complaint is the rooms are very small and the AC must not have been working properly because both nights we woke up in the middle of the night sweating. Despite lowering the AC to the lowest level, it was still uncomfortably hot. Otherwise, the location is amazing- just a block away from Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy K
Couples
San Diego, CA
Aug 19, 2013

Wonderful Wedding

Everything was wonderful! "The Drake" was wedding central and it carried it off beautifully. Easy walking distance to many SF attractions, with cable car loading right outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the restaurant just across the street, Sears. It is rightly famous for its delicious breakfasts.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad Gustavo
Couples
San Diego
May 27, 2013

Great location

Excellent location for business travel, sport events or for just exploring San Francisco. Rooms somewhat small and can easily hear noise from adjacent visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to China Town, Union square and shopping facilities

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of outcasts
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jan 20, 2010

San Francisco Roadtrip

The hotel was conveniently located in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and the rooms were a decent size for being in the middle of a huge city. The decor was a LITTLE bit off, but overall it was super comfy and familiar. The only thing I would complain about is that from the outside it looks like it would be very different inside, but once you walk in, it's like any other hotel. Tons of tourists, not very unique. I would definitely recommend it to my parents, but not to my best friend. We were looking for something drastically unique and didn't find that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner! We spent most of our time doing this since there were shopping stores EVERYWHERE.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
denver,colorado
Oct 12, 2009

sweet hotel....good view...room clean..

we loved room were on our honeymoon..2 fifty year-olds having a great time ..some chipped paint in tub..towel rack broke i fixed it ..but i weigh 275...might of pulled to hard...(hahahah)..we liked foom and would reccommend it...[...] at front desk is awesome!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

golden gate bridge/golden gate park

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 15, 2007

Small rooms

The property was well maintained and the staff efficient. The starlite room bar at the top was a plus - great city view at night. It was convenient to catch the trolly right outside the front door for a ride to the wharf. The shopping area 2 blocks east was cool. Liked the location. My only complaints - we found the room a bit cramped, probably typical because of it's age. And the health fitness room was closed and there was no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top