Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
154 reviews
Ver nice getway

If you are looking for character in a hotel and location, this is the place. Within walking... See full review

  • Passing By...
  • Sep 29, 2014
Wonderful Hotel & Staff

If you want to experience San Francisco at it's finest, you could not do any better than the Sire... See full review

  • DRSe
  • Sep 20, 2014
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 154
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Passing By...
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2014

Ver nice getway

If you are looking for character in a hotel and location, this is the place. Within walking distance to anything you would like to do in the city. The room are not that big, but then again the point is being out in the city. I will deffinetly will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tintinyu
Business
Nashville TN
May 5, 2014

The bathroom is too tiny

The bathroom is too tiny, other than that. Everything else is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trfish
Business
Magnolia Springs, Al.
Apr 22, 2014

Week in San Fran

The Drake is a beautiful place with very polite and helpful staff. However, the noise was awful. We were on the third floor and the street noise kept us up all night long. The cable cars along with vehicles and people noises sounded like they were only three feet away. I believe the windows to be the original thin pane glass installed in 1928. We might as well have had them open. I would not recommend. I also wish we had known up front that we would be charged $62.00 per night for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIrst time vistor
Business
Portland, Oregon
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Visited during the Holidays and the decorations definitely made it feel festive. Only complaint is the rooms are very small and the AC must not have been working properly because both nights we woke up in the middle of the night sweating. Despite lowering the AC to the lowest level, it was still uncomfortably hot. Otherwise, the location is amazing- just a block away from Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skerlie B
Business
Long Beach, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2013

Bundle by Or bitz . Winning!

I was able to book a hotel/flight package at the SFD with one of my favorite airlines to fly, Virgin America. The cost made it worth it (as booking separately would increase the cost by $400). Once I got on property, the Sir Francis Drake was RIGHT up my alley. Restored Old School luxury, perfect proximity to Union Square, easily accessible by BART (normally, anyhow....just not THIS weekend , as there was a BART strike. But the location is perfect for the Powell station), and the bartender makes an EXQUISITE bourbon sidecar (without even asking me "what is that made with?!?!)- WINNING. Would totally stay here again. In fact, I'm looking forward to it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Jasper's Corner Tap.....it's an excellent Gastropub, and it's very close by!

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deaf Guests
Business
Chantilly, Virginia
Oct 5, 2013

Go Back Into Time at Sir Francis Drake

I felt like I was living in Boardwalk Empire while staying at Sir Francis Drake. I can see that it was a fine, luxurious place when it was first built. Compared to today's more modern hotels, everything seemed scaled down there. The toilet was extremely small and in order to sit on it properly to do my business, I had to scoot down. Both beds jutted out into the walking space. Service was good and the cleaning crew did a good job as well. The hotel is beautiful in a "time gone by" sort of way. We'd probably not stay there again, moving on to something a little more modern. The location was great - the cable cars run on Powell Street and Union Square and the shopping district was all a stone's throw from the hotel. This hotel reminds me of the New Yorker in New York City and the hotel in Carew Tower in Cincinnati, Ohio. All were built in the 20's and 30's and have that Art Deco style to them. There's nothing wrong with that and you can take in their grandeur and beauty. But just don't expect spacious and more modern fixtures and accommodations like you'd find at a Hilton or a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 22, 2013

Wonderful Service, Beautiful Room

The Sir Francis Drake hotel exceeded my expectations. I would like to commend the front desk staff. When I checked in the woman at the front desk noticed I was local. I told her I had booked the room as a surprise anniversary gift and she outdid herself upgrading my room so that we had the best experience possible. She upgrades us to a huge suite that was absolutely gorgeous and opulent. Another nice touch was the free wine happy hour, where again the staff were incredibly nice and welcoming. The location is right downtown on Union Square. You could hear the cable car running outside, which I thought was charming. Bottom line, I had an outstanding experience at the Sir Francis Drake hotel and could not have been happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sailor Don
Business
Seattle, Washington
Sep 9, 2013

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

The staff was very friendly, the room was comfortable, and the location was fantastic. All in all a great weekend getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redd and mandy
Business
morenci, arizona
Sep 5, 2013

great place in the heart

The staff was very friendly, there was a wine hour which was amazing and right next to starbucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy K
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 19, 2013

Wonderful Wedding

Everything was wonderful! "The Drake" was wedding central and it carried it off beautifully. Easy walking distance to many SF attractions, with cable car loading right outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the restaurant just across the street, Sears. It is rightly famous for its delicious breakfasts.

Back to menu Return to top