Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 27, 2016

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
20 reviews
relaxation

Everything was awesome except for the small and very crowded elevators. other than that fantastic... See full review

  • jose G.
  • Dec 1, 2015
top notch

the hotel is wonderful...the staff were more than accomodating..we were upgraded to a King Grand on... See full review

  • Billy Dean
  • Sep 11, 2013
Recently renovated Union Square hotel the Sir Francis Drake Hotel is just steps from the Moscone Convention Center the Financial District Nob Hill Chinatown SOMA and the Theatre District. The Beefeater doorman exquisite service and inviting style all create a unique hotel presence on vibrant Union Square San Francisco.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jose G.
Couples
N/A
Dec 1, 2015

relaxation

Everything was awesome except for the small and very crowded elevators. other than that fantastic experience !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tintinyu
Couples
Nashville TN
May 5, 2014

The bathroom is too tiny

The bathroom is too tiny, other than that. Everything else is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryW
Family
St Albert Alberta , Canada
Mar 24, 2014

Great Location, Great Hotel , Great Staff

We were greeted warmly and treated well by all staff . Great Location and a Grande Ole Hotel , wonderfully restored and well run . We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tadich Grill on California Avenue, a great SF eating experience continuously operated since 1848

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIrst time vistor
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Visited during the Holidays and the decorations definitely made it feel festive. Only complaint is the rooms are very small and the AC must not have been working properly because both nights we woke up in the middle of the night sweating. Despite lowering the AC to the lowest level, it was still uncomfortably hot. Otherwise, the location is amazing- just a block away from Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billy Dean
Rydal Georgia
Sep 11, 2013

top notch

the hotel is wonderful...the staff were more than accomodating..we were upgraded to a King Grand on the 9th floor with views in two directions...high quality furnishings in the room....I did not want to leave...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: In Hotel

way over priced....

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy K
Couples
San Diego, CA
Aug 19, 2013

Wonderful Wedding

Everything was wonderful! "The Drake" was wedding central and it carried it off beautifully. Easy walking distance to many SF attractions, with cable car loading right outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the restaurant just across the street, Sears. It is rightly famous for its delicious breakfasts.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleased First Timer
Friends
Memphis, TN
Aug 10, 2013

Pleased First Timer

I have just returned from my trip to San Francisco. I had a bit of hesitancy about staying at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel because I thought it might be a bit quirky. I was quickly proven wrong. It is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small (bathroom super small) but I didn't have a problem with that since my stay in the room was only for sleeping. The staff was excellent and didn't hesitate in helping me take care of a business transaction that arose while there. As with any hotel, things happen but the staff was courteous and quickly made everything perfect - even though it was after mid-night when we arrived. Speaking of late night, it does not do the hotel justice. We arrived thinking that it was in a somewhat unsafe location because nothing was stirring but a few people who appeared to be intoxicated and there wasn't the kind of street lighting that we expected BUT when morning came, the entire street came to life and was filled with the hustle and bustle that I expected. The hotel is conveniently located for shopping, tour transportation and whatever you need. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad Gustavo
Couples
San Diego
May 27, 2013

Great location

Excellent location for business travel, sport events or for just exploring San Francisco. Rooms somewhat small and can easily hear noise from adjacent visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to China Town, Union square and shopping facilities

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LadyRay
Family
Boston, MA
Apr 16, 2013

We LOVED THIS HOTEL!

My husband, mother and I stayed at Sir Francis Drake for just one night and absolutely loved it. they bar is so quaint and awesome... the staff was very friendly, the fitness room was great, and we wanted to stay even longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

About 1 mile away (you have to walk uphill for part of it) is Cafe Jacqueline. It's an amazing souffle place! A bit expensive but totally worth it.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling PT
Family
Florida
Nov 25, 2012

Great girl's stay

Comfortable rooms, great service,awesome location,definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the great transit system

Back to menu Return to top