Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
150 reviews
Relaxing near Union Square great location

Welcome from the moment I entered the hotel. Front desk staff cheerful. Housekeeping was superb,... See full review

  • Jim of Ethiopia
  • Aug 8, 2014
The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger... See full review

  • BrowneyesMan
  • Jun 21, 2014
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim of Ethiopia
Alexandria, VA
Aug 8, 2014

Relaxing near Union Square great location

Welcome from the moment I entered the hotel. Front desk staff cheerful. Housekeeping was superb, and I left a modest tip; she left me a handwritten note thanking me. This classic hotel is steps from so many things to do in San Francisco. The daily one hour wine hour included off the lobby makes it perfect and a great place to make new friends. My meeting was at the Hyatt, but this one block away location was perfect. The elevators are older, but ran pretty well. Room service was also honest on timing and very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls a buffet and two bars, piano bar nightly. Basic simple entrees under $15, in San Francisco a bargain.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelor5452
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 26, 2014

Great

Great Stay, Bathroom was very small but no problem and not unexpected given age for hotel.Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prospect. Great place for lunch!

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Businesswoman and Mom
Business
San Francisco
Jun 26, 2014

Amazing staff

I was in San Francisco for a conference and the staff were gracious and helpful at every turn. The hotel has computer safes, a clean gym, and is very quiet...The perfect place for a business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is best at Union Square for every budget

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrowneyesMan
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2014

The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger room. The staff was super friendly and happy to see us. The concierges gave us many options to explore the city. We booked several tourist destinations with them. Fast and convenient service. The Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Luxury without being over the top. The Bar is a welcoming feature entering the Hotel, you must stop and have a drink there. the bartenders are the nicest! The restaurant is pricy - but so worth it. The waiters were so knowledgeable and friendly, making our Dinner experience extra special. The Starlight Room on the top floor is a MUST SEE! We had my Birthday up there and it was awesome. Delicious appetizers and drinks serviced by the most friendliest and (most beautiful) waiter/staff in the city. The location is simply perfect. Everything you need and want to do is right there. Around the corner , up the street or right in front of your nose. We loved it there and we love the Sir Francis Drake Hotel. We will absolutely return to this great San Francisco Landmark, and to the most accommodating and courteous, professional, excellent service we've ever had. If you decide to visit them, you are in for a treat!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Starlight Room! - Go!

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tintinyu
Nashville TN
May 5, 2014

The bathroom is too tiny

The bathroom is too tiny, other than that. Everything else is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trfish
Magnolia Springs, Al.
Apr 22, 2014

Week in San Fran

The Drake is a beautiful place with very polite and helpful staff. However, the noise was awful. We were on the third floor and the street noise kept us up all night long. The cable cars along with vehicles and people noises sounded like they were only three feet away. I believe the windows to be the original thin pane glass installed in 1928. We might as well have had them open. I would not recommend. I also wish we had known up front that we would be charged $62.00 per night for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryW
St Albert Alberta , Canada
Mar 24, 2014

Great Location, Great Hotel , Great Staff

We were greeted warmly and treated well by all staff . Great Location and a Grande Ole Hotel , wonderfully restored and well run . We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tadich Grill on California Avenue, a great SF eating experience continuously operated since 1848

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria Kinghorn
Salt Lake City
Dec 29, 2013

A decent place to stay

Our main complaint is that the room felt extremely small. The bathroom was especially difficult to move around in for putting on makeup, etc. I booked a massage that was disappointing, not the therapist but the hotel seemed overwhelmed with 2 clients at the same time; no room for the massage table in the room and no table available at the correct time. It had to be borrowed from another hotel. It took about half an hour to find a room suitable to set up the table, etc., meanwhile I wandered around the hotel in my pajamas and spa robe. I would have chose not to do that. The concierge service was excellent as was the maid service. I did order an additional blanket when I first got in on Saturday night which never came. I called two days later to request it again. It came quickly this time. The massage therapist was excellent but the whole experience was too costly considering the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toochie
San Jose, California
Dec 8, 2013

Great location, but unexpected surprises

When arriving at the hotel, I was not only greeted with a $57 valet parking fee, but also a grinch of a host! I was also surprised to find a "closet" sized room and a tinge of unpleasant odor. The Starlight Lounge offered the best view, but the weakest cocktail. To be honest, I couldn't wait to go to check out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIrst time vistor
Portland, Oregon
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Visited during the Holidays and the decorations definitely made it feel festive. Only complaint is the rooms are very small and the AC must not have been working properly because both nights we woke up in the middle of the night sweating. Despite lowering the AC to the lowest level, it was still uncomfortably hot. Otherwise, the location is amazing- just a block away from Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top