Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Rodeway Inn Downtown

1 star
101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
27 reviews
Nice Motel

When checking into the motel, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a lot bigger than I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 9, 2010
Nice Motel

When checking into the motel, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a lot bigger than I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 9, 2010
Rodeway Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco with on-site parking available for 12.00 USD plus tax per night. Walking distance to Moscone Center and Bill Graham Civic Auditorium. Close to popular attractions, including 3M Park, the Cable Cars, the Museum of Modern Art, Ghiradelli square, Chinatown, Union Square, Furniture Mart, Market st, Golden Gate bridge and Fisherman's Warf. There are a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges in the area. Guests of this San Francisco hotel will enjoy many amenities, including free wireless high speed Internet in all rooms. Parking fee: 13.15 USD plus tax per night.As of February 1, 2014, we will be a Smoke-Free hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7762 -122.4143
Nearby airports
SAN FRANCISCO INT'L AIRPORT, (SFO), 12.00, MI, S; OAKLAND INT'L AIRPORT, (OAK), 18.00, MI, SE; SAN JOSE INT'L AIRPORT, (SJC), 40.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Cable Cars 5blks

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
david2kawika
seattle, wa
Apr 25, 2013

noisy smoke

the inn is not smoke free, i got a smoking room(not requested) had to spray colonge on pillow first nite, requested all bedding including pillows be changed. they were for what it is worth. location very noisy. most nearby eateries close by 8 pm. front desk and it was just that a front desk/counter was friendly though the poor guy was the only person in the 5 days i was there. will not be using this property again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wagato
Chicago,USA
May 19, 2013

Very bad. Avoid this at all cost.

This is probably the worst hotel in all of San Francisco. Most disrespectful staff I have come across. Rooms very very dirty with flies and rotten food inside. The next day some one had vomited all over the hallway. Lots of homeless people, drug addicted and other weird characters around the hotel. Not very safe at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy CA travel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 29, 2012

needs improvement

The location was convenient to where I needed to go, however, the towels were dirty (eg big black stains and things stuck on the towels), the room reaked of smoke and they had no non-smoking option, the bottom of the bathtub was pitch black filthy. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful but the condition of the place and the overall filthiness is unfortunate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
f0777
las vegas, nevada
Jun 3, 2012

good enough, but sketchy.

the neighborhood was sketchy. It smelled like urine while walking along the sidewalks. There were homeless people everywhere and there were some that were very animated. The location is close to the muni and bart and to lots of resturaunts. It was hard for my gf to sleep because of the constant noise of people yelling, cars, motorcycles, and buses or other commercial cars. I on the other hand can sleep through anything so I had little problem. The room was clean but a bit crowded. literally a foot and a half (maybe less) of space between the foot of the bed and the dresser in front of it. I put the do not disturb sign up, but was still disturbed. The location being next to public transportation and the cleanliness of the room made it good enough to sleep in, but the neighborhood made it sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wellwisher
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

comments

It was not worthstaying for the price we paid for the room and comfort level we got. . No good breakfast avilable, not even tea/coffee facilities, elevaotr was too small and no luggage trolly avilable. Area was very bad, and not good location. Needs to improve a lot. We were not that much satisfied as it did not meet our expextation for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glitter Dolls
East Bay
Mar 4, 2013

It's not to bad

Booked the room to go to a concert , it's walking distance. Streets near there do smell , welcome to San Fran. Old School smoking room made me happy for my psychedelic adventures. Guy who works the desk is awesome, super friendly, and made the entire experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Schepardini
CT
Oct 22, 2012

Good for in and out and nothing else

I recently went here with a friend because we were in town to see a 49ers game over the weekend and it was the cheapest hotel we could find that was near a bus stop to the stadium. If your trip fits these or similar requirements then this is a good place to book. If not, then stay FAR away. The location is horrible. I saw more homeless people and degenerates in my 48 hours here than I've seen in my whole life in one location. Also, I hope you like Chinese food because that's basically the extent to what is around to eat, with the exception of one decent mexican place. There is a liquor store right across from the hotel, which is a nice perk (and given how awful the Niners did at the game it was a necessity.) If you're a light sleeper you better bring some earplugs because it's right on the road and cars and people arguing will fill your night. The hotel room was nothing special either. I would give it a completely passing grade if not for the cigarette butt I saw caked into the floor. Other than that it was fine. Bottom line is that this is a bottom market lodging. This is the type of place you go to when you're in on business or just need a place to stay at night, as prices in San Francisco are high to put it lightly. This is DEFINITELY NOT a place to bring a family. For my friend and I it served our needs: A cheap place to sleep. If that's what you need, I can safely recommend it. If you want a place that shows off what San Francisco has to offer or is good for the kids, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampatrekker
Tampa, FL, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Good Value for the money

The Rodeway Inn is not trying to be a pretencious experience. The location is South of Market so very walkable to BART, Muni and F Tram to take you to many sites. The room was basic but clean and had a microwave, coffee maker and small fridge ( all new ). The heat/AC were fine as were water temps. The money saved helps pay for all your tourist attracttions. The hotel area is not scenic and there are homeless but security is good. The hotel staff was very accomodating and very nice. They had no problems with me leaving my car for some hours after checkout. The interstate entrance is a minute from the hotel. This is more of a hotel for adventurous singles or Adult couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Up a couple blocks, then turn right on Market, down several blocks is Grant Avenue, turn left to the entrance Gate to the best shops and restaurants in Chinatown. Excellant deals and a fun combo of High end and bargain shops.

Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 10, 2010

Rodewayy

Well it was easy to find and in a good location, everything was fairly close plus found some new spots. But it was kinda noisy, being in downtown and just the people wandering in and out of theyre rooms even in the middle of the night. But the room was clean and the people were friendly. The area wasnt bad at all. Had a good visit overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The houses that were shot for the 80's tv show "Full House" arent too far away, theyre in Alamo Square a few blocks away. That was awesome, i cant believe i bumped into that driving back to the room.....

Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
tahoe
Dec 6, 2010

Very nice will do again

Wi Fi did not work very well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top