Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Queen Anne Hotel

3 stars
1590 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
charmed in antiques

We enjoyed the home like atmosphere. After a long day touring the city the relaxing feeling in the... See full review

  • sir william 24
  • Apr 27, 2014
sf 2014

this was our 4th time staying at the queen anne hotel. we enjoy the varieties of rooms, the... See full review

  • nanahoney
  • Jan 18, 2014
Enjoy a regal stay in a beckoning and inviting hotel

The masterfully architected Queen Anne Hotel is a landmark of the San Francisco area that promises a quiet and relaxed pace in a historic structure, occupying a building that was once an 1890s boarding school for girls. The architectural wonder is now a transformed hotel dedicated to authentic service and elegant charm. Featuring a knowledgeable and hospitable concierge and complimentary limousine service for guests, the inviting Queen Anne Hotel makes it easy for travelers to explore every crevice of San Francisco.

3 Reasons To Stay :
  • Charming hotel in a historic building
  • Complimentary limousine shuttle for guests
  • Situated in busy sector of the Pacific Heights district
Queen Anne Hotel Rooms

The Queen Anne Hotel retains much of its turn-of-the-century elegance, evident through the exquisite Victorian style furnishings and large ample rooms. Select rooms enjoy romantic wood stove fireplaces, a nice touch for visits during chillier months. Large windows add airiness and light to rooms. All 48 guest rooms feature beautiful Victorian heirlooms, combined with modern phones, fax services and high-speed Internet, for those who need contemporary capabilities. There is also house cleaner and laundry services for those who need them.

Things To Do:
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Japantown (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fillmore Auditorium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Cultural District (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Western Addition (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Queen Anne Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe King with Fireplace King Bed Fireplace Cable TV Internet Refrigerator DVD player IPod docking station with stereo Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day
Suite
Executive Suite Queen Bed Cable TV 1 Bath Sofa bed Sitting Area Internet Coffee Maker Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Suite
Garden King Suite with Fireplace - King Bed Two Fireplaces Bath Cable TV Internet DVD player Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Suite
King Jacuzzi Suite Internet TV Refrigerator DVD Player IPod docking station with Stereo Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Free Expanded Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Suite
Royal Family Suite Two Bedroom Suite With Two Queen Beds. Plus A Sofa. Two Baths. LCD TVsDVD Player. An Upstairs Living Room with entertaining Area and Refrigerator. Coffee Maker. Continental Breakfast.
Superior
Superior Two Queens 2 Queen Beds Sitting Nook Cable TV Card Table Refrigerator HighSpeed Wireless Internet DVD player Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Superior
Superior King Suite King Sleigh Bed Cable TV High Speed Wireless Internet Refrigerator DVD player Coffee Maker Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Deluxe
Deluxe King King Bed Cable TV Wireless Internet Refrigerator DVD player Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
RunOfHouse
2Bedroom 2Bathroom Oceanfront Villa With a fully equipped gourmet kitchen Internet Cable TV Fully equipped laundry room Fullystocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist Soames toiletries Central AC Spacious private lanai
Standard
Victorian 2 Queens Cable TV Refrigerator Internet Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Standard
Romantic Fireplace Canopy King Bed Cable TV DVD player Internet Coffee Maker Bathroom with Hair Dryer and Luxury Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Standard
Victorian 2 Queens Cable TV Refrigerator Internet Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Victorian Queen Queen bed Cable TV Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges
Standard
Victorian Queen Fireplace Queen Bed TV Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Continental Breakfast Parking is available at a cost of 16 per day and includes in and out privileges

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Anne Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7872 -122.4265
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI, N; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 25.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

BENIHANA
JAPANESE STEAK HOUSE CASUAL TO FORMAL 4 BLOCKS FROM PROPERTY
VILLAGE PIZZERIA
PIZZA PASTA SALADS AND SANDWHICHES

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Anne Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCTEJAS
Temecula, CA
May 5, 2012

Queen Anne Mar 2012

Nice hotel, staff was helpful, good value, decent resturants within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cali friendly
Maryland, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Soft beds; poorly maintained

Hotel is not being maintained. Shower was weak and had a very difficult time getting the shower water temp adjusted. Obvious lack of craftsmanship in repairs and painting; too bad since it's a nice old building with ornate interior in a good location. Breakfast was done on the cheap. They cut the muffins in six pieces and put out a few bananas at a time. Plus side: Flat screen tv and free wifi. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the California line cable cars; avoid Powell Street or Fisherman's Wharf stations as starting points. Hotel is a short walk to the start of the California line. Also within short walk to Fillmore district; Japantown; City Hall and a short ride to everything else.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JVW
Citrus Heights, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Warning, Watch Your Credit Card Statemen

We booked this hotel at the last minute, not knowing that the San Francisco Marathon was happening this weekend. Rooms were at a premium. The room was advertised at $255, pretty pricey for an aging hotel with no services, but we took it out of "desperation?" Hey, we just got married a month ago, and this was our first chance to get away for a weekend. I emailed the hotel about this................. Most hotels, cruise lines, etc. enjoy welcoming newlyweds, or anniversaries. OH, don't bother, they don't read their email. It's also difficult to get them to answer their phone. It's a small hotel, so it's rather mysterious why they are not at the desk more often. First, we will warn you, check your statement carefully! The manager charged my credit card $325. When questioned, she became defensive and snapped, "well, there IS tax, and we always add "a little more."" When questioned further about the "little more, " she failed to respond, but seemed annoyed, changed the total to $293, and stated that this reflected the room rate, plus tax, $38 ??????? I'm checking today on San Francisco tax, because in my own county, tax on $255 would be under $20. Was she STILL padding my bill??????? She also condescended, "well, you won't be able to make phone calls." Perhaps that $33 that was "a little more" was for phone calls? Oh, ya, ok. I assured her that we had cell phones and had no intention of making calls anyway. This resulted in no more than a dirty look. Secondly, the bathroom ceiling is a breeding ground for mold. I took photos of this, and the shower area was full of dusky colored mold in the crevices of the walls and ceiling. I awoke with a sore throat in the morning..... first sign of MOLD allergy. Since the mold is quite noticeable, can we assume that housekeeping is simply not dealing with it? Or is management aware and simply not dealing with it because after all, this is the City, and you're just lucky to get a room in this very old, very tired building? The hotel offers tiny inroom coffeemakers, and "generously" provides ONE packet of coffee. When my husband went to the desk to ask for an additional packet late in the afternoon, he was informed in no uncertain terms that the Queen Anne does NOT provide "room service." There was NO wiggle room, we were NOT getting another packet of coffee. My husband was told that coffee would be served in the morning as part of the "continental breakfast." Let's talk about the continental breakfast..... Costco Wholesale or Sams' Club at it's boring best. Bagels and imitation cream cheese spread, watered down juices, sweet rolls cut in quarters, and YES, coffee. Well, I think it was coffee! Because of my audacity at questioning how the manager trumped up my room rate, we were treated quite flippantly during our blessedly short stay in this aging relic. Folks, for $300, you can stay in a wonderful hotel and get excellent service. Abuse, you can get free anywehre you go, don't pay for it. This place is a big NO for San Francisco. Oh, and don't be fooled by the "consierge" service. When we asked the haughty manager for dining suggestions, she recommended we walk several blocks and we would "find" an assortment of establlishments. Gee, that was helpful! Steer clear of this place. Mangement is sketchy, rude and let's face it, quite dubious in the honesty department. Like I said, "Watch your Credit Card." Better yet, stay somewhere else. It's only merit is that it has ecellent proximity to Muni stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tallahassee, FL
Jul 22, 2011

Queen Anne Hotel in San Francisco

This is my second time at the Queen Anne in San Francisco. As usual, the service was outstanding from the person at the front desk, management, and the other staff. It is very convenient to anything you might want to do in the city. There is parking available at the hotel (with an extra charge, but not too high compared to all other parking in the area). The hotel is decorated in antiques for the most part, and victorian style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You are less than ten minutes to Pier 39 where you can dine at several restaurants and shop. This is also where a whale watching tour departs from, as well as a tour to Alcatrez.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nor3805
Forest Hills NY
May 13, 2011

worth it!

We arrived from NYC during spring break and was not disappointed. The Queen Anne takes you back to its origin to 1890 with its Victorian architecture and lovely antiques. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were cozy and it is walking distance from Union Square and public transportation. I recommend purchasing the Citypass online before your trip, especially if your new to the city. You'll save almost 50% off 5 of San Francisco's most famous attractions. In addition we also took unlimited rides on the muni and cable cars with our Citypass which made our trip easy and enjoyable. I would definitely return to The Queen Anne B & B on my next trip! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nor3805
Forest Hills NY
Apr 25, 2011

worth it!

We arrived from NYC during spring break and was not disappointed. The Queen Anne takes you back to its origin to 1890 with its Victorian architecture and lovely antiques. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were cozy and it is walking distance from Union Square and public transportation. I recommend purchasing the Citypass online before your trip, especially if your new to the city. You'll save almost 50% off 5 of San Francisco's most famous attractions. In addition we also took unlimited rides on the muni and cable cars with our Citypass which made our trip easy and enjoyable. I would definitely return to The Queen Anne B & B on my next trip! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M & I
Sydney Australia
Jul 24, 2010

San Francisco

Such a lovely period hotel, conveniently located in Pacific Hts, the staff went out of their way to assist in every manner. The highlight of our 3 week US trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to a variety of different restaurants and clubs. Which the concierge was able to effortlessly advise of.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
once is enough
Seattle Washigton
May 31, 2010

Andre Rieu would love it here

quite something to behold but thank goodness the windows open--OVERWHELMING , STIFLING use of pot-pourri !! Decor is incredible but at the same time almost claustrophobic. Felt rather like an English parlor catering to proper old ladies sipping tea or nodding off. Also quite a walk to entertainment, shopping,restaurants. On our first night I was up til well past midnight due to a loud "hum" which turned out to be the malfuctioning mini fridge in our room. The woman at the front desk was very sympathetic & understanding and from her attitude I assumed it would be fixed the next day but disappointingly it was non functioning for the duration of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Public transportation is good but this is not a good choice if you like an easy stroll to a local cafe or shops and such.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
craiglinda
BUFFALO,NY
May 13, 2010

FEELS LIKE YOU'RE IN 1890'S

friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant neighborhood; cozy and clean room. Not luxury, but nice old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

free morning ride to any city area. Sign up nite before.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sisters visit
vashon wa
Apr 13, 2010

queen anne luxury

comfortable open to guest from the city, staff extremely friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top