Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Queen Anne Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1590 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Anne Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElaineA
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Dec 29, 2013

Charming gem

What a delightful place! Beautifully decorated, large rooms and pleasant helpful staff. The continental breakfast was better than expected. In addition to the usual breads they had sausage, hard boiled eggs, fruit and make your own waffles. The main level features multiple small alcoves where you can relax and sip the always available coffee or tea. They even had two fireplaces lit. Only negative is that the beds were a bit hard but compared to everything else this was minor. Will definitely stay there the next time I visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roytomi
Business
Singapore
Sep 14, 2013

Beautiful Building and Interior

Staying at the Queen Anne was a wonderful experience! The staff are excellent. Walking the corridors and sitting by the fireplace in the first floor living rooms are very relaxing. Love the home-baked cookies and coffee at 5pm. I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David of Hawaii
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 10, 2013

A neat getaway

This place is sooo neat, A Victorian Style Hotel located in a quiet neighborhood, and is walking distance from everything. Japan Town is only two blocks away. Walk down to Filmore and all the neat eating and dinning places are there. Walk the other way is Vannes and Polk street where all the diverse cultural restaurants. Just walk down to Vannes and California and catch the cable car all the way down to Market Street, and from their catch the F line to Fishermans Warf. Bus stops right in front of the Hotel. The Staff is very nice. I will be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Filmore and their is lots of eating places in the evening.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xmcc
Business
Boston, ma
Apr 9, 2013

Great stay

Atmosphere right place n a very good area of San Fran. Close to everything you need for a fun stay. I thought it was a bit pricy, but so is everything in SF. Rooms are clean and staff is considerate and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melinda A.
Business
Carmel, Ca.
Jan 12, 2013

Lovely vintage Victorian on quiet street

We love this hotel. When construction noise was audible on one side of the building, we were moved to the other side and given a free upgrade to a lovely room with a fireplace. Cookies, coffee, tea, and sherry offered in the lobby with two fireplaces going and lots of comfortable seating. Good breakfast included. The civic center (opera house and symphony hall) is an easy .9 mile wallk, which took us 20 minutes through safe streets. Very good hotel dining room at the end of the block at the Majestic Hotel. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great if attending the opera, symphony or ballet.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jul 27, 2012

Fantastic

Everyone was kind and very willing to answer any of our questions. Very clean and a great breakfast....we will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grover the farmer
Business
redondo beach, california
Jul 21, 2012

average place

For the money it was only average. Breakfast was mediocre, coffee was bad... Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCTEJAS
Business
Temecula, CA
May 5, 2012

Queen Anne Mar 2012

Nice hotel, staff was helpful, good value, decent resturants within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cali friendly
Business
Maryland, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Soft beds; poorly maintained

Hotel is not being maintained. Shower was weak and had a very difficult time getting the shower water temp adjusted. Obvious lack of craftsmanship in repairs and painting; too bad since it's a nice old building with ornate interior in a good location. Breakfast was done on the cheap. They cut the muffins in six pieces and put out a few bananas at a time. Plus side: Flat screen tv and free wifi. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the California line cable cars; avoid Powell Street or Fisherman's Wharf stations as starting points. Hotel is a short walk to the start of the California line. Also within short walk to Fillmore district; Japantown; City Hall and a short ride to everything else.

Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JVW
Business
Citrus Heights, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Warning, Watch Your Credit Card Statemen

We booked this hotel at the last minute, not knowing that the San Francisco Marathon was happening this weekend. Rooms were at a premium. The room was advertised at $255, pretty pricey for an aging hotel with no services, but we took it out of "desperation?" Hey, we just got married a month ago, and this was our first chance to get away for a weekend. I emailed the hotel about this................. Most hotels, cruise lines, etc. enjoy welcoming newlyweds, or anniversaries. OH, don't bother, they don't read their email. It's also difficult to get them to answer their phone. It's a small hotel, so it's rather mysterious why they are not at the desk more often. First, we will warn you, check your statement carefully! The manager charged my credit card $325. When questioned, she became defensive and snapped, "well, there IS tax, and we always add "a little more."" When questioned further about the "little more, " she failed to respond, but seemed annoyed, changed the total to $293, and stated that this reflected the room rate, plus tax, $38 ??????? I'm checking today on San Francisco tax, because in my own county, tax on $255 would be under $20. Was she STILL padding my bill??????? She also condescended, "well, you won't be able to make phone calls." Perhaps that $33 that was "a little more" was for phone calls? Oh, ya, ok. I assured her that we had cell phones and had no intention of making calls anyway. This resulted in no more than a dirty look. Secondly, the bathroom ceiling is a breeding ground for mold. I took photos of this, and the shower area was full of dusky colored mold in the crevices of the walls and ceiling. I awoke with a sore throat in the morning..... first sign of MOLD allergy. Since the mold is quite noticeable, can we assume that housekeeping is simply not dealing with it? Or is management aware and simply not dealing with it because after all, this is the City, and you're just lucky to get a room in this very old, very tired building? The hotel offers tiny inroom coffeemakers, and "generously" provides ONE packet of coffee. When my husband went to the desk to ask for an additional packet late in the afternoon, he was informed in no uncertain terms that the Queen Anne does NOT provide "room service." There was NO wiggle room, we were NOT getting another packet of coffee. My husband was told that coffee would be served in the morning as part of the "continental breakfast." Let's talk about the continental breakfast..... Costco Wholesale or Sams' Club at it's boring best. Bagels and imitation cream cheese spread, watered down juices, sweet rolls cut in quarters, and YES, coffee. Well, I think it was coffee! Because of my audacity at questioning how the manager trumped up my room rate, we were treated quite flippantly during our blessedly short stay in this aging relic. Folks, for $300, you can stay in a wonderful hotel and get excellent service. Abuse, you can get free anywehre you go, don't pay for it. This place is a big NO for San Francisco. Oh, and don't be fooled by the "consierge" service. When we asked the haughty manager for dining suggestions, she recommended we walk several blocks and we would "find" an assortment of establlishments. Gee, that was helpful! Steer clear of this place. Mangement is sketchy, rude and let's face it, quite dubious in the honesty department. Like I said, "Watch your Credit Card." Better yet, stay somewhere else. It's only merit is that it has ecellent proximity to Muni stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top