Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rossvelt3
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jul 24, 2014

Nobhill

Needs air conditioning and better elevater the staff is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WearyTraveler007
Business
New England
Jul 19, 2014

Who rated this highly?!

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in on a business trip, and that's saying a lot. Just one example: no AC, just an old filthy window fan and a window with no screen to use it in. The list goes on and on...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ladyT408
Business
san jose
Jul 7, 2014

Not what i expected!!!!!

The rooms didn't look nothing like the pictures that were posted. There was no AC you were actually given a fan . The employee in the front desk was really nice and helped us out but the hotel isn't all that as it said it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39 has an attraction called 7D Experience which was fun and recommend people to check it out!!

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chade
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2014

Some good and some bad

I booked a room at this hotel for three days after viewing the photographs of the rooms etc on line. It looked somewhat European and different, which I liked. On arriving at the hotel late at night my wife and I were given a room that was no bigger then a cupboard. Certainly not at all good accommodation for two people. The metal bed head and bottom board were broken the wash hand basin was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom, The room paintwork was chipped the bedside chair was broken and disgusting as no one would want to sit on it. We checked the bed linen as I was expecting the worse. As it was late we slept in the room, all night the hot water pipes rattled and kept us awake. In the morning I asked for a room change and got it. Thankfully the room was a whole lot better. I had to pay $30 a day to have the car parked on the last day, Saturday we had to wait over an hour to get the car returned to us. If this is a problem for the hotel as it obviously is, then don't offer the valet service? I would say to anyone booking this hotel before you pay for the hotel room if at all possible view the room first? If anyone had been given the room I had on check-in you would be definitely insulted. I would suggest to the hotel management to get a painter and decorator in as ]the rooms need a huge clean-up. As for the horrible small cupboard rooms...these are for brooms and mops only and should not be used for paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a nice restaurant that is in walking distance from the hotel is a basic must have, No one wants to sit and eat meals in the same hotel restaurant.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queen Bee2
Business
colorado
Jun 1, 2014

Neighborhoods matter

This hotel was fine, clean easy to get to But… it borders some not so nice neighborhoods in SF that you should be aware of - the tenderloin district. I can't believe with all the money in SF - they can't clean up both tenderloin and mission districts. Its appalling - quite honestly I don't see the appeal to SF - expensive, dirty and not very friendly.- Certainly this particular part was not the fault of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mansour sa
Business
Boise, Idaho
May 25, 2014

The hotel

The pictures in the photos section of the hotel is totally different

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill Papa
Business
san diego
May 22, 2014

Needs to be updated

Very small room bedding was not good. Location was the reason I booked this hotel would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the wrong side of the city

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GVB Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2014

Charming and Convenient

Centrally located, easy to get around from. The rooms are comfortable, clean. the hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is a typical San Francisco hotel, with charming decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marbearta
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2014

A good value

It's a good value for the money. We even found meter parking outside. You don't have to pay the meters after 6:00pm on a Saturday and until noon on Sunday. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no view though. It's an older hotel with "antique" like decorations so not everything feels brand new. There was a slight air-freshener smell that I didn't care for but a least everything seemed clean. At times we could hear the neighbors through the walls but it wasn't too bad. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs an inexpensive hotel in San Francisco in a decent neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at a great thai restaurant on Polk St. called Chai-Yo.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan frequent traveler
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 28, 2014

Great location

This hotel was clean, comfortable and historic. It was also small, which made it quiet. If you want to feel as if you are staying in a townhome in Nob Hill this is the place. It is also within walking distance (easy) to shopping at Union Square. Very charming. Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top