Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
sngltravlr
seattle
Jun 10, 2013

OK...satisfactory...adequate.

Pleasant staff...good location...simple but adequate. Clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
LongTimeTraveler7
Business
Southern Calfironia
Jun 8, 2013

Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, but Location Okay

I arrive and the first words I hear from the front desk female are these, we can valet park your vehicle for $32 per day, or you can drive two blocks, pay $25 per day with NO in and out service, it is $25 each time you self-park it. WOW, how about a Welcome, how was your trip here? The room was very small, right next to the neon sign that was outside my hotel room window. The bedspread looked gross and the matching pillow covers were not much better. The bathroom was very small, as was the room. There was a very small armoire to hang one's cloths in but inside it was a fan, a heater and an iron. I did ask for additional towels and soap and did receive them with no problem. The next morning, NO Bell-hop was working during the morning check out hours. The elevator did not work, and when I asked the front desk about who would help me get my luggage down from the third floor, they brushed me off, saying, "I will check the elevator a bit later." The male at the front desk was helping a new female employee understand the computer system. I walked up two floors to my room and began bringing down my luggage on my own. After two trips down the stairs, they said they got the elevator working. Just a Bit too outdated was this hotel. Next time will stay outside town in Hayward or in San Rafael and use "BART" their public transportation to get into the City of San Francisco. This was not worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have a laptop, you can do a search from your room for any kind of food you like. I searched for Thai food and found 10 Thai Restaurants from 4 to 11 blocks away. It was a nice walk about 5 blocks to a street that had two Thai restaurants on it. This gave me a choice from the two of which to eat.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
King George
San Francisco, CA
Jun 5, 2013

Good Value

This quiant hotel is located close to the cable car lines as well as good breakfast spots. The staff was helpful and polite. Luckily the weather was good as we had to use fresh air to cool our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The three day muny pass alllows you to get on and off the cable cars and buses as much as you like.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Discount Work Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 28, 2013

Tiny Hotel in Good Area, Get what you paid for

I was very happy with the location of this hotel. It is smack dab in the heart of nob hill walking distance to union square and near all the great restaurants and sites. The cable car and bus lines all are close by this hotel as well. However, you do get what you paid for. The rooms are TINY TINY; when I opened the door it literally hit the double sized bed. The bathroom has no counter space and the shower is small. BUT it does the job. There isnt any AC in there but thankfully it is northern CA so leaving the window open did the trick. i got a great workout becuase I refuse to go in an elevator that looks old and worse than a freight elevator. The free continental breakfast is good and the staff is very nice and accomodating. My only other complaint would be the valet parking. If I am paying $32 a night for valet parking then I feel it should be pretty easy but its not. You have to park it along this steep hill in front of hotel (if there is space) and take your keys into the hotel AND you have to notify them 40 minutes ahead of time of when you want your car. Overall though I had a good stay but would I stay here again? Only if I was on a SUPER tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All along Sutter and adjoining side streets there are awesome restaurants that are only a short walk from hotel. Sugar Cafe and Colibri are my favorite. Also dont miss Cantina for their great unique drinks

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Dallas Frequent Traveler
Business
Dallas TX
May 22, 2013

Knob Hill Hotel Nightmare

Located very close to every smelly bum you would NOT want to meet, this room equally reeked of moth balls or the 1800s, not quite sure which...If you dare take a child into this environment, you will have to deal with nightmares for the rest of the childhood years. How does a place like this get away with charging $200 per night? WIth one time visits only...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
1108
Norwalk, CT
May 13, 2013

Mixed Review

This is a small boutique type hotel. On the positive side, the front desk staff was very personable and helpful and the location was great. Unfortunately, I would have difficulty recommending this hotel because I thought the additional parking expense of $33 per day was excessive, and while I could have dealt with the small room size, the room was not very clean. The carpeting was stained and dirty and the bed linens were less than crisp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The San Francisco Library sponsors free historical/informational tours conducted by volunteers for many of the attractions in this fun city. Some examples include the Golden Gate Bridge, the Ferry Building, San Francisco's murals, etc. Check out their website for times and meet up locations,

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Terry9997b
Business
seattle
May 10, 2013

not so bad

with this kind of budget, it was greatwith this kind of budget, it was greatwith this kind of budget, it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
toropok
Business
Alexandria, Virginia
May 5, 2013

Good place

Quite nice place to stay. Amazing Italian Bistro in the lobby. Helpful staff. Clean room, but no A/C at least at mine. The only concern I had was the window view and rug in corridors (it's too old). I do recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
SanJoaq
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 4, 2013

First time in San Fran

Beautifully decorated, lavish and plush interior. Room 101 on the first floor is a phenomenal suite, and for the price I was blown away at the amenities provided in the room and around the hotel. Location couldn't have been any better, within walking distance to great places and great transit options. Highly recommended. Diego at the front desk was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk street just a few blocks north of the hotel location.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Special Tech
Business
San Francisco
May 1, 2013

Never been to an all friendly staffed hotel, wow!

I reserved a room for some friends from out of town and I did everything but stay in the hotel. I was waiting for my friends to come down from their room for breakfast and I was able to sort of just observer the lobby and happenings and I have to say the staff is really great at accommodating travelers. Any issue that needed attention they were able to help with. Directions, arriving too early, getting a cab, etc. They also have some cool furniture in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top