Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Mithila Hotel

2 stars
972 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
64 reviews
not bad

i dont know what to say about this hotel, its pretty average, not bad, exceeded my expectations... See full review

  • average 25 year old
  • Feb 10, 2014
Comfortable & Clean

This is a comfortable and clean hotel -- a little worse for wear and tear -- that's centrally... See full review

  • Fritzman
  • Apr 1, 2013
The Mithila Hotel is a charming European-style hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco; offering beautiful guest rooms' warm gracious services and excellent value surrounded near major attractions. We are walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, theaters and world -class restaurants. Together with our commitment to quality, you'll enjoy a high standard of hospitality reflected in the quiet elegance of our surroundings and the personal attention from our friendly staff, dedicated to making your stay an enjoyable experience. The Mithila Hotel was established in 1920 & fully restored in 1998. Restoration took nearly 2 years to complete taking care to maintain original ceiling moldings and marble flooring. The Mithila Hotel, formerly the Roy croft Hotel, is a highly regarded boutique hotel with modern amenities and affordable rates. Our family has been at this location for the last 20 years. Along the way we have changed our name once, but we have learned that the most important characteristic customers look for has not changed a friendly and welcoming staff that exudes traditional hospitality. We opened The Mithila Hotel with a simple idea: at your favorite hotel, you feel like you're coming home. You'll find warm, comfortable surroundings and friendly staff who greet you by name. Since there are only 40 rooms, you'll find peace and quiet. Parking is available offsite for fourteen dollars. What does The Mithila Hotel do better than any other hotel? We steadily attend to all of your needs in a relaxed atmosphere. We know you need a nice umbrella when it rains, an idea for a cozy and affordable restaurant, directions to Fisherman's Wharf. No problem. Everything you need is handled without a charge and without a fuss. It's a pleasure to serve you.

Mithila Hotel Rooms

Standard
Mithila Hotel is able to accommodate the needs of the everyday businessperson or a traveler on a modest budget. Our rooms come in three tiers; Double, Queen and Double-Twin beds. Every room is equipped with a newly remodeled room and private bathroom, color television, international direct phone lines, and data port lines for your convenience. You will receive daily maid service every morning.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mithila Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7883 -122.4163
Area served
San Fransisco and Union Square/Nob Hill/
Nearby airports
San Fransisco International, Oakland International and San Jose International
Area description
The Mithila Hotel is conveniently located near the American Conservatory Theater, Featuring some of San Francisco's finest theater, Ruby Skye, Union Square's premier nightclub and Johnny Foleys Irish Pub; live music, good food and a great bar!

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Mithila Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boobasa
los angeles
Feb 27, 2012

convenient to local venues

very quiet room enjoyed continental breakfast and would recomend to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Claro
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Mithila Hotel Review 10/10-10/12, 2011

That place stinks. As soon as I walk in the door of the hotel, it smelled like somebody peed. I questioned the guy, what that smell was and he told he just ordered some food. I wondered to myself what kind of food does he eat. I almost tuned around and walked out. I said I already paid for this and it is just a place to sleep and freshen up. Most of the time I won't be around the place anyway. But it was a bad experience overall. Never going back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
Jul 22, 2011

good place

It is a good place. My mom and I lived there for five days. We had a very good time. It is clean and the staff is friendly. They cleaned the room on time every day. And the price is cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It loaces near Union Square. Thus the distance from the hotel to bus station, bart station, and stores are all very short. It is a very good place.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MidMo
Business
Rolla, MO
Jul 16, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Attended major international exhibition and conference at Moscone Center. It is necessary to ring a doorbell to enter after hours. The front desk is out of view on the second floor. A guest let me in and I walked up stairs until I found the desk (no signs). After check in I was shown how to use the bird cage elevator and went up to the fourth floor. My room was technically OK with a nice bathroom (new ceramic tile, tub, toilet and basin with new fixtures). Furnishings were worn, but drawers looked unused. TV had NBC, CNN, ESPN and a couple of local stations. The room was quiet. Breakfast was minimal, no juices or milk. One single factor spoiled the whole thing, the carpet. The stairs and hall carpets were very dirty. The room carpet was the worst I have ever seen, with many holes through to the flooring and a one foot diameter spot of something crusty, brown and dried (hopefully nothing worse than gravy). As I was leaving to check out someone had been ringing at the front door during the time it took me to go from the fourth floor down to the desk and then down to the entrance. It was an Asian couple with their son trying to get in. As with me, I was the departing guest opening the door for arriving guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lori's Diner (a 50s style diner) at Sutter and Powell was a find for me. Service was fast and food was very good at reasonable prices.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jul 14, 2011

Buyer Beware

The hotel was very good at letting us check in early, but the room we got was terrible. For $73 we got a double bed and a sink. The toilet and closet sized shower were on a different floor. There were also a ton of flies in the lobby. The "breakfast" they offer is a joke, mini muffins and bad coffee do not a breakfast make. The beds were hard and the hotel is on the edge of a bad part of town. Also, the toilet never really flushed properly. I travel a lot, hostels, hotels, the occasional park bench- and what matters is getting what you pay for- and for $73 a night I expect a bathroom that works and that is attached to the room. Oh, you can also here everything going on in the other rooms and the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium, an upscale vegan(ish) restaurant was just a few block away. Truly a gem of SF

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, CA
Apr 4, 2011

no bueno

room was way to small! had no good channels! it had a bad smell to it. it made us just want to leave and go stay in our car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wynne
Los Altos,CA
Feb 7, 2011

So far so good

I stayed in this hotel for one night. (1 shared bad + shared bath room)The room was clean and tidy, but the bath room was far away from my room, which was one stair below. They provided free internet service and this is good. However, the place was noisy. I couldn't fall asleep until 4am because people in another room turned on the TV and talked very loudly. It is okay if you just want a bed to sleep for one night because the price is cheap and reasonable, but I don't recommend it if you stay for a longer period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is quite near to china town and union square, just have to walk around 10-15 mins.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord,CA
Jan 15, 2011

Horrible

Horrible there was no bathroom they offered a community restrooms and shower. It looked like I was staying in some dirty halfway house. I will never go here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jan 9, 2011

A lot better than people are letting on

I stayed here with 2 girlfiends to celebrate a birthday. We decided to stay here because it was the cheapest hotel we could find in the city that was close to the club we were going to. We decided to ignore the bad reviews and I'm glad we did. The room was clean, equipped with a blow dryer, iron, microwave, and fridge, which is more than a lot of other, more expensive hotels. They also offer a free continental breakfast, which was a lot better than I expected. The man at the front desk was nice and really helpful. Overall I was surprisingly happy with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market, Bar, and restaurant all a few feet away.

Review of Mithila Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose CA
Jan 1, 2011

Mithila Hotel in SF

We booked a room for NYE. So the price was doubled. It's very much like a motel 6. Central heating for the entire building so it's very cold. phone doesn't work so if you need something, you have to walk to the front desk or call from your cell phone. Perks: free wifi and cheap over night parking especially for downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top