Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

King George Hotel

3 stars
View map of 334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliSac
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 19, 2012

good location, average hotel

This is what we should have expected at this price - a small room with thin walls, but clean and in a great location. If you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel room itself, this is a fine place. The bathroom was nice - airy and bright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a cab in this area is really tough at busy times - plan ahead if you have to be somewhere at a certain time.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LF55
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2012

Lovely hotel

Preftect location and confortable stay. A quaint nice hotel with a British flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RebeccaWH.
Business
Arcadia, CA
Oct 26, 2012

Great location, decent hotel.

nothing fancy, small rooms, but clean and great location. very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCRunner
Business
Visalia, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Made for a good Marathon Weekend Trip

The staff was very courteous and helpful. I especially liked the protein bars and gatorade they had set out on race morning, that was a really special touch. I did not like that our room was TINY-I mean barely enough room to walk around the queen bed and the ceilings were LOW, like i could put my whole hand, palm and all, on the ceiling and I'm only 5'7". Although, the bathroom was spacious and the toiletries were nice. There was also a candy dish but all it had were empty wrappers-weird. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay very close to Union Square, but who isn't too tall or wanting to do much more than sleep in their hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dingdong1981
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 16, 2012

Old, small, dingy

Was expecting a very nice place but was instead confronted with a very strange experience. The one elevator for the nine floors was extremely slow and sometimes took up to ten minutes. I tried taking the spiral staircase once but it is pretty dizzying from nine floors up. Staff though very friendly, had great difficulty with the English language. Rooms are Very small without air conditioning or water pressure. Clearly the building is very old and there probably is not much that can be done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dany R
Business
New York City
Oct 2, 2012

Great Value Hotel

Clean hotel in a great location close to lots of transportation. The rooms are nothing special, but they get the job done and the staff was friendly. The elevator was slow, but no big deal really. Overall, this place is great in the essentials but doesn't offer too much beyond that. But for the price you're paying, there is nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
True Budget Traveller
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel location

I was pleasantly surprised about my stay at the hotel. My room was clean, on the small side but sufficient. The blanket was very thin though. My room window faced the alley, which was a bit noisy due to the trash dumping. The ceiling fan was great since there was no a/c. Location was fantastic and convenient. So close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown, Ferry Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the F trolley to Fisherman's Wharf...about a 10 minute ride and cost $2 round trip. Take the trolley at Market and Powell to Pier 39.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
13twelve
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 17, 2012

Convenient, quiet, average hotel.

Its a regular, reasonable priced hotel with friendly staff in a great location in San Francisco. I'd stay again and I would recommend to friends. No problems to report, an all round pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother getting on the cable car at the terminus, instead get on them a block or so in - getting the cable car from Union Square saves a huge wait at a terminus.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDSkippy
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Eh... Could be better...

The bathroom had mold, the bed was uncomfortable and the toilet seat was wobbly. On the bright side, there were no bed bugs. It is San Francisco, so I expected the rooms to be expensive and get less for what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GaryC327
Business
Clovis, CA
Aug 16, 2012

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at

The hotel building itself is ok but it is very old. Elevator is very small. 4 people and it is crowded. Rooms are small with no room to put your stuff. Not much room in the bathroom to set toiletries. Walls are thin. We could hear very clearly the guests in the room next door. Staff was very good. Parking is $35/day as an fyi. The biggest problem which is not the hotels but totally ruined our experience is the street noise and panhandling from the homeless people. We were kept awake all night by people rummaging through the trash cans and dragging around their bags full of glass bottles. We also got panhandled everytime we stepped outside. Very sad and very annoying. On that alone I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top