Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

King George Hotel

3 stars
334 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
202 reviews
Perfect spot

The staff is friendly and outgoing. It's a perfect small hotel close to everything. It is older so... See full review

  • Jewels58
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great, old feeling hotel

I usually stay between three and only three hotels in San Francisco. The King George is among one... See full review

  • jemwatso
  • Mar 17, 2014
Stately boutique hotel near Union Square
Considering its name and the British flag flying out front, it's no surprise that the King George Hotel near San Francisco's Union Square district has a decidedly European flair. Decorative touches are subtle but continue this theme: chess boards in every room, coats of arms, and more. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Winston's Bar and Lounge, even serves imported beer.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Hop on any one of the city's cable cars down the street
  • Union Square shopping is only a four-block walk from the hotel
Rooms

Accommodations -- 141 rooms and 12 suites in all -- vary in size and configuration but come standard with flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, MP3 docking stations and in-room safes. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The King George Hotel, a free-standing structure, dates back to 1914 and has been renovated numerous times since. It also is now a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program.

All guests have access to a nearby Club One Health Club (fees apply), a full-service facility with spa, pool and fitness center. The hotel also offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

Grab a pint (what else?) at Winston's Bar & Lounge, a kitschy-but-lovable bar on the ground floor. The pub no longer serves food, but the scene is still lively on weekend nights.

Valet and self-parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/30 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 mi/25 km)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (6 blocks/1 km)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square (3 blocks)
  • Theater District (4 blocks)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • AT&T Park (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center in lobby
  • Intimate 500-square-foot meeting room
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

King George Hotel Rooms

Standard Room with One Queen Bed
Standard Room One Queen bed is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped Complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds
Standard Room with Two Twin Beds is furnished with English Tudor furniture, writing desk, ceiling fans and a comfortable queen bed with full duvet and Scotland wool throw blankets. Each room is equipped complimentary wireless Internet Access. Also, all rooms have private baths, remote control flat screen televisions, telephones with voice mail and data ports, safes, ironing equipment, hairdryers and electronic door locks. Non smoking. 24-hour room service and same day valet laundry service is also available.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4094
Area served
San Francisco, Marin, Napa, Oakland
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport
Area description
When you stay at the King George, you are close to some of San Francisco's major sightseeing and vacation spots. You are just 1 mile from Chinatown, Coit Tower and Cable Car Museum. The magnificent Pier 39, Lombard Street, Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf are just 2 miles from the King George. Lots of shopping, fun and recreational activities await you in these areas. You can drive down to the Golden Gate Bridge, 5 miles from the King George, and enjoy its spectacular view of the city. When you stay at the King George San Francisco, you are in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square with the city's best hotspots at your fingertips. You are just a walk from Moscone Convention Center and half a block from the San Francisco Hilton. You are close to plenty of fine restaurants and eat outs, world class shopping, theatre and San Francisco's world famous cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The King George Hotel has a perfect ground level meeting room to host your business. The meeting room is equipped with complimentary high speed wireless internet access for presentations. And, an arrangement of foods & beverages are available for your working lunch or on-site event! It is truly the BEST place on Union Square to hold a meeting for 40 or less people.

Dining

Winston's Bar & Lounge
Wine and champagne lounge serving specialty beers and appetizers Evening hours 5 pm to 10 pm Enjoy our selective bottled wines at smashing prices!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for King George Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyP
Guangzhou, China
Sep 27, 2011

There are better values in SF

Room was clean, but small, to be expected in historic hotel. Coffee maker on an old dresser in the closet was less than attractive. Location was close to Union Sq, but on the wrong side, a block from the Tenderloin. No bar or restaurant on site, had to leave the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travels quite often
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

Why pay the high prices of most hotels in the Union Square area when you can book King George Hotel! It is the perfect location, clean, comfortable and an excellent staff. We would not choose anything else for our next trip to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach Blanket Babylon!

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xyzabc
Fairfield, CT, USA
Sep 12, 2011

nice stay in San Francisco

Hotel is a block from Union Square near the shopping area and the Powell street cable car. Our room was small, but it had a walk in closet and a nice bathroom. The room was clean and all furnishings were in good condition. The staff was always attentive to our requests. The lobby and bar are cozy. The only limitation we found was a small elevator for the number of people using it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MD
Aug 1, 2011

Review of King George Hotel

I just used the hotel as my 'base camp' for spending a few days in San Francisco. It was perfect - good clean room, friendly and helpful staff, great location. It'd be nice if there were two elevators, and the signal strength on the wireless internet was low, but these were very, very minor issues. I'll definitely stay at the hotel again if back in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 7, 2011

Great location at a good price

While the King George Hotel's best feature may be its location right near Union Square, theaters and great restaurants, it was itself a pleasant surprise. I got a very good airfare/hotel deal and was surprised at what a nice hotel it was. It was clean, the staff was friendly and because it is in an old building, it had a lot of atmosphere. The rooms are small, but for me that matters little since I tend not to linger in hotel rooms. This hotel had what I wanted in the staff, rooms and location. It was also a very green hotel, which is a nice benefit. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to nearby theater, shopping and restaurants, I wanted to get out and enjoy the beautiful weather. Just up the street from the hotel was a place to rent bikes called Blazing Saddles for my ride across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fi
Europe
Jun 29, 2011

The only thing good is the location

The location of the hotel was great however our stay was awful. When we arrived on the Friday morning the elevators were not working and had not been fixed when we left on the Monday. This meant we had to walk up the narrow winding stairs to our room. The rooms are tiny and it was difficult to get to sleep as you can hear the noise of other rooms plumbing while in your own room. The pipes are very noisey. The curtains in our room would not pull closed for us so we mentioned it to the staff. When we arrived back later, the curtains were pinned together with a safety pin, stil leaving a gap allowing sunlight in in the early hours of the morning. The staff were nice but overall we did not enjoy our stay. We loved San Fran but hated the hotel and feel we did not get value for our money at all. I would only recommend staying there for one night only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA native
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2011

Not bad not great.

The staff is incredible nice and very helpful. The internet connection didn't wok well and the elevator wasn't working. Other than that everything was status quo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City
Jun 14, 2011

Can't Complain

The hotel was decent. It was a fine accomodation for what I needed which was a comfortable reliable place to stay. The hotel was located in such an area that I was able to walk many places and cabs were inexpensive. One downside is that with the convenience of Union Square catering to tourists, many of the convenient stores are expensive (I bought a bottle of champagne on the corner for $20, which I paid $7 for at Safeway). The area is a tourists trap and there is an overwhelming amount of homeless people begging at nearly every trun within a block radius or so. The hotel staff was friendly, but I didn't require much. The room was small, but I expected that. It wasn't the most fabulous hotel, but it was better than a Holiday Inn or Motel 6. It is perfectly fine, but if you need something more fancy, the Westin St. Francis is acorss the street. I got the feeling this hotel was standard issue for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great food around, and 24 hour diners just s stone throw away - one next door and another directly across the street. I ate quite well and for not much money in the area on a few ocassions.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plymouth, Michigan
May 27, 2011

Great location and a small hotel

The King George is in great location. We explored China Town and the Union Square area easily, and we were close to the cable car turnaround. Compared to previous stays in San Francisco this was the best location by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just lots and lots of great restaurants of all types nearby.

Review of King George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy trav
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2011

Handy

Can't beat the location, close to everything, and within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots within walking distance; try Max's

Back to menu Return to top