Rate based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016

InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

4 stars
View map of 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
13 reviews
Best Valentines Day!

After a great night out it was a fabulous surprise to stay at this beautiful hotel and have drinks... See full review

  • HolyH
  • Feb 16, 2012
great vacation

staff is wonderful great view if the city will come back and stay See full review

  • purdy
  • Aug 20, 2011
As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city's finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District. Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7916 -122.4107
Area served
SAN FRANCISCO
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 15.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.00, MI, NW; Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 56.10, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, city

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HolyH
Couples
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Feb 16, 2012

Best Valentines Day!

After a great night out it was a fabulous surprise to stay at this beautiful hotel and have drinks at Top of the Mark. All in all perfect night in SF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Have drinks at Top of the Mark and take it allllll in!

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie & Julio
Couples
Arizona
Jan 30, 2011

3rd visit to San Francisco

My husband and I just got married January 22nd and thought of no other place to go than to San Francisco for our honeymoon! This was our 3rd stay at Mark Hopkins and every stay is just like the first! The staff is friendly, helpful and very welcoming. We were amazed at the view from our room and it made for a perfect honeymoon suite! Thanks for a memorable visit, we will most certainly be back soon to stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 7, 2007

great service, beautiful views from dining room

I loved the Mark Hopkins. Great service, quiet rooms, friendly staff, incredible views from the rooftop dining room. Great price and fabulous location. A ++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Greenville, SC
May 31, 2009

Fabulous Historic Hotel

An incredible hotel at the top of world famous Nob Hill. Immaculate rooms, extremely helpful concierge & doorman arranged our rental car, Giants game tickets,theater tickets,& take-out from a small local eatery. Also saw them arrange a massage for someone who had just arrived with a bad neck & shoulder. The masseuse quickly arrived at the hotel with her massage table that evening.The location was fantastic! It was centrally located to everything. Grace Cathedral was across the street,Union Sq was just down the hill, Chinatown a few blocks the other way, a cable car went by in front & down on the corner so you had access in two directions, the corner cable car went straight to Fisherman's Wharf, the streetcar also stopped right on the corner. The maid service was extremely good. Top of the Mark offered free entertainment & views to us each night, too. Many town people come there for drinks and have to pay a cover chg, but hotel guests do not pay the cover chg. the workout room was fantastic & state of the art equipment. It was an extremely safe area as well. It was a wonderful hotel & experience!! Couldn't have been better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In a booth in the park area of Union Sq, half price theater tickets can be bought. Another hint: The doorman or concierge can give you a menu for 2 very inexpensive ($5-$10) restaurants nearby that will deliver. If you have been out all day, get back, & are tired, just ask the doorman & he'll show you a menu for takeout (salads, pizza, sandwiches, & more). We did not know this until late on the last night, but we would have definitely used it several nights had we known about it earlier.

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
brownsville texas
May 8, 2010

mark hopkins

location, clean, good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
purdy
Friends
Pomona, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

great vacation

staff is wonderful great view if the city will come back and stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

dont park there two blocks down is a 30$ place for eacday

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ticec
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Parents 40th Anniversary

I surprised my parents for their Wedding Anniversary here - it was so perfect. They were surprised, the staff was amazing and went along with everything - all arrangements and were so flexible. I will definitely book here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a standard room and then call reservations to request the california street side for the view!

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana
Couples
Tustin, CA
May 19, 2012

Well worth it

Great experience at this hotel. Lovely lobby; professional, friendly, and accomodating staff; free apples at the front desk. Enjoyed the lounge on the top floor; romantic and great view of SF. Room very large, clean and comfortable for two with great view of downtown SF. Not too bad of a walk to Chinatown, Financial District, and Fisherman's Wharf (I walked to all three and back). Price for overnight parking quite steep (eek!). Would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grover
Family
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 25, 2010

Many happy returns

Whenever we go back to SF, we stay at the Mark on Nob Hill. Its an ideal home-base for a variety of activities throughout the city. A knowledgeable friendly staff makes it a classy - but not too stuffy - place to stay. Ending a day or planning an evening is always fun at the lounge up top with 360-degree window views of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of InterContinental MARK HOPKINS SAN FRANCISCO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Friend
Family
Florida
May 3, 2010

San Fran InterContinental Mark Hopkins

This is a very historic beautiful hotel. It sits atop Nob Hill with beautiful views of the city. The cable cars pass right in front of the hotel. The restaurant in the hotel has one of the most beautiful views in the city, but has a very limited menu and is a little pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Cafe

Back to menu Return to top