Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
453 reviews
Great hotel!

While the rooms were a little small they were very professional and fancy looking. The hotel was... See full review

  • GrantT
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great, quiet single room

Bed way comfortable; quiet location; good wifi hook-up; ask and you shall received. I didn't know... See full review

  • Andersen01
  • Oct 9, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.1 mi

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Aliso Vijeo, CA
Dec 30, 2008

Very Noisy

There was a long wait to register with one person working the front desk. There is an additional $33/day parking charge. Most rooms are facing the crowded Market street with no noise abadement. We had to fight the crowd for a cup of coffee at the Star buck downsatirs every morning, since they didn't even give you a cheap coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 10, 2009

Evil Under The Fog

If you are reading this review under the impression that this hotel is as majestic and accommodating as the website proclaims, guess again. Upon reaching the neighborhood in which the hotel was located, my friend and I were frightened. We clutched our wallets closer in an attempt to avoid mugging or other misdemeanors that might be committed on us. In other words, it was very, shall we say, "shady." When we walked to our room, we were surprised to see a food tray sitting in the middle of an adjacent hallway. Even more surprising was the fact that this food tray was still there nearly 24 hours later when we left our engagement. Approaching the "Guest Services" desk, we informed the young man that we had several questions. He did not give us any solutions to any problems we had, which were 1. do you have bowls and 2. do you have microwaves. His answer to both was a cold "no." Perhaps some sort of alternative option could have been reached, but he was of no assistance. Furthermore, the aesthetics of the room could have been improved: the blue trim gave more of an impression of painters' tape than decoration. Overall, my friend and I felt that we were an inconvenience to the hotel staff and were treated as obligations rather than guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your own microwave.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chattanooga ,tennessee
Feb 28, 2010

a very bad stay

the hotel was in a very bad part of town,it was historic in the lobby but the rooms were just old the tvs were even old the parking area was old an run down ,they had nothing to offer for the prices ,it was cold ,i mean freezing an when you turned on the heat there was an oder,oh yea an my phone in my room did not work unless you tapped it..wow i could go on anon but i will never stay again good luck to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travel star 88
Business
Ireland
Jul 27, 2010

wouldn't return

I stayed in this hotel with close to 20 friends from different parts of the world. 4 of us arrived early but they would not let us up to the room until the others arrived, after a 3 hour wait we finally were given the key to our room. We found the staff at the reception very rude, they even hung up the phone when i rang to complain about a fight that was happening in the next room. this is not the kind of treatment you expect to recieve as a paying customer. location of the hotel was good, however a lot of homeless begging outside. staff around the hotel were friendly and welcoming with the exception to the reception staff (maybe they should swap roles). overall loved san fran would just choose a different hotel if i was to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

so many shops to choose from only a short distance from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Now I Know
Business
Detroit, MI
May 24, 2013

"Classic" really just means Old and Run Down

There was always a long line at the front desk and not more than two people working. The gift shop was rarely staffed (even in the middle of the day). The Wifi connection in the rooms was terrible (I actually switched rooms but it didn't help). Mostly, it is in the absolute worst area of San Francisco, known as "the tenderloin." It would be safe to say that it was an outright dangerous neighborhood (I witnessed one arrest and saw many other situations in which there should have been one). It was really bad. I wish I had been able to see THAT on the site when I booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laura8888
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 28, 2013

Do NOT stay here

I would not recommend that anyone stay here. Walls were paper thin, I could hear everything in the hallway and next door. The hotel smelled, the sheets were stained, and I found a hair on a glass left in my room. Staff was not overly helpful. Location is so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enough said.
Business
on market between 9&8 st.
Dec 16, 2013

could use some help...

Late at night there was drunk people walking up and down the hall yelling. The walls and doors are paper thin.. THE PARKING GARAGE IS A RIPOFF!!! FOR TWO NIGHTS THEY CHARGED ME $79.47 you are better off parking in the corner lot next door for 10.00 dollars a day!! Rooms are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the cable cars and use the bart very cheap and fun! Also If your young look into the "santacon" bar hop.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JazzyJennN
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 10, 2014

Dingy and dirty

This hotel was a nominee in 2009 for best hotel in SF, it didn't win, and shouldn't even be nominated now. The location is amazing and the bones of the hotel are as well. However, the hotel probably hasn't been "Spring cleaned" since it's 2009 nomination. Dirty corners, smelly pillows, dingy chandeliers, dim lighting, dirty stairwells, vents so filthy I felt like I didn't want to breathe- good value but it comes at a price....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KRPSanJose
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 10, 2014

Not sure how it rates 3 stars

Hi. I guess you get what you pay for in San Francisco. On the plus side: room was clean. Negatives: lights/outlets didn't work in the room, air conditioner sounded like a 1950s Buick so I had to open the window - fine until a dumpster was dropped off outside at 4:45 in the morning, bed was small. Hallways are dingy, almost creepy. Won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Savvy Traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Beware - Location is deceiving

As a frequent traveler for business and leisure, I was shocked at this hotel. Location is fine. However, the rooms are unclean, bathrooms are tiny, Internet = a cafe with dial-up, Room Service...? I arrived late in the evening for a business trip and took one look at the room - the old Ac Unit, Ancient TV, Unkept sheets, and musty smell before heading straight back to check-in to check out! IF you choose to stay here, just know that it is 'historic' in the worst ways possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top