Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
431 reviews
hotel Whitcomb

Staff was very helpful, the Grand lobby was definitely grand Nice n clean room, I would stay there... See full review

  • aj13
  • May 5, 2014
Great Hotel.

Stayed close for a concert at BG Civic Center. Could walk there from our hotel. Staff was extremely... See full review

  • Todd13
  • Mar 13, 2014
Luxury meets history, vintage meets modern at Theater District hotel

The Hotel Whitcomb has a place in San Francisco history like no other: Following the 1906 earthquake, the building actually served as City Hall. The majestic Theater District property still looks a lot like it did back then, with crystal chandeliers, Tiffany glass and Italian marble columns and floors. Made-to-look-old furniture highlights rooms upstairs, though modern conveniences abound as well. The on-site Market Street Grill serves up basic American fare.

Highlights
  • Historical spot -- the hotel once served as San Francisco's City Hall
  • Located in the Theater District, across Market Street from the Orpheum Theater
  • Ornate preserved lobby
  • Dine on classic American fare at The Market Street Grill
Rooms

High ceilings are common in the Whitcomb's 447 guest rooms and 12 suites. Furniture in these rooms has been specially crafted so it looks old. Accommodations come standard with modern conveniences as well, including flat-screen televisions, ironing boards and spacious workstations. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. The Sunny Jim Suite also includes a wet bar and a dining area.

Features

Marble floors, polished brass fixtures, Tiffany glass and fresh flowers accentuate the ornate Main Lobby. This area transports guests back to the turn of the 20th Century, when the building briefly served as City Hall. It became a hotel in 1916. It's also a great place to enjoy a coffee and read a complimentary newspaper.

All guests have access to an on-site health and fitness center, dry-cleaning service (fees apply) and transportation to San Francisco International Airport (fees apply).

Grab a homemade Dungeness crab cake at The Market Street Grill, the on-site restaurant. Customers enter through the Tavern Piano Bar, a classic lounge that can get downright boisterous on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mil/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • BART (4 blocks)
  • Cable car stops (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Embarcadero
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 25,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/visual expert to help with equipment

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco Rooms

Parlor Suite
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
King Room
Room with 1 king bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Queen Room
Room with 1 Queen bed, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.
Double Room
Room with 2 double beds, includes complimentary wireless high-speed internet, 25" television with remote control, cable / satellite tv with premium channels, iron / ironing board, telephone with voice mail, data port, pay-per-view movies, alarm clock, hairdryer, housekeeping, wake-up calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.1 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.1 mi

Dining

Market Street Grill/California Cusine
Relax in our Market Street Grill or lounge that is located in our beautiful Historic Hotel. We also offer room service to our valuable guest.
Caffe Della Stella
Nice Italian Dining with in walking distance of the hotel.
Moonstar
Nice Chinese and Sushi at Moonstar and it is all you can eat. Moonstar is across the street from the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Whitcomb has the largest Parkay Dance Floor in the City with 8 diffrent meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (431)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Jun 1, 2011

Poor Service

It was an old hotel, looked like the hotel in the movie "The Shining" which made the stay very creepy. The rooms were very tiny and uncomfortable, the doors barely locked. The beds were very small for a Queen size bed. The rooms were very outdated, old tv's, etc. The price was too expensive for what you recieved, I don't think it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pier is the best place to go for fresh fish and seafood. Use the trolleys and bus service because that's the best way to travel.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JazzyJennN
Bakersfield, CA
Feb 10, 2014

Dingy and dirty

This hotel was a nominee in 2009 for best hotel in SF, it didn't win, and shouldn't even be nominated now. The location is amazing and the bones of the hotel are as well. However, the hotel probably hasn't been "Spring cleaned" since it's 2009 nomination. Dirty corners, smelly pillows, dingy chandeliers, dim lighting, dirty stairwells, vents so filthy I felt like I didn't want to breathe- good value but it comes at a price....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KRPSanJose
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 10, 2014

Not sure how it rates 3 stars

Hi. I guess you get what you pay for in San Francisco. On the plus side: room was clean. Negatives: lights/outlets didn't work in the room, air conditioner sounded like a 1950s Buick so I had to open the window - fine until a dumpster was dropped off outside at 4:45 in the morning, bed was small. Hallways are dingy, almost creepy. Won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enough said.
on market between 9&8 st.
Dec 16, 2013

could use some help...

Late at night there was drunk people walking up and down the hall yelling. The walls and doors are paper thin.. THE PARKING GARAGE IS A RIPOFF!!! FOR TWO NIGHTS THEY CHARGED ME $79.47 you are better off parking in the corner lot next door for 10.00 dollars a day!! Rooms are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the cable cars and use the bart very cheap and fun! Also If your young look into the "santacon" bar hop.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle Fester
New York, NY
Oct 8, 2010

Good Location Lazy Staff

The hotel lobby itself is nice, the rooms are sort of on the small side, but clean. The hotel staff is very lazy and tries to avoid your requests if you only ask once, the trick is to demand and keep asking till they finally give in, wonder why they just don't fulfill a simple request, but drag it on and on and waste time, if you need towels, you NEED TOWELS! The trick at this hotel is to call the front desk several times for towels if you run out of clean ones, then finally after calling them 3 times and waiting 30minutes they'll give in and bring you some to your room. The parking attendents themselves shut the gate to the parking garage at midnight, if you beep the horn once they won't come out, twice again they won't show up, the trick is to nail the horn down for 10 seconds, then they finally wake up and open the gate for you, meanwhile you're paying roughly $35 a day to park at your hotel, and they shut the gate at midnight, expecting you to keep blowing the horn to motivate them to open the gate. Don't let the lazy hotel staff get away with ignoring your requests, the trick is to be very assertive, it's not like these lazy people would turn violent, they're too lazy ... Remember, if you wan't something expect to be blown off, then just get in their faces, they'll eventually give in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Aliso Vijeo, CA
Dec 30, 2008

Very Noisy

There was a long wait to register with one person working the front desk. There is an additional $33/day parking charge. Most rooms are facing the crowded Market street with no noise abadement. We had to fight the crowd for a cup of coffee at the Star buck downsatirs every morning, since they didn't even give you a cheap coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laura8888
Washington, D.C.
May 28, 2013

Do NOT stay here

I would not recommend that anyone stay here. Walls were paper thin, I could hear everything in the hallway and next door. The hotel smelled, the sheets were stained, and I found a hair on a glass left in my room. Staff was not overly helpful. Location is so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 14, 2009

What a Disaster!!!!

I would NOT reccomend staying at the Hotel Whitcomb to anyone. When we arrived, we waited on line (we were the only people on line) for about 20 minutes. As there was only one person working the front desk. When we arrived to our cell, (it was that small) there was a LOVELY pair of black suede boots (that did NOT belong to us) at the foot of one bed, and a pair of dirty underwear on the bathroom floor. I kid you not. In the bathroom we found that there was no shower curtain in the shower. (It was not the type of shower where a curtain wasn't needed) The hotel was not only dirty and dusty but it was in a HORRIBLE location. Before I took this trip I called the Hotel Whitcomb and asked them what neighborhood they were located in. The front desk assured me that they were two blocks from Union Square. False! They are about 6-7 blocks from union square, they're locaed by the Civic Center, and they're locaed in a very GHETTO neighborhood of San Fran- Tenderloin. There was about 5 homeless people outside of the hotel. The bums were extremley aggressive. Being from NYC, I am not intimidated by homeless people. My friend and I both would not have been comfortable walking in that neighborhood, at anytime of day. So I had to call Orbitz, cancel my reservation. (Which takes about 10 business days to process) I then had to pay $1,000 for another hotel for 5 nights. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. If the price is appealing because it's so cheap- Save up an extra $250 and stay somewhere else. When we left the Whitcomb about 2 hours after we checked in, the Manager of the Hotel had acted like he wasn't surprised- almost like this situation occured often. Horrible Hotel. Horrible Neighborhood. Not in a good location at all. Small Rooms. Dirty Rooms. Unfriendly staff. It was a DISASTER!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Micky001
San Jose
Aug 25, 2014

Too bad

No refregrator, no pot, too exprnsive, too bad staff.... I never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu,Hi
Nov 19, 2009

Avoid this place

My son arrived one day before me astayed at the Wittcome.The next day ,after I arrived in SF,he called me and let me know they,his wife and 2 children were checking out. Why? His wife had 500+ bedbug bites and the sheets were red with blood spots. [...]we stayed at the Pickwick Hotel,a little more but no bedbugs.Real creepy to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top