Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016

Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
69 reviews
Great stay in sf for ACDC concert

I made reservations a month ago and had to make a change at the last minute, even though they were... See full review

  • Denn H.
  • Sep 28, 2015
Nice place to stay in the financial district

Really loved the age of this hotel - it's a historic hotel. Everything inside the hotel was great -... See full review

  • Robert R.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Like the ever-evolving city that flows around the historical building, Hotel Whitcomb holds onto its past while adapting to meet modern needs. In the wake of a 1906 earthquake, the building served as the temporary city hall before re-opening in 1916 as a luxury hotel. Today, the grandiose Whitcomb Ballroom hosts conferences and weddings on its parquet dance floor. You'll step back in time when you enter the opulent lobby, which features crystal chandeliers dangling from high cathedral ceilings, marble columns and floors, Tiffany glass and polished brass accents. You can return to the present day when you use the free Wi-Fi or work out in the fitness center.

Highlights

Situated on Market Street across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb offers guests direct access to downtown San Francisco, SOMA, Mid-Market and Civic Center neighborhoods. Step outside to find a BART light rail and MUNI station entrance a few feet away. Several bus stops and Bay Area BikeShare stations are within a couple blocks, and the iconic cable car trolley is less than five blocks away. The main floor of the Hotel Whitcomb houses the Market Street Grill, where you can find a full menu of dining options, The Tavern piano bar and cocktail lounge, and a Starbucks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7782 -122.4155
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland Internationa Airport
Area description
Conveniently located on vibrant Market Street, across from the Orpheum Theater, Hotel Whitcomb is a downtown San Francisco sanctuary surrounded by the city's most popular restaurants, shops and attractions. Walking distance to the incredible Theatre District, Yerba Buena Gardens, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, Folsom Street and the Castro. Hotel Whitcomb is perfectly situated in the city's cultural, arts and business districts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Family
Aliso Vijeo, CA
Dec 30, 2008

Very Noisy

There was a long wait to register with one person working the front desk. There is an additional $33/day parking charge. Most rooms are facing the crowded Market street with no noise abadement. We had to fight the crowd for a cup of coffee at the Star buck downsatirs every morning, since they didn't even give you a cheap coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
chattanooga ,tennessee
Feb 28, 2010

a very bad stay

the hotel was in a very bad part of town,it was historic in the lobby but the rooms were just old the tvs were even old the parking area was old an run down ,they had nothing to offer for the prices ,it was cold ,i mean freezing an when you turned on the heat there was an oder,oh yea an my phone in my room did not work unless you tapped it..wow i could go on anon but i will never stay again good luck to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Berkeley, CA
Dec 10, 2009

Evil Under The Fog

If you are reading this review under the impression that this hotel is as majestic and accommodating as the website proclaims, guess again. Upon reaching the neighborhood in which the hotel was located, my friend and I were frightened. We clutched our wallets closer in an attempt to avoid mugging or other misdemeanors that might be committed on us. In other words, it was very, shall we say, "shady." When we walked to our room, we were surprised to see a food tray sitting in the middle of an adjacent hallway. Even more surprising was the fact that this food tray was still there nearly 24 hours later when we left our engagement. Approaching the "Guest Services" desk, we informed the young man that we had several questions. He did not give us any solutions to any problems we had, which were 1. do you have bowls and 2. do you have microwaves. His answer to both was a cold "no." Perhaps some sort of alternative option could have been reached, but he was of no assistance. Furthermore, the aesthetics of the room could have been improved: the blue trim gave more of an impression of painters' tape than decoration. Overall, my friend and I felt that we were an inconvenience to the hotel staff and were treated as obligations rather than guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your own microwave.

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnthegreek
Couples
Dallas
Nov 26, 2012

bad area, hotel outdated

The hotel is located inside a ghetto area but very close (about 1min walk) from good shopping malls. Parking at the hotel is $35 per day (including night stay). The hotel is very ornate and gives great first impression, but the rooms are really outdated. The carpets are old, the bed mattresses need to be changed (unless you like sleeping in other peoples body shaped indentations), the bathrooms are rediculously small, curtains outdated and do not close. If you are looking for a place that is located in walking area from downtown and you are willing to walk through a ghetto area with homeless people everywhere stretching about half a mile radius from the hotel, then this place is good for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
new york girl
Couples
New York
Jan 2, 2013

location

Pros: Location to Davie's orchestra and the BART station. Cons: I hate to say it, but the hotel simply isn't clean. The staff does although try to better your experience. In addition, although my floor was non smoking it reeked of smoke in the hallways. It's very outdated, (small, bulky televisions) and the room we stayed in smelled like mildew almost. It just isn't the cleanest hotel. The location is ideal if you're staying to go to the symphony but other than that I would pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BOYU Z.
Friends
SEATTLE
Apr 6, 2015

Small restroom

The restroom is too small and the water is not hot enough. But the location is pretty good while house keeping stuffs are pretty nice. Just cant stand that restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 21, 2011

Pretty chandeliers, bad area.

The hotel was nice enough, the halls are a little scary and the walls very thin (heard everything going on, on either side of me and above me). But the staff was friendly. It is also not in a great area if you are walking, although the public transportation is extremely accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bay Area, CA
Apr 27, 2010

You get what you pay for

Overall it wasn't the most horrible experience....but due to location entering the parking valet was a nightmare and housekeeping kept knocking on my door even though I had the 'Do not disturb sign' outside. Got to the point of ridiculous after it happened three times within an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SF Opera House

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Sep 5, 2010

Hotel Whitcomb

The Hotel Whitcomb was very disappointing considering the price we paid. The hotel is old and had a certain charm to it, especially the lobby, but the age was also evident in our room. The bathroom had mold in the tiled wall and the caulking job was very poor around the fixtures. The toilet plumbing was rusty and the sink was very small. It took awhile for the hot water to get hot. The bed sheets appeared to be clean but the pillows were very small and the bathroom towels weren't very comfortable. There were broken light fixtures and inside the closet there was unfinished work being done to the wall. In addition we had to pay for hotel parking. We paid $170.00 a night but it was only worth maybe $60.00. One good thing was that there was only one front lobby staff member that was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pennsylvania patron
Couples
Pennsylvania
Apr 19, 2010

Ups and Downs

We were in San Francisco visiting family. We definitely missed having a coffee maker in the room. We were forced to stand in line at the Starbucks attached to the hotel, and my husband doesn't particularly like their coffee or their prices. The hotel did not have newspapers, even in the lobby. It was VERY CROWDED in the lobby at all times with tour groups. Had a great European feel, but the elevators were slow and crowded much of the time. Housekeeping didn't come the first day (We were there for 5 days), and the front desk is busy all of the time if you have questions. Our first room had a broken window, broken lamps and the keys wouldn't work in the door so we were locked out. Maintenance didn't come, but the front desk did finally get us a new room, although no one offered to help us move our things. The hotel is old and very charming, but management seems disorganized and overwhelmed and the place is showing its age with poor upkeep. It's a shame--it has beautiful character. The neighborhood is fine if you don't walk into the Tenderloin district at night (about 3 blocks, starting about 2 blocks after the Civic Center).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top