Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student Break
Colorado
May 19, 2012

PARKING

This hotel was GREAT! The staff was very nice and helpful. If you are parking a car with them, be careful.....they forgot to mention that it is $41 per day! This is a good rate for the area, but it wasnt mentioned that this service was not included in the original cost of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Jazz bar two doors down was fantastic

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hector H
Business
Mexico
May 13, 2012

Nice, great location, but need to put attention on the cleaning

Everything ok, but windows and shades were dirty & full of dust. One of the walls had some kind of liquid stain. I talked to the manager & did some cleaning, not all that was needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just next to the Union Square & 10 min walk tho the Mosconian.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tm12
ny
May 7, 2012

not worth it

We only had one day to spend in San Fran and we wanted to stay somewhere in this area. The cost of the hotel was NOT worth it. The location was so so.. difficult to get to and from with the traffic, parking garage location, and one way streets. The room was EXTREMELY small. You wouldn't be able to tell from the hotels websites photos but it is tiny. The bathroom is extremely small basically when your sitting on the toilet your knees could touch the door. The shower is so tiny its difficult to move around in and the sink you can barely wash your hands in. Overall a WASTE of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psychwald
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Perfect Getaway

This was a great pick. The hotel was clean, accommodating, and in a great location just a block or so from union square. It is a short walk to Chinatown. It is right by the cable cars that can take you to the wharf. My husband and I had a great time. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is not large so not many amenities on site and the rooms are small. I didn't care about either of these things because we spent more time out and about and not a whole lot of time in our room. Our room was quiet, but I did call ahead and requested a quiet room away from the street front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marirosa
Business
San Juan, PR
Mar 27, 2012

Union Square Hotel

it was a great experience....if I go back, I will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around the hotel there were many great restaurants and stores.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
belga76
Business
New York City
Mar 22, 2012

Great Location!! But....

Great Location. Cleanliness: Not Great. If you have no AC in the room, look on how clean the ceiling fan is. Mine was so bad that i got a coughing attack and could feel the particles of dust falling on my face. Also, do not take the pictures online for granted because they had a good photographer. When you check in, Make sure that they give you the right room that you booked. And if you say anything they might try to tell you that the pictures of the rooms online are sometimes different that what you get. So let me tell you, there are plenty of other hotels located in that area with people who know how to clean rooms and run a hotel. DON'T GO THERE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
b00kreader
Business
South Carolina, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great location for conference at Moscone center

This hotel is within a few blocks of the Moscone center, shopping was nearby, and there were a ton of resturants close by as well. Fairly close to other attractions as well (about $11 taxi to Pier 39). because my room faced Powell St. you could hear the cabel cars untill around midnight but not bad for the location being so central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to the Honey Honey Cafe and Crepery (599 Post St) it was wonderful and afordable for breakfast.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thernault
Paris, France
Jan 8, 2012

Not réal bed

I make à réservation for tree peuple , my while , and my son 21years old and 1m87 hight ,i was expecting à réal bed because i makeréservation for 3 adults . Insteade of That They provide à extra Bédard for small children not long anought and absolutly not confortable . Conclusion ,pleasure dont cheat on customises if we ordre for tree adults need to havé real be for tree adults .my son back was broken so hé did not enjoy san francisco as we série expected Regards T.Ernault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SheShe884
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Nice location... Average hotel

The location is awesome... Right close to Westfield mall and all the good shopping, etc. however the rooms weren't all that. First room we checked into was super small and had NO AC. I am a girl from Texas... We have To have AC!!!! The front desk was extremely helpful getting us moved to a room that was furnished with a window unit AC. It's a cute place... And for the price is was comfortable for the 4 nights spent there. THe cleaning lady was a doll...SUPER SWEET and very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf... You have to eat at Crab House.... It's amazing!!!! Best seafood I have EVER ate!!!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travobs
New York, NY, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great hotel in the center of union square

This hotel is great. My friend and I stayed there for vacation. Hotel is very nice and clean. the people are helpful and are always willing to help with anything. It's in the best location of union square, with alot of shopping and eating. The cable car starts a block away and it takes you to the wharf. Also it has a stop for tour buses at union square which is two blocks from it. The only thing is the room with one bed is very small ask for two bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a ticket booth at union square, which you can get cheap tickets to all kinds of tours and shows as well as other things. Great deals!!!!

Back to menu Return to top