Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
150 reviews
Fantastic

Very good experience. Complimentary wine in the evening. Cable car street. Great views, and parks... See full review

  • YuraF
  • Jan 9, 2014
Friendly staff, overall good value

The staff were very friendly, and the room was clean. The hotel has a nice charm to it and the... See full review

  • KatMS
  • Oct 22, 2013
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
Marirosa
Business
San Juan, PR
Mar 27, 2012

Union Square Hotel

it was a great experience....if I go back, I will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around the hotel there were many great restaurants and stores.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
Oc1981
Redding, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Good staff not so great rooms

While the staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful, unfortunately our room was not what was expected. The decor was fun and funky throughout the hotel but our room itself was dark and quite humid. There was a window,not to the outside but rather to an airshaft that was cleaned who knows when last. We had a portable air conditioner that was attached to a huge hose connected to the window with duct tape and kept coming off. Not to mention we left it on the whole time we weren't in the room and it was still got and humid upon our return. Probably will look elsewhere for our money next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping in surrounding area

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
Deedsster
Boston,MA
Mar 12, 2013

Right in Downtown

Great location if you like to be right in the city. I'd compare it to a typical Manhattan small hotel. Room was just okay, very small and dark but bed was comfy and everything worked. This is an old refurbished hotel. Location was great; we were right near where the cable cars turn around and an enormous city shopping mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
Tahlia
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 5, 2013

Excellent location

Stayed here in a group of four after a work conference in Palm Springs. Our room (two double beds) was probably a little too small for all 4 of us, but that's hardly anyone's fault but our own. Fantastic location that's close to lots of public transport options. You could hear the cable car line from our window (not a problem for us, but might be for anyone who dislikes city noise - personally, I LOVED it). I was able to arrange a cab back to the airport late at night with no difficulty at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
Canadian ajm
Edmonton
Feb 24, 2013

Recent Stay

The staff were very helpful & Friendly. The room was OK. The beds comfortable however the bed frames were not quite right. We both stubbed our toes several times. The hotel is aware of this problem, the frames were covered with foam padding. However I would say this was still uncomfortable. The other disappointment was there was no fridge in the room. I am an insulin dependant diabetic and not having a fridge to keep my insulin is was a headache. I have learned this is something to check in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riding the hop on hop off for one day would have been enough. We didn't find it really useful. The city has very good bus/train service. I would use public transportation only in the future. The BART to the airport is very economic and quick I would use this again.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
on the road again 42
Business
californi
Feb 22, 2013

good location hotel

the staff was good, parking was expensive $40 and was not clearly visible on my booking site prior to booking! also, no continental breakfast? and the rooms were a little small. The lobby had an antique feeling to it but the location was good and overall not a bad value for SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
Scooter440
Business
Denver, Colorado
Feb 16, 2013

Will always stay here when I am in SF--5 stars if the rating is based on staff

Great location right next to the Powell St exit for BART. Staff was exceptional. Rooms were small, but, what one should expect in the city. The standouts were location, and a great, great, great staff..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Order in room service from the restaurant next door. The food is average, but, the price is great for what you get. Typically in the city you can expect to be nailed every which way they can nail you...not here...this place is great...

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
Patr9
Business
Durham, NC
Feb 4, 2013

Business Traveler

Stayed at Hotel Unnion Square because of its proximity to a meeting I was attending. I have stayed here previously for similar reasons. The hotel is comfortable and a wonderful mix of heritage architecture and modern decor. there is plenty to do and great places to eat in the immediate area or within a comfortable walk. This makes for very nearly a perfect location. This time, however, noise was real problem - whether from the streets outside or other guests inside. Sleep was only assured between 2 - 6 AM. Maybe a different room in the building would be more peaceful. It pains me think of not going back so hoping for a quieter experience next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
dbrewster
Sa Fransisco, CA
Jan 29, 2013

Great weekend in the city!

The hotel was in a perfect location to get to the public transportation to get all around the area and to the airport. We spent time at Fisherman's Warf and the piers on the Bay side as well as time at the Pacific Ocean side. We had a dropped curling iron by the cleaning staff but the hotel took care of the issue without any hassle. The staff was pretty good except for one of the bell men, which needs to spend a little more attention on his customer relations attitude. The room was small and just a little bit difficult to get around in but otherwise comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
RichMcGeorge
Sacramento, CA
Jan 27, 2013

It's near everything and inexpensive.

If you are looking for an inexpensive nice hotel to stay in in San Francisco, stay here! We couldn't believe the rate was as low as it was for what we got. The rooms appear to be recently renovated. It was an overall good experience all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
holiday travler
Los Angles,Ca
Jan 2, 2013

Holiday escape

This hotel is very conveniently located, close to union station and plenty of shopping. However, when I arrived they couldn’t find my reservation, stating the system was down. The next morning when I went to check out they still couldn’t find my reservation to issue me a final receipt. Overall the hotel was cute; however my room was small and very awkward. It felt like they gave me the lease desirable room in the building. Fortunately it was only for one night so I didn’t make a fuss. Probably won’t stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top