Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Awesome hotel!!

This hotel gave me a great experience on my visit to SF. Why you might ask? Staff was awesome since... See full review

  • Gx110
  • Jun 7, 2014
Amazing Couples Trip

Upon arrival our first impression was amazing. the hotel was clean and the executive king suite was... See full review

  • Midwest Jennie
  • Apr 30, 2014
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psychwald
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Perfect Getaway

This was a great pick. The hotel was clean, accommodating, and in a great location just a block or so from union square. It is a short walk to Chinatown. It is right by the cable cars that can take you to the wharf. My husband and I had a great time. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is not large so not many amenities on site and the rooms are small. I didn't care about either of these things because we spent more time out and about and not a whole lot of time in our room. Our room was quiet, but I did call ahead and requested a quiet room away from the street front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YuraF
Stamford
Jan 9, 2014

Fantastic

Very good experience. Complimentary wine in the evening. Cable car street. Great views, and parks nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf and Bridge

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emily60613
chicago
Nov 24, 2013

it's a room, not much else

Meh. For the price compared to the quality/amenities, it was a total 'eh.' I could hear every footstep above me and every word/movement of the room next door. Not great as far as amenities go (no fridge, no hair dryer, no breakfast, no bar) the room had visible and large drywall patches where the paint did not nearly match the rest of the room. I'd stay somewhere else for my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristyP
Business
Lexington, KY
Nov 8, 2013

Convenient and cheap-ish

The room was great. Very much like a European hotel... Wish the bathrooms had vent fans, but the air conditioner took care of the humidity...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moose 60
Harrisburg, Pa.
Oct 22, 2013

A pleasant surprise!

Great location, clean rooms, excellent staff, perfect for our trip to San Francisco! Staff went out of their way to help, very pleasant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The WalGreens across the street has great food for your room!

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KatMS
Missoula, MT
Oct 22, 2013

Friendly staff, overall good value

The staff were very friendly, and the room was clean. The hotel has a nice charm to it and the location was absolutely perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the area directly surrounding the hotel, the restaurants were generally very packed, but if we walked 3-5 blocks south, we could get a seat in a comparable restaurant with no wait (compared to a 25 minute wait near the hotel). The general bustle slowed a bit as you wen south a few blocks, so I would advise checking out what's there.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
criscobtr
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 16, 2013

Clean, fun & simple

Nice hotel, our room opened to the street and was very loud for our four night stay. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Norrisman
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 6, 2013

Small

Great location within walking distance of great shopping and dining. Rooms are very, very small and the price is outrageous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rripman916
Roseville, CA
Sep 30, 2013

Bay Area weekend

While the hotel itself was clean and updated, this 100 year old hotel also featured thin, 100 year old walls. People talking in the hallway seemingly were in my room and the couple having intimate relations in the room next door was extremely loud due to the thin wall construction. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuhrball
Annapolis, MD
Sep 21, 2013

Charming, great location

The Hotel Union Square is in a great location, close to the Powell-Mason cable car line, and just a block and a half from Market Street, where there is a BART station and many street car and bus stops. Staff is very helpful and polite. The cleaning staff had the room ready hours before our check in. The elevator is very small and there are a few steps leading to some of the hallways. If steps are a problem for you, be sure to ask for a room on the first floor. Be sure to ask if your room has air conditioning if it's something you're used to. Coming from Maryland, we we're surprised to find that many hotels in San Francisco don't have air conditioning. The building does have a few rooms with AC, but most don't. Just know that San Francisco hotels typically don't have air conditioning. We opted for a room with A/C over a room with a window/view. We originally had a smaller room and when asked for a room with A/C we got an upgraded room with more space. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was big with a large tub and a shower head with great water pressure. The TV doesn't have many channels and the picture isn't the best, but for the other things the room offered as being nice, it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RLPC
Business
New York City
Sep 20, 2013

Decent hotel...perfect location!

This hotel is not a bad choice for staying in one of the best areas of San Francisco. You have tons of shopping and transpotation options tight outside the door of the hotel. The BART, trolleys, MUNI, and taxis are steps away from the hotel. I'm a walker myself and I was able to walk to Lombard St and North Beach from here. The hotel itself is decent but no marvel. The staff were great though. Make no mistake, it is a very quaint and decent hotel. This is an older hotelso expect to see the "oldness" when you walk around. I had no issues with my room what so ever. The price was great for the location too. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner to the right and across the street is a fantastic noodle shop called King of Noodles. I think I ate there everyday for at least one meal. And they are open late!

Back to menu Return to top