Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016

Hotel Metropolis

2 stars
View map of 25 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
9 reviews
sharp hotel

Hotel Metropolis had great style and very comfortable accommodations. The neighborhood was a bit... See full review

  • Jennie
  • Jul 8, 2007
Great spot and a great price

We stayed at the Metropolis to attend a conference up the street at the Marriott. It was very close... See full review

  • lylajens
  • Nov 18, 2012
Located in the heart of San Francisco, the Hotel Metropolis is an urban boutique hotel just steps from the Westfield San Francisco Centre, Powell Street Cable Car station, Union Square, and several restaurants and cafes. Guestrooms at this art deco inspired hotel features complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs, and an in-room coffee maker. Complimentary morning coffee and tea service is hosted daily. On site valet parking is available for a fee. The Hotel Metropolis is located three blocks from Moscone Center and is just a short drive from Pier 39, Fishermans Wharf, Financial District, Chinatown, and AT&T Park Hotel Metropolis features a 24hour business center, library, Zen Relaxation Room, and award winning Farmer Brown Restaurant famous for comforting soul food. Hotel Metropolis is a pet friendly hotel. Dogs only, one per room, maximum 40lbs, $25 non-refundable pet cleaning fee charged at check-in. Additional charges may apply as a result of excessive damages. Parking is $36.00 plus tax per night, valet parking only. Bus parking is not available. ***When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies, such as the cancellation policy and additional supplements will apply***

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metropolis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7839 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International(SFO) Oakland International (OAK)
Area description
Hotel Metropolis is in the City center, located at the intersection of Mason and Turk, at Market Street. The hotel is one block west of the Powell Street Cable Car Line, the San Francisco Shopping Center, Nordstrom's, Bloomingdales and the Powell Street BART station (very convenient if you wish to take BART from SFO or Oakland Airports to the hotel). The hotel is also very convenient to the Moscone Convention Center and Civic Center.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metropolis

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woodedisle
Business
Chicago
Apr 8, 2012

Good location in central San Francisco

Staff was attentive, location was perfect, and amenities were ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zhigang W.
Family
Houston
May 12, 2015

Family trip

The hotel is fairly close to bart station. It is very convenient for those not self-driving travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lylajens
Business
Connecticut
Nov 18, 2012

Great spot and a great price

We stayed at the Metropolis to attend a conference up the street at the Marriott. It was very close (easy walking distance), good restaurants also within walking distance. Hotel personnel were very nice and helpful, the shower was great! We had a great view. The bed had a slight divot in the center (that's my only not so great experience), otherwise everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sophie S
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Sep 28, 2012

Good location and affordable price

Great location! Bart was a block away and so were the cable cars. Great food and shopping within walking distance. Room was clean and spacious for the two of us. We didn't stay in the hotel that much only to sleep. We were always on the go. If you're looking for a clean, nice and convenient place to stay then this is the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Piu Lung
Single
Rhode Island, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Its gd hotel

the wifi signal is weak in the room , but strong in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

quite near to the union center

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trying to be fair
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Good luck!

They didn't have my reservation in the system. Thankfully they had one room available. Later that night, I had to get to a meeting and was a little sketched out by the group of weird guys hanging out around the block. I asked the front desk if they could call me a cab. He told me that I would never get one and told me to take the BART. Granted, the BART station is close and convenient, but as a female traveling alone in a new city, sometimes you just wanna take a cab. It seemed like he just dismissed me. I ended up in Oakland (my meeting was NOT in Oakland). The "breakfast" consisted of two unripened oranges and some ok coffee (no milk). Maybe you have to show up right at 7am to get the ripe ones. The business center has a fake copy of Windows. The "gym" is one treadmill (broken) and one stairstepper. But, it is the only place you can watch cable. The rooms have no air-conditioning or heating. There is a $5 "convenience fee" for using a credit card to get something from the vending machine, so bring cash. I'm not even going to chance using their "airport shuttle" to get me to my flight. Ok, there ARE some nice things about the hotel. It certainly is "boutique-y" and very cute. There is a bumping bar/restaurant in the basement, although the wait is usually really long. And it's generally pretty clean. The beds are VERY comfortable, and they provide nice toiletries. I would recommend you KNOW what you're getting into, because it is reasonably priced for a hotel downtown, and it's OK if you don't expect too much. Bottom line, the amenities/services do not match the rather beautiful decor of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City Cafe around the corner near the Powell Street Station has good, decently priced food, strong drinks, good drink specials, and a friendly staff!

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Disappointed Customer
Couples
Pasadena, CA
Aug 5, 2011

"THINK TWICE & THREE TIMES TO STAY HERE"

I had just made my reservation one night before. When I called the hotel back to ask about their parking policy, I was greeted by the most vulgar and rudest female member of their staff. I don't think any customer should be called stupid or that any question is stupid or invalid. I have every right to ask any question I like since I am paying for my stay. I cancelled my reservation after speaking to a manager who assured he would get to the bottom of this incident. I will not change my mind nor ever attempt to stay here again because I already have a bad taste of experience of their customer service. Customer beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
miami,fl
Nov 9, 2010

great location

the hotel is clean,people that work there are very helpful and nice.it is close to downtown area,bart station,cable car.to have a cafeteria should be a good idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Notthisbody
Couples
Los Angeles
Apr 11, 2010

Worked out Well

The hotel is clean, has a bit of character and is in a great location. If you need cheap digs, this works out well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is a good value for the money.

Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennie
Friends
Houston, TX
Jul 8, 2007

sharp hotel

Hotel Metropolis had great style and very comfortable accommodations. The neighborhood was a bit dodgy but there was on-site parking and I do believe our vehicle was safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect if you're taking the public transporation to and from airport as its close to BART stops and other attractions. Parking is $30 extra.

Back to menu Return to top