Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Hotel Majestic

2 stars
1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
398 reviews
charming

we've stayed in many San Fran hotels. There may have been a tear in the bathroom wall paper next to... See full review

  • Loves Architecture
  • May 20, 2013
Good value

I was in the city for a week for a conference. The hotel was in a good location downtown, walking... See full review

  • Avi prof.
  • May 3, 2013
Historic sophistication and French dining in Pacific Heights
This Pacific Heights mainstay dates back to 1902, making it one of the oldest hotels in the entire city. With distinctive Bay windows, vintage architectural details and English antiques, the Hotel Majestic San Francisco ushers guests into another era -- complete with modern conveniences such as flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Cafe Majestic, specializes in French cuisine.
Highlights
  • Period decor transports guests to another era
  • Stellar shopping, restaurants in Pacific Heights
  • Complimentary sedan service to the financial district on weekdays
Rooms

Roughly half of the Hotel Majestic San Francisco's 56 rooms are suites. Period antiques, original artwork, flat-screen TVs and monogrammed robes are standard in all rooms. Some also include mini-refrigerators, decorative fireplaces and claw-foot tubs. Many rooms offer bay windows with city-skyline views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available and guests receive nightly turndown service with freshly-baked cookies.

Features
The Hotel Majestic San Francisco was constructed in 1902 on the estate of Milton Schmidt, a turn-of-the-century railroad magnate and member of the California State Legislature. It opened as a hotel in 1904. Because the property survived the 1906 earthquake unscathed, it holds the distinction of being San Francisco's longest continuously operating hotel. Today, all guests have access to a complimentary Town Car service to the financial district on weekday mornings. Dry cleaning services are available (fees apply), as are passes to a local gym complete with Nautilus workout equipment and a pool (fees apply). The on-site restaurant, Cafe Majestic, was renovated in 2009 and re-opened with a menu that spotlights French cuisine. The eatery's lounge area offers happy hour specials. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • BART (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Heights (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The Presidio (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Two meeting rooms seat a total of 40

Hotel Majestic Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior Twin Suite. Twin beds suite NS with 32 inch HDTV HBO/ESPN Wi-Fi our-poster bed pillowtop mattress premium bedding in-room safe claw-foot bath tub Gilchrist and Soames toiletries robes boutique decor seating area mini-fridge honor bar hairdryer iron
Junior Suite
Jr Queen Suite. Queen pillowtop bed suite NS with 32 inch HDTV HBO/ESPN Wi-Fi four-poster bed premium bedding in-room safe claw-foot bath tub Gilchrist and Soames toiletries robes large bathroom boutique decor extended seating area mini-fridge honor bar h
Standard
Standard full size bed. One Full-size bed NS with 32 inch HDTV HBO/ESPN WIFI four-poster bed pillowtop mattress premium bedding in-room safe claw-foot bath tub Gilchrist and Soames toiletries robes boutique d├ęcor premium seating mini-fridge honor bar hair
Standard
Standard ADA . One Full-size bed NS with 32 inch HDTV HBO/ESPN Wi-Fi four-poster bed pillowtop mattress premium bedding in-room safe claw-foot bath tub GilchristandSoames toiletries robes boutique decor premium seating mini-fridge honor bar hairdryer iron
Standard
Standard twin beds. Two twin beds NS with 32 inch HDTV HBO/ESPN Wi-Fi four-poster bed pillowtop mattress premium bedding in-room safe claw-foot bath tub Gilchrist and Soames toiletries robes boutique decor premium seating mini-fridge honor bar hairdryer i
Standard
Standard Queen Bed. One queen bed NS with 32 inch HDTV HBO/ESPN Wi-Fi four-poster bed pillowtop mattress premium bedding in-room safe claw-foot bath tub Gilchrist and Soames toiletries robes boutique decor premium seating mini-fridge honor bar hairdryer
Suite
Master King Suite. King pillowtop bed suite NS pullout sofa with two 32 and HDTV HBO/ESPN WIFI four-poster bed in-room safe claw-foot bath tub Gilchrist and Soames toiletries robes large bathroom boutique decor sep lvg area mini-fridge honor bar hairdrye

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Majestic also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7872 -122.4254
Nearby airports
San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, S; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, SE; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japantown: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japantown: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Cafe Majestic
The romantic Cafe Majestic is located inside the Hotel Majestic at 1500 Sutter Street in the lower Pacific Heights district of San Francisco California. It it serves contemporary Italian cuisine including pastas steak and seafood dishes. Open Tuesday thro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Majestic

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 398
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Haven, CT
Jan 24, 2011

Excellent stay

Excellent stay in this charming old hotel. No issues whatsoever. Pristine room. Price seemed right. Would return and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A good walk will take you to the downtown.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Aug 18, 2010

Hotel Majestic

The hotel had a great old world feel. The rooms were tiny, but very nice. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc. It was a great place to stay for the price. The hotel was also in a nice area, so we felt comfortable walking to the nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the nearby restaurants have gift certificates on restaurants.com .

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lefse Baker Susie
Sequim, WA
Nov 30, 2010

Fabulous stay!

We traveled to San Francisco to be with family for Thanksgiving and were "THANKFUL" to find this Victorian hotel. Not only was the location great, but the staff was amazingly accommodating[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 17, 2011

Your Majesty

Incredible Staff and we loved the interior, very Victorian. Spooky, yet ambient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clearwater, FL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Amazing stay!

My husband and I were very pleased with our decision to stay at this facility. Not only is the hotel in a great location, but the staff was extremely friendly and accomadating, the rooms were small but clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I personally loved the look and feel of the hotel. It transports you to a different era. It was the perfect hotel for our need, a comfortable and safe place to lay our heads at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most try Betelnut restaurant on Union and Bucanahan. Not only was atmosphere of this restaurant lively and fun, but the food was absolutely delicious and it was not only our favorite meal, but the least expensive! Definitely order the Lettuce Crisps and have the deep fried banana for dessert!

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Sep 4, 2007

Nice historic property

The Hotel Majestic was a perfect setting for our honeymoon. It was a nice change from the modern facilities I am used to. The staff was excellent. Our basic room was small compared with today?s standard but it was decorated with what I would imagine was furniture and moldings from the 1900?s. The bathroom was well supplied with soaps, lotions, bathrobes, etc and outfitted with antique fixtures. There was, however, no exercise facility and the local gym they had an agreement with wanted to charge three times what I was told it would cost. I would recommend the Hotel Majestic especially for those who enjoy a historical experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to Filmore street passing Japan town. Filmore contains good shopping and dining.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2010

Great Ambiance & Opulence

Hotel Majestic was a wonderful first time experience it has great ambiance and opulence. The staff was friendly and very professional. The rooms are very clean, elegant, and quiet and the overall appearance of the hotel is that it is well maintained. The location was perfect in a quiet neighborhood yet only minutes away from the beautiful San Francisco City Hall and Opera House. What was also very nice is that we met other guess in the lobby and on the elevator and they were also very friendly. We met guess from all over the world such as France, Sweden, and Germany. We ate at the hotel our fist night and the service and food was great! I really enjoyed my stay and I highly reccommend this hotel. I plan a visit again very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is in a great location....check out the City Hall and surrounding areas. Beautiful city!

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Aug 18, 2010

Hotel Majestic

The hotel had a great old world feel. The rooms were tiny, but very nice. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc. It was a great place to stay for the price. The hotel was also in a nice area, so we felt comfortable walking to the nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the nearby restaurants have gift certificates on restaurants.com .

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clearwater, FL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Amazing stay!

My husband and I were very pleased with our decision to stay at this facility. Not only is the hotel in a great location, but the staff was extremely friendly and accomadating, the rooms were small but clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I personally loved the look and feel of the hotel. It transports you to a different era. It was the perfect hotel for our need, a comfortable and safe place to lay our heads at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most try Betelnut restaurant on Union and Bucanahan. Not only was atmosphere of this restaurant lively and fun, but the food was absolutely delicious and it was not only our favorite meal, but the least expensive! Definitely order the Lettuce Crisps and have the deep fried banana for dessert!

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slim Adi
Hanover, Germany
Jul 26, 2010

Fantastic stay

This was the absolutly best hotel during our 3 week trip through california. We got an unbelievable good price for the 4 days in July. The Room was really quiet, no sounds of the neighbors or cars. We found a free parking spot for the car (in Post Av) and traveled around with a 3-day muni pass ($20). The service was fantastic and dining opportunities in walking distance were easy to find (Japan Town). A great place, we'd love to come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We got a really good price for our stay Thu-Sat

Back to menu Return to top