Rate based on Check-in: May 14, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

Hotel Majestic

2 stars
1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
215 reviews
charming

we've stayed in many San Fran hotels. There may have been a tear in the bathroom wall paper next to... See full review

  • Loves Architecture
  • May 20, 2013
Good value

I was in the city for a week for a conference. The hotel was in a good location downtown, walking... See full review

  • Avi prof.
  • May 3, 2013
Historic sophistication and French dining in Pacific Heights
This Pacific Heights mainstay dates back to 1902, making it one of the oldest hotels in the entire city. With distinctive Bay windows, vintage architectural details and English antiques, the Hotel Majestic San Francisco ushers guests into another era -- complete with modern conveniences such as flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Cafe Majestic, specializes in French cuisine.
Highlights
  • Period decor transports guests to another era
  • Stellar shopping, restaurants in Pacific Heights
  • Complimentary sedan service to the financial district on weekdays
Rooms

Roughly half of the Hotel Majestic San Francisco's 56 rooms are suites. Period antiques, original artwork, flat-screen TVs and monogrammed robes are standard in all rooms. Some also include mini-refrigerators, decorative fireplaces and claw-foot tubs. Many rooms offer bay windows with city-skyline views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available and guests receive nightly turndown service with freshly-baked cookies.

Features
The Hotel Majestic San Francisco was constructed in 1902 on the estate of Milton Schmidt, a turn-of-the-century railroad magnate and member of the California State Legislature. It opened as a hotel in 1904. Because the property survived the 1906 earthquake unscathed, it holds the distinction of being San Francisco's longest continuously operating hotel. Today, all guests have access to a complimentary Town Car service to the financial district on weekday mornings. Dry cleaning services are available (fees apply), as are passes to a local gym complete with Nautilus workout equipment and a pool (fees apply). The on-site restaurant, Cafe Majestic, was renovated in 2009 and re-opened with a menu that spotlights French cuisine. The eatery's lounge area offers happy hour specials. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • BART (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Heights (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The Presidio (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Two meeting rooms seat a total of 40

Hotel Majestic Rooms

ADA Queen Room
Superior ADA approved room with queen bed
Standard Twin Beds
Standard room with two twin beds
Standard Queen Bed
Standard room with one queen bed
Junior Twin Suite
Deluxe junior suite with two twin beds
Standard Double Bed
Standard room with one double bed
Junior Queen Suite
Deluxe junior suite with one queen size bed
Master King Suite
Premuim suite with king bed and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - European
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Majestic also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7872 -122.4254
Nearby airports
(SFO), 14.00, MI;
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japantown: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japantown: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Majestic

Overall score

3.7 / 5
111 out of 215
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
One crazy night
Out of Fresno
Aug 2, 2010

Best Getaway Ever

The piers are just minutes away by car and by walking it took 15. Lots of restaurants and stores near by. The hotel is really nicely decorated. Plus the price was worth it. There is always parking outside the hotel, but the hotel does offer valet parking. There is an extra charge but all hotels around there do have charges for that service. Read the signs before picking a parking place. Beds are very comfortable, nice decor through out the Majestic. I would recommend the place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the bus route if you are going to get around San Francisco very fast from place to place.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
NJ
Aug 18, 2010

Hotel Majestic

The hotel had a great old world feel. The rooms were tiny, but very nice. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc. It was a great place to stay for the price. The hotel was also in a nice area, so we felt comfortable walking to the nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the nearby restaurants have gift certificates on restaurants.com .

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Lefse Baker Susie
Sequim, WA
Nov 30, 2010

Fabulous stay!

We traveled to San Francisco to be with family for Thanksgiving and were "THANKFUL" to find this Victorian hotel. Not only was the location great, but the staff was amazingly accommodating[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2010

Great Ambiance & Opulence

Hotel Majestic was a wonderful first time experience it has great ambiance and opulence. The staff was friendly and very professional. The rooms are very clean, elegant, and quiet and the overall appearance of the hotel is that it is well maintained. The location was perfect in a quiet neighborhood yet only minutes away from the beautiful San Francisco City Hall and Opera House. What was also very nice is that we met other guess in the lobby and on the elevator and they were also very friendly. We met guess from all over the world such as France, Sweden, and Germany. We ate at the hotel our fist night and the service and food was great! I really enjoyed my stay and I highly reccommend this hotel. I plan a visit again very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is in a great location....check out the City Hall and surrounding areas. Beautiful city!

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
I Luv The Majestic!
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 15, 2010

Wonderful Staff!!!

The staff was wonderful!! From before we even left, the staff took the time to answer our questions and give us tips about the city. The room was GREAT. The only thing we didn't love was the location. Not that great of a neighborhood but the service makes up for it. For the price....REALLY WORTH IT! I will def. stay there when I return. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New Haven, CT
Jan 24, 2011

Excellent stay

Excellent stay in this charming old hotel. No issues whatsoever. Pristine room. Price seemed right. Would return and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

A good walk will take you to the downtown.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Clearwater, FL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Amazing stay!

My husband and I were very pleased with our decision to stay at this facility. Not only is the hotel in a great location, but the staff was extremely friendly and accomadating, the rooms were small but clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I personally loved the look and feel of the hotel. It transports you to a different era. It was the perfect hotel for our need, a comfortable and safe place to lay our heads at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most try Betelnut restaurant on Union and Bucanahan. Not only was atmosphere of this restaurant lively and fun, but the food was absolutely delicious and it was not only our favorite meal, but the least expensive! Definitely order the Lettuce Crisps and have the deep fried banana for dessert!

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
know value when I see it.
San Diego, CA
May 31, 2010

Hotel Majestic San Francisco

we sat in the lobby drinking coffee every morning. Our room had a bear claw tub/shower. Bed was very confortable and room was very clean. Hotel is 100 years old but show tremendous upkeep. Twice as nice as the Hotel Del in Coronado, which is of equal age

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Slim Adi
Hanover, Germany
Jul 26, 2010

Fantastic stay

This was the absolutly best hotel during our 3 week trip through california. We got an unbelievable good price for the 4 days in July. The Room was really quiet, no sounds of the neighbors or cars. We found a free parking spot for the car (in Post Av) and traveled around with a 3-day muni pass ($20). The service was fantastic and dining opportunities in walking distance were easy to find (Japan Town). A great place, we'd love to come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We got a really good price for our stay Thu-Sat

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 22, 2011

GREAT SERVICE

I have been to San Francisco many times and this is the first time I stayed at this hotel. This is place was peaceful and the staffs was always super friendly and helpful! The location was good and the price was great! I will have to try to stay here again when I travel back to the bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little breakfast place about a 15 minutes walk away call Moulin. The place is ran by this cute old Korean couple and their daughter helps out sometimes. The food was great and the price was goooood! haha

Back to menu Return to top