Rate based on Check-in: May 14, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

Hotel Majestic

2 stars
1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
215 reviews
charming

we've stayed in many San Fran hotels. There may have been a tear in the bathroom wall paper next to... See full review

  • Loves Architecture
  • May 20, 2013
Good value

I was in the city for a week for a conference. The hotel was in a good location downtown, walking... See full review

  • Avi prof.
  • May 3, 2013
Historic sophistication and French dining in Pacific Heights
This Pacific Heights mainstay dates back to 1902, making it one of the oldest hotels in the entire city. With distinctive Bay windows, vintage architectural details and English antiques, the Hotel Majestic San Francisco ushers guests into another era -- complete with modern conveniences such as flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi Internet access. The on-site restaurant, Cafe Majestic, specializes in French cuisine.
Highlights
  • Period decor transports guests to another era
  • Stellar shopping, restaurants in Pacific Heights
  • Complimentary sedan service to the financial district on weekdays
Rooms

Roughly half of the Hotel Majestic San Francisco's 56 rooms are suites. Period antiques, original artwork, flat-screen TVs and monogrammed robes are standard in all rooms. Some also include mini-refrigerators, decorative fireplaces and claw-foot tubs. Many rooms offer bay windows with city-skyline views. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available and guests receive nightly turndown service with freshly-baked cookies.

Features
The Hotel Majestic San Francisco was constructed in 1902 on the estate of Milton Schmidt, a turn-of-the-century railroad magnate and member of the California State Legislature. It opened as a hotel in 1904. Because the property survived the 1906 earthquake unscathed, it holds the distinction of being San Francisco's longest continuously operating hotel. Today, all guests have access to a complimentary Town Car service to the financial district on weekday mornings. Dry cleaning services are available (fees apply), as are passes to a local gym complete with Nautilus workout equipment and a pool (fees apply). The on-site restaurant, Cafe Majestic, was renovated in 2009 and re-opened with a menu that spotlights French cuisine. The eatery's lounge area offers happy hour specials. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • BART (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pacific Heights (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The Presidio (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Two meeting rooms seat a total of 40

Hotel Majestic Rooms

ADA Queen Room
Superior ADA approved room with queen bed
Standard Twin Beds
Standard room with two twin beds
Standard Queen Bed
Standard room with one queen bed
Junior Twin Suite
Deluxe junior suite with two twin beds
Standard Double Bed
Standard room with one double bed
Junior Queen Suite
Deluxe junior suite with one queen size bed
Master King Suite
Premuim suite with king bed and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - European
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Majestic also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7872 -122.4254
Nearby airports
(SFO), 14.00, MI;
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japantown: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Japantown: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Majestic

Overall score

3.7 / 5
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Canada
Jan 16, 2011

Highly recommended

Choosing Majestic over similarly priced "modern" hotels turned out to be a great decision. This place is a unique, real hotel that you will remember - and not one of those large hotels with generic details that look the same no matter where in world you are. Sure, the building is old, but is old with style and in good taste. The room had a fridge, and the bed came with an old-fashioned canopy. The bathroom was bright and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
YUBA CITY
Jan 14, 2011

GREAT PRICE AND CHARMING

WE WENT TO JUST GET AWAY FOR THE NIGHT AND IT WAS A GREAT HIDE AWAY PLACE TO HANG OUT. THE ROOM WAS CHARMING AND QUITE. THE STAFF VERY HELPFUL. WE TOOK A DINNER TOUR IN THE EVENING AND HUNG OUT IN CHINA TOWN. THE NEXT DAY WE DID THE FISHERMAN'S WHARF HAND OUT AND JUST ENJOYED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

ASK THE CONCIERGE OR HELP DESK FOR MAPS AND TIPS OF PLACES TO EAT AND THINGS GOING ON WHILE YOU ARE THEIR. THEY HAVE GREAT IDEAS OF WHATS HAPPENING.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

4
Traveled for business
Business
Bryn Mawr, PA
Jan 12, 2011

Very Pleased

Worked for me...clean, friendly and WiFi worked well. The room didn't have a proper desk or a coffee-maker, unfortunately. At the price I paid this hotel was very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking distance to center

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Port St Lucie, Florida
Dec 27, 2010

Hotel Majestic

I visited San Francisco to attend the American Geophysics conference and wanted to stay in a quiet quaint older style hotel in a nice section of town. Hotel Majestic was perfect, a warm friendly staff, a clean cozy room and close to everything. I purchased a weekly transit pass and was able to get everywhere easily from the hotel. There were restaurants, coffee shops, deli's and stores all within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 15, 2010

Not so Majestic

I am a medical student from the Northeast. I was in town for a few residency interviews. The surrounding area is very quiet but there are decent restaurants and a gym on Van Ness around the corner (no fitness center in the hotel). The bus can take you all the way down to the more touristy areas. This is an average hotel as far as amenities. Most people may prefer a Holiday Inn Express or something comparable over this hotel. I chose this hotel because it has some charming art nouveau decor and I'm into that kinda thing. I had an excellent experience with the employees; very friendly and enthusiastic. I was in one of the smaller rooms. I have no idea what their suites look like. Overall, I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

Hits the spot

It's not the five star experience but they know how to treat guests, have a convenient location and there is a certain quaintness that some will find satisfying. Great neighborhood and nothing is too far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Japanese cuisine, this hotel is in a perfect location.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
Lefse Baker Susie
Sequim, WA
Nov 30, 2010

Fabulous stay!

We traveled to San Francisco to be with family for Thanksgiving and were "THANKFUL" to find this Victorian hotel. Not only was the location great, but the staff was amazingly accommodating[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Nov 29, 2010

Charming weekend hotel

Really enjoyed this charming hotel. The butterfly collection really is worth checking out. Very friendly staff got some coffee and a toasted bagel for me in the 5 minutes I had before my cab arrived. Decor could use a little upgrading but overall a classic, very ornate and lovely place. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Door cafe right around the corner is a great little spot for breakfast.

Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Nov 29, 2010

Needs a fresh up, upgrades & maintenance

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff was friendly, although this is an old building that needs some deep cleaning. The curtains, drapes and blinds were filthy. The one above the head board needed to be washed too. The daily cleaning was good, but those thing you don't mop, like decoration were disgusting. I washed my hands every time I opened the blinds every morning. They clean but they don't keep in mind things like the windows. Hotel's stuff: I have news for you! People DO USE windows, for lighting or we want to see the great San Francisco view! One of the blinds didn't go all the way down so I have to cover the window with pillows which the cleaning stuff found and put them on my bed. So from the filthy window to my bed. Horrible visual. I addressed this at the front desk twice but the blind wasn't fixed. The carpet seems to be as old as the hotel. That needs to be replaced. Those small details makes the bedroom look disgusting. If they cleaned those windows (drapes, curtains and blinds) and change the carpet, it would make your stay much more pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Majestic

Reviewer score

5
ABCEDAN
Arcadia, CA
Nov 27, 2010

Nice experience

the hotel is quiet, and very nice place.I like the interior design, quiet european, old style and you feel like in british.even the painting on the elvator is interesting.staff there are nice and when I ask for tour information the man called [...] there helped me a lot.the room is quiet cute, but kinda small.kinda harry potter style interrior design but we liked that, its so different than other modern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top