Rate based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
28 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel with exceptional service

This boutique hotel is on the border of Nob Hill and the Tenderloin district, within a 15 minute... See full review

  • Michelle C.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Great Hotel

So Fun!!! Love the wine, live music hour every evening. Great staff, fun and helpful. Nice rooms,... See full review

  • kelly p.
  • Jan 8, 2015
Hotel Carlton is certified by the City of San Francisco as a Green business and is carbon neutral. Solar panels were recently installed on the roof. Saha, the hotel's restaurant, is now Zagat-rated Excellent. Complementary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The Carlton is 100% non-smoking and pet-friendly. Rooms are FEMA approved.

The hotel is ideally located near shopping, theaters, restaurants, and night life. 161 rooms are available with either one queen, one king or two full beds. Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families. Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 28
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carlos Garbiras
Family
San Diego, CA
Nov 27, 2012

Thin walls

The hotel was decent. The noise was unbearable. I stayed here two nights and both nights the sound was very bad. The first night I called the front desk because I could listen to what was going on on both sides of my room. I guess is a good hotel if you want to party but if you want to relax in between days this hotel is not a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ducksltd
Family
Park, CO
Dec 4, 2011

Friendly, helpful

Staff helpful and welcoming! Good food and adventure close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cas777
Family
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Nov 26, 2011

okay but we would not go back...

location is okay but the rate is too high for what it is... we barely slept because the heater was making terrible noise all night (and the staff said it was not possible to control at the room level)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling trio
Family
new zealand
Dec 18, 2009

Great value for money

Safe location, cleanliness and friendliness were all things we wanted in a hotel with our young family and this hotel delivered in all areas and more. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for what we wanted with a reasonable price. IF travelling through San Fran again we would not hesitate to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bike across the Golden Gate bridge. An experience well worth it!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fountain Valley , CA
Jul 13, 2009

great value for the money

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, nice firm beds (which we like), free wine tasting every evening, overall great experience. This is the second time we have been there and will definitely go back again. Only downer is parking at the hotel is a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top