Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deni
Business
Colorado
Sep 8, 2009

SF's Hotel Carton

The hotel was great-would have been better w/air conditioner and a small refridgerator. There are many dining options within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

AFTER I booked my 'Cheap of the Week' package deal that included air fare, car rental, and hotel stay. A friend who lives near San Francisco mentioned that some hotels in the city don't have parking facilities. So, after looking in the hotel's small print section of it's website I learned that there was no on-site parking, and to keep my rental car at the hotel via valet service, it would cost an additional $30+ per day. After paying another $138 for a 4 night stay, my 'cheap' trip wasn't so cheap!!!Read all of the fine print BEFORE you book your economical trip!!!!!!Shame on Cheap Tickets for including a rental car in a package where the hotel it listed charges extra to accomodate.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jul 12, 2011

Good location for the price

Great room, nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheers Drew
Business
Hampton, VA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Hotel Carlton is a great deal

I found this hotel last minute at a discounted rate on Orbitz. The Hotel Carlton is in a nice location near the Nob Hill area, so you can walk to a lot of restaurants and bars, including Union Square. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. There aren't a lot of amenities, but there is serviceable internet. The staff was great and very helpful. Mass transit stops are just a few blocks away too. Overall this hotel was perfect for our trip and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to pay an arm and a leg for a good hotel in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmarkham
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Nice for the price

The staff was friendly and quite helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean and well maintained. I will be honest, my favorite part was the complimentary wine social each evening!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super nice place to eat named noble hill grill food was very good

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolbEDD
Business
North Carolina
Oct 18, 2011

Great City; Good Hotel

Our hotel was more than satisfactory. It had an Arabic Fusion restaurant and that was fantastic but hotel could have been more descriptive about the decor, which was more Morroccan in theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theparanoids
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 22, 2011

Great deal!

Clean, pretty room, perfect location within walking distance to virtually everything in the city, nice staff, nice atmosphere, Valet parking is 30 usd/day, self parking for 20/day across the street. Great value for a hotel in the middle of SF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeKilo
Business
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Nov 27, 2011

A place to feel well

I liked the tasteful, out of the ordinary decorated room. Try to get a room to the back-front for quiteness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ducksltd
Business
Park, CO
Dec 4, 2011

Friendly, helpful

Staff helpful and welcoming! Good food and adventure close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stenroland
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Dec 13, 2011

Good Hotel

The Hotel is not new but in good shape. The room was not the largest one we have stayed in - but everything was in good working order. The staff was fantastic. The resturant in the hotel had fantastic food for dinner - but could have bee better for breakfast. The location was good - a few blocks from Union Square and also to the cable car to Fishermans Warf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keeperofthefluffybot
Business
Swindon, United Kingdom
Jan 4, 2012

Lovely hotel and great staff

From the minute we booked in to the last day we were there the staff were wonderful. The room was clean and the bed better than our own (that's a first!). Around 5.30 to 6 you could partake in a free glass of wine daily which was a pleasant treat. Easy walking access to China Town. We walked every where from the hotel - to the Golden Gate Bridge and pier 39; but if you're not keen the local bus services were good and the Cable Car's a fun ride. We did try the Restaurant (Moroccan), but I was disappointed as the flavours of my meal (Orange Chicken) not as flavoursome as I would have expected it to be; which was a real shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top