Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
312 reviews
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience See full review

  • xiaolei chen
  • Feb 13, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Oct 31, 2009

Will go back there again!

I've been to San Francisco several times but the front desk guys were the best here! Very friendly & helpful whenever we had questions. Great location & a very nice hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chapeltpf
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28, 2013

Great Value

This was my second stay at Hotel Carlton and the service is impeccable. The front desk will have you cracking up. He also suggested cheaper overnight parking down the block..Save Money! The complimentary wine hour was a great way for us to start off the evening....save more money. Clean room, comfy bed, free internet....I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee`
Vancouver
Jul 3, 2010

Awesome hotel!!

Hotel Carlton was great! Awesome location, just a short walk from Union Square. Staff were among the friendliest ever, and I've travelled a lot. Very helpful in orienting us to the city, providing maps, suggesting places to visit, and making us aware of neighbourhoods to stay away from. I was staying with my brother and they happily changed us from a room with one bed to a room with two. Even offered us free alcohol! Decor was charming - decorated with travel photographs and relics. VERY comfortable beds! Only downfall was our room overlooked Sutter Street, and we sleep with the windows open, so it was kind of loud through the night at times. But overall a great experience, I will absolutely stay here next time I'm in SF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take transit. First time I was in SF was for a conference, and I had a driver. But it isn't necessary. BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) is cheap and convenient. The buses are great for getting around downtown, and the subway is a lightening fast way to get to the airport, or surrounding boroughs (ie. Berkeley).

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scientifick
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 31, 2012

Great Place

The Hotel Carlton is what my fiancee' and I would call a "boutique" hotel. If you're looking for modern, this is not the place. But if you like antique and a hotel from an era of American History, this is the place. The contours and interior architecture of the hotel is beautiful and causes a sense of serenity. By the way, they seem to love to give complimentary bottles of wine to their guests. The hotel staff was very pleasant and easy going. I didn't experience one staff member without a smile on his/her face. The only thing I would say as a "negative" is that if you don't have to rent a vehicle, DON'T. Parking costs are horrendous. I spent $34 bucks per night to have our vehicle valet parked. And "valet" is the ONLY option. Just so those of you who are considering this hotel as a place to stay, don't let my parking story turn you off... .It's like this at EVERY downtown hotel. It honestly would've been cheaper and better if I just relied on the cable cars and taxis for transportation. But minus the parking fees, it was a great stay at a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommytimetraveler
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jan 30, 2013

A gem of a hotel

This place is adorable, fun and in the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, FL
Oct 30, 2009

Business Trip

This was a very nice and confortable hotel. The staff was exceptional and very willing to provide directions, assistance and suggestions of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Jul 25, 2011

excellent value and service

An older facility in excellent, clean condition; very much like a quality European hotel. Every staff member was helpful and pleasant. It's not a modern place, but it has many other charms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Fillmore District shopping and dining.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen, world traveller
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 8, 2010

Cute, boutique horel with international

This hotel is located in a safe neighborhood, within a short walking distance to restaurants and shops. Very friendly staff. There is a free wine reception with music which, was an added bonus. The rooms were very clean and quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suntraveler
Oak Park, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Great San Francisco Hotel for the weekend.

We chose this hotel for convenience to our son's apartment in Nob Hill, good reviews and for price point. It was about a 5 block walk to his apartment, a 5 or 6 block walk to Union Square and 2 blocks to the shopping and restaurants on Polk Street. The location was great for us and we liked that it was an older, boutique hotel. My husband and I got in around 1:30 on Friday afternoon and we were able to check into our room early. It was clean and sunny with a nice flat screen TV and coffee/tea maker. There was a hair dryer in the closet and shampoo/soap/conditioner dispenser in the tub/shower combo. The staff poured wine from 5:30 to 6:00 pm in the lobby. It was a great way to relax in front of the fireplace before going out to dinner and to meet some other travelers; they even had music. The staff was great, helping with directions and restaurants and had a great sense of humor. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (Saha), but I heard it was good and nice to have that option available. There were some reviews about noise, but we did not experience any problem. That said, if there was a noisy neighbor, the walls would not have been that sound proof. We also did not need heat or air conditioning, since temperatures were in the high 40's to high 50's. They do post quiet hours from 10:00 pm until 8:00 am. Beds and linens were comfortable and the room had a desk, sitting chair and small table. Enjoyed our stay there. If you like blues, definitely check out Biscuits and Blues near Union Square on Mason. Great show (Earl Jones), intimate venue where you can see from every table and good food (Southern influence). Coffee shop on Polk street-- Quetzal Internet Cafe had great fair trade coffee and a nice selection of breakfast and lunch items (order at the counter), though I just stopped for coffee. Indian buffet for lunch hit the spot- also on Polk--Darbar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Blues and Biscuits for Blues entertainment--loved it!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee`
Vancouver
Jul 3, 2010

Awesome hotel!!

Hotel Carlton was great! Awesome location, just a short walk from Union Square. Staff were among the friendliest ever, and I've travelled a lot. Very helpful in orienting us to the city, providing maps, suggesting places to visit, and making us aware of neighbourhoods to stay away from. I was staying with my brother and they happily changed us from a room with one bed to a room with two. Even offered us free alcohol! Decor was charming - decorated with travel photographs and relics. VERY comfortable beds! Only downfall was our room overlooked Sutter Street, and we sleep with the windows open, so it was kind of loud through the night at times. But overall a great experience, I will absolutely stay here next time I'm in SF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take transit. First time I was in SF was for a conference, and I had a driver. But it isn't necessary. BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) is cheap and convenient. The buses are great for getting around downtown, and the subway is a lightening fast way to get to the airport, or surrounding boroughs (ie. Berkeley).

Back to menu Return to top