Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
219 reviews
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience See full review

  • xiaolei chen
  • Feb 13, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
galba
Business
tel aviv, israel
Sep 27, 2012

great atmosphere, nice staff, great room and location.

a very nice welcome-nicest staff ever! a clean and comftable room, close to the center and all the places to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuke H
Business
San Francisco
Nov 18, 2012

Good hotel for traveler

Staff there had a very good sense of humor, they provided a comfortable atmosphere. I stayed 3 nights, it's a good place not only for its convenient location, but also for its price. Good choice for students and travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Anna
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 10, 2012

Great value for the money

Great staff, no views but location good - in the center; hotel has a little rustic atmosphere but it is walking distance from the Union Square; lots of caffes and restaurants in the vicinity; expensive parking - use the one across the street ($20 / day) versus hotel's valet parking at $38.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachqueen2
Business
Bakersfield, California
Dec 17, 2012

Lucky to stay at the Carlton

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Carlton. I arrived around 11 pm and presented myself to the hotel consierge. I gave him my name and the paperwork from the online travel company I had booked through and he told me that he did not have any reservation. I told him I had booked through a popular travel booking site and he again said that I was not listed. Luckily, the hotel was not full and he was able to give me a room and honor the travel site receipt. I was up and out early the next morning with no complaints about the hotel; I was only upset that the travel booking site had not provided the hotel with my reservation. Why is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffv5bbb
Business
Seattle, Washington
Dec 27, 2012

Nice place to stay

the guy at the front desk is really funny and helpful. they even provided free mini fridge. Besides the amenities are a bit old, everything's perfect here at hotel carlton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scientifick
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 31, 2012

Great Place

The Hotel Carlton is what my fiancee' and I would call a "boutique" hotel. If you're looking for modern, this is not the place. But if you like antique and a hotel from an era of American History, this is the place. The contours and interior architecture of the hotel is beautiful and causes a sense of serenity. By the way, they seem to love to give complimentary bottles of wine to their guests. The hotel staff was very pleasant and easy going. I didn't experience one staff member without a smile on his/her face. The only thing I would say as a "negative" is that if you don't have to rent a vehicle, DON'T. Parking costs are horrendous. I spent $34 bucks per night to have our vehicle valet parked. And "valet" is the ONLY option. Just so those of you who are considering this hotel as a place to stay, don't let my parking story turn you off... .It's like this at EVERY downtown hotel. It honestly would've been cheaper and better if I just relied on the cable cars and taxis for transportation. But minus the parking fees, it was a great stay at a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beckhamli925
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 1, 2013

good location

walking distance to shopping mall and Chinatown, civic center, good loction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Burbank
Business
Burbank
Jan 2, 2013

Great Choice

Room was clean and very comfortable. Great lobby and friendly staff. Easy to walk to places, immediate neighborhood OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobino
Business
NYC, NY
Jan 22, 2013

Great location and comfortable room

I really enjoyed staying here. The room was comfortable; the location was great; the staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad and Son Mac
Business
Anderson, Indiana
Feb 4, 2013

We loved our stay!

We really enjoyed staying here and would do so again. The room was very clean and comfortable. A nice urban grocery store is conveniently located just down the street and it offered most everything you would want or need. We spent most of our time downtown and usually walked back and forth both morning and night. The walk typically took 15-20 minutes or so and was a great way to get the feel of the city. The hotel is in a decent neighborhood and we felt safe. Gio, who works the front desk, is very funny, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk or take the bus (#27) downtown instead of a cab.

Back to menu Return to top