Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob from St. Pete
Business
Saint Petersburg, FL
May 13, 2012

Great stay!

The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. Very accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heat Wave escape artist
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Jul 9, 2012

Great Customer Service

We loved this hotel and the staff. Very friendly and accomodating. Vehicle valet service was great - our car was retrieved promptly and waiting at the front door whenever we called. Hotel is a small boutique facility that is old but charming and authentic San Francisco experience. We enjoyed the afternoon wine receptions and meals in the Saha restaurant. Location was ideal for our needs. Everything was within walking distance and neighborhood was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the vehicular valet service, it saved us time and hassles and was comparably priced to parking ourselves in a nearby garage.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
galba
Business
tel aviv, israel
Sep 27, 2012

great atmosphere, nice staff, great room and location.

a very nice welcome-nicest staff ever! a clean and comftable room, close to the center and all the places to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuke H
Business
San Francisco
Nov 18, 2012

Good hotel for traveler

Staff there had a very good sense of humor, they provided a comfortable atmosphere. I stayed 3 nights, it's a good place not only for its convenient location, but also for its price. Good choice for students and travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Anna
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 10, 2012

Great value for the money

Great staff, no views but location good - in the center; hotel has a little rustic atmosphere but it is walking distance from the Union Square; lots of caffes and restaurants in the vicinity; expensive parking - use the one across the street ($20 / day) versus hotel's valet parking at $38.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachqueen2
Business
Bakersfield, California
Dec 17, 2012

Lucky to stay at the Carlton

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Carlton. I arrived around 11 pm and presented myself to the hotel consierge. I gave him my name and the paperwork from the online travel company I had booked through and he told me that he did not have any reservation. I told him I had booked through a popular travel booking site and he again said that I was not listed. Luckily, the hotel was not full and he was able to give me a room and honor the travel site receipt. I was up and out early the next morning with no complaints about the hotel; I was only upset that the travel booking site had not provided the hotel with my reservation. Why is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffv5bbb
Business
Seattle, Washington
Dec 27, 2012

Nice place to stay

the guy at the front desk is really funny and helpful. they even provided free mini fridge. Besides the amenities are a bit old, everything's perfect here at hotel carlton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scientifick
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 31, 2012

Great Place

The Hotel Carlton is what my fiancee' and I would call a "boutique" hotel. If you're looking for modern, this is not the place. But if you like antique and a hotel from an era of American History, this is the place. The contours and interior architecture of the hotel is beautiful and causes a sense of serenity. By the way, they seem to love to give complimentary bottles of wine to their guests. The hotel staff was very pleasant and easy going. I didn't experience one staff member without a smile on his/her face. The only thing I would say as a "negative" is that if you don't have to rent a vehicle, DON'T. Parking costs are horrendous. I spent $34 bucks per night to have our vehicle valet parked. And "valet" is the ONLY option. Just so those of you who are considering this hotel as a place to stay, don't let my parking story turn you off... .It's like this at EVERY downtown hotel. It honestly would've been cheaper and better if I just relied on the cable cars and taxis for transportation. But minus the parking fees, it was a great stay at a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beckhamli925
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 1, 2013

good location

walking distance to shopping mall and Chinatown, civic center, good loction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Burbank
Business
Burbank
Jan 2, 2013

Great Choice

Room was clean and very comfortable. Great lobby and friendly staff. Easy to walk to places, immediate neighborhood OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top