Rate based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
28 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel with exceptional service

This boutique hotel is on the border of Nob Hill and the Tenderloin district, within a 15 minute... See full review

  • Michelle C.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Great Hotel

So Fun!!! Love the wine, live music hour every evening. Great staff, fun and helpful. Nice rooms,... See full review

  • kelly p.
  • Jan 8, 2015
Hotel Carlton is certified by the City of San Francisco as a Green business and is carbon neutral. Solar panels were recently installed on the roof. Saha, the hotel's restaurant, is now Zagat-rated Excellent. Complementary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The Carlton is 100% non-smoking and pet-friendly. Rooms are FEMA approved.

The hotel is ideally located near shopping, theaters, restaurants, and night life. 161 rooms are available with either one queen, one king or two full beds. Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families. Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xiaolei chen
Couples
shanghai
Feb 13, 2014

good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Niners fan
Couples
NJ
Jan 17, 2012

Amazing value, comfort and cleanliness. WILL BE BACK!

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights and were thrilled with this hotel on all levels. The location is right in the heart of the city, a short walk to Nob Hill, Pac Heights, you name it. Central to everything and a safe neighborhood. The staff was amazing. Very accommodating: always was available to help with info, held our bags after we checked out until we left for the airport, printed our boarding passes before we departed, arranged a shuttle and did it all with a smile and a good sense of humor. The room itself:. Very quaint and CLEAN- my number one priority when I travel. This place was somewhere you felt very comfortable resting your head. Room was a bit smaller but in a good way. Not cramped at all, it felt cozy and made us feel right at home. The complimentary wine in the lobby every night was very enjoyable and was just another bonus this hotel offered. This place was tremendous and great in terms of value. We didn't get to try the restaurant that is housed within the hotel, but it looked great. There's always next time! Next time I'm in the city, this will be one of the first places I check availability for. I'm very particular when it comes to staying in hotels and do a lot of research. This one passes with flying colors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine L.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Pleasant surprise!

A very charming building, a little off the beaten path but worth it considering the staff. From the front desk, to the gentleman handing me a glass of free wine...the biggest surprise was how friendly and human the cleaning staff was in the morning! Never experienced such an honestly lovely hotel staff, without pretense. Looking forward to next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kelly p.
Couples
seattle
Jan 8, 2015

Great Hotel

So Fun!!! Love the wine, live music hour every evening. Great staff, fun and helpful. Nice rooms, good hot water and pressure, decorated with real art instead of horrible regular hotel art, great colors, comfy bed. Food was delicious too. The neighborhood might not be right for all, but is close to everything if you are a walker. It's just that for a few blocks around the hotel you are in the tenderloin district and it can be a bit shady. I am from Chicago so it didn't bug me. Two blocks in any direction you are out of it too, and if you are planning on driving around it won't matter. I will never stay anywhere else when in San Fran again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle C.
Couples
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Fantastic boutique hotel with exceptional service

This boutique hotel is on the border of Nob Hill and the Tenderloin district, within a 15 minute walk from Union Square. This hotel is out of the tourist area, but walking distance to great restaurants, bars and attractions. From the minute we checked in, we were given exceptional service - from a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary to the restaurant recommendations. We also enjoyed the complimentary wine at their happy hour, accompanied by live music in the lobby. My only hesitation in staying here would be in the summer, as the rooms don't have air conditioning. We will definitely be back on our next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GradGirl
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 21, 2010

Would definitely stay here again

The Hotel Carlton is situated just a short walk away from Union Square in the heart of downtown. However, it's also far enough away that you can get away during those hectic rush hour periods. The staff are also wonderful and will help you find your way around the city. The clerk I spoke to directed me to a fabulous restaurant that turned out to be the best meal I had in San Francisco. There are free wine tastings every evening in the lobby, as well as live music that ranges from classical string quartets to funky keyboards. I really loved the elevators too. They are decorated with maps and pictures from places all around the world (that's the theme of the Hotel Carlton). One last note: the coffee in the room is actually tasty, which is not something I can say for any other hotel I've stayed at. I would definitely stay here again, and you should too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Union Square to have a delicious dinner at John's Grill. I had Red Snapper and my fiance had a delicious steak. The atmosphere is cozy, and you can dress up or down. Top notch. www.johnsgrill.com/

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling trio
Family
new zealand
Dec 18, 2009

Great value for money

Safe location, cleanliness and friendliness were all things we wanted in a hotel with our young family and this hotel delivered in all areas and more. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for what we wanted with a reasonable price. IF travelling through San Fran again we would not hesitate to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bike across the Golden Gate bridge. An experience well worth it!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 21, 2007

Very Friendly

The Carlton was very comfortable. I truly liked the pillows I alway have trouble with hotel pillows being to hard but the the pillows were great and I did not get a stiff neck Ya! The only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom did not have much counter space. Oh, I have to say that with cell phones, computers,and cameras we had plenty of outlets thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there is a wonderful dining right in the hotel

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My treat to myself
Single
Seattle
Feb 3, 2014

Elegant Hotel

This hotel was a very uniquely designed and elegant hotel. My room was clean and sharp in design. The restaurant Saha, which is located in the hotel, is a lovely place , the atmosphere is warm and the food is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonder the hood and you'll find something good

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karoboo
Friends
LA
Mar 31, 2014

Cute, friendly, basic but convenient

This hotel ticks all the right boxes, the staff are amazing and will bend over backwards to help you. The rooms are small and basic but very clean and have everything you need. The hotel's location is perfect and situated right next to a bar and lots of great restaurants. Highly recommend hotel Carlton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fly bar next door, cheap beers and cocktails, check out their happy hour

Back to menu Return to top