Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
221 reviews
Nice hotel

I would deffinitly stay there again. Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location and good price. See full review

  • Gizinha
  • Nov 17, 2014
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roadtripper J
Business
Minneapolis
Jan 12, 2014

Cool place / Great staff!

We loved this place. They have an extremely helpful and fun staff. The lobby has lots of fun things to look at from various parts of the world and they even serve free wine in the evenings. Our room was comfortable and clean with plenty of room. The bathroom is a little small, but not bad. Valet parking is expensive, but it seems like most parking is expensive in SanFran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xiaolei chen
Business
shanghai
Feb 13, 2014

good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jakoa Dudley
Business
Orlando,Fl
Apr 14, 2014

Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 21, 2007

Very Friendly

The Carlton was very comfortable. I truly liked the pillows I alway have trouble with hotel pillows being to hard but the the pillows were great and I did not get a stiff neck Ya! The only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom did not have much counter space. Oh, I have to say that with cell phones, computers,and cameras we had plenty of outlets thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there is a wonderful dining right in the hotel

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling trio
Business
new zealand
Dec 18, 2009

Great value for money

Safe location, cleanliness and friendliness were all things we wanted in a hotel with our young family and this hotel delivered in all areas and more. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for what we wanted with a reasonable price. IF travelling through San Fran again we would not hesitate to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bike across the Golden Gate bridge. An experience well worth it!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GradGirl
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 21, 2010

Would definitely stay here again

The Hotel Carlton is situated just a short walk away from Union Square in the heart of downtown. However, it's also far enough away that you can get away during those hectic rush hour periods. The staff are also wonderful and will help you find your way around the city. The clerk I spoke to directed me to a fabulous restaurant that turned out to be the best meal I had in San Francisco. There are free wine tastings every evening in the lobby, as well as live music that ranges from classical string quartets to funky keyboards. I really loved the elevators too. They are decorated with maps and pictures from places all around the world (that's the theme of the Hotel Carlton). One last note: the coffee in the room is actually tasty, which is not something I can say for any other hotel I've stayed at. I would definitely stay here again, and you should too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Union Square to have a delicious dinner at John's Grill. I had Red Snapper and my fiance had a delicious steak. The atmosphere is cozy, and you can dress up or down. Top notch. www.johnsgrill.com/

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngusF
Business
Berlin, MD 21811, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Wonderful value, great staff

Bed was extremely comfortable, the location very convenient for Union Square without the high price and the reception staff just excellent. I had a small problem with the room which could not be fixed immediately and the reception host arranged for another room immediately. Breakfast staff great, quick service, tasty food.Bathroom a tad small and no Golf Channel on TV, otherwise perfect! Thanks Carlton!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Niners fan
Business
NJ
Jan 17, 2012

Amazing value, comfort and cleanliness. WILL BE BACK!

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights and were thrilled with this hotel on all levels. The location is right in the heart of the city, a short walk to Nob Hill, Pac Heights, you name it. Central to everything and a safe neighborhood. The staff was amazing. Very accommodating: always was available to help with info, held our bags after we checked out until we left for the airport, printed our boarding passes before we departed, arranged a shuttle and did it all with a smile and a good sense of humor. The room itself:. Very quaint and CLEAN- my number one priority when I travel. This place was somewhere you felt very comfortable resting your head. Room was a bit smaller but in a good way. Not cramped at all, it felt cozy and made us feel right at home. The complimentary wine in the lobby every night was very enjoyable and was just another bonus this hotel offered. This place was tremendous and great in terms of value. We didn't get to try the restaurant that is housed within the hotel, but it looked great. There's always next time! Next time I'm in the city, this will be one of the first places I check availability for. I'm very particular when it comes to staying in hotels and do a lot of research. This one passes with flying colors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PDX CPA
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 9, 2012

Great place to stay!

We spent the 4th of July holiday at the Hotel Carlton and couldn't have been happier. The staff was amazing, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect. On top of that, the complimentary nightly wine was a wonderful touch. We would gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berting
Business
North Hollywood, Los Angeles
Aug 11, 2012

Very good couple's family getaway

On the day we arrived we were received very well by asian american staff. The following day we were oriented excellently by largely filipino american staff on places we wanted to go to around san francisco downtown like golden gate bridge, chinatown, union square, fisherman's wharf and ferry boats. The shuttle white caucasian conscientious bus driver comfortably brought us to the domestic/international airport very safely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was the best location for a hotel to check in at a very reasonably good price.

Back to menu Return to top