Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolbEDD
Business
North Carolina
Oct 18, 2011

Great City; Good Hotel

Our hotel was more than satisfactory. It had an Arabic Fusion restaurant and that was fantastic but hotel could have been more descriptive about the decor, which was more Morroccan in theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmarkham
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Nice for the price

The staff was friendly and quite helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean and well maintained. I will be honest, my favorite part was the complimentary wine social each evening!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Super nice place to eat named noble hill grill food was very good

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheers Drew
Business
Hampton, VA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Hotel Carlton is a great deal

I found this hotel last minute at a discounted rate on Orbitz. The Hotel Carlton is in a nice location near the Nob Hill area, so you can walk to a lot of restaurants and bars, including Union Square. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. There aren't a lot of amenities, but there is serviceable internet. The staff was great and very helpful. Mass transit stops are just a few blocks away too. Overall this hotel was perfect for our trip and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to pay an arm and a leg for a good hotel in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VtaCA
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Oct 9, 2011

go for it

well-situated, adequate facilities and amenities, good value relative to other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
astin2006
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

For those that don't want any amenities...

Hotel check in is 3pm, we had dto wait til 4pm after arriving at 11:30. There is no A/C, but is cool enough with the fan in the room if you sleep in your birthday suit. Staff was informativie, but location could have been a bit more desirable. Two computers for internet access, but nothing special overall. I would probably opt to stay somewhere closer to union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the bus pass that is about $21 per person, but allows you to take all the public transportaion at a much cheaper cost thatn taking taxis and trolleys everywhere.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Casbear
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Excellent, great get away with a friend.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned well every day and the meal we had there was very good. The wine and music in the early evening was a nice plus too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 25, 2011

excellent value and service

An older facility in excellent, clean condition; very much like a quality European hotel. Every staff member was helpful and pleasant. It's not a modern place, but it has many other charms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Fillmore District shopping and dining.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric Bryant
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jul 24, 2011

A Joie De NIghtmare Hotel

One of the worst experiences by far at a hotel. Got to the hotel super tired and ready to enjoy our vacation at which time we were greeted by [...] at the front desk. We told him we were there to check-in at which time he told us he had no reservations or confirmations that we had booked a room, apparently [...] never sent the confirmation, admittedly not his fault but instead of taking the initiative as he nothing else to do he sent me on my way telling me to [...] figure it out!!! An hour later, starving and tired[...], at my wits end, I approach [...] and with a little angst get him to call them, he gets a hold of them in less than five minutes and we get our room but let me tell you it was the nightmare from hell and the worst customer service on behalf of Hotel Carlton [...]. Other than that the room was nice and a good size BUT the walls were PAPER thin, we could hear every word that our neighbors spoke and all of there music AND the shower hose had a huge hole in it and when we requested it be fixed while we were out it never got fixed. To add this hotel is very close to a very sketchy area, i wouldnt bring your kids or family around here at all, there and literally prostitutes on the corner half a block down every night!!!STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, MN
Jul 21, 2011

An enjoyable stay

Hotel Carlton was a fine place to stay while enjoying SF. It is a smaller hotel with 'character', not like the large corporate hotels. Price was quite reasonable; staff was very cordial. If anything was not perfect, it might be that the location was difficult to walk from BART pulling luggage. It seemed about 10 blocks and much of that uphill. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spk495
Business
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2011

A fine hotel for any occasion

I was in SF for a professional trade show, booked late and was on a tight budget. Carlton came up as the most reasonably priced and pretty well rated hotel located within walking distance of the Moscone center. All in all it turned out to be a very good choice: welcoming and forthcoming staff, very clean room, excellent bed and a lot of dining options within 2-3 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top