Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Hotel Bijou

2 stars
111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Great place in a central location

You don't get much more central than this! You're right next to Union Square and a BART station and... See full review

  • jonflaat
  • Jun 3, 2014
Diamond in the rough area

Hotel Bijou is a boutique type hotel which is in a borderline area with many homeless people and a... See full review

  • Dutchtreat
  • Oct 26, 2014
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, the hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. The hotel even has a mini movie theater in the lobby showing a nightly double feature of San Francisco-based movies. Each of the 65 comfortable guest rooms is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides the guests with the most interesting San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. Mornings at Hotel Bijou on waking up to coffee, tea and pastries(surcharge). Then step out the door and head 4 blocks north to the famed Union Square, which is San Francisco's central shopping, theatre and hotel district. Hotel Bijou is the most desirably stylish of all the boutique and small hotels in San Francisco. Adorned with fashionable touches of refined Hollywood glamour, the hotel is the perfect place to stay for those enamored with the power and prestige of the film industry. Petit Theater is the mini movie theater and is free for guests. Showing nightly double features of San Francisco-based movies, the hotel provides an entertaining environment for guests to enjoy. The hotel also offers, high speed Internet access - complimentary, handicap rooms, wireless Internet, smoke free property, free nightly double feature, complete concierge service,wine reception at check in time,same day laundry service and valet parking - $32 per day plus city tax, extra tax applies for oversized vehicles. Pet Policy: $25 pet cleaning fee per stay

Hotel Bijou Rooms

2 Twins
This jewel toned guestroom with two twin beds, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.
2 Doubles
This jewel toned guestroom with two double beds, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.
1 Queen
This jewel toned guestroom with one-queen bed, a two-line phone with voicemail and data port, cable TV, full tub and shower, iron and board, writing desk, electronic lock, free double feature nightly in the Petit Theatre Bijou, featuring movies filmed in San Francisco. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Bijou also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7845 -122.4096
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, Oakland International Airport and Mineta San Jose International Airport.
Area description
Barely a 15 minute drive from San Francisco International Airport and 4 blocks south of Union Square, Hotel Bijou is the most affordable and centrally located of all the hotels close to Market Street. Within walking distance of the hotel you'll find over 100 restaurants, coffeehouses and nightclubs, and more than 100 unique shops and galleries. The Westfield Mall is only 2 short blocks west, Moscone Center is 5 blocks west, and a quick drive can take you to either the Financial District, Yerba Buena Gardens, North Beach, Chinatown or the famous Pier 39.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Bijou

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 59
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jonflaat
Business
Davis, CA
Jun 3, 2014

Great place in a central location

You don't get much more central than this! You're right next to Union Square and a BART station and you're within walking distance of everything else. The room was clean and comfortable and exceeded my expectations. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating and overall, this was a very good hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy Vegetarian Restaurant in Chinatown has amazing food at an affordable price!

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling Dutch Family
Business
Dover , UK
Jun 2, 2013

Not what we expected

Check in was humorous, the staff provided us with all we needed to know for helping us get about the next day. The d├ęcor looks a little drab and it is in need of refurbishment throughout. The room was smaller than anticipated and facilities limited, we must have read the wrong review page previously... A big plus it close to transport and shops which made up for the annoying other things. So getting to the cable car was easy (5 minutes) . Would I stay again? the answer is no, this is not a criticism of the hotel I wouldn't choose a 2* hotel as normal practice. If your travelling on a budget and there was only 2 of you this would most probably suit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are there for a day or more get yourself a MUNI VISITOR PASS covers, tram bus and bart and good value.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashi
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Not worth the money! Awful location!

This is one of the old hotels near SF downtown but maybe one of the worst to stay. The location is dreadful: several poor people live around the hotel and the area doesn't seem to be safe at all. The hotel is too old: you probably cannot sleep without earplugs since the hotel is faced to two busy streets and the windows are awful. I can't say much about the amenities. I've never been in a hotel without coffeemaker (except in Vegas) and have never seen a maid leaving a room without putting new soaps and shampoo while all are used. The room was relatively clean. The staff are not professional and do not do their best to make the hotel a comfortable place for you. I feel I totally wasted that hundred bucks per night in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several bus stops. One of them is even in a route to the airport (samtrans 292), which takes about 40 mins.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heidi jean
Business
san francisco
Apr 3, 2012

eclectic jewel in a tough area

I was very happy with the cleanliness of the Bijou. There are parts of the hotel that are older and need to be updated like the bathroom fixtures but you can tell that it is loved and treasured building. It is in a rough part of town so we did not go out after dark but that was okay with us. The doors are locked at 8 p.m. which adds a sense of security. All in all I liked this sweet little hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shayazul
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

great xmas weekend in SFO

I booked this hotel without having any reference other than the written reviews I found on the site and based on that and the price I chose it.. upon arrival I was upgraded to a better room without me asking for it. The staff was very cordial. the room was excellent ..great toiletries included that were so helpful like facial cleanser and night cream..amazing. Very clean and location was perfect.. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2011

N/A

the heating system was not working and it was extremely cold. The hotel did not even bother to take a look and see what they can do... so frustrating The area was so unsafe, full of homeless and drug addict people. so scary and dangerous to walk at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 5, 2011

Cute little hotel

This was a nice little hotel. Very friendly staff. Convienient location. Beds were a little uncomfortable but it we only stayed one night and it didn't bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conidove
Business
Decorah, IA
Apr 26, 2011

Great Value

My son and I went on a vacation the first week of February. We were very pleased with the hotel's location, being close to Bart, and being able to get a Muni pass. It was a short walk to just about anything. You can get your hair done a few blocks away. Plus there are many restaurants nearby. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff at the hotel is very friendly and will direct you to any place you choose to go.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lox
Business
New York, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Bedbugs!!!!!!!!!!! Great place otherwise

I got hit by bedbugs while staying there. The room (Rm 510) was bedbug ridden. I woke up with blood-stains on the bedsheets. I looked around and found 4 bedbugs, which I killed. I also found another huge one and trapped it in a bottle to show the management. When I called the front desk, they were extremely receptive and told me to contact the manager later on. [...] The bedbug issue was incredibly disappointing for me, and is a deal breaker as far as I am concerned.Other than that, the hotel and the staff were absolutely fabulous! The hotel is charming, quaint, and very well priced. The location is fantastic too. The staff were very kind and accommodating. If i didn't have the bedbug problem, I would go back EVERY time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street is full of wonderful shops.

Review of Hotel Bijou

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SoCal
Jul 26, 2010

Not impressed

The hotel was not in the location that I was led to believe. We were looking for a hotel that was walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf - this is not it. The rooms were incredibly small, and the beds were horrid. If you looked at them the wrong way they squeaked and moved. That was all tolerable; what was not was the parking. We were told it was $37 for valet (we could have saved $12 by parking it ourselves and walking) with in and out privileges. What we were NOT told was that it was $37 PER DAY! In addition they told me, upon checkout, that it would take 1/2 hour for my car to be brought up!!!! WTH?! I did not pay the $74 they tried to charge me for valet, I let the clerk know that we were not informed it was a per day charge, nor does it say that on their sign regarding valet. Not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top