Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Handlery Union Square

3 stars
View map of 351 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
90 reviews
WONDERFUL STAY IN SAN FRANCISCO

HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AT THE HANDLERY IN UNION SQUARE…DELIGHTFUL STAFF…HELPFUL, GREAT SENSE OF... See full review

  • Best Daughter Ever!!!!
  • May 24, 2015
Great stay for new year's in san francisco

The Handlery hotelmis conveniently located stepsmaway from union square and most city's attractions... See full review

  • Female friends
  • Jan 2, 2014
Located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, the family-owned and operated Handlery Union Square Hotel is just steps away from the Powell Street cable car line, world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or oversized rooms in the Premier Section. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. The Daily Grill, the on site restaurant, serves American fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Please note: Parking is $52.00 per day, plus tax with unlimited in and out privileges. Additional charge may apply for oversized vehicles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Handlery Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.409
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO & OAK
Area description
Cable cars, Union Square, Macy's, San Francisco Shopping Center, Metreon and an array of boutiques, restaurants and theatres nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Handlery Union Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 90
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best Daughter Ever!!!!
Single
N/A
May 24, 2015

WONDERFUL STAY IN SAN FRANCISCO

HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AT THE HANDLERY IN UNION SQUARE…DELIGHTFUL STAFF…HELPFUL, GREAT SENSE OF HUMOR…LOVE TO STAY THERE AGAIN….FANTASTIC LOCATION...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linel
Single
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect location

The service was excellent. I loved the fact that the hotel was close to everything...restaurants, theater, car rental, shopping! I had room service for all three breakfasts and they were delicious and the servers were very courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. It was located in the back, so it was quiet. I love the doorman and the bell staff...so welcoming and nice. This is a hotel I will return to....and soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ACT Box office is a very short walk and you can get tickets at the last minute!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linel
Single
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect location

The service was excellent. I loved the fact that the hotel was close to everything...restaurants, theater, car rental, shopping! I had room service for all three breakfasts and they were delicious and the servers were very courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. It was located in the back, so it was quiet. I love the doorman and the bell staff...so welcoming and nice. This is a hotel I will return to....and soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ACT Box office is a very short walk and you can get tickets at the last minute!

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
Single
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mps
Single
San Diego
Aug 18, 2010

ok

Staff was great and attentive. I only had issue with 2 things. 1. The long wait for a cab if I depended on the hotel. 2. Unable to get a late check-out when I had a late flight. I wanted to relax and the airline had just delivered my luggage as I was going home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Ohio
Sep 7, 2009

Rather nice

Friendly, caring staff, nice room. However, why is smoking allowed around the pool when it was directly outside my non-smoking room? The fumes were enough to make one gag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Ohio
Sep 7, 2009

Rather nice

Friendly, caring staff, nice room. However, why is smoking allowed around the pool when it was directly outside my non-smoking room? The fumes were enough to make one gag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not so much
Single
Texas
Aug 10, 2009

if desperate for cheap rate near U Sq

Room was small, dusty, with frayed carpet and few amenities. This falls in the get what you pay for category.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not so much
Single
Texas
Aug 10, 2009

if desperate for cheap rate near U Sq

Room was small, dusty, with frayed carpet and few amenities. This falls in the get what you pay for category.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Handlery Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vivi
Single
Canberra, Australia
Aug 8, 2009

Expensive old-worldly

The hotel is in an ideal location in the heart of the city. The room was small and many of the fittings were made to look old-worldy. The meal I ordered from room service was not very nice and it was extremely expensive for what it was. ie a piece of fish and huge bunch of broccoli. The same was true for the restaurant. Limited. It was also very dark. Maybe some people like that. The hotel did not have a little shop for odds and ends (forgotten items) as advertised in the hotel guide. They did have access to PCs though and that was useful. The conscierge was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Through the hotel I booked into a small tour group of the city. That was excellent.

Back to menu Return to top