Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Castle Inn

2 stars
1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
47 reviews
A Great Stay

This was a great little motel. Don't expect anything overly fancy. This place offers (and excels... See full review

  • sketto
  • Oct 8, 2013
My stay at the Castle Inn

Greeted by Damon at check in & he described places and things to do while on my stay. Whenever I... See full review

  • Richard Z.
  • May 29, 2013
From major attractions to fine dining, world-class shops to coffee shops, at Castle Inn you are at the center of it all! In a cheerful and safe location, we are within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, and many local shops and excellent restaurant. Also, with public transportation close by, you have easy access to other area attractions such as Union Square, Golden Gate Park, Pac Bell Park, Palace of Fine Arts, and more. Our location is ideal because it is safe, quiet, and central. In fact, our guests refer to our location as "the best kept secret in San Francisco". To top it off, our rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean and 100% non-smoking. With a two door fridge/freezer, microwave, fresh brewed coffee maker, air conditioner, heater, full bath-shower combination with glass shower door and massage shower head, expanded cable TV with over 80 channels including HBO, CNN and ESPN, and direct dial telephone with voicemail in every room, this is home away from home. A working desk and breakfast table also makes the room very convenient for those that have to work in this beautiful city. We also offer a small breakfast which includes Danish pastries, cereal bars, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, brewed coffee, hot chocolate and tea. FREE guaranteed parking is a bonus! We also have free wireless high-speed Internet access in every room and a safe deposit box in the office. Our dedicated staff provides fantastic service and care in a warm and friendly atmosphere that will make you want to come and stay with us every time you are in San Francisco!!

Castle Inn Rooms

Double Room
Guest room includes two queen beds. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.
Standard Room
Guest room includes a king or queen bed. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7955 -122.4226
Area served
San Francisco, California.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of scenic San Francisco, Castle Inn is central to many tourist attractions and is situated in a great neighborhood. Safe and central, we are convenient to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, local and downtown shopping, and excellent restaurants. Because of our ideal location, guests refer to Castle Inn as the best-kept secret in San Francisco. Castle Inn is situated only two blocks from the famous Cable Cars of San Francisco, which travel through most of the popular tourist attractions. We also provide a convenient chart to our guests, which show bus routes to all major San Francisco sights. We arrange taxi service and airport shuttle service from the Inn.

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton Oh
Aug 6, 2011

No Problems

Great location and appreciated the parking. A little dated from chain hotels but in comparison price was right. I you spend a lot of time in your room it's not for you. We could easily walk to Wharf, grocery, and coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 25, 2007

Great Location

Simple motel but great location. Short walk to everything. Restaurants are steps away from the motel as is a Walgreens. We were a little disapointed as no breakfast was served. Staff were all very friendly. Great to have a fridge & microwave in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to the pier instead of catching the cable. We couldn't get on the cable as it was always full - 2nd to last stop on the cable route.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 20, 2010

Great location and room for the price.

Will stay there again, staff very helpful and friendly. Free parking in a secure area was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manager recommended Tai Chi Chinese restaurant just around the corner. Excellent food, service and great price.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona
Jul 8, 2009

My stay at the Castle Inn

The lady that checked us in when we arrived early was fab., she was wonderful and very helpful, where to go, how to get there, where to eat, things we could walk to see, she was great, I wish I could remember her name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk, but it was very romantic, we thank you all.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wisconsin Gal
Business
New Berlin, WI
Jan 15, 2011

Great location! Nice clean room!

This was one of the most reasonable hotels in San Fran so I was a bit skeptical of the area as a tourist. It was GREAT! We were in the middle of the city and walking distance to many bars and restaurants. There was parking as well. [...] was extremely helpful and friendly at the front desk. I highly recommend this hotel to other tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2008

Great location and price

The Castle Inn is definitely one of the best hotels we stayed. The location was also the best, they offer free parking, so we parked our car in the hotel premises and walked to all the attractions in Fisherman's Wharf. For other attractions we used the hop-on hop-off bus (ticket valid for 2 days).We travelled with our 3 yr old daughter and parents and it was well suited to all our needs. What we liked abt this hotel was that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area with a sink. It came with a m/w & fridge whihc was very welcome. Overall we had a wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2007

Great Fun in San Francisco!

We had a great time during our stay at the Castle! The person who checked us in was amazing with information about specific restaurants within walking distance and ideas for how to get around. The room was good and very adequate for our needs. It was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The separate bathroom from the sink area allowed everyone time to get ready more quickly. The location was very convenient to attractions we were interested in. Parking at the hotel was great, and we didn't need to use our car during the stay. I would happily go back to stay again! Check it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant just a few doors down was amazing! Breakfast options are also very close by.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2007

A Great Stay

The Castle Inn provided us a good room and in a great Russian Hill location with parking and a very decent continental breakfast included. Short walk to a number of restaurants, some with outstanding food at reasonable prices. Warm and friendly management pleased to help you make the most of your San Francisco stay. Walk to Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach. Frequent buses just down street to anywhere in town. Or convenient to use auto to wine country, Carmel, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options and prices.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 27, 2010

Great location with helpful staff

Hotel was a basic, no frills 2-star as expected. Location was excellent, I walked all over the city from here. Parking was secure and safe -- there is an alarm anytime anyone enters, and cameras feeding into the motel's front desk. Parking was a bit tight, but I was able to guide a Dodge Grand Caravan in without incident. Staff was very helpful, and identified a number of things for me to do during my SF stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Mar 22, 2011

Great Location

Our hotel was in a great spot. It was quiet and within walking distance to a lot of restuarants and coffee shops. It was near bus routes needed to travel the city. The room was clean and a good size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel for your buck.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becca in SF
Business
San Francisco
Jul 30, 2012

Great hotel!

We went to this hotel, mid-july and found the whole experience very pleasant. Even though we weren't in the hotel much as we toured a lot of California, It was nice to come back to AC if we needed it, to start each breakfast off in the morning (with extras for snacks during the day). If you're a family looking for something with a pool you might want to try elsewhere, but as for location, there were plenty of restaurants/pubs just around the corner. For AC, free parking and free breakfast we couldn't have asked for more. My overall rating is 4.5, it's not the Ritz but We Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top