Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Castle Inn

2 stars
1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
47 reviews
A Great Stay

This was a great little motel. Don't expect anything overly fancy. This place offers (and excels... See full review

  • sketto
  • Oct 8, 2013
Great location! Nice clean room!

This was one of the most reasonable hotels in San Fran so I was a bit skeptical of the area as a... See full review

  • Wisconsin Gal
  • Jan 15, 2011
From major attractions to fine dining, world-class shops to coffee shops, at Castle Inn you are at the center of it all! In a cheerful and safe location, we are within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, and many local shops and excellent restaurant. Also, with public transportation close by, you have easy access to other area attractions such as Union Square, Golden Gate Park, Pac Bell Park, Palace of Fine Arts, and more. Our location is ideal because it is safe, quiet, and central. In fact, our guests refer to our location as "the best kept secret in San Francisco". To top it off, our rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean and 100% non-smoking. With a two door fridge/freezer, microwave, fresh brewed coffee maker, air conditioner, heater, full bath-shower combination with glass shower door and massage shower head, expanded cable TV with over 80 channels including HBO, CNN and ESPN, and direct dial telephone with voicemail in every room, this is home away from home. A working desk and breakfast table also makes the room very convenient for those that have to work in this beautiful city. We also offer a small breakfast which includes Danish pastries, cereal bars, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, brewed coffee, hot chocolate and tea. FREE guaranteed parking is a bonus! We also have free wireless high-speed Internet access in every room and a safe deposit box in the office. Our dedicated staff provides fantastic service and care in a warm and friendly atmosphere that will make you want to come and stay with us every time you are in San Francisco!!

Castle Inn Rooms

Double Room
Guest room includes two queen beds. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.
Standard Room
Guest room includes a king or queen bed. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7955 -122.4226
Area served
San Francisco, California.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of scenic San Francisco, Castle Inn is central to many tourist attractions and is situated in a great neighborhood. Safe and central, we are convenient to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, local and downtown shopping, and excellent restaurants. Because of our ideal location, guests refer to Castle Inn as the best-kept secret in San Francisco. Castle Inn is situated only two blocks from the famous Cable Cars of San Francisco, which travel through most of the popular tourist attractions. We also provide a convenient chart to our guests, which show bus routes to all major San Francisco sights. We arrange taxi service and airport shuttle service from the Inn.

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe64
Business
Hanford, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Location, location, location

This hotel is in a great spot, close to many tourist spots in San Francisco. That is its one selling point, as it is otherwise drab, unclean (long black hair in the bathtub drain!), and pricey for what you get ($200+ per night). But it is in a good location, in a cool old Russian Hill neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sketto
Business
Charleston, SC
Oct 8, 2013

A Great Stay

This was a great little motel. Don't expect anything overly fancy. This place offers (and excels at) the basics, plus the rates are extremely reasonable for a city like San Francisco. Right off the bat, the hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, but the desk attendant allowed us to park our car in the garage (FREE parking!). She sent us out with a city map that included transit lines, plus she marked the places we would want to visit and the parts of town we should avoid. The hotel is within short walking distance of a bus stop and a cable car stop, plus there were lots of good food and drink choices within walking distance. There is also a letterbox on the corner (a big deal for a postcard sender like me!). We had room 229, which was huge, clean, and quiet. The room had a king-size bed, a refrigerator/freezer, and a microwave. There was also free (and fast) wifi. The hotel offered a small assortment of fruit, granola bars, and yogurt for breakfast - so, nothing fancy. There are a few yummy breakfast places on Polk Street (try Crave or Royal Grounds), so no big deal. Overall, we had a great stay. I would definitely return to the Castle Inn next time we're in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the cafe mocha at Crave. Ritual Coffee espresso and Ghiradelli chocolate. Yum!

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geneeral Dental
Business
RCCA
Aug 20, 2013

quiet safe neighborhood

service by the desk staff in this small motel was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde Street Seafood

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard Z.
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 29, 2013

My stay at the Castle Inn

Greeted by Damon at check in & he described places and things to do while on my stay. Whenever I had any questions, he answered. I had a rough time this weekend given that I had incidents with motorcycles & towing this past weekend. Damon helped in any way that he could. He made a really bad situation a lot easier to bear. So customer service was great. About my only problem was that the rooms are a little small, especially the bathroom, space is tight in there. I stayed by myself & had 2 queen beds which is more then I needed, a king bed would have been great, but would have been a little overkill. Location of the hotel is perfect, about a mile away from everything. Room was very clean & maid came everyday about 9am. Parking was included but also tight on space. There was a free breakfast with yogurt, fruit & granola bars which was sufficient for me. Room had free wifi as well which worked great. I would definitely come back again if I make the trip to SF again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Although, I rented a car, because everything is more or less a mile or two away, you can easily get away with using taxi cabs. buses or the BART. I wouldn't recommend using a rental car as the traffic is pretty bad, even for a holiday weekend.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephiiC
Business
Hollister, CA
Feb 20, 2013

Good Value for a Family With Kids

Good overall experience. A little noisy neighbors since rooms are adjoined and could easily hear through the doors. Nice amenities, good packaged breakfast. Could have used a pocket door leading to the bathroom for more privacy. Parking garage was tight but at least it was included. It's on a busy street and getting out was a little hard, but kids liked it so we'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful where you eat as the wharf restaurants charge a steep health surcharge. Apparently most restaurants in SF do this which is ridiculous! I'd go to the grocery store and eat in the room using the microwave next time.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becca in SF
Business
San Francisco
Jul 30, 2012

Great hotel!

We went to this hotel, mid-july and found the whole experience very pleasant. Even though we weren't in the hotel much as we toured a lot of California, It was nice to come back to AC if we needed it, to start each breakfast off in the morning (with extras for snacks during the day). If you're a family looking for something with a pool you might want to try elsewhere, but as for location, there were plenty of restaurants/pubs just around the corner. For AC, free parking and free breakfast we couldn't have asked for more. My overall rating is 4.5, it's not the Ritz but We Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dossman
Business
Arizona
May 20, 2012

Great Location

Loved the location; easy to get to anywhere with exception of Union Square. Room was a bit musky, but very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick1
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Good downtown location - with FREE PARKING!

Front desk manager was very helpful, room was clean, and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaw
Business
Pakistan
Sep 7, 2011

Fantastic choice!

One of the best stays I had while I traveled the west coast was at the Castle Inn. Situated in a very good location with the Lombard street, Fisherman's Wharf and other attraction pretty close by. The rates were amazingly low and yet the rooms were very well kept which made our stay extremely comfortable. The best part though for me was the extremely friendly and helpful guy at the front desk. Made our stay even better with his helpful suggestions. I'd recommend Castle Inn to anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to stay which offers great rates :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton Oh
Aug 6, 2011

No Problems

Great location and appreciated the parking. A little dated from chain hotels but in comparison price was right. I you spend a lot of time in your room it's not for you. We could easily walk to Wharf, grocery, and coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top