Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 2, 2011

Nothing Special, But gets the job done

This hotel is going for an antique look with older furniture, but just appears to be old and outdated. It really wasn't anything special and needs updating. The bed was comfortable and everything worked just fine. My first room was room x05 which was right next to the elevator. Everytime someone took the elevator you heard it. Next night I got moved to another room and it was fine. At times you hear noise coming from the bar that is attached to the hotel, but it was nothing that kept me awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF lover
Business
Corona, CA
May 1, 2011

Good deal

Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Chinatown and Union square

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
medgin
Business
Folsom, Ca
Apr 27, 2011

Great little Hotel

I stayed at the Beresford with my two young children and we had a wonderful stay. The hotel stay is friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was fresh and delicious (fruit, pastries, donuts, cereal, coffee), and the location of this hotel is perfect!!! A quick walk two blocks and you're in the heart of Union Square. The White Horse restaurant in the hotel looks great. The pub was hopping (I didn't go because I was with the kids - but it looked really fun). The restaurant was closed for renovations, but the menu looked great! I will definitely make this my "go to" place each time I say in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hong Kong
Apr 27, 2011

Affordable Price but smokey smell

The hotel is just a minute away from the Powell Street which is the heart of the Union Square, no complain for the special price at $167 including taxes and fees for 2 nights. But the strong smokey smell in the room make you feel uncomfortable, anyway the hotel is in a good and safe location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anat
Business
Israel
Apr 26, 2011

Great hotel andlocation. 3-4 stars hotel

Great hotel, Great room, clean, good breakfast, great location, the room can be a little noisy. depends on where the room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 20, 2011

Great location great price

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are small but very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again for the price and location can't be beat. Also being female I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants within two to three blocks from the hotel. Loris's diner has great breakfast and the little Italian restaurant was very good also.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tel Aviv
Apr 18, 2011

very good location for the price

We stayed there for 8 nights. We did not like the room which was assigned to us and the staff was very helpfull in helping us to move to another room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tapia Conference Attendee
Business
Jacksonville FL
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Price

Hotel was clean, and staff was accommodating. I arrived close to 2am and the clerk had no problem opening the business center so I could quickly print my shuttle voucher, even before I checked in. The room was clean and the prices for the "honor bar" were very reasonable ($2 beer!) The only knock is that there is no wireless internet in the room. This is an ideal hotel for a budget-minded traveler, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Brenda's French Soulfood.....GO THERE!!!! take Sutter street west to Polk and head south, its on the left hand side.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
Apr 7, 2011

It was ok for the month of April

WE WENT TO ALCATRAZ AND THE GOLDEN STATE PARK ALL THIS HOTEL NEEDS WOULD BE A/C FOR THE SUMMER BUT BESIDE THAT IT WAS A GOOD STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Apr 5, 2011

A reasonable option

Small room, noisy street, but clean and friendly staff. About what you should expect for a bargain priced older hotel downtown in a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top