Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
602 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (602)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njo nickname
jax, fla
May 26, 2011

Limited wifi in the heart of the city

Wifi only available on the 1st floor. Breakfast was bland. VIrew from room 508 was a brick wall 5 feet away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njo nickname
jax, fla
May 26, 2011

Limited wifi in the heart of the city

Wifi only available on the 1st floor. Breakfast was bland. VIrew from room 508 was a brick wall 5 feet away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAK
NYC
May 25, 2011

Good value

The hotel is well-located, the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the complimentary breakfast satisfying. Our room was quiet but other guests did have some problems with street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAK
NYC
May 25, 2011

Good value

The hotel is well-located, the staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the complimentary breakfast satisfying. Our room was quiet but other guests did have some problems with street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spydarbot
Chicago, IL
May 23, 2011

Super value for the price

I spent 4 nights in San Francisco at the Hotel Beresford. It was my second time at the Beresford, having had a pleasant stay for a night the previous year. The location can't be beat: basically in the middle of everything (easy walk to Powell street station, Stockton bus, etc.), with tons of restaurants, coffee shops and bars. The bar downstairs is charmingly dingy and friendly--we visited several times during our stay. Our last dinner in San Francisco was at Vino, a block away. It was deliciously indulgent Italian food. We also had a drink at Bacchus Kirk, a super bar a couple blocks away, and we enjoyed coffee at Sugar Cafe, a coffeehouse / bar a few doors down. There are tons of galleries too, plus the myriad stores a few blocks to the east. The hotel itself has very nice, helpful staff. We requested a quiet room. Although we didn't hear much from within the hotel, and our room was located in the back, our window wasn't airtight so we still heard noises like people dumping trash in the dumpster. It wasn't quite bad enough for earplugs, even though we are light sleepers. We think maybe it was worth the savings of staying here. There's no air conditioning. I wouldn't want to stay here when it's warmer. The beds were comfortable, with an extra pillow and blanket tucked away in a couple of the many, many drawers. The costs for comsuming beer, water, snacks, etc. from the fridge were wonderfully low. I recommend taking advantage. The TV didn't have much in the way of channels. Very basic. It had a built-in VCR which made us giggle. AT&T reception was terrible in our room. We had a lot of trouble looking stuff up on our iPhone. The bathroom needs a ventilation fan. Overall: when we return to San Fran, if we're on a budget we'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spydarbot
Chicago, IL
May 23, 2011

Super value for the price

I spent 4 nights in San Francisco at the Hotel Beresford. It was my second time at the Beresford, having had a pleasant stay for a night the previous year. The location can't be beat: basically in the middle of everything (easy walk to Powell street station, Stockton bus, etc.), with tons of restaurants, coffee shops and bars. The bar downstairs is charmingly dingy and friendly--we visited several times during our stay. Our last dinner in San Francisco was at Vino, a block away. It was deliciously indulgent Italian food. We also had a drink at Bacchus Kirk, a super bar a couple blocks away, and we enjoyed coffee at Sugar Cafe, a coffeehouse / bar a few doors down. There are tons of galleries too, plus the myriad stores a few blocks to the east. The hotel itself has very nice, helpful staff. We requested a quiet room. Although we didn't hear much from within the hotel, and our room was located in the back, our window wasn't airtight so we still heard noises like people dumping trash in the dumpster. It wasn't quite bad enough for earplugs, even though we are light sleepers. We think maybe it was worth the savings of staying here. There's no air conditioning. I wouldn't want to stay here when it's warmer. The beds were comfortable, with an extra pillow and blanket tucked away in a couple of the many, many drawers. The costs for comsuming beer, water, snacks, etc. from the fridge were wonderfully low. I recommend taking advantage. The TV didn't have much in the way of channels. Very basic. It had a built-in VCR which made us giggle. AT&T reception was terrible in our room. We had a lot of trouble looking stuff up on our iPhone. The bathroom needs a ventilation fan. Overall: when we return to San Fran, if we're on a budget we'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sproutcore novice
Business
Albany, NY
May 19, 2011

Good location, quiet

It's a small room, and there's no wireless (or even much cell phone reception) in the room. But come on, you're in San Francisco and you're right in the middle of things. You shouldn't be doing anything much in your hotel besides sleeping, and you can do that just fine here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanou75
Pittsburgh, PA
May 19, 2011

Great location for the price

The room was clean, not small but not very quiet. It didn't really bother us too much though, because we were so tired after running around all day... No wireless internet and no hair dryer in the rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is near Union square, a good shopping area. It is also conveniently located close to the cable cars line and at walking distance from the BART. There is a Walgreens store right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanou75
Pittsburgh, PA
May 19, 2011

Great location for the price

The room was clean, not small but not very quiet. It didn't really bother us too much though, because we were so tired after running around all day... No wireless internet and no hair dryer in the rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is near Union square, a good shopping area. It is also conveniently located close to the cable cars line and at walking distance from the BART. There is a Walgreens store right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sproutcore novice
Business
Albany, NY
May 19, 2011

Good location, quiet

It's a small room, and there's no wireless (or even much cell phone reception) in the room. But come on, you're in San Francisco and you're right in the middle of things. You shouldn't be doing anything much in your hotel besides sleeping, and you can do that just fine here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top