Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
333 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (333)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
333 out of 333
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anat
Business
Israel
Apr 26, 2011

Great hotel andlocation. 3-4 stars hotel

Great hotel, Great room, clean, good breakfast, great location, the room can be a little noisy. depends on where the room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 20, 2011

Great location great price

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are small but very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again for the price and location can't be beat. Also being female I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants within two to three blocks from the hotel. Loris's diner has great breakfast and the little Italian restaurant was very good also.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tel Aviv
Apr 18, 2011

very good location for the price

We stayed there for 8 nights. We did not like the room which was assigned to us and the staff was very helpfull in helping us to move to another room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tapia Conference Attendee
Business
Jacksonville FL
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Price

Hotel was clean, and staff was accommodating. I arrived close to 2am and the clerk had no problem opening the business center so I could quickly print my shuttle voucher, even before I checked in. The room was clean and the prices for the "honor bar" were very reasonable ($2 beer!) The only knock is that there is no wireless internet in the room. This is an ideal hotel for a budget-minded traveler, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Brenda's French Soulfood.....GO THERE!!!! take Sutter street west to Polk and head south, its on the left hand side.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
Apr 7, 2011

It was ok for the month of April

WE WENT TO ALCATRAZ AND THE GOLDEN STATE PARK ALL THIS HOTEL NEEDS WOULD BE A/C FOR THE SUMMER BUT BESIDE THAT IT WAS A GOOD STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Apr 5, 2011

A reasonable option

Small room, noisy street, but clean and friendly staff. About what you should expect for a bargain priced older hotel downtown in a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Feb 24, 2011

Everything I Want in a Hotel

I was in town to visit my UCSF student -- did a quick trip in, caught the Bart to downtown, jogged up the hill to the hotel, checked in and jogged back to take a the light rail to UCSU. I got back at 10:00 p.m. was greeted, asked for the key - which I left so I wouldn't lose it. The desk clerk carded me and I got my key and went to my room and crashed. The next day, I looked around - they place was wonderful, tidy, clean and such a well preserved historic hotel. Staircases everywhere - and an elevator that works like it was installed yesterday. Charming! Breakfast was set up in the adjoining bar - the coffee was great and the baked goods fresh, along with fresh fruit -- I had a wonderful conversation with a woman from Wales and got the impression that the hotel has been discovered by internationals. Then I had a great conversation with the desk clerk - learned that hotel manager has been there for 30 years overseeing housekeeping, breakfast and all the personal touches -- it really shows. I also learned that the bar is a hang-out for local actors. I didn't use the computer -- no there isn't internet in the room but I got what I needed on my phone. And I could have printed my boarding pass in the computer room. This is a hotel that was very reasonably priced -- and will I go back? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe
Feb 15, 2011

Great location

Good hotel. Good price. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh, nc
Feb 11, 2011

Good place, good people

This was a nice place to stay, especially for the price! It was very clean and the accomodations were perfect for what I needed. I was a little disappointed that the wireless internet was only on the first floor and so I had to go downstairs to use it but, there was a nice little sitting room for that purpose. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would probably stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Feb 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Convient location for families of college students. Excellent price for location,clean facility, price and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Back to menu Return to top