Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanou75
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 19, 2011

Great location for the price

The room was clean, not small but not very quiet. It didn't really bother us too much though, because we were so tired after running around all day... No wireless internet and no hair dryer in the rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is near Union square, a good shopping area. It is also conveniently located close to the cable cars line and at walking distance from the BART. There is a Walgreens store right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YYC
Business
Calgary, AB
May 18, 2011

You get what you pay for

We got in late - it was just a place to crash for the night. The staff were nice, the room was clean. The heat kept kicking in on and off, making the room a bit warm. Opening the window exposed us to a tremendous amount of street noise. At the end of the day, they completely met expectations. It was an inexpensive place near Union Sq that was clean, safe, and nothing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ktanaka
Business
Hawaii
May 18, 2011

Beresford Hotel

Rooms were a bit small, but so are many others in SF. Staff was friendly, rooms are clean. We were there for the B2B and they supplied us with water, juice and power bars. Close to bus stops, walking distance to Powell and Chinatown. Love the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 5 blocks away, catch the #2, 3, or 76 bus on Sutter to Larkin, walk a block down to Post and you'll find Little Henry's. A great and inexpensive restaurant that serves great food.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 16, 2011

Great location, nice staff

I stayed there for one night. Nice location, staff were very helpful, clean, and good price. I have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can't Wait to Go Back
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
May 15, 2011

Great Location for the Price

The hotel was in a fantastic location, just a couple blocks from Union Square and the historic trolley turn-arounds. We walked down everyday to catch the trolleys to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39! There has to be at least 50 restaurants within walking distance; Thai, Italian, French, American, etc. If you are interested in a hotel for more than a place to sleep you may want to consider other options - the room was smallish and the free breakfast was not great but it fit our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the CityPass! You'll get unlimited trolley rides and rides on any of the city Muni busses. At $5 or more per ride it can add up fast. Plus the CityPass also gets you into 4-5 attractions - well worth the money (about $70 / person for a weeks worth)

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 2, 2011

Nothing Special, But gets the job done

This hotel is going for an antique look with older furniture, but just appears to be old and outdated. It really wasn't anything special and needs updating. The bed was comfortable and everything worked just fine. My first room was room x05 which was right next to the elevator. Everytime someone took the elevator you heard it. Next night I got moved to another room and it was fine. At times you hear noise coming from the bar that is attached to the hotel, but it was nothing that kept me awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF lover
Business
Corona, CA
May 1, 2011

Good deal

Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Chinatown and Union square

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
medgin
Business
Folsom, Ca
Apr 27, 2011

Great little Hotel

I stayed at the Beresford with my two young children and we had a wonderful stay. The hotel stay is friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was fresh and delicious (fruit, pastries, donuts, cereal, coffee), and the location of this hotel is perfect!!! A quick walk two blocks and you're in the heart of Union Square. The White Horse restaurant in the hotel looks great. The pub was hopping (I didn't go because I was with the kids - but it looked really fun). The restaurant was closed for renovations, but the menu looked great! I will definitely make this my "go to" place each time I say in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hong Kong
Apr 27, 2011

Affordable Price but smokey smell

The hotel is just a minute away from the Powell Street which is the heart of the Union Square, no complain for the special price at $167 including taxes and fees for 2 nights. But the strong smokey smell in the room make you feel uncomfortable, anyway the hotel is in a good and safe location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anat
Business
Israel
Apr 26, 2011

Great hotel andlocation. 3-4 stars hotel

Great hotel, Great room, clean, good breakfast, great location, the room can be a little noisy. depends on where the room is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top